Search results for "Virtual office" in Home Design Ideas

Creating a place for learning in this family home was an easy task. Our team spent one weekend installing a floating desk in a dormer area to create a temporary home learning nook that can be converted into a shelf once the kids are back in school. We finished the space to transform into an arts and craft room for this budding artist.

Stuart Wade, Envision Virtual Tours
The second-largest and most developed of Georgia's barrier islands, St. Simons is approximately twelve miles long and nearly three miles wide at its widest stretch (roughly the size of Manhattan Island in New York). The island is located in Glynn County on Georgia's coast and lies east of Brunswick (the seat of Glynn County), south of Little St. Simons Island and the Hampton River, and north of Jekyll Island. The resort community of Sea Island is separated from St. Simons on the east by the Black Banks River. Known for its oak tree canopies and historic landmarks, St. Simons is both a tourist destination and, according to the 2010 U.S. census, home to 12,743 residents.
Early History
The earliest
St. Simons Island Village
record of human habitation on the island dates to the Late Archaic Period, about 5,000 to 3,000 years ago. Remnants of shell rings left behind by Native Americans from this era survive on many of the barrier islands, including St. Simons. Centuries later, during the period known by historians as the chiefdom era, the Guale Indians established a chiefdom centered on St. Catherines Island and used St. Simons as their hunting and fishing grounds. By 1500 the Guale had established a permanent village of about 200 people on St. Simons, which they called Guadalquini.
Beginning in 1568, the Spanish attempted to create missions along the Georgia coast. Catholic missions were the primary means by which Georgia's indigenous Native American chiefdoms were assimilated into the Spanish colonial system along the northern frontier of greater Spanish Florida. In the 1600s St. Simons became home to two Spanish missions: San Buenaventura de Guadalquini, on the southern tip of the island, and Santo Domingo de Asao (or Asajo), on the northern tip. Located on the inland side of the island were the pagan refugee villages of San Simón, the island's namesake, and Ocotonico. In 1684 pirate raids left the missions and villages largely abandoned.
Colonial History
As
Fort Frederica
early as 1670, with Great Britain's establishment of the colony of Carolina and its expansion into Georgia territory, Spanish rule was threatened by the English. The Georgia coast was considered "debatable land" by England and Spain, even though Spain had fully retreated from St. Simons by 1702. Thirty-one years later General James Edward Oglethorpe founded the English settlement of Savannah. In 1736 he established Fort Frederica, named after the heir to the British throne, Frederick Louis, prince of Wales, on the west side of St. Simons Island to protect Savannah and the Carolinas from the Spanish threat.
Between 1736 and 1749 Fort Frederica was the hub of British military operations along the Georgia frontier. A town of the same name grew up around the fort and was of great importance to the new colony. By 1740 Frederica's population was 1,000. In 1736 the congregation of what would become Christ Church was organized within Fort Frederica as a mission of the Church of England. Charles Wesley led the first services. In 1742 Britain's decisive victory over Spain in the Battle of Bloody Marsh, during the War of Jenkins' Ear, ended the Spanish threat to the Georgia coast. When the British regimen disbanded in 1749, most of the townspeople relocated to the mainland. Fort Frederica went into decline and, except for a short time of prosperity during the 1760s and 1770s under the leadership of merchant James Spalding, never fully recovered. Today the historic citadel's tabby ruins are maintained by the National Park Service.
Plantation Era
By the start of the American Revolution (1775-83), Fort Frederica was obsolete, and St. Simons was left largely uninhabited as most of its residents joined the patriot army. Besides hosting a small Georgia naval victory on the Fort Frederica River, providing guns from its famous fort for use at Fort Morris in Sunbury, and serving as an arena for pillaging by privateers and British soldiers, the island played almost no role in the war.
Following the war, many of the townspeople, their businesses destroyed, turned to agriculture. The island was transformed into fourteen cotton plantations after acres of live oak trees were cleared for farm land and used for building American warships, including the famous USS Constitution, or "Old Ironsides." Although rice was the predominant crop along the neighboring Altamaha River, St. Simons was known for its production of long-staple cotton, which soon came to be known as Sea Island cotton.
Between
Ebos Landing
the 1780s and the outbreak of the Civil War (1861-65), St. Simons's plantation culture flourished. The saline atmosphere and the availability of cheap slave labor proved an ideal combination for the cultivation of Sea Island cotton. In 1803 a group of Ebo slaves who survived the Middle Passage and arrived on the west side of St. Simons staged a rebellion and drowned themselves. The sacred site is known today as Ebos Landing.
One of the largest owners of land and slaves on St. Simons was Pierce Butler, master of Hampton Point Plantation, located on the northern end of the island. By 1793 Butler owned more than 500 slaves, who cultivated 800 acres of cotton on St. Simons and 300 acres of rice on Butler's Island in the Altamaha River delta. Butler's grandson, Pierce Mease Butler, who at the age of sixteen inherited a share of his grandfather's estate in 1826, was responsible for the largest sale of human beings in the history of the United States: in 1859, to restore his squandered fortune, he sold 429 slaves in Savannah for more than $300,000. The British actress and writer Fanny Kemble, whose tumultuous marriage to Pierce ended in divorce in 1849, published an eyewitness account of the evils of slavery on St. Simons in her book Journal of a Residence on a Georgian Plantation in 1838-1839 (1863).
Another
Retreat Plantation
large owner of land and slaves on St. Simons was Major William Page, a friend and employee of Pierce Butler Sr. Before purchasing Retreat Plantation on the southwestern tip of the island in 1804, Page managed the Hampton plantation and Butler's Island. Upon Page's death in 1827, Thomas Butler King inherited the land together with his wife, Page's daughter, Anna Matilda Page King. King expanded his father-in-law's planting empire on St. Simons as well as on the mainland, and by 1835 Retreat Plantation alone was home to as many as 355 slaves.
The center of life during the island's plantation era was Christ Church, Frederica. Organized in 1807 by a group of island planters, the Episcopal church is the second oldest in the Diocese of Georgia. Embargoes imposed by the War of 1812 (1812-15) prevented the parishioners from building a church structure, so they worshiped in the home of John Beck, which stood on the site of Oglethorpe's only St. Simons residence, Orange Hall.
The first Christ Church building, finished on the present site in 1820, was ruined by occupying Union troops during the Civil War. In 1884 the Reverend Anson Dodge Jr. rebuilt the church as a memorial to his first wife, Ellen. The cruciform building with a trussed gothic roof and stained-glass windows remains active today as Christ Church.
Civil War and Beyond
The
St. Simons Island Lighthouse
outbreak of the Civil War in 1861 put a sudden end to St. Simons's lucrative plantation era. In January of that year, Confederate troops were stationed at the south end of the island to guard the entrance to Brunswick Harbor. Slaves from Retreat Plantation, owned by Thomas Butler King, built earthworks and batteries. Plantation residents were scattered—the men joined the Confederate army and their families moved to the mainland. Cannon fire was heard on the island in December 1861, and Confederate troops retreated in February 1862, after dynamiting the lighthouse to keep its beacon from aiding Union troops. Soon thereafter, Union troops occupied the island, which was used as a camp for freed slaves. By August 1862 more than 500 former slaves lived on St. Simons, including Susie King Taylor, who organized a school for freed slave children. But in November the ex-slaves were taken to Hilton Head, South Carolina, and Fernandina, Florida, leaving the island abandoned.
After the Civil War the island never returned to its status as an agricultural community. The plantations lay dormant because there were no slaves to work the fields. After Union general William T. Sherman's January 1865 Special Field Order No. 15 —a demand that former plantations be divided and distributed to former slaves—was overturned by U.S. president Andrew Johnson less than a year later, freedmen and women were forced to work as sharecroppers on the small farms that dotted the land previously occupied by the sprawling plantations.
By
St. Simons Lumber Mills
1870 real economic recovery began with the reestablishment of the timber industry. Norman Dodge and Titus G. Meigs of New York set up lumber mill operations at Gascoigne Bluff, formerly Hamilton Plantation. The lumber mills provided welcome employment for both blacks and whites and also provided mail and passenger boats to the mainland. Such water traffic, together with the construction of a new lighthouse in 1872, designed by architect Charles B. Cluskey, marked the beginning of St. Simons's tourism industry. The keeper of the lighthouse created a small amusement park, which drew many visitors, as did the seemingly miraculous light that traveled from the top of the lighthouse tower to the bottom. The island became a summer retreat for families from the mainland, particularly from Baxley, Brunswick, and Waycross.
The island's resort industry was thriving by the 1880s. Beachfront structures, such as a new pier and grand hotel, were built on the southeastern end of the island and could be accessed by ferry. Around this time wealthy northerners began vacationing on the island.
Twentieth Century
The
St. Simons Island Pier and Village
opening in 1924 of the Brunswick–St. Simons Highway, today known as the Torras Causeway, was a milestone in the development of resorts in the area. St. Simons's beaches were now easily accessible to locals and tourists alike. More than 5,000 automobiles took the short drive from Brunswick to St. Simons via the causeway on its opening day, paving the way for convenient residential and resort development.
In 1926 automotive pioneer Howard Coffin of Detroit, Michigan, bought large tracts of land on St. Simons, including the former Retreat Plantation, and constructed a golf course, yacht club, paved roads, and a residential subdivision. Although the causeway had brought large numbers of summer people to the island, St. Simons remained a small community with only a few hundred permanent residents until the 1940s.
The
St. Simons Island
outbreak of World War II (1941-45) brought more visitors and residents to St. Simons. Troops stationed at Jacksonville, Florida; Savannah; and nearby Camp Stewart took weekend vacations on the island, and a new naval air base and radar school became home to even more officers and soldiers. The increased wartime population brought the island its first public school. With a major shipyard for the production of Liberty ships in nearby Brunswick, the waters of St. Simons became active with German U-boats. In April 1942, just off the coast, the Texas Company oil tanker S. S. Oklahoma and the S. S. Esso Baton Rouge were torpedoed by the Germans, bringing the war very close to home for island residents.
Due in large part to the military's improvement of the island's infrastructure during the war, development on the island boomed in the 1950s and 1960s. More permanent homes and subdivisions were built, and the island was no longer just a summer resort but also a thriving community. In 1950 the Methodist conference and retreat center Epworth by the Sea opened on Gascoigne Bluff. In 1961 novelist Eugenia Price visited St. Simons and began work on her first works of fiction, known as the St. Simons Trilogy. Inspired by real events on the island, Price's trilogy renewed interest in the history of Georgia's coast, and the novelist herself relocated to the island in 1965 and lived there for thirty-one years. St. Simons is also home to contemporary Georgia writer Tina McElroy Ansa.
Since
Epworth by the Sea
1980 St. Simons's population has doubled. The island's continued status as a vacation destination and its ongoing development boom have put historic landmarks and natural areas at risk. While such landmarks as the Fort Frederica ruins and the Battle of Bloody Marsh site are preserved and maintained by the National Park Service, and while the historic lighthouse is maintained by the Coastal Georgia Historical Society, historic Ebos Landing has been taken over by a sewage treatment plant.
Several coastal organizations have formed in recent years to save natural areas on the island. The St. Simons Land Trust, for example, has received donations of large tracts of land and plans to protect property in the island's three traditional African American neighborhoods. Despite its rapid growth and development, St. Simons remains one of the most beautiful and important islands on the Georgia coast.

