Search results for "Remained" in Home Design Ideas

This project presented unique opportunities that are not often found in residential landscaping. The homeowners were not only restoring their 1840's era farmhouse, a piece of their family’s history, but also enlarging and updating the home for modern living. The landscape designers continued this idea by creating a space that is a modern day interpretation of an 1840s era farm rather then a strict recreation. The resulting design combines elements of farm living from that time, as well as acknowledging the property’s history as a horse farm, with staples of 21st century landscapes such as space for outdoor living, lighting, and newer plant varieties.
Guests approach from the main driveway which winds through the property and ends at the main barn. There is secondary gated driveway just for the homeowners. Connected to this main driveway is a narrower gravel lane which leads directly to the residence. The lane passes near fruit trees planted in broken rows to give the illusion that they are the remains of an orchard that once existed on the site. The lane widens at the entrance to the gardens where there is a hitching post built into the fence that surrounds the gardens and a watering trough. The widened section is intended as a place to park a golf cart or, in a nod to the home’s past, tie up horses before entering. The gravel lane passes between two stone pillars and then ends at a square gravel court edged in cobblestones. The gravel court transitions into a wide flagstone walk bordered with yew hedges and lavender leading to the front door.
Directly to the right, upon entering the gravel court, is located a gravel and cobblestone edged walk leading to a secondary entrance into the residence. The walk is gated where it connects with the gravel court to close it off so as not to confuse visitors and guests to the main residence and to emphasize the primary entrance. An area for a bench is provided along this walk to encourage stopping to view and enjoy the gardens.
On either side of the front door, gravel and cobblestone walks branch off into the garden spaces. The one on the right leads to a flagstone with cobblestone border patio space. Since the home has no designated backyard like most modern suburban homes the outdoor living space had to be placed in what would traditionally be thought of as the front of the house. The patio is separated from the entrance walk by the yew hedge and further enclosed by three Amelanchiers and a variety of plantings including modern cultivars of old fashioned plants such as Itea and Hydrangea. A third entrance, the original front door to the 1840’s era section, connects to the patio from the home’s kitchen, making the space ideal for outdoor dining.
The gravel and cobblestone walk branching off to the left of the front door leads to the vegetable and perennial gardens. The idea for the vegetable garden was to recreate the tradition of a kitchen garden which would have been planted close to the residence for easy access. The vegetable garden is surrounded by mixed perennial beds along the inside of the wood picket fence which surrounds the entire garden space. Another area designated for a bench is provided here to encourage stopping and viewing. The home’s original smokehouse, completely restored and used as a garden shed, provides a strong architectural focal point to the vegetable garden. Behind the smokehouse is planted lilacs and other plants to give mass and balance to the corner and help screen the garden from the neighboring subdivision. At the rear corner of the garden a wood arbor was constructed to provide a structure on which to grow grapes or other vines should the homeowners choose to.
The landscape and gardens for this restored farmhouse and property are a thoughtfully designed and planned recreation of a historic landscape reinterpreted for modern living. The idea was to give a sense of timelessness when walking through the gardens as if they had been there for years but had possibly been updated and rejuvenated as lifestyles changed. The attention to materials and craftsmanship blend seamlessly with the residence and insure the gardens and landscape remain an integral part of the property. The farm has been in the homeowner’s family for many years and they are thrilled at the results and happy to see respect given to the home’s history and to its meticulous restoration.

David Papazian
Inspiration for a transitional dining room remodel in Portland
Inspiration for a transitional dining room remodel in Portland
Find the right local pro for your project

Sunday, September 14, 2014
Is Your Interior Design Depressing You?
By Joseph Pubillones
(DailyHerald.com http://www.dailyherald.com/article/20140913/entlife/140919600)
From time to time, someone will corner me and confess to me that they are depressed; they whisper that they believe their decorating is making them sick. They tell me that their interiors are not to their liking because of choices made by their spouse, their designer, or because of their own misguided attempts at decorating.
Is it possible for their environment to make them feel sick? Yes (as I think about it), it is possible for design to alter moods.
In the mid-1950s, Norbett Mintz, a researcher at Brandeis University, and his mentor, the renowned psychologist Abraham Maslow, decided to conduct research about the effects of "beauty" on behavior. Mintz had already conducted experiments about the effects of color on human behavior and concluded that color selection has a palpable effect on personal behavior.
A room's design can have an impact on your mood. Mismatched colors or an
overstuffed room can affect your ability to relax and feel comfortable.
In their experiment about beauty, they designed three rooms. The first was "the ugly room", replete with clashing colors and patterns, disorganization and too much furniture for the size of the space. The second was "the average room", arranged with a monochromatic scheme, basic furniture pieces and subtly colored nondescript art. The third was "the beautiful room", decorated with quality case-goods, and fashionable fabrics and colors. Overwhelmingly, the test group rejected "the ugly room". "The average room" and "the beautiful room" were tied as the preferred room. When asked to describe the rooms, the test group was best able to describe "the beautiful room".
As a designer, this is not news to me. There are rooms, especially those that I like, that I can describe with remarkable detail. Although our notion of what is beautiful varies from person to person, it can be said that beautiful design is more memorable. We can deduce that each person prefers the beautiful.
From the time we are born, there are foods that are preferred -- some love sweets; others prefer more savory flavors. Over time, our taste buds evolve, and what was once a favorite food can become insipid or nauseating. The same is true for interior design. Over time, everyone develops preferences about what makes us feel comfortable and at home.
When I hear that someone's home is depressing, I am concerned. I suggest immediate action to change what is most bothersome. If it is wall color: a painting party is overdue. If it is furniture: I ask them to consider new upholstery; a new furniture arrangement; or substituting new pieces for those that offend. And for those too timid or dismayed to tackle their problems head-on and alone, I suggest hiring a professional interior designer.
( Joseph Pubillones is the owner of Joseph Pubillones Interiors, an award-winning interior design firm based in Palm Beach, Fla. © 2014 Creators.com)
[Comment by Brandon Oriental Rugs: Good quality is evident in the words we use when we appreciate its presence: beauty, harmony, integrity, excellence. These are appealing impressions it makes upon our minds and spirits. It can't be faked. Attempts to put a stamp of "quality" -- as in "good quality" -- upon things which possess or convey "bad quality" doesn't fool anyone who appreciates quality and the benefits it inherently brings.]
Related articles
Is your interior design depressing you?
Why Our Brains Love Colorful Interiors
A Little Spent on a Well Chosen Oriental Rug Can Save You a Lot on the Remaining Furnishings for Your Home
How Can Interior Design Inspire Fashion Design? | L' Essenziale Home Designs
Interior Design Pet Peeves
Hand-Knotted Oriental Rugs Are Best Friends With Leather Furniture And Arts & Crafts (especially Stickley (tm)) Furnishings of Every Kind
Homeowners Select Persian Kashan Rug from Bucks County Oriental Rug Store Brandon Oriental Rugs (www.BrandonRugs.com) for Family Room of Their Upper Montgomery County Farmhouse
There Is Nothing New Under The Sun - Opposites Attract - The Truth Does Not Change - Quality IS Forever Manifesting Itself - REAL Is Now
ShareThisFacebookTweetLinkedInPinterestEmail
Posted by brandon rugs at 6:06 PM No comments: Links to this post
Email This
BlogThis!
Share to Twitter
Share to Facebook
Share to Pinterest
Labels: Brandon, Brandonrugs.com, Bucks County oriental rugs, colorful rugs, designing for mood, environment, interior design, personal expression, rug store Bucks County, rugs and design
Saturday, September 13, 2014
Bucks County Rug Store Helps Bethlehem, PA Homeowners Select Rugs to Complete Newly Furnished Living Room and Dining Room
Our customers purchased new living room and dining room furniture from Hendrixson's Fine Furnishings in Shimersville, PA.
With most of both rooms finished, they asked Brandon Oriental Rugs to help them find two fine quality oriental rugs that would coordinate with each other, and serve as the last puzzle pieces to complete their decorating.
