Search results for "Employed" in Home Design Ideas

3-4 beds | 2.5-3.5 baths | approx. 1,440-1,815 square feet
*Arques Place sold out in January 2017*
Located in Sunnyvale’s East Arques and N. Fair Oaks, Arques Place offers:
• 85 Townhomes
• Community Club House
• Front yard space (per location)
• Large private outdoor decks
• 2 car side by side attached garage
• Downstairs bedrooms per plan
• Proximity to work centers and major employers
• Close to restaurants, shopping, outdoor amenities and parks
• Nearby Sunnyvale Caltrain station
• Close proximity to parks include Fair Oaks Park, Martin Murphy Junior Park and Columbia Park.
• Schools include San Miguel ES, Columbia MS, Fremont HS

A mid-twentieth-century family home on a busy city-wide connector with excellent public transport, and access to employment, services, and shopping. TEAL recognized an opportunity to transform the house into two contemporary dwellings by:
• adding new structures: new stairs and separate entries from the street as well as a service room at the back
• opening the interiors into spacious light-filled open plan living places
• re-presenting the exterior of the building with new hemlock cladding integrated over the existing shingles
• installing efficient new environmental control systems
• reusing many of the materials, including the building envelope and chimney as part of a feature wall

This is the second of three separate home remodels San Luis Kitchen provided for this client. We went for a refined elegant style using Wood-Mode cabinetry in an inset doorstyle with a vintage white finish. The kitchen features a built-in refrigerator, a wide roll-out shelf pantry, wood hood, wine refrigerator with carved trim details, refrigerated drawers, rope moulding, and large stacked crown. Also note the island with abundant display storage and turned post details. A monochromatic decorating scheme was employed throughout. You can see a display with similar styling at San Luis Kitchen's showroom.
Find the right local pro for your project

Due to the river view from the kitchen's bay window, designers move the stove's metal ventilation hood -- originally located over an island in the center of the kitchen -- and place a stainless hood on the kitchen's back wall. They add a second station -- a serving island -- in a medium-toned mahogany. They contrast the mahogany with dark, ebony-stained cabinetry on the island nearest the stove. Delicatus granite is used for the countertops, except the serving island, which employs black absolute. This pulls the deep ebony colors into the room's central area. Pineapple House accessorizes the serving islands’ exposed shelves with things like coffee table books instead of kitchen-related items since it faces the family room. The designers increase storage with a four-door pantry with a break-front design and embed a television on its exterior. A floor-to-ceiling wine chiller and storage/display is created in the corner.
A Bonisolli Photography

Perfectly settled in the shade of three majestic oak trees, this timeless homestead evokes a deep sense of belonging to the land. The Wilson Architects farmhouse design riffs on the agrarian history of the region while employing contemporary green technologies and methods. Honoring centuries-old artisan traditions and the rich local talent carrying those traditions today, the home is adorned with intricate handmade details including custom site-harvested millwork, forged iron hardware, and inventive stone masonry. Welcome family and guests comfortably in the detached garage apartment. Enjoy long range views of these ancient mountains with ample space, inside and out.

This tiny home is located on a treelined street in the Kitsilano neighborhood of Vancouver. We helped our client create a living and dining space with a beach vibe in this small front room that comfortably accommodates their growing family of four. The starting point for the decor was the client's treasured antique chaise (positioned under the large window) and the scheme grew from there. We employed a few important space saving techniques in this room... One is building seating into a corner that doubles as storage, the other is tucking a footstool, which can double as an extra seat, under the custom wood coffee table. The TV is carefully concealed in the custom millwork above the fireplace. Finally, we personalized this space by designing a family gallery wall that combines family photos and shadow boxes of treasured keepsakes. Interior Decorating by Lori Steeves of Simply Home Decorating. Photos by Tracey Ayton Photography

Living room - large transitional open concept light wood floor living room idea in Salt Lake City with white walls and a media wall