Stuart Wade, Envision Virtual Tours
The second-largest and most developed of Georgia's barrier islands, St. Simons is approximately twelve miles long and nearly three miles wide at its widest stretch (roughly the size of Manhattan Island in New York). The island is located in Glynn County on Georgia's coast and lies east of Brunswick (the seat of Glynn County), south of Little St. Simons Island and the Hampton River, and north of Jekyll Island. The resort community of Sea Island is separated from St. Simons on the east by the Black Banks River. Known for its oak tree canopies and historic landmarks, St. Simons is both a tourist destination and, according to the 2010 U.S. census, home to 12,743 residents.
Early History
The earliest
St. Simons Island Village
record of human habitation on the island dates to the Late Archaic Period, about 5,000 to 3,000 years ago. Remnants of shell rings left behind by Native Americans from this era survive on many of the barrier islands, including St. Simons. Centuries later, during the period known by historians as the chiefdom era, the Guale Indians established a chiefdom centered on St. Catherines Island and used St. Simons as their hunting and fishing grounds. By 1500 the Guale had established a permanent village of about 200 people on St. Simons, which they called Guadalquini.
Beginning in 1568, the Spanish attempted to create missions along the Georgia coast. Catholic missions were the primary means by which Georgia's indigenous Native American chiefdoms were assimilated into the Spanish colonial system along the northern frontier of greater Spanish Florida. In the 1600s St. Simons became home to two Spanish missions: San Buenaventura de Guadalquini, on the southern tip of the island, and Santo Domingo de Asao (or Asajo), on the northern tip. Located on the inland side of the island were the pagan refugee villages of San Simón, the island's namesake, and Ocotonico. In 1684 pirate raids left the missions and villages largely abandoned.
Colonial History
As
Fort Frederica
early as 1670, with Great Britain's establishment of the colony of Carolina and its expansion into Georgia territory, Spanish rule was threatened by the English. The Georgia coast was considered "debatable land" by England and Spain, even though Spain had fully retreated from St. Simons by 1702. Thirty-one years later General James Edward Oglethorpe founded the English settlement of Savannah. In 1736 he established Fort Frederica, named after the heir to the British throne, Frederick Louis, prince of Wales, on the west side of St. Simons Island to protect Savannah and the Carolinas from the Spanish threat.
Between 1736 and 1749 Fort Frederica was the hub of British military operations along the Georgia frontier. A town of the same name grew up around the fort and was of great importance to the new colony. By 1740 Frederica's population was 1,000. In 1736 the congregation of what would become Christ Church was organized within Fort Frederica as a mission of the Church of England. Charles Wesley led the first services. In 1742 Britain's decisive victory over Spain in the Battle of Bloody Marsh, during the War of Jenkins' Ear, ended the Spanish threat to the Georgia coast. When the British regimen disbanded in 1749, most of the townspeople relocated to the mainland. Fort Frederica went into decline and, except for a short time of prosperity during the 1760s and 1770s under the leadership of merchant James Spalding, never fully recovered. Today the historic citadel's tabby ruins are maintained by the National Park Service.
Plantation Era
By the start of the American Revolution (1775-83), Fort Frederica was obsolete, and St. Simons was left largely uninhabited as most of its residents joined the patriot army. Besides hosting a small Georgia naval victory on the Fort Frederica River, providing guns from its famous fort for use at Fort Morris in Sunbury, and serving as an arena for pillaging by privateers and British soldiers, the island played almost no role in the war.
Following the war, many of the townspeople, their businesses destroyed, turned to agriculture. The island was transformed into fourteen cotton plantations after acres of live oak trees were cleared for farm land and used for building American warships, including the famous USS Constitution, or "Old Ironsides." Although rice was the predominant crop along the neighboring Altamaha River, St. Simons was known for its production of long-staple cotton, which soon came to be known as Sea Island cotton.
Between
Ebos Landing
the 1780s and the outbreak of the Civil War (1861-65), St. Simons's plantation culture flourished. The saline atmosphere and the availability of cheap slave labor proved an ideal combination for the cultivation of Sea Island cotton. In 1803 a group of Ebo slaves who survived the Middle Passage and arrived on the west side of St. Simons staged a rebellion and drowned themselves. The sacred site is known today as Ebos Landing.
One of the largest owners of land and slaves on St. Simons was Pierce Butler, master of Hampton Point Plantation, located on the northern end of the island. By 1793 Butler owned more than 500 slaves, who cultivated 800 acres of cotton on St. Simons and 300 acres of rice on Butler's Island in the Altamaha River delta. Butler's grandson, Pierce Mease Butler, who at the age of sixteen inherited a share of his grandfather's estate in 1826, was responsible for the largest sale of human beings in the history of the United States: in 1859, to restore his squandered fortune, he sold 429 slaves in Savannah for more than $300,000. The British actress and writer Fanny Kemble, whose tumultuous marriage to Pierce ended in divorce in 1849, published an eyewitness account of the evils of slavery on St. Simons in her book Journal of a Residence on a Georgian Plantation in 1838-1839 (1863).
Another
Retreat Plantation
large owner of land and slaves on St. Simons was Major William Page, a friend and employee of Pierce Butler Sr. Before purchasing Retreat Plantation on the southwestern tip of the island in 1804, Page managed the Hampton plantation and Butler's Island. Upon Page's death in 1827, Thomas Butler King inherited the land together with his wife, Page's daughter, Anna Matilda Page King. King expanded his father-in-law's planting empire on St. Simons as well as on the mainland, and by 1835 Retreat Plantation alone was home to as many as 355 slaves.
The center of life during the island's plantation era was Christ Church, Frederica. Organized in 1807 by a group of island planters, the Episcopal church is the second oldest in the Diocese of Georgia. Embargoes imposed by the War of 1812 (1812-15) prevented the parishioners from building a church structure, so they worshiped in the home of John Beck, which stood on the site of Oglethorpe's only St. Simons residence, Orange Hall.
The first Christ Church building, finished on the present site in 1820, was ruined by occupying Union troops during the Civil War. In 1884 the Reverend Anson Dodge Jr. rebuilt the church as a memorial to his first wife, Ellen. The cruciform building with a trussed gothic roof and stained-glass windows remains active today as Christ Church.
Civil War and Beyond
The
St. Simons Island Lighthouse
outbreak of the Civil War in 1861 put a sudden end to St. Simons's lucrative plantation era. In January of that year, Confederate troops were stationed at the south end of the island to guard the entrance to Brunswick Harbor. Slaves from Retreat Plantation, owned by Thomas Butler King, built earthworks and batteries. Plantation residents were scattered—the men joined the Confederate army and their families moved to the mainland. Cannon fire was heard on the island in December 1861, and Confederate troops retreated in February 1862, after dynamiting the lighthouse to keep its beacon from aiding Union troops. Soon thereafter, Union troops occupied the island, which was used as a camp for freed slaves. By August 1862 more than 500 former slaves lived on St. Simons, including Susie King Taylor, who organized a school for freed slave children. But in November the ex-slaves were taken to Hilton Head, South Carolina, and Fernandina, Florida, leaving the island abandoned.
After the Civil War the island never returned to its status as an agricultural community. The plantations lay dormant because there were no slaves to work the fields. After Union general William T. Sherman's January 1865 Special Field Order No. 15 —a demand that former plantations be divided and distributed to former slaves—was overturned by U.S. president Andrew Johnson less than a year later, freedmen and women were forced to work as sharecroppers on the small farms that dotted the land previously occupied by the sprawling plantations.
By
St. Simons Lumber Mills
1870 real economic recovery began with the reestablishment of the timber industry. Norman Dodge and Titus G. Meigs of New York set up lumber mill operations at Gascoigne Bluff, formerly Hamilton Plantation. The lumber mills provided welcome employment for both blacks and whites and also provided mail and passenger boats to the mainland. Such water traffic, together with the construction of a new lighthouse in 1872, designed by architect Charles B. Cluskey, marked the beginning of St. Simons's tourism industry. The keeper of the lighthouse created a small amusement park, which drew many visitors, as did the seemingly miraculous light that traveled from the top of the lighthouse tower to the bottom. The island became a summer retreat for families from the mainland, particularly from Baxley, Brunswick, and Waycross.
The island's resort industry was thriving by the 1880s. Beachfront structures, such as a new pier and grand hotel, were built on the southeastern end of the island and could be accessed by ferry. Around this time wealthy northerners began vacationing on the island.
Twentieth Century
The
St. Simons Island Pier and Village
opening in 1924 of the Brunswick–St. Simons Highway, today known as the Torras Causeway, was a milestone in the development of resorts in the area. St. Simons's beaches were now easily accessible to locals and tourists alike. More than 5,000 automobiles took the short drive from Brunswick to St. Simons via the causeway on its opening day, paving the way for convenient residential and resort development.
In 1926 automotive pioneer Howard Coffin of Detroit, Michigan, bought large tracts of land on St. Simons, including the former Retreat Plantation, and constructed a golf course, yacht club, paved roads, and a residential subdivision. Although the causeway had brought large numbers of summer people to the island, St. Simons remained a small community with only a few hundred permanent residents until the 1940s.
The
St. Simons Island
outbreak of World War II (1941-45) brought more visitors and residents to St. Simons. Troops stationed at Jacksonville, Florida; Savannah; and nearby Camp Stewart took weekend vacations on the island, and a new naval air base and radar school became home to even more officers and soldiers. The increased wartime population brought the island its first public school. With a major shipyard for the production of Liberty ships in nearby Brunswick, the waters of St. Simons became active with German U-boats. In April 1942, just off the coast, the Texas Company oil tanker S. S. Oklahoma and the S. S. Esso Baton Rouge were torpedoed by the Germans, bringing the war very close to home for island residents.
Due in large part to the military's improvement of the island's infrastructure during the war, development on the island boomed in the 1950s and 1960s. More permanent homes and subdivisions were built, and the island was no longer just a summer resort but also a thriving community. In 1950 the Methodist conference and retreat center Epworth by the Sea opened on Gascoigne Bluff. In 1961 novelist Eugenia Price visited St. Simons and began work on her first works of fiction, known as the St. Simons Trilogy. Inspired by real events on the island, Price's trilogy renewed interest in the history of Georgia's coast, and the novelist herself relocated to the island in 1965 and lived there for thirty-one years. St. Simons is also home to contemporary Georgia writer Tina McElroy Ansa.
Since
Epworth by the Sea
1980 St. Simons's population has doubled. The island's continued status as a vacation destination and its ongoing development boom have put historic landmarks and natural areas at risk. While such landmarks as the Fort Frederica ruins and the Battle of Bloody Marsh site are preserved and maintained by the National Park Service, and while the historic lighthouse is maintained by the Coastal Georgia Historical Society, historic Ebos Landing has been taken over by a sewage treatment plant.
Several coastal organizations have formed in recent years to save natural areas on the island. The St. Simons Land Trust, for example, has received donations of large tracts of land and plans to protect property in the island's three traditional African American neighborhoods. Despite its rapid growth and development, St. Simons remains one of the most beautiful and important islands on the Georgia coast.
Find the right local pro for your project

Inspiration for a mid-century modern freestanding desk light wood floor, beige floor, exposed beam and brick wall home office remodel in Denver with beige walls

Stuart Wade, Envision Virtual Tours
Mountain Reflections on Lake Burton
Recently renovated both inside and out, this 5 bedroom, 5.5 bath home with sweeping views of Lake Burton is fit for entertaining large crowds. The open floor plan features a spacious great room with a 2-story stacked stone fireplace, abundant natural ligthing, dining for 10+ and a large chef's kitchen with granite countertops, custom cabinets to house every utensil, exposed beams and access to a lakeside porch. Three sets of french doors open to a magnificent curved veranda accented by columns. Western sunsets make this the place to be in the cool evenings watching the sun reflect off the jewel tone water. A private master bedroom on the main floor provides access to the covered porch. The master bath features a double vanity with granite countertops, built-in storage drawers and cabinets, jetted tub and seperate shower. Spacious guest bedrooms feature private baths and lake views. Mature landscaping including an incredible array of pink and purple rhododendron, eyebrow windows, columns and curved porches highlight the newly painted exterior.
The terrace level features a second family room/rec room with a stacked stone fireplace, wet bar, and a wall of triple french doors that open to a lakeside stone terrace. Two additional guest bedrooms with full baths also have access to the terrace patio. A large laundry room and gym/art studio with outside entrance, double sink and ample storage completes the terrace level.
Lake Burton is a unique Life Style. Cherry Lane is a paved street accessed by 4 single family homes. This home features a private, gated driveway off Cherry Lane. There is not a homeowner’s association, there are no fees or dues. Over 800 lake properties are managed and leased by the Georgia Power Company.
Location is a major advantage for this property with close proximity to Clayton, the hospital, Waterfall Country Club, the Appalachian Trail, shopping, quaint restaurants and only about a 45 minute drive to Highlands, N.C. This house is located on deep water and has breathtaking lake and mountain views that will capture your heart!
General Information:
• 5 bedrooms and 5 ½ baths
• All bathrooms have new updated granite counter tops.
• 2 fireplaces ( 1 gas non vent logs and 1 wood burning with gas starter and built in wood storage)
• Both fireplaces have raised hearths.
• House has poured concrete walls with reinforced steel.
• All Floor trusses were engineered for proper application.
• During construction the house and grounds were pre-treated for termites. The house is inspected for termites annually. To date, no termites have been found. The termite bond is with American Pest control out of Toccoa, GA.
• The main entrance has double Mahogany leaded glass door. All other exterior doors and windows are deluxe Anderson thermo pane. All Anderson windows are tilt out for easy inside cleaning. Windows have Planter shutter and/or wood blinds.
• All lake side doors are 8 feet. Doors have triple locks and are adjustable for the best fit.
• All exterior walls have house wrap and heavy insulation- R-17 for walls and R 30 in the attic.
• House has 3 levels. Each level has its own Trane High Efficiency Weathertron heat pump XE 1200. The 2 units for the main and basement levels also have dual fuel, propane gas for extra heat if needed.
• Beam Central Vacuum system for all 3 levels.
• All 3 levels are wired for Stereo speakers as well as the main level outside deck.
• All ceilings are 10 ft. or higher.
• Bar sinks have granite counter tops
*Brand new (2014) roof with HD architectural shingles has transferable lifetime warranty
Entry Foyer:
-Double Mahogany lead glass doors
-2 lead glass side windows
-Marble floor, heavy moldings, tray ceiling
Great Room:
-Vaulted wood ceiling with multi light chandelier
-Doors can be adjusted in many different positions for easy operations
-Anderson Windows and doors
-All doors facing lake side are 8 ft. doors
-Planter shutters in all windows on main floor
Kitchen:
-Vaulted ceiling with beadboard and exposed beams
-Custom Gillespie cabinets with space for every utensil
-Large kitchen island with breakfast bar
-Walk-in pantry
-Granite counter tops with plenty of prep space
-Breakfast nook
-Access to lakeside porch
-Central Vac and crumb catcher
-GE Monogram Fridge
-Kitchenaid built in oven and microwave
-Jen-air 4 burner gas stove with exhaust
-Kitchenaid trash compactor
-Scotsman Ice Machine
-Over and under counter accent lighting
Master Bedroom:
-Heavy Molding, hardwood flooring,
-Plantation shutters on bedroom French doors opening to deck
-4 closets
Master Bath:
-Granite counter tops with double sinks
-Separate shower with glass door and delta shower system
-Jetted Tub
-14 drawer built-in cabinets for clothing
Upstairs level:
-Two bedrooms, each with full baths, tile floors, double vanities, granite countertops, ample closets and linen closets
Terrace Level:
-Spacious family room with stone fireplace and wet bar
-Guest bedroom with full bath
-Office with full bath
-Art studio or exercise room with double sink
-Separate tool room
-Laundry room/utility room with tile floors and cabinets
-Covered stone terrace with access to boathouse
Boat House:
-Two stall for up to 25 ft. boat
-2 electric boat lifts
-Large deck on top of boathouse with ½ covered roof
-Large storage area for boat supplies
-Swim dock