Both rugs are finely detailed, hand-knotted, antique reproduction Persian Tabriz design oriental rugs made in India. The living room rug has a golden-maize color background with an antique gold border that subtly complements the fabrics and floor color in the room. The small scale motifs add color and interest while not defeating the supporting role the rug plays in the room to the customer's collection of fine original artworks.
The dining room rug is an unusual "Hasht-guli" design with berry-red background and golden-maize border that complements the living room rug, the rich mahogany wood-tones of the dining room suite, and the fabrics used in the custom window treatments designed and installed by Hendrixson's.
The wonderful result wrought by our customers expressing their good taste in an unswerving commitment to quality is proof that a modestly sized home can look and feel as elegant and luxurious as any palace.
Related articles
Lehigh Valley: Bucks County Oriental Rug Store, Brandon Oriental Rugs - www.BrandonRugs.com - Finds and Delivers Rugs for Lehigh Valley Home in Bethlehem, PA
New Homeowners in Doylestown, PA (Bucks County) Find Handmade Oriental Rug That Complements Everything in the Entry Hall to Their Home with Help from Brandon Oriental Rugs (www.BrandonRugs.com)
Brandon Oriental Rugs in Bucks County, PA helps Lehigh Valley Homeowner ( Bethlehem, PA ) Find a Fine Quality Oriental Rug to Complete Family Room
Aesthetic pieces
RUG SALE REALITY -- What Kind of Rug Sale Are You Looking For: "Biggest Discount" or "Best Quality at the Best Price"? Bucks County Oriental Rug Store - Brandon Oriental Rugs (BrandonRugs.com) - Helps You Understand the Difference
Brandon Oriental Rugs Helps Newtown, PA Homeowner Prepare for Holiday Entertaining with new Hand-knotted Oriental Rugs for the Living Room and Dining Room
Is That Really an Antique Rug? Antique Rugs Might Not Always Be As Old As You Think.
ShareThisFacebookTweetLinkedInPinterestEmail
Posted by brandon rugs at 2:47 PM No comments: Links to this post
Email This
BlogThis!
Share to Twitter
Share to Facebook
Share to Pinterest
Labels: Bethlehem, Brandon, choosing an area rug, Doylestown, interior design, Lehigh Valley home furnishings, oriental rugs bucks county
Tuesday, September 9, 2014
Oriental Rugs: What More Can You Say?
(BrandonRugs.com) Sometimes when there's a lot to be said, saying it quietly commands more attention.
You almost want to invite the oriental rugs to speak up, but they are always content playing a supporting role.
Related articles
New Homeowners in Doylestown, PA (Bucks County) Find Handmade Oriental Rug That Complements Everything in the Entry Hall to Their Home with Help from Brandon Oriental Rugs (www.BrandonRugs.com)
Bucks County Rug Store and Rug Search Service (Brandon Oriental Rugs - www.BrandonRugs.com) Helps Upper Bucks County Homeowner to Select Living Room Rugs for Old Farmhouse Renovation
A Little Spent on a Well Chosen Oriental Rug Can Save You a Lot on the Remaining Furnishings for Your Home
5 Things That Take a Room from Good to Great
RUG SALE REALITY -- What Kind of Rug Sale Are You Looking For: "Biggest Discount" or "Best Quality at the Best Price"? Bucks County Oriental Rug Store - Brandon Oriental Rugs (BrandonRugs.com) - Helps You Understand the Difference
Rug Shopping in Princeton - Hopewell - Skillman New Jersey Region Made Easier with Help From Bucks County Oriental Rug Store Brandon Oriental Rugs - www.BrandonRugs.com - as Proven by Customer's Experience
Video: All About Persian Rugs from Their Source ( with commentary from Bucks County Oriental Rug Store Brandon Oriental Rugs - www.BrandonRugs.com )
Advice For Maintaining Oriental Rugs
ShareThisFacebookTweetLinkedInPinterestEmail
Posted by brandon rugs at 4:07 PM No comments: Links to this post
Email This
BlogThis!
Share to Twitter
Share to Facebook
Share to Pinterest
Labels: Brandon, Bucks County oriental rugs, choose an oriental rug, Doylestown, Huntingdon Valley, layered rugs, New Hope, Newtown, oriental rug store Bucks County, Pinterest, rug sale, rug size, rugs and decor
Rug Placement Helps Determine Room Function and Where Rooms Begin and End
(BrandonRugs.com) If feel that your decorating is neither here nor there; the appropriate use of handmade oriental rugs will definitely help you to figure out where here is.
http://www.pinterest.com/pin/133348838942090547/
Related articles
New Homeowners in Doylestown, PA (Bucks County) Find Handmade Oriental Rug That Complements Everything in the Entry Hall to Their Home with Help from Brandon Oriental Rugs (www.BrandonRugs.com)
Bucks County Rug Store and Rug Search Service (Brandon Oriental Rugs - www.BrandonRugs.com) Helps Upper Bucks County Homeowner to Select Living Room Rugs for Old Farmhouse Renovation
Homeowners Select Persian Kashan Rug from Bucks County Oriental Rug Store Brandon Oriental Rugs (www.BrandonRugs.com) for Family Room of Their Upper Montgomery County Farmhouse
Oriental Rugs and Rugged Individualism: The World at Your Feet Is An Expression of You
Rug Shopping in Princeton - Hopewell - Skillman New Jersey Region Made Easier with Help From Bucks County Oriental Rug Store Brandon Oriental Rugs - www.BrandonRugs.com - as Proven by Customer's Experience
One-of-a-Kind Oriental Rugs Are Something Special for Those Blazing a Trail of Exquisite Taste That Can Be Admired But Not Duplicated
ShareThisFacebookTweetLinkedInPinterestEmail
Posted by brandon rugs at 3:22 PM No comments: Links to this post
Email This
BlogThis!
Share to Twitter
Share to Facebook
Share to Pinterest
Labels: Brandon, Bucks County oriental rugs, choose an oriental rug, Doylestown, Huntingdon Valley, layered rugs, New Hope, Newtown, oriental rug store Bucks County, Pinterest, rug sale, rug size, rugs and decor
Saturday, September 6, 2014
Why You Should Hire a Professional Interior Designer
by Cindy Beyer — August 27, 2014 at 1:00 pm
( http://www.restonnow.com/2014/08/27/why-you-should-hire-a-professional-interior-designer)
The interior of your home says a lot about you. Your home is your castle. Many of my clients have said they couldn’t imagine the results after their project was completed. They say it was the WOW factor. I say, that is why you hired a professional designer.
There are many situations that warrant the hiring a professional interior designer. This includes something as simple as choosing paint and window covering to full scale renovation work such as a new kitchen, bath or lower level. In addition to achieving that WOW factor, a professional interior designer will save their clients’ money in many ways, most importantly the avoidance of costly mistakes.
Not only will a professional designer understand the context of the project, they will have access to many resources and their trained eye can make a world of difference in the final result. And those final results also will improve the value of your home.
Professional interior designers are able to work closely with architects and contractors and are comfortable with drawing floor plans, as well as understanding the implications of how interiors will be used as it relates to structural and available floor space.
Beyond floor plans, program management, installation and understanding how structural design will be used in a practical setting, a professional interior designer will also be knowledgeable in color and fabric design, space planning, window coverings, furniture design, architecture and much more. So when you see the initials ASID and NCIDQ next to an interior designer’s name, know they have been through significant amount of formal certification.
When hiring a professional interior designer, it is important to have an understanding of the scope of the work to be done. Before my initial meeting with a new client, I ask them to spend some time making a list of their needs as well as any pictures they saved of items or rooms they like. Upon our first meeting, I take photos and measurements. Together,we then develop a detailed itemized list covering all areas of concern. The next step is to draw up and present a floor plan. Depending on the type of project this could include floor plans and furniture placement as well as construction and lighting if needed.
Once the plan is approved appropriate furnishings and finishes are selected. This can be fun - and exhausting as well. I often present my clients with many samples from which to choose. After the furniture choices, I develop a comprehensive budget itemizing all purchases.