The goal of this master suite remodel was to design a luxurious yet simple environment that was not only beautiful but also comfortable, and designer Lori Wiles brought the transformation to life.
The remodel was a transformation of the unused storage area in the bottom level of the clients’ home. Wiles' creative problem solving did more than just hide basement remodel problems like low ductwork and poorly located pipes. Instead, these obstacles served as a source of inspiration for some of the most interesting aspects of her design, such as the angular wood-paneled headboard wall with built-in nightstands.
Following a stone, fire, water, and wood theme, the materials used in this master suite strongly relate to nature. Water flows to the tub from the stone accent wall in the bathroom, and an opposing stone wall in the bedroom creates a dramatic backdrop for a seating area. Both walls contain candle-filled niches and Cherry wood is employed throughout, creating warmth and continuity.
To further achieve the natural look and feel of the bathroom, Wiles incorporated a variety of stones. The shower and immediate area around the freestanding tub feature pebble accent flooring that complement the surrounding large, rectangular tile floors. Eldorado Stone’s Black River Stacked Stone was chosen because it offered different textures and dimensions of the black, rugged, stacked stone, resulting in an organic environment that provides relief from the flat surfaces.
By using quality materials such as Eldorado Stone, designer Lori Wiles was able to create a zen-like space that exceeded her client’s expectations.
Eldorado Stone Profile Featured: Black River Stacked Stone installed with a Dry-Stack grout technique
Designer: Lori Wiles Design
Website: www.loriwilesdesign.com
Phone: (319) 310-6214
Contact Lori Wiles Design
Houzz: www.houzz.com/pro/loriwiles/lori-wiles-design
Facebook: www.facebook.com/pages/Lori-Wiles-Design
Pinterest: www.pinterest.com/loriwilesdesign/
Photography: Lori Wiles Design
Mason: Iowa Stone Supply
Website: www.iowastonesupply.com
Phone: (319) 533-4299
Contact Iowa Stone Supply
Eastern Iowa Showroom (Monday-Friday 7:30-4:00 or by appointment)
1530 Stamy Road
Hiawatha, IA 52233
Central Iowa Showroom (by appointment)
2913 99th Street
Urbandale, IA 50322
Facebook: www.facebook.com/pages/Iowa-Stone-Supply

Working with a long time resident, creating a unified look out of the varied styles found in the space while increasing the size of the home was the goal of this project.
Both of the home’s bathrooms were renovated to further the contemporary style of the space, adding elements of color as well as modern bathroom fixtures. Further additions to the master bathroom include a frameless glass door enclosure, green wall tiles, and a stone bar countertop with wall-mounted faucets.
The guest bathroom uses a more minimalistic design style, employing a white color scheme, free standing sink and a modern enclosed glass shower.
The kitchen maintains a traditional style with custom white kitchen cabinets, a Carrera marble countertop, banquet seats and a table with blue accent walls that add a splash of color to the space.

This typical tract home bathroom was converted into a soothing home spa, inspired by the beauty of the outdoors. The metaphor of Nature (waterfall, pebbles, natural wood tone) was employed throughout to create the feel of being outside. The undermount lighting in the shower and beneath the vanity cabinet further enhance the spa-like ambience at night.
Designer: Fumiko Faiman, Photographer: Jeri Koegel

