Search results for "Primary tree" in Home Design Ideas

Lincoln Lighthill Architect employed several discrete updates that collectively transform this existing row house.
At the heart of the home, a section of floor was removed at the top level to open up the existing stair and allow light from a new skylight to penetrate deep into the home. The stair itself received a new maple guardrail and planter, with a Fiddle-leaf fig tree growing up through the opening towards the skylight.
On the top living level, an awkwardly located entrance to a full bathroom directly off the main stair was moved around the corner and out of the way by removing a little used tub from the bathroom, as well as an outdated heater in the back corner. This created a more discrete entrance to the existing, now half-bath, and opened up a space for a wall of pantry cabinets with built-in refrigerator, and an office nook at the rear of the house with a huge new awning window to let in light and air.
Downstairs, the two existing bathrooms were reconfigured and recreated as dedicated master and kids baths. The kids bath uses yellow and white hexagonal Heath tile to create a pixelated celebration of color. The master bath, hidden behind a flush wall of walnut cabinetry, utilizes another Heath tile color to create a calming retreat.
Throughout the home, walnut thin-ply cabinetry creates a strong contrast to the existing maple flooring, while the exposed blond edges of the material tie the two together. Rounded edges on integral pulls and door edges create pinstripe detailing that adds richness and a sense of playfulness to the design.
This project was featured by Houzz: https://tinyurl.com/stn2hcze