I also may call on several of the contractors I work with such as electricians, plumbers, cabinet wholesalers and cabinet makers, painters, as well as drapery workrooms and installers. It has taken many years to compile trusted associates, which is an important part of being a good designer.
Lead times for good furniture and furnishings can take from 6-12 weeks depending on availability. This extra time gives sufficient time to finish the required preparatory work, and allows clients time to dispose of old furniture.
Related articles
Interior Design Pet Peeves
A Little Spent on a Well Chosen Oriental Rug Can Save You a Lot on the Remaining Furnishings for Your Home
Analysis of Initial Reaction to the New Furniture Exhibition 1901 - an 'exceedingly vulgar show' - (Curated by The Victoria and Albert Museum) with Lessons for Today (extending to the use of handmade area rugs) Regarding Evolution of Tastes and Styles
Hand-Knotted Oriental Rugs Are Best Friends With Leather Furniture And Arts & Crafts (especially Stickley (tm)) Furnishings of Every Kind
How Can Interior Design Inspire Fashion Design? | L' Essenziale Home Designs
Brandon Oriental Rugs Helps Homeowner in Doylestown, PA (Bucks County) Find Rug to Complete Newly Furnished Study
Fine Quality Area Rugs - Naturally Including Oriental Rugs - Are A Step In the Right Direction As Designers and Homeowners Plan Improvements: What's Under Foot for 2014? | ASID Icon
Bucks County Interior Designer Able to Find Oriental Rug for Her Project Through Brandon Oriental Rugs (www.BrandonRugs.com)
ShareThisFacebookTweetLinkedInPinterestEmail
Posted by brandon rugs at 11:28 PM No comments: Links to this post
Email This
BlogThis!
Share to Twitter
Share to Facebook
Share to Pinterest
Labels: Brandon, Bucks County oriental rugs, floorplan, home fashion, interior design, lifestyle, oriental rugs, rug store Bucks County
Thursday, September 4, 2014
Homeowners Select Persian Kashan Rug from Bucks County Oriental Rug Store Brandon Oriental Rugs (www.BrandonRugs.com) for Family Room of Their Upper Montgomery County Farmhouse
- See more at: http://brandonrugs.blogspot.com/#sthash.QMFruxxC.dpuf (Pamela Ward/ Brandon Oriental Rugs)

Stuart Wade, Envision Virtual Tours
The second-largest and most developed of Georgia's barrier islands, St. Simons is approximately twelve miles long and nearly three miles wide at its widest stretch (roughly the size of Manhattan Island in New York). The island is located in Glynn County on Georgia's coast and lies east of Brunswick (the seat of Glynn County), south of Little St. Simons Island and the Hampton River, and north of Jekyll Island. The resort community of Sea Island is separated from St. Simons on the east by the Black Banks River. Known for its oak tree canopies and historic landmarks, St. Simons is both a tourist destination and, according to the 2010 U.S. census, home to 12,743 residents.
Early History
The earliest
St. Simons Island Village
record of human habitation on the island dates to the Late Archaic Period, about 5,000 to 3,000 years ago. Remnants of shell rings left behind by Native Americans from this era survive on many of the barrier islands, including St. Simons. Centuries later, during the period known by historians as the chiefdom era, the Guale Indians established a chiefdom centered on St. Catherines Island and used St. Simons as their hunting and fishing grounds. By 1500 the Guale had established a permanent village of about 200 people on St. Simons, which they called Guadalquini.
Beginning in 1568, the Spanish attempted to create missions along the Georgia coast. Catholic missions were the primary means by which Georgia's indigenous Native American chiefdoms were assimilated into the Spanish colonial system along the northern frontier of greater Spanish Florida. In the 1600s St. Simons became home to two Spanish missions: San Buenaventura de Guadalquini, on the southern tip of the island, and Santo Domingo de Asao (or Asajo), on the northern tip. Located on the inland side of the island were the pagan refugee villages of San Simón, the island's namesake, and Ocotonico. In 1684 pirate raids left the missions and villages largely abandoned.
Colonial History
As
Fort Frederica
early as 1670, with Great Britain's establishment of the colony of Carolina and its expansion into Georgia territory, Spanish rule was threatened by the English. The Georgia coast was considered "debatable land" by England and Spain, even though Spain had fully retreated from St. Simons by 1702. Thirty-one years later General James Edward Oglethorpe founded the English settlement of Savannah. In 1736 he established Fort Frederica, named after the heir to the British throne, Frederick Louis, prince of Wales, on the west side of St. Simons Island to protect Savannah and the Carolinas from the Spanish threat.
Between 1736 and 1749 Fort Frederica was the hub of British military operations along the Georgia frontier. A town of the same name grew up around the fort and was of great importance to the new colony. By 1740 Frederica's population was 1,000. In 1736 the congregation of what would become Christ Church was organized within Fort Frederica as a mission of the Church of England. Charles Wesley led the first services. In 1742 Britain's decisive victory over Spain in the Battle of Bloody Marsh, during the War of Jenkins' Ear, ended the Spanish threat to the Georgia coast. When the British regimen disbanded in 1749, most of the townspeople relocated to the mainland. Fort Frederica went into decline and, except for a short time of prosperity during the 1760s and 1770s under the leadership of merchant James Spalding, never fully recovered. Today the historic citadel's tabby ruins are maintained by the National Park Service.
Plantation Era
By the start of the American Revolution (1775-83), Fort Frederica was obsolete, and St. Simons was left largely uninhabited as most of its residents joined the patriot army. Besides hosting a small Georgia naval victory on the Fort Frederica River, providing guns from its famous fort for use at Fort Morris in Sunbury, and serving as an arena for pillaging by privateers and British soldiers, the island played almost no role in the war.
Following the war, many of the townspeople, their businesses destroyed, turned to agriculture. The island was transformed into fourteen cotton plantations after acres of live oak trees were cleared for farm land and used for building American warships, including the famous USS Constitution, or "Old Ironsides." Although rice was the predominant crop along the neighboring Altamaha River, St. Simons was known for its production of long-staple cotton, which soon came to be known as Sea Island cotton.
Between
Ebos Landing
the 1780s and the outbreak of the Civil War (1861-65), St. Simons's plantation culture flourished. The saline atmosphere and the availability of cheap slave labor proved an ideal combination for the cultivation of Sea Island cotton. In 1803 a group of Ebo slaves who survived the Middle Passage and arrived on the west side of St. Simons staged a rebellion and drowned themselves. The sacred site is known today as Ebos Landing.
One of the largest owners of land and slaves on St. Simons was Pierce Butler, master of Hampton Point Plantation, located on the northern end of the island. By 1793 Butler owned more than 500 slaves, who cultivated 800 acres of cotton on St. Simons and 300 acres of rice on Butler's Island in the Altamaha River delta. Butler's grandson, Pierce Mease Butler, who at the age of sixteen inherited a share of his grandfather's estate in 1826, was responsible for the largest sale of human beings in the history of the United States: in 1859, to restore his squandered fortune, he sold 429 slaves in Savannah for more than $300,000. The British actress and writer Fanny Kemble, whose tumultuous marriage to Pierce ended in divorce in 1849, published an eyewitness account of the evils of slavery on St. Simons in her book Journal of a Residence on a Georgian Plantation in 1838-1839 (1863).
Another
Retreat Plantation
large owner of land and slaves on St. Simons was Major William Page, a friend and employee of Pierce Butler Sr. Before purchasing Retreat Plantation on the southwestern tip of the island in 1804, Page managed the Hampton plantation and Butler's Island. Upon Page's death in 1827, Thomas Butler King inherited the land together with his wife, Page's daughter, Anna Matilda Page King. King expanded his father-in-law's planting empire on St. Simons as well as on the mainland, and by 1835 Retreat Plantation alone was home to as many as 355 slaves.
The center of life during the island's plantation era was Christ Church, Frederica. Organized in 1807 by a group of island planters, the Episcopal church is the second oldest in the Diocese of Georgia. Embargoes imposed by the War of 1812 (1812-15) prevented the parishioners from building a church structure, so they worshiped in the home of John Beck, which stood on the site of Oglethorpe's only St. Simons residence, Orange Hall.