The client provided a unique collection of framed images of Napoleon Bonaparte which were collected over several decades. The images are hung on a custom gallery rail system designed. Holes were drilled through the stems of Visual Comfort picture lights to allow the gallery rods to pass through the lights. This allowed centering of the picture lights to each rod. The bookcase lights are from the same series but they were modified to accept a one inch diameter custom rosette. The cabinet hardware, as with all of the metal finishes in the room, is polished nickel and includes Baldwin flush ring pulls, Von Morris mortise butt hinges and Brusso ball catches.
The beveled mirror and frame above the hearth is actually a Seura television mirror with Premier Glass. The television is completely undetectable when it is off and, when it is on, the picture is clear and bright. Undetectable behind the mirror is a Russound IR receiver that transfers IR signals to a cable box, DVD player, and Apple TV receiver located in the lower cabinets. The source components are connected to the television with HDMI cables. Bose wall-mounted speakers, positioned in the lower alcoves of the bookcase, are supplemented with a Sonos subwoofer placed under the sofa.
Surrounding the mantle and mirror is a three inch wide frame, identical to the frame around the gallery wall, that allows the Chesney's Edinburgh Carrara marble mantle and the steel Andover register grate to be set back from the bookcases. The mantle rests securely on a hearth stone of honed black granite which was recessed into the concrete floor. Suspended within the grate is an EcoSmart Bioethonal burner specifically designed for historic register grates. Volcanic stone was placed between the burner and the grate to conceal the front of the burner.
The bookcases, cabinets and wall paneling are fabricated from a combination of solid mahogany and mahogany plywood. Crown and base molding were eliminated from the design to minimize the impact of the library in an otherwise contemporary house. The fascia above the bookcases and mantle, as well as the fascia above the gallery wall, are single pieces of solid mahogany carefully shaved to follow the irregular contours of the drywall ceiling and eliminate the need for caulk or fillers. The same method was employed at the bottom rail of the face frame to allow it to follow the slight undulations of the concrete floor. Eloy Estrada built the wood components and installed them along with all of the other components in the room.
The two adjustable height Galerie des Lamps floor lamps on either side of the mantle are from the Grasshopper series. The Visual Comfort Dorchester Pharmacy floor lamps, on either side of the sofa, plug into a recessed Lew electrical floor box that was recessd into the floor under the sofa. The room originally had a chandelier and recessed lights all of which were all removed. The Lutron light switches, in matte Midnight, allow for independent dimming of the bookcase and picture lights. Within three of the bookcase alcoves are Littlight gooseneck lamps used to highlight various artifacts. The outlets for these lamps, and their transformers, are concealed under a removable wood panel at the back of the alcove. The cords for the display lamps cleanly pass through a Mockett grommet.
The layout of the room and gallery rail system were designed by Leland Stone.

Sol-Blanket Insulation (radiant barrier) installed over traditional insulation in the Attic.
Inspiration for a huge exterior home remodel in Seattle
Inspiration for a huge exterior home remodel in Seattle

The Versailles Mirror has a 1 ½” beveled clear glass mirror and gold beaded filet has a very ornately carved exquisite gold frame and is able to hang horizontally or vertically.
Additional Information: The process of painting on wood enables me to recreate the countenance of an ancient fresco. Using the wood’s grain as my canvas, I employ multiple hand layered painting techniques to build the background, and, once completed, I then sketch my design directly onto the surface. Then comes the painstaking application of paints to create colors and textures intrinsic to the piece.
The addition of layer upon layer of glazes and varnishes consummates the artwork’s depth and translucency, similar to that of stained glass…and a good sprinkling of Swarovski crystals allow it light up any room. In the end, I look for total unity in design, accenting each work of art with the perfect frame and accenting each piece with pure gold or silver leaf. - Michelle Woolley Sauter, One Coast Design

This 1920's office building, converted into an innovative workspace, aims to architecturally embody the core ideals of the Kapor Center. Blank and Cables was contracted to fabricate and install the components that create and accentuate each of the two semi-circular staircases which appear at the main entry, greeting employee and guest, and the second, more central and larger stair, located within the creative nexus of the Kapor Center. Each staircase employs hand laid and hand sanded redwood veneer panels, with the upper staircase also using Italian plastic laminate. The curved and helixed top cap of each staircase is made up of hundreds of hand bent solid clear redwood pieces, sanded and blended for a smooth and pleasing feel and appearance; a winding stainless steel handrail accents each stair. Lastly, custom milled solid wood rift white oak treads add a welcomed contrast to the redwood panels.
Blank and Cables

We are a Texas interior design studio crafting custom-tailored spaces that are uniquely you. We’re a small but mighty team fully dedicated to your needs.
Our services include both residential and commercial designs. Our clients are at the core of the design process. From the initial ideas to the carefully selected materials and concepts, we create detailed drawings used to employ the makers and the contractors. Using light, texture and form, a space is carefully considered, creating a natural and organic style that is distinctive to each project we design. We pride ourselves on strong relationships, high quality, time sensitivity and the final impact on our clients living environment and day to day lives. We love what we do!

Hidden behind the kitchen is a little breakfast nook where the family plays games and enjoys the morning sunlight through the corner windows.
Designed while employed at RTA Studio; Photography by Jamee Parish Architects, LLC.