Stuart Wade, Envision Virtual Tours
The second-largest and most developed of Georgia's barrier islands, St. Simons is approximately twelve miles long and nearly three miles wide at its widest stretch (roughly the size of Manhattan Island in New York). The island is located in Glynn County on Georgia's coast and lies east of Brunswick (the seat of Glynn County), south of Little St. Simons Island and the Hampton River, and north of Jekyll Island. The resort community of Sea Island is separated from St. Simons on the east by the Black Banks River. Known for its oak tree canopies and historic landmarks, St. Simons is both a tourist destination and, according to the 2010 U.S. census, home to 12,743 residents.
Early History
The earliest
St. Simons Island Village
record of human habitation on the island dates to the Late Archaic Period, about 5,000 to 3,000 years ago. Remnants of shell rings left behind by Native Americans from this era survive on many of the barrier islands, including St. Simons. Centuries later, during the period known by historians as the chiefdom era, the Guale Indians established a chiefdom centered on St. Catherines Island and used St. Simons as their hunting and fishing grounds. By 1500 the Guale had established a permanent village of about 200 people on St. Simons, which they called Guadalquini.
Beginning in 1568, the Spanish attempted to create missions along the Georgia coast. Catholic missions were the primary means by which Georgia's indigenous Native American chiefdoms were assimilated into the Spanish colonial system along the northern frontier of greater Spanish Florida. In the 1600s St. Simons became home to two Spanish missions: San Buenaventura de Guadalquini, on the southern tip of the island, and Santo Domingo de Asao (or Asajo), on the northern tip. Located on the inland side of the island were the pagan refugee villages of San Simón, the island's namesake, and Ocotonico. In 1684 pirate raids left the missions and villages largely abandoned.
Colonial History
As
Fort Frederica
early as 1670, with Great Britain's establishment of the colony of Carolina and its expansion into Georgia territory, Spanish rule was threatened by the English. The Georgia coast was considered "debatable land" by England and Spain, even though Spain had fully retreated from St. Simons by 1702. Thirty-one years later General James Edward Oglethorpe founded the English settlement of Savannah. In 1736 he established Fort Frederica, named after the heir to the British throne, Frederick Louis, prince of Wales, on the west side of St. Simons Island to protect Savannah and the Carolinas from the Spanish threat.
Between 1736 and 1749 Fort Frederica was the hub of British military operations along the Georgia frontier. A town of the same name grew up around the fort and was of great importance to the new colony. By 1740 Frederica's population was 1,000. In 1736 the congregation of what would become Christ Church was organized within Fort Frederica as a mission of the Church of England. Charles Wesley led the first services. In 1742 Britain's decisive victory over Spain in the Battle of Bloody Marsh, during the War of Jenkins' Ear, ended the Spanish threat to the Georgia coast. When the British regimen disbanded in 1749, most of the townspeople relocated to the mainland. Fort Frederica went into decline and, except for a short time of prosperity during the 1760s and 1770s under the leadership of merchant James Spalding, never fully recovered. Today the historic citadel's tabby ruins are maintained by the National Park Service.
Plantation Era
By the start of the American Revolution (1775-83), Fort Frederica was obsolete, and St. Simons was left largely uninhabited as most of its residents joined the patriot army. Besides hosting a small Georgia naval victory on the Fort Frederica River, providing guns from its famous fort for use at Fort Morris in Sunbury, and serving as an arena for pillaging by privateers and British soldiers, the island played almost no role in the war.
Following the war, many of the townspeople, their businesses destroyed, turned to agriculture. The island was transformed into fourteen cotton plantations after acres of live oak trees were cleared for farm land and used for building American warships, including the famous USS Constitution, or "Old Ironsides." Although rice was the predominant crop along the neighboring Altamaha River, St. Simons was known for its production of long-staple cotton, which soon came to be known as Sea Island cotton.
Between
Ebos Landing
the 1780s and the outbreak of the Civil War (1861-65), St. Simons's plantation culture flourished. The saline atmosphere and the availability of cheap slave labor proved an ideal combination for the cultivation of Sea Island cotton. In 1803 a group of Ebo slaves who survived the Middle Passage and arrived on the west side of St. Simons staged a rebellion and drowned themselves. The sacred site is known today as Ebos Landing.
One of the largest owners of land and slaves on St. Simons was Pierce Butler, master of Hampton Point Plantation, located on the northern end of the island. By 1793 Butler owned more than 500 slaves, who cultivated 800 acres of cotton on St. Simons and 300 acres of rice on Butler's Island in the Altamaha River delta. Butler's grandson, Pierce Mease Butler, who at the age of sixteen inherited a share of his grandfather's estate in 1826, was responsible for the largest sale of human beings in the history of the United States: in 1859, to restore his squandered fortune, he sold 429 slaves in Savannah for more than $300,000. The British actress and writer Fanny Kemble, whose tumultuous marriage to Pierce ended in divorce in 1849, published an eyewitness account of the evils of slavery on St. Simons in her book Journal of a Residence on a Georgian Plantation in 1838-1839 (1863).
Another
Retreat Plantation
large owner of land and slaves on St. Simons was Major William Page, a friend and employee of Pierce Butler Sr. Before purchasing Retreat Plantation on the southwestern tip of the island in 1804, Page managed the Hampton plantation and Butler's Island. Upon Page's death in 1827, Thomas Butler King inherited the land together with his wife, Page's daughter, Anna Matilda Page King. King expanded his father-in-law's planting empire on St. Simons as well as on the mainland, and by 1835 Retreat Plantation alone was home to as many as 355 slaves.