The first Christ Church building, finished on the present site in 1820, was ruined by occupying Union troops during the Civil War. In 1884 the Reverend Anson Dodge Jr. rebuilt the church as a memorial to his first wife, Ellen. The cruciform building with a trussed gothic roof and stained-glass windows remains active today as Christ Church.
Civil War and Beyond
The
St. Simons Island Lighthouse
outbreak of the Civil War in 1861 put a sudden end to St. Simons's lucrative plantation era. In January of that year, Confederate troops were stationed at the south end of the island to guard the entrance to Brunswick Harbor. Slaves from Retreat Plantation, owned by Thomas Butler King, built earthworks and batteries. Plantation residents were scattered—the men joined the Confederate army and their families moved to the mainland. Cannon fire was heard on the island in December 1861, and Confederate troops retreated in February 1862, after dynamiting the lighthouse to keep its beacon from aiding Union troops. Soon thereafter, Union troops occupied the island, which was used as a camp for freed slaves. By August 1862 more than 500 former slaves lived on St. Simons, including Susie King Taylor, who organized a school for freed slave children. But in November the ex-slaves were taken to Hilton Head, South Carolina, and Fernandina, Florida, leaving the island abandoned.
After the Civil War the island never returned to its status as an agricultural community. The plantations lay dormant because there were no slaves to work the fields. After Union general William T. Sherman's January 1865 Special Field Order No. 15 —a demand that former plantations be divided and distributed to former slaves—was overturned by U.S. president Andrew Johnson less than a year later, freedmen and women were forced to work as sharecroppers on the small farms that dotted the land previously occupied by the sprawling plantations.
By
St. Simons Lumber Mills
1870 real economic recovery began with the reestablishment of the timber industry. Norman Dodge and Titus G. Meigs of New York set up lumber mill operations at Gascoigne Bluff, formerly Hamilton Plantation. The lumber mills provided welcome employment for both blacks and whites and also provided mail and passenger boats to the mainland. Such water traffic, together with the construction of a new lighthouse in 1872, designed by architect Charles B. Cluskey, marked the beginning of St. Simons's tourism industry. The keeper of the lighthouse created a small amusement park, which drew many visitors, as did the seemingly miraculous light that traveled from the top of the lighthouse tower to the bottom. The island became a summer retreat for families from the mainland, particularly from Baxley, Brunswick, and Waycross.
The island's resort industry was thriving by the 1880s. Beachfront structures, such as a new pier and grand hotel, were built on the southeastern end of the island and could be accessed by ferry. Around this time wealthy northerners began vacationing on the island.
Twentieth Century
The
St. Simons Island Pier and Village
opening in 1924 of the Brunswick–St. Simons Highway, today known as the Torras Causeway, was a milestone in the development of resorts in the area. St. Simons's beaches were now easily accessible to locals and tourists alike. More than 5,000 automobiles took the short drive from Brunswick to St. Simons via the causeway on its opening day, paving the way for convenient residential and resort development.
In 1926 automotive pioneer Howard Coffin of Detroit, Michigan, bought large tracts of land on St. Simons, including the former Retreat Plantation, and constructed a golf course, yacht club, paved roads, and a residential subdivision. Although the causeway had brought large numbers of summer people to the island, St. Simons remained a small community with only a few hundred permanent residents until the 1940s.
The
St. Simons Island
outbreak of World War II (1941-45) brought more visitors and residents to St. Simons. Troops stationed at Jacksonville, Florida; Savannah; and nearby Camp Stewart took weekend vacations on the island, and a new naval air base and radar school became home to even more officers and soldiers. The increased wartime population brought the island its first public school. With a major shipyard for the production of Liberty ships in nearby Brunswick, the waters of St. Simons became active with German U-boats. In April 1942, just off the coast, the Texas Company oil tanker S. S. Oklahoma and the S. S. Esso Baton Rouge were torpedoed by the Germans, bringing the war very close to home for island residents.
Due in large part to the military's improvement of the island's infrastructure during the war, development on the island boomed in the 1950s and 1960s. More permanent homes and subdivisions were built, and the island was no longer just a summer resort but also a thriving community. In 1950 the Methodist conference and retreat center Epworth by the Sea opened on Gascoigne Bluff. In 1961 novelist Eugenia Price visited St. Simons and began work on her first works of fiction, known as the St. Simons Trilogy. Inspired by real events on the island, Price's trilogy renewed interest in the history of Georgia's coast, and the novelist herself relocated to the island in 1965 and lived there for thirty-one years. St. Simons is also home to contemporary Georgia writer Tina McElroy Ansa.
Since
Epworth by the Sea
1980 St. Simons's population has doubled. The island's continued status as a vacation destination and its ongoing development boom have put historic landmarks and natural areas at risk. While such landmarks as the Fort Frederica ruins and the Battle of Bloody Marsh site are preserved and maintained by the National Park Service, and while the historic lighthouse is maintained by the Coastal Georgia Historical Society, historic Ebos Landing has been taken over by a sewage treatment plant.
Several coastal organizations have formed in recent years to save natural areas on the island. The St. Simons Land Trust, for example, has received donations of large tracts of land and plans to protect property in the island's three traditional African American neighborhoods. Despite its rapid growth and development, St. Simons remains one of the most beautiful and important islands on the Georgia coast.

What simply started out as the purchase of a 30” Wolf gas stove to replace the old, turned into a complete kitchen renovation. The original intent was to replace the existing stove with the new. The new Wolf came other issues one being installing an adequate exhaust system to meet the needs of the stove. One thing led to the next and with that a new kitchen. The renovation included removing all existing fixtures, cabinetry and lighting. The existing tile floor remained the same but with some added area that was previously under existing base cabinets.
The goal of the project, once the decision was made to do a complete renovation, was to update the kitchen creating an eclectic aesthetic with all new fixtures of the best quality that could be afforded. Listed below are the changes that were made. All fixtures remained in their existing locations other than removing small piece of wall that allowed an extended length of the new bakers table to extend 24” into the existing dining and living room space to pull the spaces together and provide a small eating bar with adjoining bar stools. One stool was a custom design and fabrication (Marlin Stool)
Fixtures
1. Existing gas stove replaced with new 30” gas Wolf stove.
2. Existing Refrigerator replace with new 36” stainless steel Jen-Air refrigerator with bottom freezer.
3. Existing Dishwasher replace with new Jen-Air stainless steel interior and exterior dishwasher.
4. Existing base cabinets replaced with a combination of open and closed tables and cabinets. Two stainless steel commercial kitchen tables with an open bases and shelving. One with a stainless steel top the other a bakers table with a wood butcher block top. The cabinets were Kraft Made traditional wood base cabinets with a Kaffe finish and Fireslate counter surface. These cabinets were customized with stainless steel perforated door inserts and Mockett stainless steel drawer and door pulls.
5. Surface counter and table material included wood butcher block, stainless steel and Fireslate.
6. Overhead shelving included open commercial kitchen stainless steel shelves and open Appleply wood shelves with Rakks aluminum shelf brackets.
7. Existing lighting was replaced with Zumtobel track lighting with Ushio lamps, Lutron dimmers and an up lighted coffered ceiling (see Superman).
8. Existing kitchen sink was replaced with a large single compartment sink from Kindred with an In-Sinkerator Evolution garbage disposal. Filter water tap was added that connects to an Everprue water filter system.
9. Walls were tiled with Bottle Green 4 1/4” x 4 1/4” Daltile to staying consistent with existing original house tile.
10. The ceiling was reworked as required with a plaster finish
11. Marine grade caulk was used as required.
12. A soffit with up lighting was added to the periphery of kitchen facing the adjoining living and dining rooms.
13. Silver Masonite peg board storage wall adjacent to refrigerator.
Credits:
• Little Pete the Parakeet.....for being there
• Catalina Aguirre.....pots
• Many Friends....pots
• David D’Imperio.....Sputnik lamp
• Jose Maria Concha Sali.....painting
• Ron Meyers.....Plates on wall
• Bill Sanders.....Bunny screen painting
• William Hoffman....Beverly lamp
• William Hoffman.....marlin stool
• William Hoffman.....Gulfstream side chair
• William Hoffman.....Gulfstream dining table
• William Hoffman.....5 from 1 plywood chair
Problems
• A custom fabricated exhaust duct was required due to existing soffit framing conditions.