Becky Hulsey, Envision Virtual Tours
The Lodge at Gold Mine Falls
A Once in a Lifetime Opportunity Awaits….
Have you dreamed of owning your own spectacular waterfall, a serene trout pond, or a one of a kind mountain lodge filled with high end touches, all near Lake Burton? If the answer is yes…..then “The Lodge at Gold Mine Falls” is for you!
Located just off HW 76 .3 miles to Anchorage Marina, this unique 2.8 acre property borders the National Forest, boasts a fully remodeled 3 bedroom, 3 bath, 2000+ square foot rock lodge that is adjacent to its own private, spectacular 60 foot waterfall all surrounded by native landscape such as rhododendron and mountain laurel. Tumbling under the 40 foot suspension bridge, the pristine, crystal clear water continues to ramble on its way to large pond ready to be stocked with trout. Picture yourself fly fishing for a trout dinner right at your front door, or delight your friends or family while entertaining on your new porch or extensive, multi-level deck that connects your new home to your own waterfall. The kids or grandkids will be entertained for hours wading in the pool at the base of the waterfall, exploring the crooks and crannies among the stream’s boulders while looking for salamanders, or panning for “fool’s gold” in the stream. Just imagine….The Lodge at Gold Mine Falls has all this and more!
As you walk up the front steps to The Lodge at Gold Mine Falls, you will notice the craftsmanship of this uniquely one of a kind home made from local stone and granite from a period gone by. If you look closely at some of the stones, you will find raw garnets, some the size of a nail head. Upon opening the front door constructed of solid oak and a tasteful piece of leaded glass, you will be amazed at the spaciousness of the lodge room. Once upon a time, the 20 x 30 foot room with 10 foot ceilings was the entire home. The focal piece of the room is the new floor to ceiling field stone fireplace, hand honed solid maple mantel, rounded hearth, accentuated by a hand-cut keystone, and flanked by raw cedar columns. The new gas logs can be remotely controlled with programmable heat. A built-in floor to ceiling cherry wood wall unit, with granite serving surface, highlights a side wall and is topped off with a large piece of stained glass from an English pub. The mood lighting behind the stained glass and the antique library ladder really highlights this unique bookcase. Distinctive lighting fixtures and fans provide dining area lighting and circulation from the cool breezes off of Lake Burton. On the bottom, the solid oak 1.5 inch flooring is a remnant of the past on the top, the height of the ceilings is enhanced by double crown moldings throughout and a touch of the outdoors is brought indoors by the three new skylights. Surrounded by rustic cedar window boxes, additional ambient light streams through the four windows facing south, and the new French doors.
As you open the French doors to the new porch, you are immediately struck by the sights and sound produced by the rushing water as it cascades over the spectacular multilevel waterfall. You will also notice that the mountain has literally been carved away as you view the layers and striations in the granite that surround the back of the porch. The peaked cathedral ceiling sports a glass apex and the bead board on the ceiling accentuated by the raw cedar plank framing and the five cedar trees used as cornerstones all bring the outdoors within your reach. The addition of “E-Z Breeze” vinyl windows along with the cast iron gas stove will allow you and your family to enjoy the beauty and continually changing scenery at The Lodge at Gold Mine Fall during all four seasons.
Opening the Adirondack style door on the other side of the lodge room allows you to step into the Lodge’s addition built at a later date. The four foot wide hallway boasts stained glass light fixtures and an architectural feature from the new stairwell that divides the living and the bedroom spaces. Knowing that the east wall in the kitchen and study were once on the home’s exterior allowed us to investigate and reveal the true character of these walls by removing the two layers of drywall and 4 inches of plaster exposing a striking addition to both rooms…… beautiful granite rock walls. The hallway flows into the granite breakfast bar which fully complements the newly exposed granite wall. From the Viking SS refrigerator to gas Jenn Air ceramic cooktop and microwave the appliances are a chef’s delight. Lighting is a critical component in a gourmet kitchen and the light from the double window is enhanced by two spotlights over the cooking area, LED task lighting under the cabinets, mood lighting over the top cabinets, and four “Murano” hand blown glass pendant lights over the sink and bar area. Scoring points in the design category, the full wood “Thomasville” two tone glazed cabinets that are country white and palomino scream style and sophistication, and are accentuated by the cool copper glass backsplash and refined stainless steel hardware. The porcelain, two bowl farmhouse sink is large enough for your biggest pots while the stainless steel sink guards will protect it from scratches. The SS faucet is professional quality and the Insinkerator will help the chef in the house save time with instant 190 degree water. An eight foot long exposed cedar tree trunk hangs over the cooking area allowing the chef to hang his/her favorite utensils and pots or pans in full lodge style. And who wouldn’t crave a large walk in pantry with commercial grade slides that will up to 120 pounds. With all these features, the cook/cooks in the family will love spending time in this room.
Across from the kitchen is a study/office area which can be closed off from the hallway by a double barn door. Except for the remarkable exposed granite rock wall mentioned earlier, the entire room has been paneled with raw cedar boards treated with Australian Tree Oil for true lodge feel. The triple crank out window provides a superb view of the pond and blazing Japanese maple trees in the fall. Outside, the hallway leads to the utility room which has been fully upgraded with all the modern amenities. The oak cabinetry with granite tops also has an extra deep sink with commercial kitchen sprayer. The sink area is surrounded by white subway tile while slate and green glass mini tile accents bring the outdoor colors inside. The doggy door, new exterior door and crank out window provide access to the back yard and additional light. From the new “Rinnai” point of use, gas hot water heater to the new “LG” full size, stackable washer and dryer, this utility room delivers.
The master bedroom has four windows which provide outstanding light and air circulation. To take the chill off of nippy evenings, this bedroom also has its own romantic fireplace with travertine marble surround, remote controlled gas logs, and a beautiful antique oak and mirror mantle. To top it off, the en-suite bath contains high end fixtures, a spacious vanity, and floor to ceiling rain shower with independent valves allowing you to turn on the shower and not get wet. Multiple safety handrails and a fold down shower seat give bathers assurance and provide an additional measure of safety. The earthy color tiles, glass tile accents and hand blown light fixtures continue the lodge theme in this end of the house. Located across the hall, the guest bedroom is light and airy with its white window boxes and double crown molding, and also has an attached bathroom. This bathroom also has an entrance door leading to the hallway and doubles as the guest bathroom for the house. Its antique oak vanity and mirror, stained glass lights and wrought iron accents remind me of a past era while the vessel sink, modern fixtures, and floor to ceiling travertine and glass tile rain shower all bring the bathroom up to modern standards.
Located at the end of the hallway, and next to the guest bathroom, is the handcrafted stairwell leading to the sleeping loft. The distinctive maple stair treads with their grain and raw edge being displayed, were milled locally in Clayton and then installed from underneath so that no screw or nail heads are visible. The staircase was completed with wrought iron spindles, raw cedar handrail and floor to ceiling end post. Upon your entry into the sleeping loft, you will notice the amount of light that enters through the two skylights and large window facing the pond. The sound of water rushing over the pond’s spillway is a delightful addition to this large sleeping loft. Finished with engineered hardwood flooring and two built in double beds with tree trunks for legs, the room can accommodate four additional twin beds. The sleeping loft is also equipped with a kitchenette and a distinctive cedar and rock walled bathroom. The bath features an antique dresser vanity with marble vessel sink, distinctive fixtures and a floor to ceiling polished travertine marble shower with rain head. This bathroom also has an exterior door leading to a secondary upstairs staircase in the back yard. Just envision the great sleepovers the kids or grandkids will have here or how your out of town friends or family will just love this special area designed with their comfort and needs in mind.
Originally constructed in 1925 by “off Broadway” star Rose Grant, this property is rich in history. In the early years, this home was one of the first in Rabun County to generate its own electric from the waterfall. Several small cabins were also built on the property and rented out to guests who came for the waterfall, swim in the pond and connect with nature. Other notable residents were Mrs. and Doctor Fowler who was a local pediatrician. According to an aged newspaper article, Mrs. Fowler was very interested in the indigenous flora and fauna and grew a variety of native plants on the property including some that were rare or endangered. Many metal name tags still remain along the various paths on the property thus reminding you of times gone by and the true beauty of property.
Lastly, this solidly built home has just been structurally solidified, become more energy efficient, and reconfigured to further usable space all while retaining the Lodge’s original charm. After removing the flooring in the kitchen, hall and both bathrooms, the home’s structure and roof were fortified with numerous concrete footers to support both bathrooms, kitchen, and stairwell walls that extend from floor to roof. To make this home more comfortable, energy efficient, and bring it up to modern standards, the electrical system was upgraded to 220 service with the wiring, outlets, electrical panels and fixtures replaced throughout the entire home. A whole house surge protector was also installed to protect against damage that may occur with lightning strikes. Speaking of electric…..the pond’s newly poured formed concrete wall contains a pipe enabling you to install your own hydro-electric system. And whether you might decide to tie into the grid or store you energy in a battery system, you could generate your own electric 24/7. The homes plumbing was also replaced with new pipes, energy/water efficient fixtures in each bathroom (including three Toto toilets), and a new cistern was installed behind the garage with a laboratory grade water filtration system. The task of water heating was completed by a gas Rinnai point of use hot water heater in the utility room and all windows were replaced with Anderson thermal pane and 6 Velux skylights were mounted to bring the outdoors inside. The home’s HVAC system was top of the line several years ago and both sets of new gas logs are controlled with remotes. Formerly a summer home, all exterior walls were studded out with insulation added, and whole house fans were installed in the attic and upstairs bathroom. Although many of these upgrades may not be visible, they allow the home to be more energy efficient and more comfortable……allowing The Lodge at Gold Mine Falls to become your four season retreat.

Stuart Wade, Envision Virtual Tours
Mountain Reflections on Lake Burton
Recently renovated both inside and out, this 5 bedroom, 5.5 bath home with sweeping views of Lake Burton is fit for entertaining large crowds. The open floor plan features a spacious great room with a 2-story stacked stone fireplace, abundant natural ligthing, dining for 10+ and a large chef's kitchen with granite countertops, custom cabinets to house every utensil, exposed beams and access to a lakeside porch. Three sets of french doors open to a magnificent curved veranda accented by columns. Western sunsets make this the place to be in the cool evenings watching the sun reflect off the jewel tone water. A private master bedroom on the main floor provides access to the covered porch. The master bath features a double vanity with granite countertops, built-in storage drawers and cabinets, jetted tub and seperate shower. Spacious guest bedrooms feature private baths and lake views. Mature landscaping including an incredible array of pink and purple rhododendron, eyebrow windows, columns and curved porches highlight the newly painted exterior.
The terrace level features a second family room/rec room with a stacked stone fireplace, wet bar, and a wall of triple french doors that open to a lakeside stone terrace. Two additional guest bedrooms with full baths also have access to the terrace patio. A large laundry room and gym/art studio with outside entrance, double sink and ample storage completes the terrace level.
Lake Burton is a unique Life Style. Cherry Lane is a paved street accessed by 4 single family homes. This home features a private, gated driveway off Cherry Lane. There is not a homeowner’s association, there are no fees or dues. Over 800 lake properties are managed and leased by the Georgia Power Company.
Location is a major advantage for this property with close proximity to Clayton, the hospital, Waterfall Country Club, the Appalachian Trail, shopping, quaint restaurants and only about a 45 minute drive to Highlands, N.C. This house is located on deep water and has breathtaking lake and mountain views that will capture your heart!
General Information:
• 5 bedrooms and 5 ½ baths
• All bathrooms have new updated granite counter tops.
• 2 fireplaces ( 1 gas non vent logs and 1 wood burning with gas starter and built in wood storage)
• Both fireplaces have raised hearths.
• House has poured concrete walls with reinforced steel.
• All Floor trusses were engineered for proper application.
• During construction the house and grounds were pre-treated for termites. The house is inspected for termites annually. To date, no termites have been found. The termite bond is with American Pest control out of Toccoa, GA.
• The main entrance has double Mahogany leaded glass door. All other exterior doors and windows are deluxe Anderson thermo pane. All Anderson windows are tilt out for easy inside cleaning. Windows have Planter shutter and/or wood blinds.
• All lake side doors are 8 feet. Doors have triple locks and are adjustable for the best fit.
• All exterior walls have house wrap and heavy insulation- R-17 for walls and R 30 in the attic.
• House has 3 levels. Each level has its own Trane High Efficiency Weathertron heat pump XE 1200. The 2 units for the main and basement levels also have dual fuel, propane gas for extra heat if needed.
• Beam Central Vacuum system for all 3 levels.
• All 3 levels are wired for Stereo speakers as well as the main level outside deck.
• All ceilings are 10 ft. or higher.
• Bar sinks have granite counter tops
*Brand new (2014) roof with HD architectural shingles has transferable lifetime warranty
Entry Foyer:
-Double Mahogany lead glass doors
-2 lead glass side windows
-Marble floor, heavy moldings, tray ceiling
Great Room:
-Vaulted wood ceiling with multi light chandelier
-Doors can be adjusted in many different positions for easy operations
-Anderson Windows and doors
-All doors facing lake side are 8 ft. doors
-Planter shutters in all windows on main floor
Kitchen:
-Vaulted ceiling with beadboard and exposed beams
-Custom Gillespie cabinets with space for every utensil
-Large kitchen island with breakfast bar
-Walk-in pantry
-Granite counter tops with plenty of prep space
-Breakfast nook
-Access to lakeside porch
-Central Vac and crumb catcher
-GE Monogram Fridge
-Kitchenaid built in oven and microwave
-Jen-air 4 burner gas stove with exhaust
-Kitchenaid trash compactor
-Scotsman Ice Machine
-Over and under counter accent lighting
Master Bedroom:
-Heavy Molding, hardwood flooring,
-Plantation shutters on bedroom French doors opening to deck
-4 closets
Master Bath:
-Granite counter tops with double sinks
-Separate shower with glass door and delta shower system
-Jetted Tub
-14 drawer built-in cabinets for clothing
Upstairs level:
-Two bedrooms, each with full baths, tile floors, double vanities, granite countertops, ample closets and linen closets
Terrace Level:
-Spacious family room with stone fireplace and wet bar
-Guest bedroom with full bath
-Office with full bath
-Art studio or exercise room with double sink
-Separate tool room
-Laundry room/utility room with tile floors and cabinets
-Covered stone terrace with access to boathouse
Boat House:
-Two stall for up to 25 ft. boat
-2 electric boat lifts
-Large deck on top of boathouse with ½ covered roof
-Large storage area for boat supplies
-Swim dock

