Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
heidi_oertle

help for my unhappy rhododendron

HKO HKO
4 years ago

Seattle yard. I inherited most of my landscaping from the elderly prior owner who didn’t maintain it super well. She lived here for 50 years so some of the plants are quite old. This smaller Rhody between the others doesn’t look happy. I’m new to this plant and could use some input....I’ve had one landscape designer advise me to cut it down and start over, but I hate to lose such a big plant, and it gives me some privacy from the public green belt behind it. I fertilized it with the special rhody fertilizer in the spring, and realized now after research I should be dead heading. So I’ll do that next spring. What else? Should I cut it back hard? Maybe in spring, or can I do it now since we don’t get hard winters? TIA for your thoughts.

Comments (11)

• lisanti07028
    4 years ago

I may be misinterpreting the picture, but it looks like it is getting a LOT more sun than the others. Is the soil by its base dry? Is it mulched? Did there used to be something blocking the sun behind it?

(IME., deadheading rhododendrons is not vital, often just done for appearance's sake).

• Embothrium
    4 years ago
    last modified: 4 years ago

One to the right is showing indications of not being watered enough to grow and look its best - what these like is cool, moist organic soils that drain well, Whether or not the plant being asked about has been getting enough water it probably does have a soil conditions based problem of some kind. These can include soil based pathogens such as phytophthora root rot and honey fungus (Armillaria) - I suggest looking both of these up in order to see what to check for.

https://pnwhandbooks.org/plantdisease

• HKO HKO
    Original Author
    4 years ago