• The ceiling was not parallel to the floor so the intended full wall tile installation was held short of the ceiling.
• Return Air duct to A/C air handler required relocation
Project cost
• +/- $22,000
Fixtures, materials and appliances
Selection of fixtures, materials and fixtures were made based on quality, aesthetic and cost. Extensive research was done to find the best quality at a price point that was affordable. Items that were splurged on were the Wolf stove and Jen-Air refrigerator and dishwasher and the Zumtobel lighting
Bill Sanders Photography

Sponsored
Delaware, OH
Buckeye Basements, Inc.
Central Ohio's Basement Finishing ExpertsBest Of Houzz '13-'21

After the devastating Tubbs fire, Craig reimagined this Calistoga property into a wine country retreat for the owners' family as well as corporate/wellness guests. He approached the design by studying the natural elements of the site including trees, views and light, the vernacular design of the area and the clients’ personality. Craig designed a barn and the house – made up of a one-story and a two-story building – connected by a stunning 20-foot steel and glass breezeway. Expansive doors and windows create seamless indoor/outdoor flow and numerous patios and the pool area provide comfortable outdoor spaces. The modern and warm interior is bright, luxurious and comfortable.

Stuart Wade, Envision Virtual Tours
The second-largest and most developed of Georgia's barrier islands, St. Simons is approximately twelve miles long and nearly three miles wide at its widest stretch (roughly the size of Manhattan Island in New York). The island is located in Glynn County on Georgia's coast and lies east of Brunswick (the seat of Glynn County), south of Little St. Simons Island and the Hampton River, and north of Jekyll Island. The resort community of Sea Island is separated from St. Simons on the east by the Black Banks River. Known for its oak tree canopies and historic landmarks, St. Simons is both a tourist destination and, according to the 2010 U.S. census, home to 12,743 residents.
Early History
The earliest
St. Simons Island Village
record of human habitation on the island dates to the Late Archaic Period, about 5,000 to 3,000 years ago. Remnants of shell rings left behind by Native Americans from this era survive on many of the barrier islands, including St. Simons. Centuries later, during the period known by historians as the chiefdom era, the Guale Indians established a chiefdom centered on St. Catherines Island and used St. Simons as their hunting and fishing grounds. By 1500 the Guale had established a permanent village of about 200 people on St. Simons, which they called Guadalquini.
Beginning in 1568, the Spanish attempted to create missions along the Georgia coast. Catholic missions were the primary means by which Georgia's indigenous Native American chiefdoms were assimilated into the Spanish colonial system along the northern frontier of greater Spanish Florida. In the 1600s St. Simons became home to two Spanish missions: San Buenaventura de Guadalquini, on the southern tip of the island, and Santo Domingo de Asao (or Asajo), on the northern tip. Located on the inland side of the island were the pagan refugee villages of San Simón, the island's namesake, and Ocotonico. In 1684 pirate raids left the missions and villages largely abandoned.
Colonial History
As
Fort Frederica
early as 1670, with Great Britain's establishment of the colony of Carolina and its expansion into Georgia territory, Spanish rule was threatened by the English. The Georgia coast was considered "debatable land" by England and Spain, even though Spain had fully retreated from St. Simons by 1702. Thirty-one years later General James Edward Oglethorpe founded the English settlement of Savannah. In 1736 he established Fort Frederica, named after the heir to the British throne, Frederick Louis, prince of Wales, on the west side of St. Simons Island to protect Savannah and the Carolinas from the Spanish threat.
Between 1736 and 1749 Fort Frederica was the hub of British military operations along the Georgia frontier. A town of the same name grew up around the fort and was of great importance to the new colony. By 1740 Frederica's population was 1,000. In 1736 the congregation of what would become Christ Church was organized within Fort Frederica as a mission of the Church of England. Charles Wesley led the first services. In 1742 Britain's decisive victory over Spain in the Battle of Bloody Marsh, during the War of Jenkins' Ear, ended the Spanish threat to the Georgia coast. When the British regimen disbanded in 1749, most of the townspeople relocated to the mainland. Fort Frederica went into decline and, except for a short time of prosperity during the 1760s and 1770s under the leadership of merchant James Spalding, never fully recovered. Today the historic citadel's tabby ruins are maintained by the National Park Service.
Plantation Era
By the start of the American Revolution (1775-83), Fort Frederica was obsolete, and St. Simons was left largely uninhabited as most of its residents joined the patriot army. Besides hosting a small Georgia naval victory on the Fort Frederica River, providing guns from its famous fort for use at Fort Morris in Sunbury, and serving as an arena for pillaging by privateers and British soldiers, the island played almost no role in the war.
Following the war, many of the townspeople, their businesses destroyed, turned to agriculture. The island was transformed into fourteen cotton plantations after acres of live oak trees were cleared for farm land and used for building American warships, including the famous USS Constitution, or "Old Ironsides." Although rice was the predominant crop along the neighboring Altamaha River, St. Simons was known for its production of long-staple cotton, which soon came to be known as Sea Island cotton.
Between
Ebos Landing
the 1780s and the outbreak of the Civil War (1861-65), St. Simons's plantation culture flourished. The saline atmosphere and the availability of cheap slave labor proved an ideal combination for the cultivation of Sea Island cotton. In 1803 a group of Ebo slaves who survived the Middle Passage and arrived on the west side of St. Simons staged a rebellion and drowned themselves. The sacred site is known today as Ebos Landing.
One of the largest owners of land and slaves on St. Simons was Pierce Butler, master of Hampton Point Plantation, located on the northern end of the island. By 1793 Butler owned more than 500 slaves, who cultivated 800 acres of cotton on St. Simons and 300 acres of rice on Butler's Island in the Altamaha River delta. Butler's grandson, Pierce Mease Butler, who at the age of sixteen inherited a share of his grandfather's estate in 1826, was responsible for the largest sale of human beings in the history of the United States: in 1859, to restore his squandered fortune, he sold 429 slaves in Savannah for more than $300,000. The British actress and writer Fanny Kemble, whose tumultuous marriage to Pierce ended in divorce in 1849, published an eyewitness account of the evils of slavery on St. Simons in her book Journal of a Residence on a Georgian Plantation in 1838-1839 (1863).
Another
Retreat Plantation
large owner of land and slaves on St. Simons was Major William Page, a friend and employee of Pierce Butler Sr. Before purchasing Retreat Plantation on the southwestern tip of the island in 1804, Page managed the Hampton plantation and Butler's Island. Upon Page's death in 1827, Thomas Butler King inherited the land together with his wife, Page's daughter, Anna Matilda Page King. King expanded his father-in-law's planting empire on St. Simons as well as on the mainland, and by 1835 Retreat Plantation alone was home to as many as 355 slaves.
The center of life during the island's plantation era was Christ Church, Frederica. Organized in 1807 by a group of island planters, the Episcopal church is the second oldest in the Diocese of Georgia. Embargoes imposed by the War of 1812 (1812-15) prevented the parishioners from building a church structure, so they worshiped in the home of John Beck, which stood on the site of Oglethorpe's only St. Simons residence, Orange Hall.
The first Christ Church building, finished on the present site in 1820, was ruined by occupying Union troops during the Civil War. In 1884 the Reverend Anson Dodge Jr. rebuilt the church as a memorial to his first wife, Ellen. The cruciform building with a trussed gothic roof and stained-glass windows remains active today as Christ Church.