Stuart Wade, Envision Virtual Tours
The second-largest and most developed of Georgia's barrier islands, St. Simons is approximately twelve miles long and nearly three miles wide at its widest stretch (roughly the size of Manhattan Island in New York). The island is located in Glynn County on Georgia's coast and lies east of Brunswick (the seat of Glynn County), south of Little St. Simons Island and the Hampton River, and north of Jekyll Island. The resort community of Sea Island is separated from St. Simons on the east by the Black Banks River. Known for its oak tree canopies and historic landmarks, St. Simons is both a tourist destination and, according to the 2010 U.S. census, home to 12,743 residents.
Early History
The earliest
St. Simons Island Village
record of human habitation on the island dates to the Late Archaic Period, about 5,000 to 3,000 years ago. Remnants of shell rings left behind by Native Americans from this era survive on many of the barrier islands, including St. Simons. Centuries later, during the period known by historians as the chiefdom era, the Guale Indians established a chiefdom centered on St. Catherines Island and used St. Simons as their hunting and fishing grounds. By 1500 the Guale had established a permanent village of about 200 people on St. Simons, which they called Guadalquini.
Beginning in 1568, the Spanish attempted to create missions along the Georgia coast. Catholic missions were the primary means by which Georgia's indigenous Native American chiefdoms were assimilated into the Spanish colonial system along the northern frontier of greater Spanish Florida. In the 1600s St. Simons became home to two Spanish missions: San Buenaventura de Guadalquini, on the southern tip of the island, and Santo Domingo de Asao (or Asajo), on the northern tip. Located on the inland side of the island were the pagan refugee villages of San Simón, the island's namesake, and Ocotonico. In 1684 pirate raids left the missions and villages largely abandoned.
Colonial History
As
Fort Frederica
early as 1670, with Great Britain's establishment of the colony of Carolina and its expansion into Georgia territory, Spanish rule was threatened by the English. The Georgia coast was considered "debatable land" by England and Spain, even though Spain had fully retreated from St. Simons by 1702. Thirty-one years later General James Edward Oglethorpe founded the English settlement of Savannah. In 1736 he established Fort Frederica, named after the heir to the British throne, Frederick Louis, prince of Wales, on the west side of St. Simons Island to protect Savannah and the Carolinas from the Spanish threat.
Between 1736 and 1749 Fort Frederica was the hub of British military operations along the Georgia frontier. A town of the same name grew up around the fort and was of great importance to the new colony. By 1740 Frederica's population was 1,000. In 1736 the congregation of what would become Christ Church was organized within Fort Frederica as a mission of the Church of England. Charles Wesley led the first services. In 1742 Britain's decisive victory over Spain in the Battle of Bloody Marsh, during the War of Jenkins' Ear, ended the Spanish threat to the Georgia coast. When the British regimen disbanded in 1749, most of the townspeople relocated to the mainland. Fort Frederica went into decline and, except for a short time of prosperity during the 1760s and 1770s under the leadership of merchant James Spalding, never fully recovered. Today the historic citadel's tabby ruins are maintained by the National Park Service.
Plantation Era
By the start of the American Revolution (1775-83), Fort Frederica was obsolete, and St. Simons was left largely uninhabited as most of its residents joined the patriot army. Besides hosting a small Georgia naval victory on the Fort Frederica River, providing guns from its famous fort for use at Fort Morris in Sunbury, and serving as an arena for pillaging by privateers and British soldiers, the island played almost no role in the war.
Following the war, many of the townspeople, their businesses destroyed, turned to agriculture. The island was transformed into fourteen cotton plantations after acres of live oak trees were cleared for farm land and used for building American warships, including the famous USS Constitution, or "Old Ironsides." Although rice was the predominant crop along the neighboring Altamaha River, St. Simons was known for its production of long-staple cotton, which soon came to be known as Sea Island cotton.
Between
Ebos Landing
the 1780s and the outbreak of the Civil War (1861-65), St. Simons's plantation culture flourished. The saline atmosphere and the availability of cheap slave labor proved an ideal combination for the cultivation of Sea Island cotton. In 1803 a group of Ebo slaves who survived the Middle Passage and arrived on the west side of St. Simons staged a rebellion and drowned themselves. The sacred site is known today as Ebos Landing.
One of the largest owners of land and slaves on St. Simons was Pierce Butler, master of Hampton Point Plantation, located on the northern end of the island. By 1793 Butler owned more than 500 slaves, who cultivated 800 acres of cotton on St. Simons and 300 acres of rice on Butler's Island in the Altamaha River delta. Butler's grandson, Pierce Mease Butler, who at the age of sixteen inherited a share of his grandfather's estate in 1826, was responsible for the largest sale of human beings in the history of the United States: in 1859, to restore his squandered fortune, he sold 429 slaves in Savannah for more than $300,000. The British actress and writer Fanny Kemble, whose tumultuous marriage to Pierce ended in divorce in 1849, published an eyewitness account of the evils of slavery on St. Simons in her book Journal of a Residence on a Georgian Plantation in 1838-1839 (1863).
Another
Retreat Plantation
large owner of land and slaves on St. Simons was Major William Page, a friend and employee of Pierce Butler Sr. Before purchasing Retreat Plantation on the southwestern tip of the island in 1804, Page managed the Hampton plantation and Butler's Island. Upon Page's death in 1827, Thomas Butler King inherited the land together with his wife, Page's daughter, Anna Matilda Page King. King expanded his father-in-law's planting empire on St. Simons as well as on the mainland, and by 1835 Retreat Plantation alone was home to as many as 355 slaves.
The center of life during the island's plantation era was Christ Church, Frederica. Organized in 1807 by a group of island planters, the Episcopal church is the second oldest in the Diocese of Georgia. Embargoes imposed by the War of 1812 (1812-15) prevented the parishioners from building a church structure, so they worshiped in the home of John Beck, which stood on the site of Oglethorpe's only St. Simons residence, Orange Hall.
The first Christ Church building, finished on the present site in 1820, was ruined by occupying Union troops during the Civil War. In 1884 the Reverend Anson Dodge Jr. rebuilt the church as a memorial to his first wife, Ellen. The cruciform building with a trussed gothic roof and stained-glass windows remains active today as Christ Church.
Civil War and Beyond
The
St. Simons Island Lighthouse
outbreak of the Civil War in 1861 put a sudden end to St. Simons's lucrative plantation era. In January of that year, Confederate troops were stationed at the south end of the island to guard the entrance to Brunswick Harbor. Slaves from Retreat Plantation, owned by Thomas Butler King, built earthworks and batteries. Plantation residents were scattered—the men joined the Confederate army and their families moved to the mainland. Cannon fire was heard on the island in December 1861, and Confederate troops retreated in February 1862, after dynamiting the lighthouse to keep its beacon from aiding Union troops. Soon thereafter, Union troops occupied the island, which was used as a camp for freed slaves. By August 1862 more than 500 former slaves lived on St. Simons, including Susie King Taylor, who organized a school for freed slave children. But in November the ex-slaves were taken to Hilton Head, South Carolina, and Fernandina, Florida, leaving the island abandoned.
After the Civil War the island never returned to its status as an agricultural community. The plantations lay dormant because there were no slaves to work the fields. After Union general William T. Sherman's January 1865 Special Field Order No. 15 —a demand that former plantations be divided and distributed to former slaves—was overturned by U.S. president Andrew Johnson less than a year later, freedmen and women were forced to work as sharecroppers on the small farms that dotted the land previously occupied by the sprawling plantations.
By
St. Simons Lumber Mills
1870 real economic recovery began with the reestablishment of the timber industry. Norman Dodge and Titus G. Meigs of New York set up lumber mill operations at Gascoigne Bluff, formerly Hamilton Plantation. The lumber mills provided welcome employment for both blacks and whites and also provided mail and passenger boats to the mainland. Such water traffic, together with the construction of a new lighthouse in 1872, designed by architect Charles B. Cluskey, marked the beginning of St. Simons's tourism industry. The keeper of the lighthouse created a small amusement park, which drew many visitors, as did the seemingly miraculous light that traveled from the top of the lighthouse tower to the bottom. The island became a summer retreat for families from the mainland, particularly from Baxley, Brunswick, and Waycross.
The island's resort industry was thriving by the 1880s. Beachfront structures, such as a new pier and grand hotel, were built on the southeastern end of the island and could be accessed by ferry. Around this time wealthy northerners began vacationing on the island.
Twentieth Century
The
St. Simons Island Pier and Village
opening in 1924 of the Brunswick–St. Simons Highway, today known as the Torras Causeway, was a milestone in the development of resorts in the area. St. Simons's beaches were now easily accessible to locals and tourists alike. More than 5,000 automobiles took the short drive from Brunswick to St. Simons via the causeway on its opening day, paving the way for convenient residential and resort development.
In 1926 automotive pioneer Howard Coffin of Detroit, Michigan, bought large tracts of land on St. Simons, including the former Retreat Plantation, and constructed a golf course, yacht club, paved roads, and a residential subdivision. Although the causeway had brought large numbers of summer people to the island, St. Simons remained a small community with only a few hundred permanent residents until the 1940s.
The
St. Simons Island
outbreak of World War II (1941-45) brought more visitors and residents to St. Simons. Troops stationed at Jacksonville, Florida; Savannah; and nearby Camp Stewart took weekend vacations on the island, and a new naval air base and radar school became home to even more officers and soldiers. The increased wartime population brought the island its first public school. With a major shipyard for the production of Liberty ships in nearby Brunswick, the waters of St. Simons became active with German U-boats. In April 1942, just off the coast, the Texas Company oil tanker S. S. Oklahoma and the S. S. Esso Baton Rouge were torpedoed by the Germans, bringing the war very close to home for island residents.
Due in large part to the military's improvement of the island's infrastructure during the war, development on the island boomed in the 1950s and 1960s. More permanent homes and subdivisions were built, and the island was no longer just a summer resort but also a thriving community. In 1950 the Methodist conference and retreat center Epworth by the Sea opened on Gascoigne Bluff. In 1961 novelist Eugenia Price visited St. Simons and began work on her first works of fiction, known as the St. Simons Trilogy. Inspired by real events on the island, Price's trilogy renewed interest in the history of Georgia's coast, and the novelist herself relocated to the island in 1965 and lived there for thirty-one years. St. Simons is also home to contemporary Georgia writer Tina McElroy Ansa.
Since
Epworth by the Sea
1980 St. Simons's population has doubled. The island's continued status as a vacation destination and its ongoing development boom have put historic landmarks and natural areas at risk. While such landmarks as the Fort Frederica ruins and the Battle of Bloody Marsh site are preserved and maintained by the National Park Service, and while the historic lighthouse is maintained by the Coastal Georgia Historical Society, historic Ebos Landing has been taken over by a sewage treatment plant.
Several coastal organizations have formed in recent years to save natural areas on the island. The St. Simons Land Trust, for example, has received donations of large tracts of land and plans to protect property in the island's three traditional African American neighborhoods. Despite its rapid growth and development, St. Simons remains one of the most beautiful and important islands on the Georgia coast.