The center of life during the island's plantation era was Christ Church, Frederica. Organized in 1807 by a group of island planters, the Episcopal church is the second oldest in the Diocese of Georgia. Embargoes imposed by the War of 1812 (1812-15) prevented the parishioners from building a church structure, so they worshiped in the home of John Beck, which stood on the site of Oglethorpe's only St. Simons residence, Orange Hall.
The first Christ Church building, finished on the present site in 1820, was ruined by occupying Union troops during the Civil War. In 1884 the Reverend Anson Dodge Jr. rebuilt the church as a memorial to his first wife, Ellen. The cruciform building with a trussed gothic roof and stained-glass windows remains active today as Christ Church.
Civil War and Beyond
The
St. Simons Island Lighthouse
outbreak of the Civil War in 1861 put a sudden end to St. Simons's lucrative plantation era. In January of that year, Confederate troops were stationed at the south end of the island to guard the entrance to Brunswick Harbor. Slaves from Retreat Plantation, owned by Thomas Butler King, built earthworks and batteries. Plantation residents were scattered—the men joined the Confederate army and their families moved to the mainland. Cannon fire was heard on the island in December 1861, and Confederate troops retreated in February 1862, after dynamiting the lighthouse to keep its beacon from aiding Union troops. Soon thereafter, Union troops occupied the island, which was used as a camp for freed slaves. By August 1862 more than 500 former slaves lived on St. Simons, including Susie King Taylor, who organized a school for freed slave children. But in November the ex-slaves were taken to Hilton Head, South Carolina, and Fernandina, Florida, leaving the island abandoned.
After the Civil War the island never returned to its status as an agricultural community. The plantations lay dormant because there were no slaves to work the fields. After Union general William T. Sherman's January 1865 Special Field Order No. 15 —a demand that former plantations be divided and distributed to former slaves—was overturned by U.S. president Andrew Johnson less than a year later, freedmen and women were forced to work as sharecroppers on the small farms that dotted the land previously occupied by the sprawling plantations.
By
St. Simons Lumber Mills
1870 real economic recovery began with the reestablishment of the timber industry. Norman Dodge and Titus G. Meigs of New York set up lumber mill operations at Gascoigne Bluff, formerly Hamilton Plantation. The lumber mills provided welcome employment for both blacks and whites and also provided mail and passenger boats to the mainland. Such water traffic, together with the construction of a new lighthouse in 1872, designed by architect Charles B. Cluskey, marked the beginning of St. Simons's tourism industry. The keeper of the lighthouse created a small amusement park, which drew many visitors, as did the seemingly miraculous light that traveled from the top of the lighthouse tower to the bottom. The island became a summer retreat for families from the mainland, particularly from Baxley, Brunswick, and Waycross.
The island's resort industry was thriving by the 1880s. Beachfront structures, such as a new pier and grand hotel, were built on the southeastern end of the island and could be accessed by ferry. Around this time wealthy northerners began vacationing on the island.
Twentieth Century
The
St. Simons Island Pier and Village
opening in 1924 of the Brunswick–St. Simons Highway, today known as the Torras Causeway, was a milestone in the development of resorts in the area. St. Simons's beaches were now easily accessible to locals and tourists alike. More than 5,000 automobiles took the short drive from Brunswick to St. Simons via the causeway on its opening day, paving the way for convenient residential and resort development.
In 1926 automotive pioneer Howard Coffin of Detroit, Michigan, bought large tracts of land on St. Simons, including the former Retreat Plantation, and constructed a golf course, yacht club, paved roads, and a residential subdivision. Although the causeway had brought large numbers of summer people to the island, St. Simons remained a small community with only a few hundred permanent residents until the 1940s.
The
St. Simons Island
outbreak of World War II (1941-45) brought more visitors and residents to St. Simons. Troops stationed at Jacksonville, Florida; Savannah; and nearby Camp Stewart took weekend vacations on the island, and a new naval air base and radar school became home to even more officers and soldiers. The increased wartime population brought the island its first public school. With a major shipyard for the production of Liberty ships in nearby Brunswick, the waters of St. Simons became active with German U-boats. In April 1942, just off the coast, the Texas Company oil tanker S. S. Oklahoma and the S. S. Esso Baton Rouge were torpedoed by the Germans, bringing the war very close to home for island residents.
Due in large part to the military's improvement of the island's infrastructure during the war, development on the island boomed in the 1950s and 1960s. More permanent homes and subdivisions were built, and the island was no longer just a summer resort but also a thriving community. In 1950 the Methodist conference and retreat center Epworth by the Sea opened on Gascoigne Bluff. In 1961 novelist Eugenia Price visited St. Simons and began work on her first works of fiction, known as the St. Simons Trilogy. Inspired by real events on the island, Price's trilogy renewed interest in the history of Georgia's coast, and the novelist herself relocated to the island in 1965 and lived there for thirty-one years. St. Simons is also home to contemporary Georgia writer Tina McElroy Ansa.
Since
Epworth by the Sea
1980 St. Simons's population has doubled. The island's continued status as a vacation destination and its ongoing development boom have put historic landmarks and natural areas at risk. While such landmarks as the Fort Frederica ruins and the Battle of Bloody Marsh site are preserved and maintained by the National Park Service, and while the historic lighthouse is maintained by the Coastal Georgia Historical Society, historic Ebos Landing has been taken over by a sewage treatment plant.
Several coastal organizations have formed in recent years to save natural areas on the island. The St. Simons Land Trust, for example, has received donations of large tracts of land and plans to protect property in the island's three traditional African American neighborhoods. Despite its rapid growth and development, St. Simons remains one of the most beautiful and important islands on the Georgia coast.