Civil War and Beyond
The
St. Simons Island Lighthouse
outbreak of the Civil War in 1861 put a sudden end to St. Simons's lucrative plantation era. In January of that year, Confederate troops were stationed at the south end of the island to guard the entrance to Brunswick Harbor. Slaves from Retreat Plantation, owned by Thomas Butler King, built earthworks and batteries. Plantation residents were scattered—the men joined the Confederate army and their families moved to the mainland. Cannon fire was heard on the island in December 1861, and Confederate troops retreated in February 1862, after dynamiting the lighthouse to keep its beacon from aiding Union troops. Soon thereafter, Union troops occupied the island, which was used as a camp for freed slaves. By August 1862 more than 500 former slaves lived on St. Simons, including Susie King Taylor, who organized a school for freed slave children. But in November the ex-slaves were taken to Hilton Head, South Carolina, and Fernandina, Florida, leaving the island abandoned.
After the Civil War the island never returned to its status as an agricultural community. The plantations lay dormant because there were no slaves to work the fields. After Union general William T. Sherman's January 1865 Special Field Order No. 15 —a demand that former plantations be divided and distributed to former slaves—was overturned by U.S. president Andrew Johnson less than a year later, freedmen and women were forced to work as sharecroppers on the small farms that dotted the land previously occupied by the sprawling plantations.
By
St. Simons Lumber Mills
1870 real economic recovery began with the reestablishment of the timber industry. Norman Dodge and Titus G. Meigs of New York set up lumber mill operations at Gascoigne Bluff, formerly Hamilton Plantation. The lumber mills provided welcome employment for both blacks and whites and also provided mail and passenger boats to the mainland. Such water traffic, together with the construction of a new lighthouse in 1872, designed by architect Charles B. Cluskey, marked the beginning of St. Simons's tourism industry. The keeper of the lighthouse created a small amusement park, which drew many visitors, as did the seemingly miraculous light that traveled from the top of the lighthouse tower to the bottom. The island became a summer retreat for families from the mainland, particularly from Baxley, Brunswick, and Waycross.
The island's resort industry was thriving by the 1880s. Beachfront structures, such as a new pier and grand hotel, were built on the southeastern end of the island and could be accessed by ferry. Around this time wealthy northerners began vacationing on the island.
Twentieth Century
The
St. Simons Island Pier and Village
opening in 1924 of the Brunswick–St. Simons Highway, today known as the Torras Causeway, was a milestone in the development of resorts in the area. St. Simons's beaches were now easily accessible to locals and tourists alike. More than 5,000 automobiles took the short drive from Brunswick to St. Simons via the causeway on its opening day, paving the way for convenient residential and resort development.
In 1926 automotive pioneer Howard Coffin of Detroit, Michigan, bought large tracts of land on St. Simons, including the former Retreat Plantation, and constructed a golf course, yacht club, paved roads, and a residential subdivision. Although the causeway had brought large numbers of summer people to the island, St. Simons remained a small community with only a few hundred permanent residents until the 1940s.
The
St. Simons Island
outbreak of World War II (1941-45) brought more visitors and residents to St. Simons. Troops stationed at Jacksonville, Florida; Savannah; and nearby Camp Stewart took weekend vacations on the island, and a new naval air base and radar school became home to even more officers and soldiers. The increased wartime population brought the island its first public school. With a major shipyard for the production of Liberty ships in nearby Brunswick, the waters of St. Simons became active with German U-boats. In April 1942, just off the coast, the Texas Company oil tanker S. S. Oklahoma and the S. S. Esso Baton Rouge were torpedoed by the Germans, bringing the war very close to home for island residents.
Due in large part to the military's improvement of the island's infrastructure during the war, development on the island boomed in the 1950s and 1960s. More permanent homes and subdivisions were built, and the island was no longer just a summer resort but also a thriving community. In 1950 the Methodist conference and retreat center Epworth by the Sea opened on Gascoigne Bluff. In 1961 novelist Eugenia Price visited St. Simons and began work on her first works of fiction, known as the St. Simons Trilogy. Inspired by real events on the island, Price's trilogy renewed interest in the history of Georgia's coast, and the novelist herself relocated to the island in 1965 and lived there for thirty-one years. St. Simons is also home to contemporary Georgia writer Tina McElroy Ansa.
Since
Epworth by the Sea
1980 St. Simons's population has doubled. The island's continued status as a vacation destination and its ongoing development boom have put historic landmarks and natural areas at risk. While such landmarks as the Fort Frederica ruins and the Battle of Bloody Marsh site are preserved and maintained by the National Park Service, and while the historic lighthouse is maintained by the Coastal Georgia Historical Society, historic Ebos Landing has been taken over by a sewage treatment plant.
Several coastal organizations have formed in recent years to save natural areas on the island. The St. Simons Land Trust, for example, has received donations of large tracts of land and plans to protect property in the island's three traditional African American neighborhoods. Despite its rapid growth and development, St. Simons remains one of the most beautiful and important islands on the Georgia coast.

Mid-sized eclectic freestanding desk carpeted and gray floor study room photo in Toronto with multicolored walls

This gorgeous contemporary glass front custom wine cellar in Corona Del Mar, Newport Beach, California is an eye catcher. The sleek, glass ultra modern wine room was a unique and exciting project for our team here at Vintage Cellars. The stone bar extends into the wine cellar itself, but due to mechanical, cooling, and condensation concerns, our expert custom wine cellar team knew that extra measures needed to be taken to ensure the end quality remained top notch.
The bar itself was divided into two sections, one cut section outside to make up the main seating area and the other inside the glass wine room. The stone bar, which is porous, takes up a good portion of the front facing glass panel. Had the bar simply extended into the wine cellar and been sealed off at the joints, the stone would have eventually transferred in enough heat and moisture to cause condensation. Proper wine cellar design and planning enabled this wine cellar to not only look fantastic, but function perfectly as well.
One interesting unique feature in this Corona Del Mar, Newport Beach, Orange County, California glass and metal wine cellar is an extension of floor to ceiling frames mounted to the backside of the stone bar. This feature was made to seamlessly show consistency in floor to ceiling vintageview frames throughout.
Corona Del Mar, Newport Beach, Laguna Beach, Huntington Beach, Newport Coast, Ladera Ranch, Coto De Caza, Laguna Hills, San Clemente, Dana Point, Seal Beach, Laguna Niguel still remain the areas in Orange County that we build wine cellars most often.
Contemporary wine cellars such as this are becoming more and more popular in modern design trends. Interior Design, Architecture, and Construction all play a part in ensuring that the client’s vision comes to reality. This project was no different. Working closely with David Close Homes, Vintage Cellars was able to meet with the client and team involved, determine the ultimate wine cellar wine room wine closet goals, and see them to the finish.
Upon walking into this glass and metal modern contemporary wine cellar, you become quickly surrounded with triple deep bottles from many of the world’s best wineries. On the left below the countertop is a black stained poplar wine racking system for single 750ml bottles. Above lies room for display case storage, room for large format bottles, and label forward vintageview design racking to the ceiling. On the middle wall of this wine room is room for case storage below, similarly with triple deep vintageview floor to ceiling frames dying into more case storage above. On the right side of this wall lies a vertical space for single large format case storage.
Ultra Modern wine cellars such as this are all the rage in contemporary homes in San Diego, Orange County, and Los Angeles. This glass enclosed wine cellar with a sleek modern contemporary racking system is truly a showpiece in this home in Corona Del Mar, Newport Beach, California. Wine Racking, Wine Cellar Cooling, Wine Cellar design, Wine Cellar Build out and Wine Cellar Installation is what Vintage Cellars does best. Timeless Luxury.

Stuart Wade, Envision Virtual Tours
The second-largest and most developed of Georgia's barrier islands, St. Simons is approximately twelve miles long and nearly three miles wide at its widest stretch (roughly the size of Manhattan Island in New York). The island is located in Glynn County on Georgia's coast and lies east of Brunswick (the seat of Glynn County), south of Little St. Simons Island and the Hampton River, and north of Jekyll Island. The resort community of Sea Island is separated from St. Simons on the east by the Black Banks River. Known for its oak tree canopies and historic landmarks, St. Simons is both a tourist destination and, according to the 2010 U.S. census, home to 12,743 residents.