Stuart Wade, Envision Virtual Tours
The second-largest and most developed of Georgia's barrier islands, St. Simons is approximately twelve miles long and nearly three miles wide at its widest stretch (roughly the size of Manhattan Island in New York). The island is located in Glynn County on Georgia's coast and lies east of Brunswick (the seat of Glynn County), south of Little St. Simons Island and the Hampton River, and north of Jekyll Island. The resort community of Sea Island is separated from St. Simons on the east by the Black Banks River. Known for its oak tree canopies and historic landmarks, St. Simons is both a tourist destination and, according to the 2010 U.S. census, home to 12,743 residents.
Early History
The earliest
St. Simons Island Village
record of human habitation on the island dates to the Late Archaic Period, about 5,000 to 3,000 years ago. Remnants of shell rings left behind by Native Americans from this era survive on many of the barrier islands, including St. Simons. Centuries later, during the period known by historians as the chiefdom era, the Guale Indians established a chiefdom centered on St. Catherines Island and used St. Simons as their hunting and fishing grounds. By 1500 the Guale had established a permanent village of about 200 people on St. Simons, which they called Guadalquini.
Beginning in 1568, the Spanish attempted to create missions along the Georgia coast. Catholic missions were the primary means by which Georgia's indigenous Native American chiefdoms were assimilated into the Spanish colonial system along the northern frontier of greater Spanish Florida. In the 1600s St. Simons became home to two Spanish missions: San Buenaventura de Guadalquini, on the southern tip of the island, and Santo Domingo de Asao (or Asajo), on the northern tip. Located on the inland side of the island were the pagan refugee villages of San Simón, the island's namesake, and Ocotonico. In 1684 pirate raids left the missions and villages largely abandoned.
Colonial History
As
Fort Frederica
early as 1670, with Great Britain's establishment of the colony of Carolina and its expansion into Georgia territory, Spanish rule was threatened by the English. The Georgia coast was considered "debatable land" by England and Spain, even though Spain had fully retreated from St. Simons by 1702. Thirty-one years later General James Edward Oglethorpe founded the English settlement of Savannah. In 1736 he established Fort Frederica, named after the heir to the British throne, Frederick Louis, prince of Wales, on the west side of St. Simons Island to protect Savannah and the Carolinas from the Spanish threat.
Between 1736 and 1749 Fort Frederica was the hub of British military operations along the Georgia frontier. A town of the same name grew up around the fort and was of great importance to the new colony. By 1740 Frederica's population was 1,000. In 1736 the congregation of what would become Christ Church was organized within Fort Frederica as a mission of the Church of England. Charles Wesley led the first services. In 1742 Britain's decisive victory over Spain in the Battle of Bloody Marsh, during the War of Jenkins' Ear, ended the Spanish threat to the Georgia coast. When the British regimen disbanded in 1749, most of the townspeople relocated to the mainland. Fort Frederica went into decline and, except for a short time of prosperity during the 1760s and 1770s under the leadership of merchant James Spalding, never fully recovered. Today the historic citadel's tabby ruins are maintained by the National Park Service.
Plantation Era
By the start of the American Revolution (1775-83), Fort Frederica was obsolete, and St. Simons was left largely uninhabited as most of its residents joined the patriot army. Besides hosting a small Georgia naval victory on the Fort Frederica River, providing guns from its famous fort for use at Fort Morris in Sunbury, and serving as an arena for pillaging by privateers and British soldiers, the island played almost no role in the war.
Following the war, many of the townspeople, their businesses destroyed, turned to agriculture. The island was transformed into fourteen cotton plantations after acres of live oak trees were cleared for farm land and used for building American warships, including the famous USS Constitution, or "Old Ironsides." Although rice was the predominant crop along the neighboring Altamaha River, St. Simons was known for its production of long-staple cotton, which soon came to be known as Sea Island cotton.
Between
Ebos Landing
the 1780s and the outbreak of the Civil War (1861-65), St. Simons's plantation culture flourished. The saline atmosphere and the availability of cheap slave labor proved an ideal combination for the cultivation of Sea Island cotton. In 1803 a group of Ebo slaves who survived the Middle Passage and arrived on the west side of St. Simons staged a rebellion and drowned themselves. The sacred site is known today as Ebos Landing.
One of the largest owners of land and slaves on St. Simons was Pierce Butler, master of Hampton Point Plantation, located on the northern end of the island. By 1793 Butler owned more than 500 slaves, who cultivated 800 acres of cotton on St. Simons and 300 acres of rice on Butler's Island in the Altamaha River delta. Butler's grandson, Pierce Mease Butler, who at the age of sixteen inherited a share of his grandfather's estate in 1826, was responsible for the largest sale of human beings in the history of the United States: in 1859, to restore his squandered fortune, he sold 429 slaves in Savannah for more than $300,000. The British actress and writer Fanny Kemble, whose tumultuous marriage to Pierce ended in divorce in 1849, published an eyewitness account of the evils of slavery on St. Simons in her book Journal of a Residence on a Georgian Plantation in 1838-1839 (1863).
Another
Retreat Plantation
large owner of land and slaves on St. Simons was Major William Page, a friend and employee of Pierce Butler Sr. Before purchasing Retreat Plantation on the southwestern tip of the island in 1804, Page managed the Hampton plantation and Butler's Island. Upon Page's death in 1827, Thomas Butler King inherited the land together with his wife, Page's daughter, Anna Matilda Page King. King expanded his father-in-law's planting empire on St. Simons as well as on the mainland, and by 1835 Retreat Plantation alone was home to as many as 355 slaves.
The center of life during the island's plantation era was Christ Church, Frederica. Organized in 1807 by a group of island planters, the Episcopal church is the second oldest in the Diocese of Georgia. Embargoes imposed by the War of 1812 (1812-15) prevented the parishioners from building a church structure, so they worshiped in the home of John Beck, which stood on the site of Oglethorpe's only St. Simons residence, Orange Hall.
The first Christ Church building, finished on the present site in 1820, was ruined by occupying Union troops during the Civil War. In 1884 the Reverend Anson Dodge Jr. rebuilt the church as a memorial to his first wife, Ellen. The cruciform building with a trussed gothic roof and stained-glass windows remains active today as Christ Church.
Civil War and Beyond
The
St. Simons Island Lighthouse
outbreak of the Civil War in 1861 put a sudden end to St. Simons's lucrative plantation era. In January of that year, Confederate troops were stationed at the south end of the island to guard the entrance to Brunswick Harbor. Slaves from Retreat Plantation, owned by Thomas Butler King, built earthworks and batteries. Plantation residents were scattered—the men joined the Confederate army and their families moved to the mainland. Cannon fire was heard on the island in December 1861, and Confederate troops retreated in February 1862, after dynamiting the lighthouse to keep its beacon from aiding Union troops. Soon thereafter, Union troops occupied the island, which was used as a camp for freed slaves. By August 1862 more than 500 former slaves lived on St. Simons, including Susie King Taylor, who organized a school for freed slave children. But in November the ex-slaves were taken to Hilton Head, South Carolina, and Fernandina, Florida, leaving the island abandoned.
After the Civil War the island never returned to its status as an agricultural community. The plantations lay dormant because there were no slaves to work the fields. After Union general William T. Sherman's January 1865 Special Field Order No. 15 —a demand that former plantations be divided and distributed to former slaves—was overturned by U.S. president Andrew Johnson less than a year later, freedmen and women were forced to work as sharecroppers on the small farms that dotted the land previously occupied by the sprawling plantations.
By
St. Simons Lumber Mills
1870 real economic recovery began with the reestablishment of the timber industry. Norman Dodge and Titus G. Meigs of New York set up lumber mill operations at Gascoigne Bluff, formerly Hamilton Plantation. The lumber mills provided welcome employment for both blacks and whites and also provided mail and passenger boats to the mainland. Such water traffic, together with the construction of a new lighthouse in 1872, designed by architect Charles B. Cluskey, marked the beginning of St. Simons's tourism industry. The keeper of the lighthouse created a small amusement park, which drew many visitors, as did the seemingly miraculous light that traveled from the top of the lighthouse tower to the bottom. The island became a summer retreat for families from the mainland, particularly from Baxley, Brunswick, and Waycross.
The island's resort industry was thriving by the 1880s. Beachfront structures, such as a new pier and grand hotel, were built on the southeastern end of the island and could be accessed by ferry. Around this time wealthy northerners began vacationing on the island.
Twentieth Century
The
St. Simons Island Pier and Village
opening in 1924 of the Brunswick–St. Simons Highway, today known as the Torras Causeway, was a milestone in the development of resorts in the area. St. Simons's beaches were now easily accessible to locals and tourists alike. More than 5,000 automobiles took the short drive from Brunswick to St. Simons via the causeway on its opening day, paving the way for convenient residential and resort development.
In 1926 automotive pioneer Howard Coffin of Detroit, Michigan, bought large tracts of land on St. Simons, including the former Retreat Plantation, and constructed a golf course, yacht club, paved roads, and a residential subdivision. Although the causeway had brought large numbers of summer people to the island, St. Simons remained a small community with only a few hundred permanent residents until the 1940s.
The
St. Simons Island
outbreak of World War II (1941-45) brought more visitors and residents to St. Simons. Troops stationed at Jacksonville, Florida; Savannah; and nearby Camp Stewart took weekend vacations on the island, and a new naval air base and radar school became home to even more officers and soldiers. The increased wartime population brought the island its first public school. With a major shipyard for the production of Liberty ships in nearby Brunswick, the waters of St. Simons became active with German U-boats. In April 1942, just off the coast, the Texas Company oil tanker S. S. Oklahoma and the S. S. Esso Baton Rouge were torpedoed by the Germans, bringing the war very close to home for island residents.
Due in large part to the military's improvement of the island's infrastructure during the war, development on the island boomed in the 1950s and 1960s. More permanent homes and subdivisions were built, and the island was no longer just a summer resort but also a thriving community. In 1950 the Methodist conference and retreat center Epworth by the Sea opened on Gascoigne Bluff. In 1961 novelist Eugenia Price visited St. Simons and began work on her first works of fiction, known as the St. Simons Trilogy. Inspired by real events on the island, Price's trilogy renewed interest in the history of Georgia's coast, and the novelist herself relocated to the island in 1965 and lived there for thirty-one years. St. Simons is also home to contemporary Georgia writer Tina McElroy Ansa.
Since
Epworth by the Sea
1980 St. Simons's population has doubled. The island's continued status as a vacation destination and its ongoing development boom have put historic landmarks and natural areas at risk. While such landmarks as the Fort Frederica ruins and the Battle of Bloody Marsh site are preserved and maintained by the National Park Service, and while the historic lighthouse is maintained by the Coastal Georgia Historical Society, historic Ebos Landing has been taken over by a sewage treatment plant.
Several coastal organizations have formed in recent years to save natural areas on the island. The St. Simons Land Trust, for example, has received donations of large tracts of land and plans to protect property in the island's three traditional African American neighborhoods. Despite its rapid growth and development, St. Simons remains one of the most beautiful and important islands on the Georgia coast.

$13,995,000
21297 N. 110th Way, Scottsdale, AZ
Nestled in the upper canyon of the exclusive community of Silverleaf, this gorgeous formal Mediterranean home is surrounded by mountain, city light and golf course views on over 2 acres. The home boasts over 14,000 square feet with 6 bedrooms, 8 bathrooms, a large office and a guest casita. Exquisite finishes with marble and French limestone floors grace this stunning home. Reclaimed wood flooring from France in the large office is unique and beautiful, as is the homes' gourmet kitchen with top of the line appliances, Clive Christian cabinetry from England and a zinc counter top. Entertain guests with gorgeous views, heated pool/spa, built in BBQ and multiple water features throughout the property. Almost every room in the home has a balcony with a beautiful view. Take a virtual tour at www.TourFactory.com/991401. Image taken by High Res Media.

Becky Hulsey, Envision Virtual Tours
The Lodge at Gold Mine Falls
A Once in a Lifetime Opportunity Awaits….
Have you dreamed of owning your own spectacular waterfall, a serene trout pond, or a one of a kind mountain lodge filled with high end touches, all near Lake Burton? If the answer is yes…..then “The Lodge at Gold Mine Falls” is for you!
Located just off HW 76 .3 miles to Anchorage Marina, this unique 2.8 acre property borders the National Forest, boasts a fully remodeled 3 bedroom, 3 bath, 2000+ square foot rock lodge that is adjacent to its own private, spectacular 60 foot waterfall all surrounded by native landscape such as rhododendron and mountain laurel. Tumbling under the 40 foot suspension bridge, the pristine, crystal clear water continues to ramble on its way to large pond ready to be stocked with trout. Picture yourself fly fishing for a trout dinner right at your front door, or delight your friends or family while entertaining on your new porch or extensive, multi-level deck that connects your new home to your own waterfall. The kids or grandkids will be entertained for hours wading in the pool at the base of the waterfall, exploring the crooks and crannies among the stream’s boulders while looking for salamanders, or panning for “fool’s gold” in the stream. Just imagine….The Lodge at Gold Mine Falls has all this and more!
As you walk up the front steps to The Lodge at Gold Mine Falls, you will notice the craftsmanship of this uniquely one of a kind home made from local stone and granite from a period gone by. If you look closely at some of the stones, you will find raw garnets, some the size of a nail head. Upon opening the front door constructed of solid oak and a tasteful piece of leaded glass, you will be amazed at the spaciousness of the lodge room. Once upon a time, the 20 x 30 foot room with 10 foot ceilings was the entire home. The focal piece of the room is the new floor to ceiling field stone fireplace, hand honed solid maple mantel, rounded hearth, accentuated by a hand-cut keystone, and flanked by raw cedar columns. The new gas logs can be remotely controlled with programmable heat. A built-in floor to ceiling cherry wood wall unit, with granite serving surface, highlights a side wall and is topped off with a large piece of stained glass from an English pub. The mood lighting behind the stained glass and the antique library ladder really highlights this unique bookcase. Distinctive lighting fixtures and fans provide dining area lighting and circulation from the cool breezes off of Lake Burton. On the bottom, the solid oak 1.5 inch flooring is a remnant of the past on the top, the height of the ceilings is enhanced by double crown moldings throughout and a touch of the outdoors is brought indoors by the three new skylights. Surrounded by rustic cedar window boxes, additional ambient light streams through the four windows facing south, and the new French doors.
As you open the French doors to the new porch, you are immediately struck by the sights and sound produced by the rushing water as it cascades over the spectacular multilevel waterfall. You will also notice that the mountain has literally been carved away as you view the layers and striations in the granite that surround the back of the porch. The peaked cathedral ceiling sports a glass apex and the bead board on the ceiling accentuated by the raw cedar plank framing and the five cedar trees used as cornerstones all bring the outdoors within your reach. The addition of “E-Z Breeze” vinyl windows along with the cast iron gas stove will allow you and your family to enjoy the beauty and continually changing scenery at The Lodge at Gold Mine Fall during all four seasons.
Opening the Adirondack style door on the other side of the lodge room allows you to step into the Lodge’s addition built at a later date. The four foot wide hallway boasts stained glass light fixtures and an architectural feature from the new stairwell that divides the living and the bedroom spaces. Knowing that the east wall in the kitchen and study were once on the home’s exterior allowed us to investigate and reveal the true character of these walls by removing the two layers of drywall and 4 inches of plaster exposing a striking addition to both rooms…… beautiful granite rock walls. The hallway flows into the granite breakfast bar which fully complements the newly exposed granite wall. From the Viking SS refrigerator to gas Jenn Air ceramic cooktop and microwave the appliances are a chef’s delight. Lighting is a critical component in a gourmet kitchen and the light from the double window is enhanced by two spotlights over the cooking area, LED task lighting under the cabinets, mood lighting over the top cabinets, and four “Murano” hand blown glass pendant lights over the sink and bar area. Scoring points in the design category, the full wood “Thomasville” two tone glazed cabinets that are country white and palomino scream style and sophistication, and are accentuated by the cool copper glass backsplash and refined stainless steel hardware. The porcelain, two bowl farmhouse sink is large enough for your biggest pots while the stainless steel sink guards will protect it from scratches. The SS faucet is professional quality and the Insinkerator will help the chef in the house save time with instant 190 degree water. An eight foot long exposed cedar tree trunk hangs over the cooking area allowing the chef to hang his/her favorite utensils and pots or pans in full lodge style. And who wouldn’t crave a large walk in pantry with commercial grade slides that will up to 120 pounds. With all these features, the cook/cooks in the family will love spending time in this room.
Across from the kitchen is a study/office area which can be closed off from the hallway by a double barn door. Except for the remarkable exposed granite rock wall mentioned earlier, the entire room has been paneled with raw cedar boards treated with Australian Tree Oil for true lodge feel. The triple crank out window provides a superb view of the pond and blazing Japanese maple trees in the fall. Outside, the hallway leads to the utility room which has been fully upgraded with all the modern amenities. The oak cabinetry with granite tops also has an extra deep sink with commercial kitchen sprayer. The sink area is surrounded by white subway tile while slate and green glass mini tile accents bring the outdoor colors inside. The doggy door, new exterior door and crank out window provide access to the back yard and additional light. From the new “Rinnai” point of use, gas hot water heater to the new “LG” full size, stackable washer and dryer, this utility room delivers.
The master bedroom has four windows which provide outstanding light and air circulation. To take the chill off of nippy evenings, this bedroom also has its own romantic fireplace with travertine marble surround, remote controlled gas logs, and a beautiful antique oak and mirror mantle. To top it off, the en-suite bath contains high end fixtures, a spacious vanity, and floor to ceiling rain shower with independent valves allowing you to turn on the shower and not get wet. Multiple safety handrails and a fold down shower seat give bathers assurance and provide an additional measure of safety. The earthy color tiles, glass tile accents and hand blown light fixtures continue the lodge theme in this end of the house. Located across the hall, the guest bedroom is light and airy with its white window boxes and double crown molding, and also has an attached bathroom. This bathroom also has an entrance door leading to the hallway and doubles as the guest bathroom for the house. Its antique oak vanity and mirror, stained glass lights and wrought iron accents remind me of a past era while the vessel sink, modern fixtures, and floor to ceiling travertine and glass tile rain shower all bring the bathroom up to modern standards.
Located at the end of the hallway, and next to the guest bathroom, is the handcrafted stairwell leading to the sleeping loft. The distinctive maple stair treads with their grain and raw edge being displayed, were milled locally in Clayton and then installed from underneath so that no screw or nail heads are visible. The staircase was completed with wrought iron spindles, raw cedar handrail and floor to ceiling end post. Upon your entry into the sleeping loft, you will notice the amount of light that enters through the two skylights and large window facing the pond. The sound of water rushing over the pond’s spillway is a delightful addition to this large sleeping loft. Finished with engineered hardwood flooring and two built in double beds with tree trunks for legs, the room can accommodate four additional twin beds. The sleeping loft is also equipped with a kitchenette and a distinctive cedar and rock walled bathroom. The bath features an antique dresser vanity with marble vessel sink, distinctive fixtures and a floor to ceiling polished travertine marble shower with rain head. This bathroom also has an exterior door leading to a secondary upstairs staircase in the back yard. Just envision the great sleepovers the kids or grandkids will have here or how your out of town friends or family will just love this special area designed with their comfort and needs in mind.
Originally constructed in 1925 by “off Broadway” star Rose Grant, this property is rich in history. In the early years, this home was one of the first in Rabun County to generate its own electric from the waterfall. Several small cabins were also built on the property and rented out to guests who came for the waterfall, swim in the pond and connect with nature. Other notable residents were Mrs. and Doctor Fowler who was a local pediatrician. According to an aged newspaper article, Mrs. Fowler was very interested in the indigenous flora and fauna and grew a variety of native plants on the property including some that were rare or endangered. Many metal name tags still remain along the various paths on the property thus reminding you of times gone by and the true beauty of property.
Lastly, this solidly built home has just been structurally solidified, become more energy efficient, and reconfigured to further usable space all while retaining the Lodge’s original charm. After removing the flooring in the kitchen, hall and both bathrooms, the home’s structure and roof were fortified with numerous concrete footers to support both bathrooms, kitchen, and stairwell walls that extend from floor to roof. To make this home more comfortable, energy efficient, and bring it up to modern standards, the electrical system was upgraded to 220 service with the wiring, outlets, electrical panels and fixtures replaced throughout the entire home. A whole house surge protector was also installed to protect against damage that may occur with lightning strikes. Speaking of electric…..the pond’s newly poured formed concrete wall contains a pipe enabling you to install your own hydro-electric system. And whether you might decide to tie into the grid or store you energy in a battery system, you could generate your own electric 24/7. The homes plumbing was also replaced with new pipes, energy/water efficient fixtures in each bathroom (including three Toto toilets), and a new cistern was installed behind the garage with a laboratory grade water filtration system. The task of water heating was completed by a gas Rinnai point of use hot water heater in the utility room and all windows were replaced with Anderson thermal pane and 6 Velux skylights were mounted to bring the outdoors inside. The home’s HVAC system was top of the line several years ago and both sets of new gas logs are controlled with remotes. Formerly a summer home, all exterior walls were studded out with insulation added, and whole house fans were installed in the attic and upstairs bathroom. Although many of these upgrades may not be visible, they allow the home to be more energy efficient and more comfortable……allowing The Lodge at Gold Mine Falls to become your four season retreat.

