Search results for "E ring mail" in Home Design Ideas

E.S. Johnson Builders faced a challenge to create an authentic Bucks County farmhouse on a narrow lot with a rear yard that has a steep fall-off. The design goal to create a home that looked as if it was added on to over the last 150 years was achieved by building the main structure with four wings, each wing having its own distinctive look appropriate to the time period.
This design created two courtyards, one rear and one front, and the rear second story terrace which overlooks a view of the pool on the lower level and outdoor living area. The sharp drop in the rear elevation gave an opportunity to cascade the outdoor living area. A large whirlpool cascades into the main pool; the main pool then drops again into another small pool complemented by a large arbor and exterior stone fireplace.
Despite its historic detailing, it is very functional for the modern family featuring a triple-entrance courtyard, a main entrance that leads to the foyer/gallery, and a study/home office that has a front porch entrance as well as an entrance that leads into a side hall.
Many of the interior walls are made of shiplap poplar, the beamed ceiling in the kitchen displays the exposed joists from the floor above, and open rafters in the recreation room are reminiscent of an old large gathering hall. All of the fireplaces are of authentic Pennsylvania fieldstone and the floors are reclaimed wide planks made of Appalachian Red Oak.
Eldorado Stone Profile Featured: Veneto Fieldledge with an Overgrout
Design Builder/Photographer: Eric Johnson, E.S. Johnson Builders
Website: www.esjohnson.com
Phone: (704)987-7950

Beach style subway tile bathroom photo in Grand Rapids with marble countertops

This Hollywood Regency / Art Deco powder bathroom has a great graphic appeal which draws you into the space. The stripe pattern below wainscot on wall was created by alternating textures of rough and polished strips of Limestone tiles.
Find the right local pro for your project