Early History
The earliest
St. Simons Island Village
record of human habitation on the island dates to the Late Archaic Period, about 5,000 to 3,000 years ago. Remnants of shell rings left behind by Native Americans from this era survive on many of the barrier islands, including St. Simons. Centuries later, during the period known by historians as the chiefdom era, the Guale Indians established a chiefdom centered on St. Catherines Island and used St. Simons as their hunting and fishing grounds. By 1500 the Guale had established a permanent village of about 200 people on St. Simons, which they called Guadalquini.
Beginning in 1568, the Spanish attempted to create missions along the Georgia coast. Catholic missions were the primary means by which Georgia's indigenous Native American chiefdoms were assimilated into the Spanish colonial system along the northern frontier of greater Spanish Florida. In the 1600s St. Simons became home to two Spanish missions: San Buenaventura de Guadalquini, on the southern tip of the island, and Santo Domingo de Asao (or Asajo), on the northern tip. Located on the inland side of the island were the pagan refugee villages of San Simón, the island's namesake, and Ocotonico. In 1684 pirate raids left the missions and villages largely abandoned.
Colonial History
As
Fort Frederica
early as 1670, with Great Britain's establishment of the colony of Carolina and its expansion into Georgia territory, Spanish rule was threatened by the English. The Georgia coast was considered "debatable land" by England and Spain, even though Spain had fully retreated from St. Simons by 1702. Thirty-one years later General James Edward Oglethorpe founded the English settlement of Savannah. In 1736 he established Fort Frederica, named after the heir to the British throne, Frederick Louis, prince of Wales, on the west side of St. Simons Island to protect Savannah and the Carolinas from the Spanish threat.
Between 1736 and 1749 Fort Frederica was the hub of British military operations along the Georgia frontier. A town of the same name grew up around the fort and was of great importance to the new colony. By 1740 Frederica's population was 1,000. In 1736 the congregation of what would become Christ Church was organized within Fort Frederica as a mission of the Church of England. Charles Wesley led the first services. In 1742 Britain's decisive victory over Spain in the Battle of Bloody Marsh, during the War of Jenkins' Ear, ended the Spanish threat to the Georgia coast. When the British regimen disbanded in 1749, most of the townspeople relocated to the mainland. Fort Frederica went into decline and, except for a short time of prosperity during the 1760s and 1770s under the leadership of merchant James Spalding, never fully recovered. Today the historic citadel's tabby ruins are maintained by the National Park Service.
Plantation Era
By the start of the American Revolution (1775-83), Fort Frederica was obsolete, and St. Simons was left largely uninhabited as most of its residents joined the patriot army. Besides hosting a small Georgia naval victory on the Fort Frederica River, providing guns from its famous fort for use at Fort Morris in Sunbury, and serving as an arena for pillaging by privateers and British soldiers, the island played almost no role in the war.
Following the war, many of the townspeople, their businesses destroyed, turned to agriculture. The island was transformed into fourteen cotton plantations after acres of live oak trees were cleared for farm land and used for building American warships, including the famous USS Constitution, or "Old Ironsides." Although rice was the predominant crop along the neighboring Altamaha River, St. Simons was known for its production of long-staple cotton, which soon came to be known as Sea Island cotton.
Between
Ebos Landing
the 1780s and the outbreak of the Civil War (1861-65), St. Simons's plantation culture flourished. The saline atmosphere and the availability of cheap slave labor proved an ideal combination for the cultivation of Sea Island cotton. In 1803 a group of Ebo slaves who survived the Middle Passage and arrived on the west side of St. Simons staged a rebellion and drowned themselves. The sacred site is known today as Ebos Landing.
One of the largest owners of land and slaves on St. Simons was Pierce Butler, master of Hampton Point Plantation, located on the northern end of the island. By 1793 Butler owned more than 500 slaves, who cultivated 800 acres of cotton on St. Simons and 300 acres of rice on Butler's Island in the Altamaha River delta. Butler's grandson, Pierce Mease Butler, who at the age of sixteen inherited a share of his grandfather's estate in 1826, was responsible for the largest sale of human beings in the history of the United States: in 1859, to restore his squandered fortune, he sold 429 slaves in Savannah for more than $300,000. The British actress and writer Fanny Kemble, whose tumultuous marriage to Pierce ended in divorce in 1849, published an eyewitness account of the evils of slavery on St. Simons in her book Journal of a Residence on a Georgian Plantation in 1838-1839 (1863).
Another
Retreat Plantation
large owner of land and slaves on St. Simons was Major William Page, a friend and employee of Pierce Butler Sr. Before purchasing Retreat Plantation on the southwestern tip of the island in 1804, Page managed the Hampton plantation and Butler's Island. Upon Page's death in 1827, Thomas Butler King inherited the land together with his wife, Page's daughter, Anna Matilda Page King. King expanded his father-in-law's planting empire on St. Simons as well as on the mainland, and by 1835 Retreat Plantation alone was home to as many as 355 slaves.
The center of life during the island's plantation era was Christ Church, Frederica. Organized in 1807 by a group of island planters, the Episcopal church is the second oldest in the Diocese of Georgia. Embargoes imposed by the War of 1812 (1812-15) prevented the parishioners from building a church structure, so they worshiped in the home of John Beck, which stood on the site of Oglethorpe's only St. Simons residence, Orange Hall.
The first Christ Church building, finished on the present site in 1820, was ruined by occupying Union troops during the Civil War. In 1884 the Reverend Anson Dodge Jr. rebuilt the church as a memorial to his first wife, Ellen. The cruciform building with a trussed gothic roof and stained-glass windows remains active today as Christ Church.
Civil War and Beyond
The
St. Simons Island Lighthouse
outbreak of the Civil War in 1861 put a sudden end to St. Simons's lucrative plantation era. In January of that year, Confederate troops were stationed at the south end of the island to guard the entrance to Brunswick Harbor. Slaves from Retreat Plantation, owned by Thomas Butler King, built earthworks and batteries. Plantation residents were scattered—the men joined the Confederate army and their families moved to the mainland. Cannon fire was heard on the island in December 1861, and Confederate troops retreated in February 1862, after dynamiting the lighthouse to keep its beacon from aiding Union troops. Soon thereafter, Union troops occupied the island, which was used as a camp for freed slaves. By August 1862 more than 500 former slaves lived on St. Simons, including Susie King Taylor, who organized a school for freed slave children. But in November the ex-slaves were taken to Hilton Head, South Carolina, and Fernandina, Florida, leaving the island abandoned.
After the Civil War the island never returned to its status as an agricultural community. The plantations lay dormant because there were no slaves to work the fields. After Union general William T. Sherman's January 1865 Special Field Order No. 15 —a demand that former plantations be divided and distributed to former slaves—was overturned by U.S. president Andrew Johnson less than a year later, freedmen and women were forced to work as sharecroppers on the small farms that dotted the land previously occupied by the sprawling plantations.
By
St. Simons Lumber Mills
1870 real economic recovery began with the reestablishment of the timber industry. Norman Dodge and Titus G. Meigs of New York set up lumber mill operations at Gascoigne Bluff, formerly Hamilton Plantation. The lumber mills provided welcome employment for both blacks and whites and also provided mail and passenger boats to the mainland. Such water traffic, together with the construction of a new lighthouse in 1872, designed by architect Charles B. Cluskey, marked the beginning of St. Simons's tourism industry. The keeper of the lighthouse created a small amusement park, which drew many visitors, as did the seemingly miraculous light that traveled from the top of the lighthouse tower to the bottom. The island became a summer retreat for families from the mainland, particularly from Baxley, Brunswick, and Waycross.
The island's resort industry was thriving by the 1880s. Beachfront structures, such as a new pier and grand hotel, were built on the southeastern end of the island and could be accessed by ferry. Around this time wealthy northerners began vacationing on the island.
Twentieth Century
The
St. Simons Island Pier and Village
opening in 1924 of the Brunswick–St. Simons Highway, today known as the Torras Causeway, was a milestone in the development of resorts in the area. St. Simons's beaches were now easily accessible to locals and tourists alike. More than 5,000 automobiles took the short drive from Brunswick to St. Simons via the causeway on its opening day, paving the way for convenient residential and resort development.