Mountain style screened-in side porch idea in Minneapolis with a roof extension

Stuart Wade, Envision Virtual Tours
Mountain Reflections on Lake Burton
Recently renovated both inside and out, this 5 bedroom, 5.5 bath home with sweeping views of Lake Burton is fit for entertaining large crowds. The open floor plan features a spacious great room with a 2-story stacked stone fireplace, abundant natural ligthing, dining for 10+ and a large chef's kitchen with granite countertops, custom cabinets to house every utensil, exposed beams and access to a lakeside porch. Three sets of french doors open to a magnificent curved veranda accented by columns. Western sunsets make this the place to be in the cool evenings watching the sun reflect off the jewel tone water. A private master bedroom on the main floor provides access to the covered porch. The master bath features a double vanity with granite countertops, built-in storage drawers and cabinets, jetted tub and seperate shower. Spacious guest bedrooms feature private baths and lake views. Mature landscaping including an incredible array of pink and purple rhododendron, eyebrow windows, columns and curved porches highlight the newly painted exterior.
The terrace level features a second family room/rec room with a stacked stone fireplace, wet bar, and a wall of triple french doors that open to a lakeside stone terrace. Two additional guest bedrooms with full baths also have access to the terrace patio. A large laundry room and gym/art studio with outside entrance, double sink and ample storage completes the terrace level.
Lake Burton is a unique Life Style. Cherry Lane is a paved street accessed by 4 single family homes. This home features a private, gated driveway off Cherry Lane. There is not a homeowner’s association, there are no fees or dues. Over 800 lake properties are managed and leased by the Georgia Power Company.
Location is a major advantage for this property with close proximity to Clayton, the hospital, Waterfall Country Club, the Appalachian Trail, shopping, quaint restaurants and only about a 45 minute drive to Highlands, N.C. This house is located on deep water and has breathtaking lake and mountain views that will capture your heart!
General Information:
• 5 bedrooms and 5 ½ baths
• All bathrooms have new updated granite counter tops.
• 2 fireplaces ( 1 gas non vent logs and 1 wood burning with gas starter and built in wood storage)
• Both fireplaces have raised hearths.
• House has poured concrete walls with reinforced steel.
• All Floor trusses were engineered for proper application.
• During construction the house and grounds were pre-treated for termites. The house is inspected for termites annually. To date, no termites have been found. The termite bond is with American Pest control out of Toccoa, GA.
• The main entrance has double Mahogany leaded glass door. All other exterior doors and windows are deluxe Anderson thermo pane. All Anderson windows are tilt out for easy inside cleaning. Windows have Planter shutter and/or wood blinds.
• All lake side doors are 8 feet. Doors have triple locks and are adjustable for the best fit.
• All exterior walls have house wrap and heavy insulation- R-17 for walls and R 30 in the attic.
• House has 3 levels. Each level has its own Trane High Efficiency Weathertron heat pump XE 1200. The 2 units for the main and basement levels also have dual fuel, propane gas for extra heat if needed.
• Beam Central Vacuum system for all 3 levels.
• All 3 levels are wired for Stereo speakers as well as the main level outside deck.
• All ceilings are 10 ft. or higher.
• Bar sinks have granite counter tops
*Brand new (2014) roof with HD architectural shingles has transferable lifetime warranty
Entry Foyer:
-Double Mahogany lead glass doors
-2 lead glass side windows
-Marble floor, heavy moldings, tray ceiling
Great Room:
-Vaulted wood ceiling with multi light chandelier
-Doors can be adjusted in many different positions for easy operations
-Anderson Windows and doors
-All doors facing lake side are 8 ft. doors
-Planter shutters in all windows on main floor
Kitchen:
-Vaulted ceiling with beadboard and exposed beams
-Custom Gillespie cabinets with space for every utensil
-Large kitchen island with breakfast bar
-Walk-in pantry
-Granite counter tops with plenty of prep space
-Breakfast nook
-Access to lakeside porch
-Central Vac and crumb catcher
-GE Monogram Fridge
-Kitchenaid built in oven and microwave
-Jen-air 4 burner gas stove with exhaust
-Kitchenaid trash compactor
-Scotsman Ice Machine
-Over and under counter accent lighting
Master Bedroom:
-Heavy Molding, hardwood flooring,
-Plantation shutters on bedroom French doors opening to deck
-4 closets
Master Bath:
-Granite counter tops with double sinks
-Separate shower with glass door and delta shower system
-Jetted Tub
-14 drawer built-in cabinets for clothing
Upstairs level:
-Two bedrooms, each with full baths, tile floors, double vanities, granite countertops, ample closets and linen closets
Terrace Level:
-Spacious family room with stone fireplace and wet bar
-Guest bedroom with full bath
-Office with full bath
-Art studio or exercise room with double sink
-Separate tool room
-Laundry room/utility room with tile floors and cabinets
-Covered stone terrace with access to boathouse
Boat House:
-Two stall for up to 25 ft. boat
-2 electric boat lifts
-Large deck on top of boathouse with ½ covered roof
-Large storage area for boat supplies
-Swim dock

Stuart Wade, Envision Virtual Tours
The second-largest and most developed of Georgia's barrier islands, St. Simons is approximately twelve miles long and nearly three miles wide at its widest stretch (roughly the size of Manhattan Island in New York). The island is located in Glynn County on Georgia's coast and lies east of Brunswick (the seat of Glynn County), south of Little St. Simons Island and the Hampton River, and north of Jekyll Island. The resort community of Sea Island is separated from St. Simons on the east by the Black Banks River. Known for its oak tree canopies and historic landmarks, St. Simons is both a tourist destination and, according to the 2010 U.S. census, home to 12,743 residents.
Early History
The earliest
St. Simons Island Village
record of human habitation on the island dates to the Late Archaic Period, about 5,000 to 3,000 years ago. Remnants of shell rings left behind by Native Americans from this era survive on many of the barrier islands, including St. Simons. Centuries later, during the period known by historians as the chiefdom era, the Guale Indians established a chiefdom centered on St. Catherines Island and used St. Simons as their hunting and fishing grounds. By 1500 the Guale had established a permanent village of about 200 people on St. Simons, which they called Guadalquini.
Beginning in 1568, the Spanish attempted to create missions along the Georgia coast. Catholic missions were the primary means by which Georgia's indigenous Native American chiefdoms were assimilated into the Spanish colonial system along the northern frontier of greater Spanish Florida. In the 1600s St. Simons became home to two Spanish missions: San Buenaventura de Guadalquini, on the southern tip of the island, and Santo Domingo de Asao (or Asajo), on the northern tip. Located on the inland side of the island were the pagan refugee villages of San Simón, the island's namesake, and Ocotonico. In 1684 pirate raids left the missions and villages largely abandoned.
Colonial History
As
Fort Frederica
early as 1670, with Great Britain's establishment of the colony of Carolina and its expansion into Georgia territory, Spanish rule was threatened by the English. The Georgia coast was considered "debatable land" by England and Spain, even though Spain had fully retreated from St. Simons by 1702. Thirty-one years later General James Edward Oglethorpe founded the English settlement of Savannah. In 1736 he established Fort Frederica, named after the heir to the British throne, Frederick Louis, prince of Wales, on the west side of St. Simons Island to protect Savannah and the Carolinas from the Spanish threat.
Between 1736 and 1749 Fort Frederica was the hub of British military operations along the Georgia frontier. A town of the same name grew up around the fort and was of great importance to the new colony. By 1740 Frederica's population was 1,000. In 1736 the congregation of what would become Christ Church was organized within Fort Frederica as a mission of the Church of England. Charles Wesley led the first services. In 1742 Britain's decisive victory over Spain in the Battle of Bloody Marsh, during the War of Jenkins' Ear, ended the Spanish threat to the Georgia coast. When the British regimen disbanded in 1749, most of the townspeople relocated to the mainland. Fort Frederica went into decline and, except for a short time of prosperity during the 1760s and 1770s under the leadership of merchant James Spalding, never fully recovered. Today the historic citadel's tabby ruins are maintained by the National Park Service.
Plantation Era
By the start of the American Revolution (1775-83), Fort Frederica was obsolete, and St. Simons was left largely uninhabited as most of its residents joined the patriot army. Besides hosting a small Georgia naval victory on the Fort Frederica River, providing guns from its famous fort for use at Fort Morris in Sunbury, and serving as an arena for pillaging by privateers and British soldiers, the island played almost no role in the war.
Following the war, many of the townspeople, their businesses destroyed, turned to agriculture. The island was transformed into fourteen cotton plantations after acres of live oak trees were cleared for farm land and used for building American warships, including the famous USS Constitution, or "Old Ironsides." Although rice was the predominant crop along the neighboring Altamaha River, St. Simons was known for its production of long-staple cotton, which soon came to be known as Sea Island cotton.
Between
Ebos Landing
the 1780s and the outbreak of the Civil War (1861-65), St. Simons's plantation culture flourished. The saline atmosphere and the availability of cheap slave labor proved an ideal combination for the cultivation of Sea Island cotton. In 1803 a group of Ebo slaves who survived the Middle Passage and arrived on the west side of St. Simons staged a rebellion and drowned themselves. The sacred site is known today as Ebos Landing.
One of the largest owners of land and slaves on St. Simons was Pierce Butler, master of Hampton Point Plantation, located on the northern end of the island. By 1793 Butler owned more than 500 slaves, who cultivated 800 acres of cotton on St. Simons and 300 acres of rice on Butler's Island in the Altamaha River delta. Butler's grandson, Pierce Mease Butler, who at the age of sixteen inherited a share of his grandfather's estate in 1826, was responsible for the largest sale of human beings in the history of the United States: in 1859, to restore his squandered fortune, he sold 429 slaves in Savannah for more than $300,000. The British actress and writer Fanny Kemble, whose tumultuous marriage to Pierce ended in divorce in 1849, published an eyewitness account of the evils of slavery on St. Simons in her book Journal of a Residence on a Georgian Plantation in 1838-1839 (1863).
Another
Retreat Plantation
large owner of land and slaves on St. Simons was Major William Page, a friend and employee of Pierce Butler Sr. Before purchasing Retreat Plantation on the southwestern tip of the island in 1804, Page managed the Hampton plantation and Butler's Island. Upon Page's death in 1827, Thomas Butler King inherited the land together with his wife, Page's daughter, Anna Matilda Page King. King expanded his father-in-law's planting empire on St. Simons as well as on the mainland, and by 1835 Retreat Plantation alone was home to as many as 355 slaves.
The center of life during the island's plantation era was Christ Church, Frederica. Organized in 1807 by a group of island planters, the Episcopal church is the second oldest in the Diocese of Georgia. Embargoes imposed by the War of 1812 (1812-15) prevented the parishioners from building a church structure, so they worshiped in the home of John Beck, which stood on the site of Oglethorpe's only St. Simons residence, Orange Hall.
The first Christ Church building, finished on the present site in 1820, was ruined by occupying Union troops during the Civil War. In 1884 the Reverend Anson Dodge Jr. rebuilt the church as a memorial to his first wife, Ellen. The cruciform building with a trussed gothic roof and stained-glass windows remains active today as Christ Church.
Civil War and Beyond
The
St. Simons Island Lighthouse
outbreak of the Civil War in 1861 put a sudden end to St. Simons's lucrative plantation era. In January of that year, Confederate troops were stationed at the south end of the island to guard the entrance to Brunswick Harbor. Slaves from Retreat Plantation, owned by Thomas Butler King, built earthworks and batteries. Plantation residents were scattered—the men joined the Confederate army and their families moved to the mainland. Cannon fire was heard on the island in December 1861, and Confederate troops retreated in February 1862, after dynamiting the lighthouse to keep its beacon from aiding Union troops. Soon thereafter, Union troops occupied the island, which was used as a camp for freed slaves. By August 1862 more than 500 former slaves lived on St. Simons, including Susie King Taylor, who organized a school for freed slave children. But in November the ex-slaves were taken to Hilton Head, South Carolina, and Fernandina, Florida, leaving the island abandoned.
After the Civil War the island never returned to its status as an agricultural community. The plantations lay dormant because there were no slaves to work the fields. After Union general William T. Sherman's January 1865 Special Field Order No. 15 —a demand that former plantations be divided and distributed to former slaves—was overturned by U.S. president Andrew Johnson less than a year later, freedmen and women were forced to work as sharecroppers on the small farms that dotted the land previously occupied by the sprawling plantations.
By
St. Simons Lumber Mills
1870 real economic recovery began with the reestablishment of the timber industry. Norman Dodge and Titus G. Meigs of New York set up lumber mill operations at Gascoigne Bluff, formerly Hamilton Plantation. The lumber mills provided welcome employment for both blacks and whites and also provided mail and passenger boats to the mainland. Such water traffic, together with the construction of a new lighthouse in 1872, designed by architect Charles B. Cluskey, marked the beginning of St. Simons's tourism industry. The keeper of the lighthouse created a small amusement park, which drew many visitors, as did the seemingly miraculous light that traveled from the top of the lighthouse tower to the bottom. The island became a summer retreat for families from the mainland, particularly from Baxley, Brunswick, and Waycross.
The island's resort industry was thriving by the 1880s. Beachfront structures, such as a new pier and grand hotel, were built on the southeastern end of the island and could be accessed by ferry. Around this time wealthy northerners began vacationing on the island.
Twentieth Century
The
St. Simons Island Pier and Village
opening in 1924 of the Brunswick–St. Simons Highway, today known as the Torras Causeway, was a milestone in the development of resorts in the area. St. Simons's beaches were now easily accessible to locals and tourists alike. More than 5,000 automobiles took the short drive from Brunswick to St. Simons via the causeway on its opening day, paving the way for convenient residential and resort development.
In 1926 automotive pioneer Howard Coffin of Detroit, Michigan, bought large tracts of land on St. Simons, including the former Retreat Plantation, and constructed a golf course, yacht club, paved roads, and a residential subdivision. Although the causeway had brought large numbers of summer people to the island, St. Simons remained a small community with only a few hundred permanent residents until the 1940s.
The
St. Simons Island
outbreak of World War II (1941-45) brought more visitors and residents to St. Simons. Troops stationed at Jacksonville, Florida; Savannah; and nearby Camp Stewart took weekend vacations on the island, and a new naval air base and radar school became home to even more officers and soldiers. The increased wartime population brought the island its first public school. With a major shipyard for the production of Liberty ships in nearby Brunswick, the waters of St. Simons became active with German U-boats. In April 1942, just off the coast, the Texas Company oil tanker S. S. Oklahoma and the S. S. Esso Baton Rouge were torpedoed by the Germans, bringing the war very close to home for island residents.
Due in large part to the military's improvement of the island's infrastructure during the war, development on the island boomed in the 1950s and 1960s. More permanent homes and subdivisions were built, and the island was no longer just a summer resort but also a thriving community. In 1950 the Methodist conference and retreat center Epworth by the Sea opened on Gascoigne Bluff. In 1961 novelist Eugenia Price visited St. Simons and began work on her first works of fiction, known as the St. Simons Trilogy. Inspired by real events on the island, Price's trilogy renewed interest in the history of Georgia's coast, and the novelist herself relocated to the island in 1965 and lived there for thirty-one years. St. Simons is also home to contemporary Georgia writer Tina McElroy Ansa.
Since
Epworth by the Sea
1980 St. Simons's population has doubled. The island's continued status as a vacation destination and its ongoing development boom have put historic landmarks and natural areas at risk. While such landmarks as the Fort Frederica ruins and the Battle of Bloody Marsh site are preserved and maintained by the National Park Service, and while the historic lighthouse is maintained by the Coastal Georgia Historical Society, historic Ebos Landing has been taken over by a sewage treatment plant.
Several coastal organizations have formed in recent years to save natural areas on the island. The St. Simons Land Trust, for example, has received donations of large tracts of land and plans to protect property in the island's three traditional African American neighborhoods. Despite its rapid growth and development, St. Simons remains one of the most beautiful and important islands on the Georgia coast.