Stuart Wade, Envision Virtual Tours
The second-largest and most developed of Georgia's barrier islands, St. Simons is approximately twelve miles long and nearly three miles wide at its widest stretch (roughly the size of Manhattan Island in New York). The island is located in Glynn County on Georgia's coast and lies east of Brunswick (the seat of Glynn County), south of Little St. Simons Island and the Hampton River, and north of Jekyll Island. The resort community of Sea Island is separated from St. Simons on the east by the Black Banks River. Known for its oak tree canopies and historic landmarks, St. Simons is both a tourist destination and, according to the 2010 U.S. census, home to 12,743 residents.
Early History
The earliest
St. Simons Island Village
record of human habitation on the island dates to the Late Archaic Period, about 5,000 to 3,000 years ago. Remnants of shell rings left behind by Native Americans from this era survive on many of the barrier islands, including St. Simons. Centuries later, during the period known by historians as the chiefdom era, the Guale Indians established a chiefdom centered on St. Catherines Island and used St. Simons as their hunting and fishing grounds. By 1500 the Guale had established a permanent village of about 200 people on St. Simons, which they called Guadalquini.
Beginning in 1568, the Spanish attempted to create missions along the Georgia coast. Catholic missions were the primary means by which Georgia's indigenous Native American chiefdoms were assimilated into the Spanish colonial system along the northern frontier of greater Spanish Florida. In the 1600s St. Simons became home to two Spanish missions: San Buenaventura de Guadalquini, on the southern tip of the island, and Santo Domingo de Asao (or Asajo), on the northern tip. Located on the inland side of the island were the pagan refugee villages of San Simón, the island's namesake, and Ocotonico. In 1684 pirate raids left the missions and villages largely abandoned.
Colonial History
As
Fort Frederica
early as 1670, with Great Britain's establishment of the colony of Carolina and its expansion into Georgia territory, Spanish rule was threatened by the English. The Georgia coast was considered "debatable land" by England and Spain, even though Spain had fully retreated from St. Simons by 1702. Thirty-one years later General James Edward Oglethorpe founded the English settlement of Savannah. In 1736 he established Fort Frederica, named after the heir to the British throne, Frederick Louis, prince of Wales, on the west side of St. Simons Island to protect Savannah and the Carolinas from the Spanish threat.
Between 1736 and 1749 Fort Frederica was the hub of British military operations along the Georgia frontier. A town of the same name grew up around the fort and was of great importance to the new colony. By 1740 Frederica's population was 1,000. In 1736 the congregation of what would become Christ Church was organized within Fort Frederica as a mission of the Church of England. Charles Wesley led the first services. In 1742 Britain's decisive victory over Spain in the Battle of Bloody Marsh, during the War of Jenkins' Ear, ended the Spanish threat to the Georgia coast. When the British regimen disbanded in 1749, most of the townspeople relocated to the mainland. Fort Frederica went into decline and, except for a short time of prosperity during the 1760s and 1770s under the leadership of merchant James Spalding, never fully recovered. Today the historic citadel's tabby ruins are maintained by the National Park Service.
Plantation Era
By the start of the American Revolution (1775-83), Fort Frederica was obsolete, and St. Simons was left largely uninhabited as most of its residents joined the patriot army. Besides hosting a small Georgia naval victory on the Fort Frederica River, providing guns from its famous fort for use at Fort Morris in Sunbury, and serving as an arena for pillaging by privateers and British soldiers, the island played almost no role in the war.
Following the war, many of the townspeople, their businesses destroyed, turned to agriculture. The island was transformed into fourteen cotton plantations after acres of live oak trees were cleared for farm land and used for building American warships, including the famous USS Constitution, or "Old Ironsides." Although rice was the predominant crop along the neighboring Altamaha River, St. Simons was known for its production of long-staple cotton, which soon came to be known as Sea Island cotton.
Between
Ebos Landing
the 1780s and the outbreak of the Civil War (1861-65), St. Simons's plantation culture flourished. The saline atmosphere and the availability of cheap slave labor proved an ideal combination for the cultivation of Sea Island cotton. In 1803 a group of Ebo slaves who survived the Middle Passage and arrived on the west side of St. Simons staged a rebellion and drowned themselves. The sacred site is known today as Ebos Landing.
One of the largest owners of land and slaves on St. Simons was Pierce Butler, master of Hampton Point Plantation, located on the northern end of the island. By 1793 Butler owned more than 500 slaves, who cultivated 800 acres of cotton on St. Simons and 300 acres of rice on Butler's Island in the Altamaha River delta. Butler's grandson, Pierce Mease Butler, who at the age of sixteen inherited a share of his grandfather's estate in 1826, was responsible for the largest sale of human beings in the history of the United States: in 1859, to restore his squandered fortune, he sold 429 slaves in Savannah for more than $300,000. The British actress and writer Fanny Kemble, whose tumultuous marriage to Pierce ended in divorce in 1849, published an eyewitness account of the evils of slavery on St. Simons in her book Journal of a Residence on a Georgian Plantation in 1838-1839 (1863).
Another
Retreat Plantation
large owner of land and slaves on St. Simons was Major William Page, a friend and employee of Pierce Butler Sr. Before purchasing Retreat Plantation on the southwestern tip of the island in 1804, Page managed the Hampton plantation and Butler's Island. Upon Page's death in 1827, Thomas Butler King inherited the land together with his wife, Page's daughter, Anna Matilda Page King. King expanded his father-in-law's planting empire on St. Simons as well as on the mainland, and by 1835 Retreat Plantation alone was home to as many as 355 slaves.