In 1926 automotive pioneer Howard Coffin of Detroit, Michigan, bought large tracts of land on St. Simons, including the former Retreat Plantation, and constructed a golf course, yacht club, paved roads, and a residential subdivision. Although the causeway had brought large numbers of summer people to the island, St. Simons remained a small community with only a few hundred permanent residents until the 1940s.
The
St. Simons Island
outbreak of World War II (1941-45) brought more visitors and residents to St. Simons. Troops stationed at Jacksonville, Florida; Savannah; and nearby Camp Stewart took weekend vacations on the island, and a new naval air base and radar school became home to even more officers and soldiers. The increased wartime population brought the island its first public school. With a major shipyard for the production of Liberty ships in nearby Brunswick, the waters of St. Simons became active with German U-boats. In April 1942, just off the coast, the Texas Company oil tanker S. S. Oklahoma and the S. S. Esso Baton Rouge were torpedoed by the Germans, bringing the war very close to home for island residents.
Due in large part to the military's improvement of the island's infrastructure during the war, development on the island boomed in the 1950s and 1960s. More permanent homes and subdivisions were built, and the island was no longer just a summer resort but also a thriving community. In 1950 the Methodist conference and retreat center Epworth by the Sea opened on Gascoigne Bluff. In 1961 novelist Eugenia Price visited St. Simons and began work on her first works of fiction, known as the St. Simons Trilogy. Inspired by real events on the island, Price's trilogy renewed interest in the history of Georgia's coast, and the novelist herself relocated to the island in 1965 and lived there for thirty-one years. St. Simons is also home to contemporary Georgia writer Tina McElroy Ansa.
Since
Epworth by the Sea
1980 St. Simons's population has doubled. The island's continued status as a vacation destination and its ongoing development boom have put historic landmarks and natural areas at risk. While such landmarks as the Fort Frederica ruins and the Battle of Bloody Marsh site are preserved and maintained by the National Park Service, and while the historic lighthouse is maintained by the Coastal Georgia Historical Society, historic Ebos Landing has been taken over by a sewage treatment plant.
Several coastal organizations have formed in recent years to save natural areas on the island. The St. Simons Land Trust, for example, has received donations of large tracts of land and plans to protect property in the island's three traditional African American neighborhoods. Despite its rapid growth and development, St. Simons remains one of the most beautiful and important islands on the Georgia coast.

Lower left cabinet, after.
Bathroom - small contemporary bathroom idea in Los Angeles with raised-panel cabinets, white cabinets and solid surface countertops
Bathroom - small contemporary bathroom idea in Los Angeles with raised-panel cabinets, white cabinets and solid surface countertops

These clients debated moving from their dated 1979 house but decided to remodel since they loved their neighborhood and location of their home. We did a whole house interior and exterior remodel for them and they are so happy with their decision. The homeowners felt that reading floorplans was not so easy, so they loved our ability to provide 3D renderings and our personal touches and suggestions from our in-house designers.
The general layout of the home stayed the same with a few minor changes. We took the 38 year old home down to the studs and transformed it completely. The only thing that remains unchanged is the address. The popcorn texture was removed from the ceiling, removed all soffits, replaced all cabinets, flooring and countertops throughout the home. The wet bar was removed from the living room opening the space. The kitchen layout remained the same, but the cook surface was moved. Unneeded space was removed from the laundry room, giving them a larger pantry.
The master suite remained the same but additional lighting was added for reading. We made major improvements in the master bath by adding a rain shower, more storage and a bench to their new shower and gave them a larger bathtub.
All new cedar siding was replaced on the exterior of the home and a fresh coat of paint makes this 1979 home look brand new!
Design/Remodel by Hatfield Builders & Remodelers | Photography by Versatile Imaging

Nestled in the hills of Orinda, California, this 1951 residence is one of only seven extant homes, now known as “The Magnificent Seven”, designed by architect Olof Dahlstrand, a protégé of Frank Lloyd Wright. With its low-slung rooflines, natural materials, and deep integration with the sloping landscape, the home is a pristine example of mid-century modern design inspired by Wright’s organic principles. Over the years, prior homeowners have emphasized preservation, ensuring that the house remained relatively untouched. Each owner has respected the original architecture and stayed true to Dahlstrand’s intent. When a family of five—two college-aged sons and a middle school-aged daughter—acquired the property, they were captivated by its history, legacy of care, and architectural significance. While they appreciated Dahlstrand’s original vision, they also recognized the need to adapt the home for contemporary living while preserving its design integrity.
The remodel was conceived as a thoughtful response to the past—an effort to bring the house into the 21st century without compromising its soul. The primary mandate was to maintain architectural continuity while improving the functionality, comfort, and livability for a modern family. The design team—architects and contractor alike—worked with a shared reverence for the original architecture, allowing that mindset to guide even the most technical or pragmatic decisions.
A key objective was to increase natural light in the kitchen—a departure from Wrightian principles of enclosed, intimate cooking spaces—while maintaining the home’s architectural language. The kitchen was reconfigured to foster a stronger connection to adjacent living spaces while retaining the underlying concept of spatial separation. One of the most transformative architectural changes was the removal of a ridge beam that was originally planned to remain visible through the kitchen. During construction, the team collaborated on a better solution: a wide-flanged steel beam concealed within the roof envelope. This subtle move preserved the clean lines and ceiling continuity, a modern update carried out with utmost respect for the existing framework.
The home’s original powder room, previously accessible only through the kitchen, was relocated for better flow and privacy. A new powder room was carved out of former kitchen cabinetry—a narrow, interior space that could have felt dark and enclosed. To avoid this, the design extended the line of original transom windows into the new powder room and added a skylight above the vanity. The result is a bright and airy space that feels consistent with the rest of the home. Other updates included the installation of new solid-core interior doors with veneers carefully matched to the original mahogany, enhancing the continuity of the interiors. Even smaller decisions, such as placing the door knobs at 42 inches high, mirrored the original proportions. Every choice reflected a shared belief between the architect, contractor, and client: that new work should serve the integrity of the old.
The home’s extensive interior redwood millwork and paneling was meticulously restored. Where new materials were introduced—such as the replacement redwood soffit paneling—the contractor took pains to find finish nails that matched the original, rather than using modern equivalents. This level of craftsmanship and collaboration defined the project. It extended even to the detailing of a blind door to the new powder room, which had to disappear into the existing redwood board-and-batten wall. It was a team effort: the owner found a suitable handle, the architects devised the custom in-swing mechanism, and the contractor executed it so the door aligned precisely with the battens. Throughout, the homeowners were deeply engaged in the design process. One, a meticulous design enthusiast, focused on aesthetic integrity and historic detail. The other brought a practical and function-driven perspective, ensuring that new fixtures and materials would be durable and require minimal maintenance.
While the home’s location posed no major site challenges, sustainability was a key concern. The team upgraded the roof insulation, installed solar panels with battery storage, and added ductless mini-split cooling systems. Lighting was another area where modern technology was woven into a historic framework: new square LED fixtures echo the original custom perimeter soffit lights, maintaining the design language while offering advanced performance.
A planned expansion of a bedroom into suite with a bathroom had to be shelved due to budget constraints and the high cost of below-grade foundation work. Still, the team focused their efforts on making the most of the existing footprint, resolving constraints through design ingenuity rather than adding square footage. This renovation represents a collaborative achievement in preserving and evolving a historically significant home. Every decision was shaped by a shared ethos among clients, architects, and contractor: to maintain the home’s architectural soul while updating it for contemporary life. The result is a timeless modernist residence that continues Olof Dahlstrand’s legacy, remaining grounded in nature, craftsmanship, and human-scale design.
Klopf Architecture Team: John Klopf, AIA, Klara Kevane, Fernanda Bernardes
Interior Architectural Design: Klopf Architecture
Structural Engineer: Daniel Bastiao
Contractor: Don Larwood, Larwood Construction
Photography: Mariko Reed
Year Completed: 2022
16