Stuart Wade, Envision Virtual Tours
Mountain Reflections on Lake Burton
Recently renovated both inside and out, this 5 bedroom, 5.5 bath home with sweeping views of Lake Burton is fit for entertaining large crowds. The open floor plan features a spacious great room with a 2-story stacked stone fireplace, abundant natural ligthing, dining for 10+ and a large chef's kitchen with granite countertops, custom cabinets to house every utensil, exposed beams and access to a lakeside porch. Three sets of french doors open to a magnificent curved veranda accented by columns. Western sunsets make this the place to be in the cool evenings watching the sun reflect off the jewel tone water. A private master bedroom on the main floor provides access to the covered porch. The master bath features a double vanity with granite countertops, built-in storage drawers and cabinets, jetted tub and seperate shower. Spacious guest bedrooms feature private baths and lake views. Mature landscaping including an incredible array of pink and purple rhododendron, eyebrow windows, columns and curved porches highlight the newly painted exterior.
The terrace level features a second family room/rec room with a stacked stone fireplace, wet bar, and a wall of triple french doors that open to a lakeside stone terrace. Two additional guest bedrooms with full baths also have access to the terrace patio. A large laundry room and gym/art studio with outside entrance, double sink and ample storage completes the terrace level.
Lake Burton is a unique Life Style. Cherry Lane is a paved street accessed by 4 single family homes. This home features a private, gated driveway off Cherry Lane. There is not a homeowner’s association, there are no fees or dues. Over 800 lake properties are managed and leased by the Georgia Power Company.
Location is a major advantage for this property with close proximity to Clayton, the hospital, Waterfall Country Club, the Appalachian Trail, shopping, quaint restaurants and only about a 45 minute drive to Highlands, N.C. This house is located on deep water and has breathtaking lake and mountain views that will capture your heart!
General Information:
• 5 bedrooms and 5 ½ baths
• All bathrooms have new updated granite counter tops.
• 2 fireplaces ( 1 gas non vent logs and 1 wood burning with gas starter and built in wood storage)
• Both fireplaces have raised hearths.
• House has poured concrete walls with reinforced steel.
• All Floor trusses were engineered for proper application.
• During construction the house and grounds were pre-treated for termites. The house is inspected for termites annually. To date, no termites have been found. The termite bond is with American Pest control out of Toccoa, GA.
• The main entrance has double Mahogany leaded glass door. All other exterior doors and windows are deluxe Anderson thermo pane. All Anderson windows are tilt out for easy inside cleaning. Windows have Planter shutter and/or wood blinds.
• All lake side doors are 8 feet. Doors have triple locks and are adjustable for the best fit.
• All exterior walls have house wrap and heavy insulation- R-17 for walls and R 30 in the attic.
• House has 3 levels. Each level has its own Trane High Efficiency Weathertron heat pump XE 1200. The 2 units for the main and basement levels also have dual fuel, propane gas for extra heat if needed.
• Beam Central Vacuum system for all 3 levels.
• All 3 levels are wired for Stereo speakers as well as the main level outside deck.
• All ceilings are 10 ft. or higher.
• Bar sinks have granite counter tops
*Brand new (2014) roof with HD architectural shingles has transferable lifetime warranty
Entry Foyer:
-Double Mahogany lead glass doors
-2 lead glass side windows
-Marble floor, heavy moldings, tray ceiling
Great Room:
-Vaulted wood ceiling with multi light chandelier
-Doors can be adjusted in many different positions for easy operations
-Anderson Windows and doors
-All doors facing lake side are 8 ft. doors
-Planter shutters in all windows on main floor
Kitchen:
-Vaulted ceiling with beadboard and exposed beams
-Custom Gillespie cabinets with space for every utensil
-Large kitchen island with breakfast bar
-Walk-in pantry
-Granite counter tops with plenty of prep space
-Breakfast nook
-Access to lakeside porch
-Central Vac and crumb catcher
-GE Monogram Fridge
-Kitchenaid built in oven and microwave
-Jen-air 4 burner gas stove with exhaust
-Kitchenaid trash compactor
-Scotsman Ice Machine
-Over and under counter accent lighting
Master Bedroom:
-Heavy Molding, hardwood flooring,
-Plantation shutters on bedroom French doors opening to deck
-4 closets
Master Bath:
-Granite counter tops with double sinks
-Separate shower with glass door and delta shower system
-Jetted Tub
-14 drawer built-in cabinets for clothing
Upstairs level:
-Two bedrooms, each with full baths, tile floors, double vanities, granite countertops, ample closets and linen closets
Terrace Level:
-Spacious family room with stone fireplace and wet bar
-Guest bedroom with full bath
-Office with full bath
-Art studio or exercise room with double sink
-Separate tool room
-Laundry room/utility room with tile floors and cabinets
-Covered stone terrace with access to boathouse
Boat House:
-Two stall for up to 25 ft. boat
-2 electric boat lifts
-Large deck on top of boathouse with ½ covered roof
-Large storage area for boat supplies
-Swim dock

Atherton has many large substantial homes - our clients purchased an existing home on a one acre flag-shaped lot and asked us to design a new dream home for them. The result is a new 7,000 square foot four-building complex consisting of the main house, six-car garage with two car lifts, pool house with a full one bedroom residence inside, and a separate home office /work out gym studio building. A fifty-foot swimming pool was also created with fully landscaped yards.
Given the rectangular shape of the lot, it was decided to angle the house to incoming visitors slightly so as to more dramatically present itself. The house became a classic u-shaped home but Feng Shui design principals were employed directing the placement of the pool house to better contain the energy flow on the site. The main house entry door is then aligned with a special Japanese red maple at the end of a long visual axis at the rear of the site. These angles and alignments set up everything else about the house design and layout, and views from various rooms allow you to see into virtually every space tracking movements of others in the home.
The residence is simply divided into two wings of public use, kitchen and family room, and the other wing of bedrooms, connected by the living and dining great room. Function drove the exterior form of windows and solid walls with a line of clerestory windows which bring light into the middle of the large home. Extensive sun shadow studies with 3D tree modeling led to the unorthodox placement of the pool to the north of the home, but tree shadow tracking showed this to be the sunniest area during the entire year.
Sustainable measures included a full 7.1kW solar photovoltaic array technically making the house off the grid, and arranged so that no panels are visible from the property. A large 16,000 gallon rainwater catchment system consisting of tanks buried below grade was installed. The home is California GreenPoint rated and also features sealed roof soffits and a sealed crawlspace without the usual venting. A whole house computer automation system with server room was installed as well. Heating and cooling utilize hot water radiant heated concrete and wood floors supplemented by heat pump generated heating and cooling.
A compound of buildings created to form balanced relationships between each other, this home is about circulation, light and a balance of form and function.
Photo by John Sutton Photography.