The center of life during the island's plantation era was Christ Church, Frederica. Organized in 1807 by a group of island planters, the Episcopal church is the second oldest in the Diocese of Georgia. Embargoes imposed by the War of 1812 (1812-15) prevented the parishioners from building a church structure, so they worshiped in the home of John Beck, which stood on the site of Oglethorpe's only St. Simons residence, Orange Hall.
The first Christ Church building, finished on the present site in 1820, was ruined by occupying Union troops during the Civil War. In 1884 the Reverend Anson Dodge Jr. rebuilt the church as a memorial to his first wife, Ellen. The cruciform building with a trussed gothic roof and stained-glass windows remains active today as Christ Church.
Civil War and Beyond
The
St. Simons Island Lighthouse
outbreak of the Civil War in 1861 put a sudden end to St. Simons's lucrative plantation era. In January of that year, Confederate troops were stationed at the south end of the island to guard the entrance to Brunswick Harbor. Slaves from Retreat Plantation, owned by Thomas Butler King, built earthworks and batteries. Plantation residents were scattered—the men joined the Confederate army and their families moved to the mainland. Cannon fire was heard on the island in December 1861, and Confederate troops retreated in February 1862, after dynamiting the lighthouse to keep its beacon from aiding Union troops. Soon thereafter, Union troops occupied the island, which was used as a camp for freed slaves. By August 1862 more than 500 former slaves lived on St. Simons, including Susie King Taylor, who organized a school for freed slave children. But in November the ex-slaves were taken to Hilton Head, South Carolina, and Fernandina, Florida, leaving the island abandoned.
After the Civil War the island never returned to its status as an agricultural community. The plantations lay dormant because there were no slaves to work the fields. After Union general William T. Sherman's January 1865 Special Field Order No. 15 —a demand that former plantations be divided and distributed to former slaves—was overturned by U.S. president Andrew Johnson less than a year later, freedmen and women were forced to work as sharecroppers on the small farms that dotted the land previously occupied by the sprawling plantations.
By
St. Simons Lumber Mills
1870 real economic recovery began with the reestablishment of the timber industry. Norman Dodge and Titus G. Meigs of New York set up lumber mill operations at Gascoigne Bluff, formerly Hamilton Plantation. The lumber mills provided welcome employment for both blacks and whites and also provided mail and passenger boats to the mainland. Such water traffic, together with the construction of a new lighthouse in 1872, designed by architect Charles B. Cluskey, marked the beginning of St. Simons's tourism industry. The keeper of the lighthouse created a small amusement park, which drew many visitors, as did the seemingly miraculous light that traveled from the top of the lighthouse tower to the bottom. The island became a summer retreat for families from the mainland, particularly from Baxley, Brunswick, and Waycross.
The island's resort industry was thriving by the 1880s. Beachfront structures, such as a new pier and grand hotel, were built on the southeastern end of the island and could be accessed by ferry. Around this time wealthy northerners began vacationing on the island.
Twentieth Century
The
St. Simons Island Pier and Village
opening in 1924 of the Brunswick–St. Simons Highway, today known as the Torras Causeway, was a milestone in the development of resorts in the area. St. Simons's beaches were now easily accessible to locals and tourists alike. More than 5,000 automobiles took the short drive from Brunswick to St. Simons via the causeway on its opening day, paving the way for convenient residential and resort development.
In 1926 automotive pioneer Howard Coffin of Detroit, Michigan, bought large tracts of land on St. Simons, including the former Retreat Plantation, and constructed a golf course, yacht club, paved roads, and a residential subdivision. Although the causeway had brought large numbers of summer people to the island, St. Simons remained a small community with only a few hundred permanent residents until the 1940s.
The
St. Simons Island
outbreak of World War II (1941-45) brought more visitors and residents to St. Simons. Troops stationed at Jacksonville, Florida; Savannah; and nearby Camp Stewart took weekend vacations on the island, and a new naval air base and radar school became home to even more officers and soldiers. The increased wartime population brought the island its first public school. With a major shipyard for the production of Liberty ships in nearby Brunswick, the waters of St. Simons became active with German U-boats. In April 1942, just off the coast, the Texas Company oil tanker S. S. Oklahoma and the S. S. Esso Baton Rouge were torpedoed by the Germans, bringing the war very close to home for island residents.
Due in large part to the military's improvement of the island's infrastructure during the war, development on the island boomed in the 1950s and 1960s. More permanent homes and subdivisions were built, and the island was no longer just a summer resort but also a thriving community. In 1950 the Methodist conference and retreat center Epworth by the Sea opened on Gascoigne Bluff. In 1961 novelist Eugenia Price visited St. Simons and began work on her first works of fiction, known as the St. Simons Trilogy. Inspired by real events on the island, Price's trilogy renewed interest in the history of Georgia's coast, and the novelist herself relocated to the island in 1965 and lived there for thirty-one years. St. Simons is also home to contemporary Georgia writer Tina McElroy Ansa.
Since
Epworth by the Sea
1980 St. Simons's population has doubled. The island's continued status as a vacation destination and its ongoing development boom have put historic landmarks and natural areas at risk. While such landmarks as the Fort Frederica ruins and the Battle of Bloody Marsh site are preserved and maintained by the National Park Service, and while the historic lighthouse is maintained by the Coastal Georgia Historical Society, historic Ebos Landing has been taken over by a sewage treatment plant.
Several coastal organizations have formed in recent years to save natural areas on the island. The St. Simons Land Trust, for example, has received donations of large tracts of land and plans to protect property in the island's three traditional African American neighborhoods. Despite its rapid growth and development, St. Simons remains one of the most beautiful and important islands on the Georgia coast.