Our client was drawn to the property in Wesley Heights as it was in an established neighborhood of stately homes, on a quiet street with views of park. They wanted a traditional home for their young family with great entertaining spaces that took full advantage of the site.
The site was the challenge. The natural grade of the site was far from traditional. The natural grade at the rear of the property was about thirty feet above the street level. Large mature trees provided shade and needed to be preserved.
The solution was sectional. The first floor level was elevated from the street by 12 feet, with French doors facing the park. We created a courtyard at the first floor level that provide an outdoor entertaining space, with French doors that open the home to the courtyard.. By elevating the first floor level, we were able to allow on-grade parking and a private direct entrance to the lower level pub "Mulligans". An arched passage affords access to the courtyard from a shared driveway with the neighboring homes, while the stone fountain provides a focus.
A sweeping stone stair anchors one of the existing mature trees that was preserved and leads to the elevated rear garden. The second floor master suite opens to a sitting porch at the level of the upper garden, providing the third level of outdoor space that can be used for the children to play.
The home's traditional language is in context with its neighbors, while the design allows each of the three primary levels of the home to relate directly to the outside.
Builder: Peterson & Collins, Inc
Photos © Anice Hoachlander
Find the right local pro for your project

Holly Hill, a retirement home, whose owner's hobbies are gardening and restoration of classic cars, is nestled into the site contours to maximize views of the lake and minimize impact on the site.
Holly Hill is comprised of three wings joined by bridges: A wing facing a master garden to the east, another wing with workshop and a central activity, living, dining wing. Similar to a radiator the design increases the amount of exterior wall maximizing opportunities for natural ventilation during temperate months.
Other passive solar design features will include extensive eaves, sheltering porches and high-albedo roofs, as strategies for considerably reducing solar heat gain.
Daylighting with clerestories and solar tubes reduce daytime lighting requirements. Ground source geothermal heat pumps and superior to code insulation ensure minimal space conditioning costs. Corten steel siding and concrete foundation walls satisfy client requirements for low maintenance and durability. All light fixtures are LEDs.
Open and screened porches are strategically located to allow pleasant outdoor use at any time of day, particular season or, if necessary, insect challenge. Dramatic cantilevers allow the porches to project into the site’s beautiful mixed hardwood tree canopy without damaging root systems.
Guest arrive by vehicle with glimpses of the house and grounds through penetrations in the concrete wall enclosing the garden. One parked they are led through a garden composed of pavers, a fountain, benches, sculpture and plants. Views of the lake can be seen through and below the bridges.
Primary client goals were a sustainable low-maintenance house, primarily single floor living, orientation to views, natural light to interiors, maximization of individual privacy, creation of a formal outdoor space for gardening, incorporation of a full workshop for cars, generous indoor and outdoor social space for guests and parties.