Our custom blown glass chandeliers are made totally custom to fit perfectly in your unique space. We work with you to capture the inner essence you wish to express.
Our client wished to add color to their sun room. This Deep Cobalt chandelier looks absolutely brilliant, as the outside sun and internal light of the chandelier converge in a kaleidoscope of blue. The glass dining room table and casual wooden chairs combined with the outside forestry make for a phenomenal combination.
This custom blown glass art platter chandelier is made from our golden topaz sconce flowers. This style of chandelier is wonderful for modern contemporary homes, and matches the wooden floors, grey rug, and white ceilings. This custom blown glass art platter chandelier is made from our golden topaz sconce flowers. This style of chandelier is wonderful for modern contemporary homes, and matches the wooden floors, grey rug, and white ceilings. It looks stunning over this wooden kitchen island.
Our custom-made glass lighting fixtures are perfect for your foyer, entryway, stairwell, living room, dining room, kitchen, or any room in your home. All of our chandeliers and custom blown glass lighting is fully customizable and tailored to fit your unique space. No two works are the same, each piece is custom made exactly for you.
This is a totally unique, Elongated, all-clear Ribbon chandelier we produced for a client's dining room. This fits in with traditional decor but with a modern twist, It matches the wood flooring, oak table, and mahogany dresser, and the abundance of natural sunlight from large windows makes this custom lighting glass fixture sparkle.
This is a totally unique, Elongated, all-clear Ribbon chandelier we produced for a client's dining room. This fits in with traditional decor but with a modern twist, It matches the wood flooring, oak table, and mahogany dresser, and the abundance of natural sunlight from large windows makes this custom lighting glass fixture sparkle.
We are a three generation family business, with over 50 years of experience. We have installations all over the world, for governments, civic memorials, public works, interior designers, decorators, architects, engineers, museums, art galleries, hotels, restaurants, corporations, corporate clients, businesses, ranches, oceanfront properties, apartment buildings, condominiums, and numerous private clients.
This floral custom dining room chandelier chandelier looks like an upside down flower pot miraculously suspended in mid-air. The reds in the chandelier match the red painted walls, while the yellows bring out the bamboo floors and light wood dining room table and dining room chairs. There is also plenty of natural sunlight from big sky windows. This home is traditional with a touch of contemporary in the furniture.
For this particular client living in Malibu, we procured for them a chandelier to fit the ultra-contemporary decor of their interior, enhance their home's natural light, and compliment the sun-abundant environment in which they live.
48" high x 72" long x 48" wide Colors shown: Orange, Fire Red, Yellow This blown-glass garden sculpture is designed to uniquely enhance your outdoor space. Dimensions and colors fully customizable, and sculpture can be lit from within for a nighttime glowing effect.
48" high x 72" long x 48" wide Colors shown: Aqua Blue, Lime, Emerald Green, Violet This blown-glass garden sculpture is designed to uniquely enhance your outdoor space. Dimensions and colors fully customizable, and sculpture can be lit from within for a nighttime glowing.
48" high x 48" wide x 24" deep These Opal White sconces seem to work in any space, as their internal lights cast a soft, agreeable glow. This particular pair adds a subtle touch to a forest view, and softens the juxtaposition between inside and out. Just like our chandeliers, our sconces are internally lit with ultra long-lasting, dimmable LEDs.
50" high x 46" wide x 26" deep This is a honey, wood, and grey sconce we produced for a client to accentuate a warm, wooden, yet contemporary feel. Just like our chandeliers, our sconces are internally lit with ultra long-lasting, dimmable LEDs.
72" high x 60" wide x 24" deep This wall sconce is simply fun. Vibrant colors play with each other, yet match because they fall in the same color spectrum, as the client's sitting room is transformed into a display of modern art. Just like our chandeliers, our sconces are internally lit with ultra long-lasting, dimmable LEDs.
We serve the entire United States and Canada. We service all 50 states, including Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, California, Colorado, Connecticut, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Hawaii, Idaho, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Florida, Miami, Coral Gables, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, Washington, West Virginia, Wisconsin, Wyoming. In California, we specifically service Orange County, Los Angeles, LA County, and Malibu. Zip code 90210. In the Washington D.C. area, we specifically serve Alexandria, Arlington, Loudon, Bethesda, Upper Marlboro, Kalorama, and the Palisades. In Connecticut, we specifically serve Greenwich. Zip codes 22314 and 2203.
Our custom made, blown glass chandeliers are functional glass art and can be customized for apartments, condos, a client’s foyer, living room, dining room, great room, family room, kitchen, kitchen island, even bathroom and bedroom.
Our fully custom glass art chandeliers are all blown here in the United States of America. We customize them to go with all furnishings, including one’s mahogany dining room table, wood dining room table, contemporary dining room table, traditional dining room table, and modern dining room table. They also match one’s marble kitchen island, skylight, coffee table, custom wallpaper, other lighting fixtures, custom wall sconces, dining room chairs, marble countertops. They look phenomenal in large or small homes, and seaside villas. Ocean front properties are a speciality of ours as well.
A closeup photo of the outdoor patio chandelier, displaying the incredible detail and craftsmanship in each individual piece. This picture is art unto itself.
We provide full personalized service, including Lighting Design, Lighting Manufacturer, Custom Lighting, Custom Chandeliers, Multi-story Chandeliers, Multi-level Chandeliers, Glass Lighting, Pendant Lighting, Commercial Lighting, Residential Lighting, Blown Glass, Fused Glass, Bubble Glass Lighting, Bubble Chandeliers, Dining Room Lighting, Kitchen Pendants, Lighting Design Consultation.
All chandeliers are hand crafted by our talented artists here in the USA. That’s right, all of our artists and craftsmen are here in the U.S. Each piece is a truly functional work of art. We like to think of it as art primarily, it just happens to be functional! It is true artistic creativity combined with engineering and architectural practicality. At Ethel A. Furman & Associates, the online gallery of GlassArt.net, you are the creator. We like to push the limits of light, color and texture, with our dramatic custom lighting and decor made from our exotic, fused & blown glass.
As a lighting and glass manufacturer, Ethel A. Furman & Associates, the online gallery of GlassArt.net is as unique as the products we offer. We're small enough to provide an unparalleled level of service and craftsmanship. That said, we are large enough to handle residential and commercial jobs of any size. Not found everywhere, you can see our exotic materials displayed around the globe.
Whether you have a vision or you're looking for one, or several, our artists can create something way beyond the expected.
Let us create something exceptional for you.
This is the chandelier in full of the previous closeup photo. We produced this vibrantly colored outdoor chandelier for a client's roofed patio area. Do not be deceived by the thin wires; we use taut, aircraft-strength cables that keep the chandelier stable in virtually any weather condition. Please again note the closeup photo of this chandelier, as it is exemplary of the world class quality we are so proud of in our glasswork.
This totally fun sculpture was created for a client's wine cellar. Your vision is our direction. You are only restricted by the contents of your imagination.
This client wished to have a tropical chandelier while also employing her favorite color: lavender. We played the opaque lavender horns with the transparent ruby and yellow, and green gourds for a wonderfully fun, tropical chandelier that also serve functions as the main dining room light.
This is a closeup of an individual platter sconce. These can be used in a large group, like the previous picture, yet are equally elegant hanging alone. These are backlit, just like our chandeliers and other sconces, with ultra long-lasting, dimmable LEDs.
Our custom glass art comes in any color and/or color combination imaginable, including purple, grey, clear, gold, silver, white, black, green, yellow, purple, taupe, turquoise, blue, baby blue, lavender, violet, red, and orange.
Organic, perforated glass spheres with a lace-like texture. Made from our unique blown glass. Available as individual pendants or multi-pendant chandeliers. Multiple sizes and colors are available.
Our modern Custom Glass Lighting perfect for your entryway, foyer, stairwell, living room, dining room, kitchen, and any room in your home. Our dramatic lighting that is fully customizable and tailored to fit your space perfectly. No two pieces are the same
72" high x 48" wide This eclectic and highly complex chandelier was designed to be reminiscent of a coral reef
96" high x 60" wide x 60" deep Absolutely humongous and stunning chandelier we produced for an javascript:;exceptionally large foyer. Appropriately dubbed "Autumn" because it reminds one of the leaves turning from green to red and slowly falling.
We produced our spectacular "Summer Fire" chandelier for The Park at Fourteenth, an exclusive restaurant & nightclub in Washington D.C. This is one of 2 chandeliers we designed and produced for them.
Like all of our chandeliers, these are internally lit with warm-colored, dimmable LED's, so the light lasts for many tens of thousands of hours and can be set to the exact brightness to fit any mood.
We produced our spectacular "Summer Fire" chandelier for The Park at Fourteenth, an exclusive restaurant & nightclub in Washington D.C. This is one of 2 chandeliers we designed and produced for them. Like all of our chandeliers, these are internally lit with warm-colored, dimmable LED's, so the light lasts for many tens of thousands of hours and can be set to your exact specifications.
We produced our spectacular "Miami Sunrise" chandelier for The Park at Fourteenth, an exclusive restaurant & nightclub in Washington D.C.
This is one of 2 chandeliers we designed and produced for them.
Like all of our chandeliers, these are internally lit with warm-colored, dimmable LED's, so the light lasts for many tens of thousands of hours and can be set to the exact brightness to fit any mood.
We produced our spectacular "Summer Fire" chandelier for The Park at Fourteenth, an exclusive restaurant & nightclub in Washington D.C. This is one of 2 chandeliers we designed and produced for them.
Like all of our chandeliers, these are internally lit with warm-colored, dimmable LED's, so the light lasts for many tens of thousands of hours and can be set to the exact brightness to fit any mood. Our blown glass chandeliers are made totally custom for your unique tastes and home. We work with you to not only capture the colors and style that fit your space perfectly, but also your unique desired “vibe.”
Our client wished to add color to their sun room. This Deep Cobalt chandelier looks absolutely brilliant, as the outside sun and internal light of the chandelier converge in a kaleidoscope of blue. The glass dining room table and casual wooden chairs combined with the outside forestry make for a phenomenal combination.
This custom blown glass art platter chandelier is made from our golden topaz sconce flowers. This style of chandelier is wonderful for modern contemporary homes, and matches the wooden floors, grey rug, and white ceilings. This custom blown glass art platter chandelier is made from our golden topaz sconce flowers. This style of chandelier is wonderful for modern contemporary homes, and matches the wooden floors, grey rug, and white ceilings. It looks stunning over this wooden kitchen island.
Our custom-made glass lighting fixtures are perfect for your foyer, entryway, stairwell, living room, dining room, kitchen, or any room in your home. All of our chandeliers and custom blown glass lighting is fully customizable and tailored to fit your unique space. No two works are the same, each piece is custom made exactly for you.
This is a totally unique, Elongated, all-clear Ribbon chandelier we produced for a client's dining room. This fits in with traditional decor but with a modern twist, It matches the wood flooring, oak table, and mahogany dresser, and the abundance of natural sunlight from large windows makes this custom lighting glass fixture sparkle.
This is a totally unique, Elongated, all-clear Ribbon chandelier we produced for a client's dining room. This fits in with traditional decor but with a modern twist, It matches the wood flooring, oak table, and mahogany dresser, and the abundance of natural sunlight from large windows makes this custom lighting glass fixture sparkle.
This floral custom dining room chandelier chandelier looks like an upside down flower pot miraculously suspended in mid-air. The reds in the chandelier match the red painted walls, while the yellows bring out the bamboo floors and light wood dining room table and dining room chairs. There is also plenty of natural sunlight from big sky windows. This home is traditional with a touch of contemporary in the furniture.
For this particular client living in Malibu, we procured for them a chandelier to fit the ultra-contemporary decor of their interior, enhance their home's natural light, and compliment the sun-abundant environment in which they live.
48" high x 72" long x 48" wide Colors shown: Orange, Fire Red, Yellow This blown-glass garden sculpture is designed to uniquely enhance your outdoor space. Dimensions and colors fully customizable, and sculpture can be lit from within for a nighttime glowing effect.
48" high x 72" long x 48" wide Colors shown: Aqua Blue, Lime, Emerald Green, Violet This blown-glass garden sculpture is designed to uniquely enhance your outdoor space. Dimensions and colors fully customizable, and sculpture can be lit from within for a nighttime glowing.
48" high x 48" wide x 24" deep These Opal White sconces seem to work in any space, as their internal lights cast a soft, agreeable glow. This particular pair adds a subtle touch to a forest view, and softens the juxtaposition between inside and out. Just like our chandeliers, our sconces are internally lit with ultra long-lasting, dimmable LEDs.
50" high x 46" wide x 26" deep This is a honey, wood, and grey sconce we produced for a client to accentuate a warm, wooden, yet contemporary feel. Just like our chandeliers, our sconces are internally lit with ultra long-lasting, dimmable LEDs.
72" high x 60" wide x 24" deep This wall sconce is simply fun. Vibrant colors play with each other, yet match because they fall in the same color spectrum, as the client's sitting room is transformed into a display of modern art. Just like our chandeliers, our sconces are internally lit with ultra long-lasting, dimmable LEDs.
We serve the entire United States and Canada. We service all 50 states, including Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, California, Colorado, Connecticut, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Hawaii, Idaho, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Florida, Miami, Coral Gables, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, Washington, West Virginia, Wisconsin, Wyoming. In California, we specifically service Orange County, Los Angeles, LA County, and Malibu. Zip code 90210. In the Washington D.C. area, we specifically serve Alexandria, Arlington, Loudon, Bethesda, Upper Marlboro, Kalorama, and the Palisades. In Connecticut, we specifically serve Greenwich. Zip codes 22314 and 2203.
Our custom made, blown glass chandeliers are functional glass art and can be customized for apartments, condos, a client’s foyer, living room, dining room, great room, family room, kitchen, kitchen island, even bathroom and bedroom.
Our fully custom glass art chandeliers are all blown here in the United States of America. We customize them to go with all furnishings, including one’s mahogany dining room table, wood dining room table, contemporary dining room table, traditional dining room table, and modern dining room table. They also match one’s marble kitchen island, skylight, coffee table, custom wallpaper, other lighting fixtures, custom wall sconces, dining room chairs, marble countertops. They look phenomenal in large or small homes, and seaside villas. Ocean front properties are a speciality of ours as well.
A closeup photo of the outdoor patio chandelier, displaying the incredible detail and craftsmanship in each individual piece. This picture is art unto itself.
We provide full personalized service, including Lighting Design, Lighting Manufacturer, Custom Lighting, Custom Chandeliers, Multi-story Chandeliers, Multi-level Chandeliers, Glass Lighting, Pendant Lighting, Commercial Lighting, Residential Lighting, Blown Glass, Fused Glass, Bubble Glass Lighting, Bubble Chandeliers, Dining Room Lighting, Kitchen Pendants, Lighting Design Consultation.
All chandeliers are hand crafted by our talented artists here in the USA. That’s right, all of our artists and craftsmen are here in the U.S. Each piece is a truly functional work of art. We like to think of it as art primarily, it just happens to be functional! It is true artistic creativity combined with engineering and architectural practicality. At Ethel A. Furman & Associates, the online gallery of GlassArt.net, you are the creator. We like to push the limits of light, color and texture, with our dramatic custom lighting and decor made from our exotic, fused & blown glass.
As a lighting and glass manufacturer, Ethel A. Furman & Associates, the online gallery of GlassArt.net is as unique as the products we offer. We're small enough to provide an unparalleled level of service and craftsmanship. That said, we are large enough to handle residential and commercial jobs of any size. Not found everywhere, you can see our exotic materials displayed around the globe.
Whether you have a vision or you're looking for one, or several, our artists can create something way beyond the expected.
Let us create something exceptional for you.
This is the chandelier in full of the previous closeup photo. We produced this vibrantly colored outdoor chandelier for a client's roofed patio area. Do not be deceived by the thin wires; we use taut, aircraft-strength cables that keep the chandelier stable, secure and safe.

Sponsored
Delaware, OH
Buckeye Basements, Inc.
Central Ohio's Basement Finishing ExpertsBest Of Houzz '13-'21

This stunning rooftop lounge offers an elevated outdoor escape with sweeping views of the neighborhood skyline and lush treetops. Featuring sleek white privacy walls, modern outdoor seating, and a central wood coffee table over a plush outdoor rug, the space blends comfort and style. Perfect for sunset cocktails or weekend gatherings, this open-air retreat is a standout amenity in urban living.

Virtually Here Studios
Transitional freestanding desk light wood floor home office photo in Los Angeles with white walls
Transitional freestanding desk light wood floor home office photo in Los Angeles with white walls

Weston Model - Tradition Collection
Pricing, floorplans, virtual tours, community information & more at https://www.robertthomashomes.com/
20