Stuart Wade, Envision Virtual Tours
The second-largest and most developed of Georgia's barrier islands, St. Simons is approximately twelve miles long and nearly three miles wide at its widest stretch (roughly the size of Manhattan Island in New York). The island is located in Glynn County on Georgia's coast and lies east of Brunswick (the seat of Glynn County), south of Little St. Simons Island and the Hampton River, and north of Jekyll Island. The resort community of Sea Island is separated from St. Simons on the east by the Black Banks River. Known for its oak tree canopies and historic landmarks, St. Simons is both a tourist destination and, according to the 2010 U.S. census, home to 12,743 residents.
Early History
The earliest
St. Simons Island Village
record of human habitation on the island dates to the Late Archaic Period, about 5,000 to 3,000 years ago. Remnants of shell rings left behind by Native Americans from this era survive on many of the barrier islands, including St. Simons. Centuries later, during the period known by historians as the chiefdom era, the Guale Indians established a chiefdom centered on St. Catherines Island and used St. Simons as their hunting and fishing grounds. By 1500 the Guale had established a permanent village of about 200 people on St. Simons, which they called Guadalquini.
Beginning in 1568, the Spanish attempted to create missions along the Georgia coast. Catholic missions were the primary means by which Georgia's indigenous Native American chiefdoms were assimilated into the Spanish colonial system along the northern frontier of greater Spanish Florida. In the 1600s St. Simons became home to two Spanish missions: San Buenaventura de Guadalquini, on the southern tip of the island, and Santo Domingo de Asao (or Asajo), on the northern tip. Located on the inland side of the island were the pagan refugee villages of San Simón, the island's namesake, and Ocotonico. In 1684 pirate raids left the missions and villages largely abandoned.
Colonial History
As
Fort Frederica
early as 1670, with Great Britain's establishment of the colony of Carolina and its expansion into Georgia territory, Spanish rule was threatened by the English. The Georgia coast was considered "debatable land" by England and Spain, even though Spain had fully retreated from St. Simons by 1702. Thirty-one years later General James Edward Oglethorpe founded the English settlement of Savannah. In 1736 he established Fort Frederica, named after the heir to the British throne, Frederick Louis, prince of Wales, on the west side of St. Simons Island to protect Savannah and the Carolinas from the Spanish threat.
Between 1736 and 1749 Fort Frederica was the hub of British military operations along the Georgia frontier. A town of the same name grew up around the fort and was of great importance to the new colony. By 1740 Frederica's population was 1,000. In 1736 the congregation of what would become Christ Church was organized within Fort Frederica as a mission of the Church of England. Charles Wesley led the first services. In 1742 Britain's decisive victory over Spain in the Battle of Bloody Marsh, during the War of Jenkins' Ear, ended the Spanish threat to the Georgia coast. When the British regimen disbanded in 1749, most of the townspeople relocated to the mainland. Fort Frederica went into decline and, except for a short time of prosperity during the 1760s and 1770s under the leadership of merchant James Spalding, never fully recovered. Today the historic citadel's tabby ruins are maintained by the National Park Service.
Plantation Era
By the start of the American Revolution (1775-83), Fort Frederica was obsolete, and St. Simons was left largely uninhabited as most of its residents joined the patriot army. Besides hosting a small Georgia naval victory on the Fort Frederica River, providing guns from its famous fort for use at Fort Morris in Sunbury, and serving as an arena for pillaging by privateers and British soldiers, the island played almost no role in the war.
Following the war, many of the townspeople, their businesses destroyed, turned to agriculture. The island was transformed into fourteen cotton plantations after acres of live oak trees were cleared for farm land and used for building American warships, including the famous USS Constitution, or "Old Ironsides." Although rice was the predominant crop along the neighboring Altamaha River, St. Simons was known for its production of long-staple cotton, which soon came to be known as Sea Island cotton.
Between
Ebos Landing
the 1780s and the outbreak of the Civil War (1861-65), St. Simons's plantation culture flourished. The saline atmosphere and the availability of cheap slave labor proved an ideal combination for the cultivation of Sea Island cotton. In 1803 a group of Ebo slaves who survived the Middle Passage and arrived on the west side of St. Simons staged a rebellion and drowned themselves. The sacred site is known today as Ebos Landing.
One of the largest owners of land and slaves on St. Simons was Pierce Butler, master of Hampton Point Plantation, located on the northern end of the island. By 1793 Butler owned more than 500 slaves, who cultivated 800 acres of cotton on St. Simons and 300 acres of rice on Butler's Island in the Altamaha River delta. Butler's grandson, Pierce Mease Butler, who at the age of sixteen inherited a share of his grandfather's estate in 1826, was responsible for the largest sale of human beings in the history of the United States: in 1859, to restore his squandered fortune, he sold 429 slaves in Savannah for more than $300,000. The British actress and writer Fanny Kemble, whose tumultuous marriage to Pierce ended in divorce in 1849, published an eyewitness account of the evils of slavery on St. Simons in her book Journal of a Residence on a Georgian Plantation in 1838-1839 (1863).
Another
Retreat Plantation
large owner of land and slaves on St. Simons was Major William Page, a friend and employee of Pierce Butler Sr. Before purchasing Retreat Plantation on the southwestern tip of the island in 1804, Page managed the Hampton plantation and Butler's Island. Upon Page's death in 1827, Thomas Butler King inherited the land together with his wife, Page's daughter, Anna Matilda Page King. King expanded his father-in-law's planting empire on St. Simons as well as on the mainland, and by 1835 Retreat Plantation alone was home to as many as 355 slaves.