Stuart Wade, Envision Virtual Tours
The second-largest and most developed of Georgia's barrier islands, St. Simons is approximately twelve miles long and nearly three miles wide at its widest stretch (roughly the size of Manhattan Island in New York). The island is located in Glynn County on Georgia's coast and lies east of Brunswick (the seat of Glynn County), south of Little St. Simons Island and the Hampton River, and north of Jekyll Island. The resort community of Sea Island is separated from St. Simons on the east by the Black Banks River. Known for its oak tree canopies and historic landmarks, St. Simons is both a tourist destination and, according to the 2010 U.S. census, home to 12,743 residents.
Early History
The earliest
St. Simons Island Village
record of human habitation on the island dates to the Late Archaic Period, about 5,000 to 3,000 years ago. Remnants of shell rings left behind by Native Americans from this era survive on many of the barrier islands, including St. Simons. Centuries later, during the period known by historians as the chiefdom era, the Guale Indians established a chiefdom centered on St. Catherines Island and used St. Simons as their hunting and fishing grounds. By 1500 the Guale had established a permanent village of about 200 people on St. Simons, which they called Guadalquini.
Beginning in 1568, the Spanish attempted to create missions along the Georgia coast. Catholic missions were the primary means by which Georgia's indigenous Native American chiefdoms were assimilated into the Spanish colonial system along the northern frontier of greater Spanish Florida. In the 1600s St. Simons became home to two Spanish missions: San Buenaventura de Guadalquini, on the southern tip of the island, and Santo Domingo de Asao (or Asajo), on the northern tip. Located on the inland side of the island were the pagan refugee villages of San Simón, the island's namesake, and Ocotonico. In 1684 pirate raids left the missions and villages largely abandoned.
Colonial History
As
Fort Frederica
early as 1670, with Great Britain's establishment of the colony of Carolina and its expansion into Georgia territory, Spanish rule was threatened by the English. The Georgia coast was considered "debatable land" by England and Spain, even though Spain had fully retreated from St. Simons by 1702. Thirty-one years later General James Edward Oglethorpe founded the English settlement of Savannah. In 1736 he established Fort Frederica, named after the heir to the British throne, Frederick Louis, prince of Wales, on the west side of St. Simons Island to protect Savannah and the Carolinas from the Spanish threat.
Between 1736 and 1749 Fort Frederica was the hub of British military operations along the Georgia frontier. A town of the same name grew up around the fort and was of great importance to the new colony. By 1740 Frederica's population was 1,000. In 1736 the congregation of what would become Christ Church was organized within Fort Frederica as a mission of the Church of England. Charles Wesley led the first services. In 1742 Britain's decisive victory over Spain in the Battle of Bloody Marsh, during the War of Jenkins' Ear, ended the Spanish threat to the Georgia coast. When the British regimen disbanded in 1749, most of the townspeople relocated to the mainland. Fort Frederica went into decline and, except for a short time of prosperity during the 1760s and 1770s under the leadership of merchant James Spalding, never fully recovered. Today the historic citadel's tabby ruins are maintained by the National Park Service.
Plantation Era
By the start of the American Revolution (1775-83), Fort Frederica was obsolete, and St. Simons was left largely uninhabited as most of its residents joined the patriot army. Besides hosting a small Georgia naval victory on the Fort Frederica River, providing guns from its famous fort for use at Fort Morris in Sunbury, and serving as an arena for pillaging by privateers and British soldiers, the island played almost no role in the war.
Following the war, many of the townspeople, their businesses destroyed, turned to agriculture. The island was transformed into fourteen cotton plantations after acres of live oak trees were cleared for farm land and used for building American warships, including the famous USS Constitution, or "Old Ironsides." Although rice was the predominant crop along the neighboring Altamaha River, St. Simons was known for its production of long-staple cotton, which soon came to be known as Sea Island cotton.
Between
Ebos Landing
the 1780s and the outbreak of the Civil War (1861-65), St. Simons's plantation culture flourished. The saline atmosphere and the availability of cheap slave labor proved an ideal combination for the cultivation of Sea Island cotton. In 1803 a group of Ebo slaves who survived the Middle Passage and arrived on the west side of St. Simons staged a rebellion and drowned themselves. The sacred site is known today as Ebos Landing.
One of the largest owners of land and slaves on St. Simons was Pierce Butler, master of Hampton Point Plantation, located on the northern end of the island. By 1793 Butler owned more than 500 slaves, who cultivated 800 acres of cotton on St. Simons and 300 acres of rice on Butler's Island in the Altamaha River delta. Butler's grandson, Pierce Mease Butler, who at the age of sixteen inherited a share of his grandfather's estate in 1826, was responsible for the largest sale of human beings in the history of the United States: in 1859, to restore his squandered fortune, he sold 429 slaves in Savannah for more than $300,000. The British actress and writer Fanny Kemble, whose tumultuous marriage to Pierce ended in divorce in 1849, published an eyewitness account of the evils of slavery on St. Simons in her book Journal of a Residence on a Georgian Plantation in 1838-1839 (1863).
Another
Retreat Plantation
large owner of land and slaves on St. Simons was Major William Page, a friend and employee of Pierce Butler Sr. Before purchasing Retreat Plantation on the southwestern tip of the island in 1804, Page managed the Hampton plantation and Butler's Island. Upon Page's death in 1827, Thomas Butler King inherited the land together with his wife, Page's daughter, Anna Matilda Page King. King expanded his father-in-law's planting empire on St. Simons as well as on the mainland, and by 1835 Retreat Plantation alone was home to as many as 355 slaves.
