Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
angigal

Front Room/Dining Room design idea

Angi G
5 years ago
I’m having a tough time figuring out how to organize my furniture so that is pleasing and also not so crowded. The dining room part is 8’ x 12’ (8’ to the railing another 2.5’ ish to the alcove) and the sitting room part is (from the window in the alcove) is 12.5’ x 11’ . Any ideas on how I can create a dining that can hold 6-8 people on holidays yet still have a functional and comfortable sitting area. I need the storage of the sidebar and I do love the piece. I appreciate any ideas. I’m a newbie at decorating and I know what I like don’t have the capacity to put it together. The photos are from all different angles and I tried to incorporate the rooms that attach.

Comments (59)

• PN _Bos
    5 years ago

i'd suggest a table/chairs designed for small spaces; maybe 4 chairs & a small storage bench to keep under the table until you need additional seating. If you have space, I'd move the sofa to the wall under the art, that will brighten up the space since it seems to be blocking part of your window. Get rid of the coffee table & red chair. I'd also ditch end tables/lamp & replace with a floor lamp & an end table that's more functional - something with a drawer/shelves.

• Angi G
    Original Author
    5 years ago
    If anyone has suggestions about a new light fixture over the table I would really appreciate it
  • niccidhg
    5 years ago
    Some inspiration re. round dining tables -
  • Angi G
    Original Author
    5 years ago
    In answer to the use question I do use the sitting area daily but the dining table only on holidays. Thank you all so much for the comments. Going to arrange what I have and look at furniture tomorrow. :)
  • niccidhg
    5 years ago
    Inspiration for smaller scale furniture and/ or for 4 chair only seating groupings -
  • Nelle Corcoran
    5 years ago