The center of life during the island's plantation era was Christ Church, Frederica. Organized in 1807 by a group of island planters, the Episcopal church is the second oldest in the Diocese of Georgia. Embargoes imposed by the War of 1812 (1812-15) prevented the parishioners from building a church structure, so they worshiped in the home of John Beck, which stood on the site of Oglethorpe's only St. Simons residence, Orange Hall.
The first Christ Church building, finished on the present site in 1820, was ruined by occupying Union troops during the Civil War. In 1884 the Reverend Anson Dodge Jr. rebuilt the church as a memorial to his first wife, Ellen. The cruciform building with a trussed gothic roof and stained-glass windows remains active today as Christ Church.
Civil War and Beyond
The
St. Simons Island Lighthouse
outbreak of the Civil War in 1861 put a sudden end to St. Simons's lucrative plantation era. In January of that year, Confederate troops were stationed at the south end of the island to guard the entrance to Brunswick Harbor. Slaves from Retreat Plantation, owned by Thomas Butler King, built earthworks and batteries. Plantation residents were scattered—the men joined the Confederate army and their families moved to the mainland. Cannon fire was heard on the island in December 1861, and Confederate troops retreated in February 1862, after dynamiting the lighthouse to keep its beacon from aiding Union troops. Soon thereafter, Union troops occupied the island, which was used as a camp for freed slaves. By August 1862 more than 500 former slaves lived on St. Simons, including Susie King Taylor, who organized a school for freed slave children. But in November the ex-slaves were taken to Hilton Head, South Carolina, and Fernandina, Florida, leaving the island abandoned.
After the Civil War the island never returned to its status as an agricultural community. The plantations lay dormant because there were no slaves to work the fields. After Union general William T. Sherman's January 1865 Special Field Order No. 15 —a demand that former plantations be divided and distributed to former slaves—was overturned by U.S. president Andrew Johnson less than a year later, freedmen and women were forced to work as sharecroppers on the small farms that dotted the land previously occupied by the sprawling plantations.
By
St. Simons Lumber Mills
1870 real economic recovery began with the reestablishment of the timber industry. Norman Dodge and Titus G. Meigs of New York set up lumber mill operations at Gascoigne Bluff, formerly Hamilton Plantation. The lumber mills provided welcome employment for both blacks and whites and also provided mail and passenger boats to the mainland. Such water traffic, together with the construction of a new lighthouse in 1872, designed by architect Charles B. Cluskey, marked the beginning of St. Simons's tourism industry. The keeper of the lighthouse created a small amusement park, which drew many visitors, as did the seemingly miraculous light that traveled from the top of the lighthouse tower to the bottom. The island became a summer retreat for families from the mainland, particularly from Baxley, Brunswick, and Waycross.
The island's resort industry was thriving by the 1880s. Beachfront structures, such as a new pier and grand hotel, were built on the southeastern end of the island and could be accessed by ferry. Around this time wealthy northerners began vacationing on the island.
Twentieth Century
The
St. Simons Island Pier and Village
opening in 1924 of the Brunswick–St. Simons Highway, today known as the Torras Causeway, was a milestone in the development of resorts in the area. St. Simons's beaches were now easily accessible to locals and tourists alike. More than 5,000 automobiles took the short drive from Brunswick to St. Simons via the causeway on its opening day, paving the way for convenient residential and resort development.
In 1926 automotive pioneer Howard Coffin of Detroit, Michigan, bought large tracts of land on St. Simons, including the former Retreat Plantation, and constructed a golf course, yacht club, paved roads, and a residential subdivision. Although the causeway had brought large numbers of summer people to the island, St. Simons remained a small community with only a few hundred permanent residents until the 1940s.
The
St. Simons Island
outbreak of World War II (1941-45) brought more visitors and residents to St. Simons. Troops stationed at Jacksonville, Florida; Savannah; and nearby Camp Stewart took weekend vacations on the island, and a new naval air base and radar school became home to even more officers and soldiers. The increased wartime population brought the island its first public school. With a major shipyard for the production of Liberty ships in nearby Brunswick, the waters of St. Simons became active with German U-boats. In April 1942, just off the coast, the Texas Company oil tanker S. S. Oklahoma and the S. S. Esso Baton Rouge were torpedoed by the Germans, bringing the war very close to home for island residents.
Due in large part to the military's improvement of the island's infrastructure during the war, development on the island boomed in the 1950s and 1960s. More permanent homes and subdivisions were built, and the island was no longer just a summer resort but also a thriving community. In 1950 the Methodist conference and retreat center Epworth by the Sea opened on Gascoigne Bluff. In 1961 novelist Eugenia Price visited St. Simons and began work on her first works of fiction, known as the St. Simons Trilogy. Inspired by real events on the island, Price's trilogy renewed interest in the history of Georgia's coast, and the novelist herself relocated to the island in 1965 and lived there for thirty-one years. St. Simons is also home to contemporary Georgia writer Tina McElroy Ansa.
Since
Epworth by the Sea
1980 St. Simons's population has doubled. The island's continued status as a vacation destination and its ongoing development boom have put historic landmarks and natural areas at risk. While such landmarks as the Fort Frederica ruins and the Battle of Bloody Marsh site are preserved and maintained by the National Park Service, and while the historic lighthouse is maintained by the Coastal Georgia Historical Society, historic Ebos Landing has been taken over by a sewage treatment plant.
Several coastal organizations have formed in recent years to save natural areas on the island. The St. Simons Land Trust, for example, has received donations of large tracts of land and plans to protect property in the island's three traditional African American neighborhoods. Despite its rapid growth and development, St. Simons remains one of the most beautiful and important islands on the Georgia coast.