The center of life during the island's plantation era was Christ Church, Frederica. Organized in 1807 by a group of island planters, the Episcopal church is the second oldest in the Diocese of Georgia. Embargoes imposed by the War of 1812 (1812-15) prevented the parishioners from building a church structure, so they worshiped in the home of John Beck, which stood on the site of Oglethorpe's only St. Simons residence, Orange Hall.
The first Christ Church building, finished on the present site in 1820, was ruined by occupying Union troops during the Civil War. In 1884 the Reverend Anson Dodge Jr. rebuilt the church as a memorial to his first wife, Ellen. The cruciform building with a trussed gothic roof and stained-glass windows remains active today as Christ Church.
Civil War and Beyond
The
St. Simons Island Lighthouse
outbreak of the Civil War in 1861 put a sudden end to St. Simons's lucrative plantation era. In January of that year, Confederate troops were stationed at the south end of the island to guard the entrance to Brunswick Harbor. Slaves from Retreat Plantation, owned by Thomas Butler King, built earthworks and batteries. Plantation residents were scattered—the men joined the Confederate army and their families moved to the mainland. Cannon fire was heard on the island in December 1861, and Confederate troops retreated in February 1862, after dynamiting the lighthouse to keep its beacon from aiding Union troops. Soon thereafter, Union troops occupied the island, which was used as a camp for freed slaves. By August 1862 more than 500 former slaves lived on St. Simons, including Susie King Taylor, who organized a school for freed slave children. But in November the ex-slaves were taken to Hilton Head, South Carolina, and Fernandina, Florida, leaving the island abandoned.
After the Civil War the island never returned to its status as an agricultural community. The plantations lay dormant because there were no slaves to work the fields. After Union general William T. Sherman's January 1865 Special Field Order No. 15 —a demand that former plantations be divided and distributed to former slaves—was overturned by U.S. president Andrew Johnson less than a year later, freedmen and women were forced to work as sharecroppers on the small farms that dotted the land previously occupied by the sprawling plantations.
By
St. Simons Lumber Mills
1870 real economic recovery began with the reestablishment of the timber industry. Norman Dodge and Titus G. Meigs of New York set up lumber mill operations at Gascoigne Bluff, formerly Hamilton Plantation. The lumber mills provided welcome employment for both blacks and whites and also provided mail and passenger boats to the mainland. Such water traffic, together with the construction of a new lighthouse in 1872, designed by architect Charles B. Cluskey, marked the beginning of St. Simons's tourism industry. The keeper of the lighthouse created a small amusement park, which drew many visitors, as did the seemingly miraculous light that traveled from the top of the lighthouse tower to the bottom. The island became a summer retreat for families from the mainland, particularly from Baxley, Brunswick, and Waycross.
The island's resort industry was thriving by the 1880s. Beachfront structures, such as a new pier and grand hotel, were built on the southeastern end of the island and could be accessed by ferry. Around this time wealthy northerners began vacationing on the island.
Twentieth Century
The
St. Simons Island Pier and Village
opening in 1924 of the Brunswick–St. Simons Highway, today known as the Torras Causeway, was a milestone in the development of resorts in the area. St. Simons's beaches were now easily accessible to locals and tourists alike. More than 5,000 automobiles took the short drive from Brunswick to St. Simons via the causeway on its opening day, paving the way for convenient residential and resort development.
In 1926 automotive pioneer Howard Coffin of Detroit, Michigan, bought large tracts of land on St. Simons, including the former Retreat Plantation, and constructed a golf course, yacht club, paved roads, and a residential subdivision. Although the causeway had brought large numbers of summer people to the island, St. Simons remained a small community with only a few hundred permanent residents until the 1940s.
The
St. Simons Island
outbreak of World War II (1941-45) brought more visitors and residents to St. Simons. Troops stationed at Jacksonville, Florida; Savannah; and nearby Camp Stewart took weekend vacations on the island, and a new naval air base and radar school became home to even more officers and soldiers. The increased wartime population brought the island its first public school. With a major shipyard for the production of Liberty ships in nearby Brunswick, the waters of St. Simons became active with German U-boats. In April 1942, just off the coast, the Texas Company oil tanker S. S. Oklahoma and the S. S. Esso Baton Rouge were torpedoed by the Germans, bringing the war very close to home for island residents.
Due in large part to the military's improvement of the island's infrastructure during the war, development on the island boomed in the 1950s and 1960s. More permanent homes and subdivisions were built, and the island was no longer just a summer resort but also a thriving community. In 1950 the Methodist conference and retreat center Epworth by the Sea opened on Gascoigne Bluff. In 1961 novelist Eugenia Price visited St. Simons and began work on her first works of fiction, known as the St. Simons Trilogy. Inspired by real events on the island, Price's trilogy renewed interest in the history of Georgia's coast, and the novelist herself relocated to the island in 1965 and lived there for thirty-one years. St. Simons is also home to contemporary Georgia writer Tina McElroy Ansa.
Since
Epworth by the Sea
1980 St. Simons's population has doubled. The island's continued status as a vacation destination and its ongoing development boom have put historic landmarks and natural areas at risk. While such landmarks as the Fort Frederica ruins and the Battle of Bloody Marsh site are preserved and maintained by the National Park Service, and while the historic lighthouse is maintained by the Coastal Georgia Historical Society, historic Ebos Landing has been taken over by a sewage treatment plant.
Several coastal organizations have formed in recent years to save natural areas on the island. The St. Simons Land Trust, for example, has received donations of large tracts of land and plans to protect property in the island's three traditional African American neighborhoods. Despite its rapid growth and development, St. Simons remains one of the most beautiful and important islands on the Georgia coast.

As a first step in this project, we completely demolished the existing, very overgrown, and outdated landscape. The owner desired a custom-designed fire pit and patio, oriented toward their primary view corridor. The need to connect a secondary access off the back of their home to the primary access off their family room led us to create a sand-finish concrete walkway that connected the former to their new sand-finish concrete dining patio. In the process, we created a very nice planting area to soften up and beautify the back of the house.
We utilized a segmental wall block system to create a seat wall around the patio, helping to create a sense of containment in the space and providing extra seating for larger gatherings. Concealed wall lights helped lend a feeling of welcome to the space’s after-dark use. A set of offset cedar screens offers a creative way to hide a utility area without a gate.
We used a complementary-colored concrete mow curb as a bed divider and planted a Japanese Golden Rain Tree to provide future shade for our client. We filled out the rest of the landscaping with Arctic Fire Dogwood, Winter Gem Boxwood, Blue Avena Grass, Stella d’Oro Day Lily, and a specimen Burning Bush.

Photography: © Stephen Kent Johnson / OTTO
LandFluent was brought onto this remarkable Beverly Hills project by Raymond Jungles, Inc. to provide expert Construction Administration services. Our primary role was to bridge the gap between Raymond Jungles’ design documents and the on-site construction team, ensuring that every detail of the original vision was accurately executed in the built environment.
A significant aspect of our work involved collaborating closely with the construction team on the selection, sourcing, and precise placement of each specimen tree and palm, ensuring their delivery, orientation, and integration seamlessly complemented the overall design. From the early stages of site preparation to the final touches of hardscape detailing and understory planting, we remained deeply engaged, overseeing the process with precision and care.
It was a privilege to work alongside such a talented team, contributing to a project where every element—from the foundational groundwork to the finest landscape details—was thoughtfully realized to create a truly exceptional space.
Scale
1.2 ACRES
Scope
HARDSCAPE + PLANTING DESIGN
Raymond Jungles, Inc. as Design Landscape Architect
LandFluent as local Landscape Architect
Year
2022
Press
Architectural Digest
Architecture
Studio William Hefner
Interior Design
Jamie Bush + Co.
Landscape Architecture (Design)
Raymond Jungles
Landscape Architecture (Local)
LandFluent
General Contractor
MG Partners
Landscape Contractor
Clark & White Landscape
Construction Management
Stonemark Construction Management
Specimen Tree & Palm Suppliers
Bob Everett & Calligari & Associates, LLC

This primary bathroom blends modern luxury with serene, spa-like design. A floating natural-oak double vanity anchors the space with clean contemporary lines, paired with sculptural brass-framed mirrors and elegant vertical sconces that add warmth and sophistication. The marble-look countertops introduce soft, organic veining, balancing the minimalist aesthetic with natural texture. Patterned floor tile brings subtle character and movement underfoot, while large black-framed windows welcome calming views of the surrounding trees. An arched opening leads into the walk-in closet, continuing the home’s architectural theme. The freestanding tub, soft white walls, and abundant natural light create a refreshing and tranquil environment designed for relaxation and everyday luxury.

Host elegant dinners in this beautifully appointed dining room, complete with a grand chandelier, ornate mirror, and sophisticated decor.
Example of a trendy dining room design in San Diego
Example of a trendy dining room design in San Diego

Stylish and practical, this laundry room features ample storage, modern black cabinetry, and geometric floor tiles.
Trendy laundry room photo in San Diego
Trendy laundry room photo in San Diego

This homeowner approached us seeking to remodel this compact-sized Bathroom to provide better accessibility and a design that complemented the unique architecture and style of her Northwestern home. This new Bathroom design includes a few features that significantly increase the size that this Bathroom feels, without changing the footprint of the Bathroom. The key components which make all the difference are the open curbless shower, the larger light-colored wood vanity, and the wider pocket door which replaced the small hinged door. This Bathroom includes plentiful amounts of storage, found in the built-in linen cabinet, vanity full-extension drawers, and recessed medicine cabinet. The designer, inspired by the unique light switch covers around the house and the Elm tree etched into the glass of Marilyn's Primary Bathroom, suggested a pine tree graphic be imprinted on the glass panel for a statement piece as you enter or walk by this Guest Bathroom. We removed all the wood paneling in the Living Room just outside of this Bathroom, and instead updated the wood-panel style in this home by installing cedar tongue and groove paneling to the ceiling of this Bathroom. The different Northwestern elements are tied together with the door lintel piece that was installed to match the existing door and window lintels that the client's husband had installed throughout the house 10 years ago. We love how this Bathroom remodel provides the functionality that our client was needing, and fits right in with the style of the rest of the home.

You know by now we love designing in Bend, and Caldera Springs just feels like home! This project, (a collaboration with Olsen Bros. Construction and Heidi Byrnes Design) is the “forever home” for a couple relocating from Lake Oswego. Soaring wood ceilings, open living spaces and ample bedroom suites informed the client’s classic/modern finish choices.
The furnishings aesthetic began with fabric to inspire pattern and color, and the story for each room unfolded from there. The great room is dressed in deep green, rust and cream, reflecting the natural palette outside every door and window. A pair of plush sofas large enough to nap on, swivel chairs to take in the view, and unique leather ottomans to tuck in where needed, invite lounging and conversation.
The primary and back guest suites offer the most incredible window seats for cozying up with your favorite book. Layered with custom cushions and a pile of pillows, they’re the best seat in the house.
Exciting wallpaper selections for each bathroom provided playful focal walls, from the deep green vinyl grass cloth in the primary bath, to a forest of sparkling tree lines in the powder bath. Amazing how wallpaper can define the personality of a space!
This home is full of color, yet minimal in the “extras” and easy to maintain. It’s always refreshing for us to return to a home we dressed months ago and have it look just like we left it! We know it will provide a warm welcome for the owners and their guests for years to come!
Photography by Chris Murray Productions