Vincent Longo Custom builders
Example of a large classic brown three-story brick exterior home design in Atlanta
Example of a large classic brown three-story brick exterior home design in Atlanta

Photography by Tim Schultz
Bathroom - traditional white tile and subway tile bathroom idea in Seattle with an undermount sink, shaker cabinets, a two-piece toilet and yellow cabinets
Bathroom - traditional white tile and subway tile bathroom idea in Seattle with an undermount sink, shaker cabinets, a two-piece toilet and yellow cabinets

Harvey Smith Photography
Inspiration for a contemporary open concept medium tone wood floor living room remodel in Orlando with a ribbon fireplace and a wall-mounted tv
Inspiration for a contemporary open concept medium tone wood floor living room remodel in Orlando with a ribbon fireplace and a wall-mounted tv

Kids' bedroom - coastal carpeted kids' bedroom idea in Boston with gray walls

Our West Slope bath hardware and West Slope Faucet feel dramatically different in silver tones, paired with the Graydon Double Wall Sconce.
Example of an urban bathroom design in Portland
Example of an urban bathroom design in Portland

Interior Design by 24e Design Co.
www.24estyle.com
Photo by: Andrew Sherman
www.AndrewSherman.co
Trendy dark wood floor dining room photo in Atlanta with beige walls
Trendy dark wood floor dining room photo in Atlanta with beige walls

Kate Falconer Photography
Inspiration for a large timeless l-shaped porcelain tile and beige floor eat-in kitchen remodel in San Francisco with an undermount sink, recessed-panel cabinets, medium tone wood cabinets, quartz countertops, beige backsplash, stone tile backsplash, stainless steel appliances, an island and beige countertops
Inspiration for a large timeless l-shaped porcelain tile and beige floor eat-in kitchen remodel in San Francisco with an undermount sink, recessed-panel cabinets, medium tone wood cabinets, quartz countertops, beige backsplash, stone tile backsplash, stainless steel appliances, an island and beige countertops

Inspiration for a timeless medium tone wood floor bedroom remodel in Miami with beige walls and no fireplace

The new Mt. Vernon Insert with Efficient Energy (E2) technology is the most powerful and efficient insert ever designed by Quadra-Fire. E2 technology helps achieve 87% efficiency—saving money by burning less fuel. Plus E2 technology automatically adjusts the blower to maintain desired room temperatures. A 47 lb hopper and easy-clean cast iron firepot reduce maintenance efforts. And the Mt. Vernon E2 is the only product available with cast iron construction on all major components—proving it’s built to last.

Wolf 30" E Series Professional Built-In Double Oven Stainless Steel | DO30PE
Available at Universal Appliance and Kitchen Center | uakc.com
New stainless steel touch-control panel:
A favorite of chefs, the easy-to-master control panel now has a sleeker, cleaner look, with the same precise control of temperature, timer and mode settings — all visible via crisp LCD display.
Coordinated design styles:
Built to beautifully complement other Wolf products such as microwaves and warming drawers, ovens are available in three coordinating trim styles for easy customization.
Dual convection:
Two dedicated heating elements distribute heat evenly throughout the oven, for faster and better-tasting results — especially when using multiple racks at once.
10 one-touch cooking modes:
Each mode uses a distinct combination of heat source and airflow, providing the right cooking environment for every dish and ensuring delicious results.
Cobalt blue porcelain interiors:
Wolf's signature aesthetics enhance the ovens' interior, creating a bold cooking backdrop.
Temperature probe:
The temperature probe alerts you when your dish has reached the desired temperature, eliminating guesswork when preparing roasts and other meats.
Smooth door opening and closing:
Say goodbye to the sound of oven-door slams. Doors on built-in E series ovens open and close quietly and effortlessly, thanks to a balanced door hinge system.
Home automation compatible:
Select built-in E series oven features can be controlled via an existing home automation system for enhanced convenience.
Convenient features:
Ease-of-use is enhanced with self-clean, delayed start, timed cook and Sabbath mode settings.
Lower oven features:
The lower oven is a standard, non-convection oven offering four cooking modes (bake, broil, roast and proof).
Adjustable oven racks:
Each built-in E series oven comes standard with three adjustable racks: one standard rack, one full-extension easy-glide rack and one full-extension door-glide rack — placing heavier dishes safely within reach.
Obstacle-free cooking environment:
A hidden bake element allows for obstacle-free cleaning of the oven's floor, and a recessed broil element provides more room for large dishes.
Design flexibility:
Built-in E series ovens can be installed flush with surrounding cabinetry to complement an overall integrated kitchen design.
Enhanced interior views:
Large, double-pane glass door windows and bright, dual halogen lights give you a clear view of your dish without having to open the door and disturb the cooking environment.
Technical Features:
Dimensions: 29 7/8"W x 50 3/8"H x 23 3/4"D
Star-K Kosher certified as Sabbath and holiday-compliant

Andersen E-Series Awning and Picture windows.
Example of a trendy living room design in Minneapolis
Example of a trendy living room design in Minneapolis

Alain Jaramillo and Peter Twohy
Example of a large classic master white tile and marble tile porcelain tile and gray floor corner shower design in Baltimore with an undermount sink, flat-panel cabinets, medium tone wood cabinets, an undermount tub, green walls, gray countertops, a two-piece toilet, laminate countertops and a hinged shower door
Example of a large classic master white tile and marble tile porcelain tile and gray floor corner shower design in Baltimore with an undermount sink, flat-panel cabinets, medium tone wood cabinets, an undermount tub, green walls, gray countertops, a two-piece toilet, laminate countertops and a hinged shower door

Example of a classic master drop-in bathtub design in Boston with dark wood cabinets, blue walls, an undermount sink and beaded inset cabinets
5