Step into luxury with a stunning entryway featuring intricate geometric tile flooring, a custom stained glass archway, and a grand double door.
Inspiration for a contemporary entryway remodel in San Diego
Inspiration for a contemporary entryway remodel in San Diego

If just one image can convey the intention and concept of this project, it’s this.
Originally planned as a more simple open-plan kitchen renovation, this project grew in scope to include a beautifully architected primary suite with views across the treetops and vaulted ceilings, over 4 metres high.
The actual footprint of the bedroom was not extensive, yet the ceiling height and expanse of windows (which we’ll come to next time), ensured an unmatched sense of light and airiness. Taking advantage of the wall height, I was keen to treat it in such a way that my clients felt they were sleeping amongst the trees and so, was delighted to find this dramatic mural echoing the trunks and bark outside.
The slatted sideboard adds beautiful texture and the styling, again restrained, yet considered all goes to add to the sense of calm and serenity that guided this scheme. I hope you’ll agree the overall feeling makes you want to draw a deep breath…and maybe have a little nap…

This front yard renovation focuses on enhancing curb appeal through high-end masonry and a professional low-voltage lighting scheme. The project features a custom-tiered flagstone walkway with integrated LED step lights for safe, stylish access to the primary entrance.
To add texture and visual interest, we installed a winding natural stone path designed as a dry creek bed, utilizing smooth river rocks, large flagstone pavers, and natural moss boulder edging. The nighttime transformation is the highlight, featuring strategic uplighting on specimen trees and architectural path lights that create a warm, inviting glow across the new lawn and mulch beds.

When the successful couple purchased the 1960s ranch house, which sat in the middle of 31 acres of unspoiled California countryside, they envisioned a retreat that would become the simpler, more tranquil version of their primary urban residence. Among other things, they were lured by the site’s unobstructed canyon views, the seemingly endless grove of old Oak trees, and what they described as the “profound sense of quiet.”
After taking the original house down to its basic frame, the house was rebuilt as a California Mission-style home. Adding a new wing for the Master Bedroom suite, as well as a new, separate structure for a guest dwelling, DesignARC was able to bring the couple's vision into being. The 3,700 square foot main house is carefully sited to open into a natural clearing, the interior spaces all share in the beauty of the glen, where exterior rooms and dining areas open to the sky--and where in the evening, according to the homeowners, “one can see every star.”

Zen enSuite Bath + Steam Shower
Portland, OR
type: remodel
credits
design: Matthew O. Daby - m.o.daby design
interior design: Angela Mechaley - m.o.daby design
construction: Hayes Brothers Construction
photography: Kenton Waltz - KLIK Concepts
While the floorplan of their primary bath en-suite functioned well, the clients desired a private, spa-like retreat & finishes that better reflected their taste. Guided by existing Japanese & mid-century elements of their home, the materials and rhythm were chosen to contribute to a contemplative and relaxing environment.
One of the major upgrades was incorporating a steam shower to lend to their spa experience. Existing dark, drab cabinets that protruded into the room too deep, were replaced with a custom, white oak slatted vanity & matching linen cabinet. The lighter wood & the additional few inches gained in the walkway opened the space up visually & physically. The slatted rhythm provided visual interest through texture & depth. Custom concrete countertops with integrated, ramp sinks were selected for their wabi-sabi, textural quality & ability to have a single-material, seamless transition from countertop to sink basin with no presence of a traditional drain. The darker grey color was chosen to contrast with the cabinets but also to recede from the
darker patination of the backsplash tile & matched to the grout. A pop of color highlights the backsplash pulling green from the canopy of trees seen out the window. The tile offers subtle texture & pattern reminiscent of a raked, zen, sand garden (karesansui gardens). XL format tile in a warm, sandy tone with stone effect was selected for all floor & shower wall tiles, minimizing grout lines. A deeper, textured tile accents the back shower wall, highlighted with wall-wash recessed lighting.

A serene and stylish master bedroom featuring a plush tufted headboard, elegant gold accents, and contemporary art for a sophisticated retreat.
Example of a trendy bedroom design in San Diego
Example of a trendy bedroom design in San Diego

This spa-like master bathroom showcases a bold gold feature wall, double sinks, and elegant lighting.
Inspiration for a contemporary bathroom remodel in San Diego
Inspiration for a contemporary bathroom remodel in San Diego
41