A captivating transformation in the coveted neighborhood of University Park, Dallas
The heart of this home lies in the kitchen, where we embarked on a design endeavor that would leave anyone speechless. By opening up the main kitchen wall, we created a magnificent window system that floods the space with natural light and offers a breathtaking view of the picturesque surroundings. Suspended from the ceiling, a steel-framed marble vent hood floats a few inches from the window, showcasing a mesmerizing Lilac Marble. The same marble is skillfully applied to the backsplash and island, featuring a bold combination of color and pattern that exudes elegance.
Adding to the kitchen's allure is the Italian range, which not only serves as a showstopper but offers robust culinary features for even the savviest of cooks. However, the true masterpiece of the kitchen lies in the honed reeded marble-faced island. Each marble strip was meticulously cut and crafted by artisans to achieve a half-rounded profile, resulting in an island that is nothing short of breathtaking. This intricate process took several months, but the end result speaks for itself.
To complement the grandeur of the kitchen, we designed a combination of stain-grade and paint-grade cabinets in a thin raised panel door style. This choice adds an elegant yet simple look to the overall design. Inside each cabinet and drawer, custom interiors were meticulously designed to provide maximum functionality and organization for the day-to-day cooking activities. A vintage Turkish runner dating back to the 1960s, evokes a sense of history and character.
The breakfast nook boasts a stunning, vivid, and colorful artwork created by one of Dallas' top artist, Kyle Steed, who is revered for his mastery of his craft. Some of our favorite art pieces from the inspiring Haylee Yale grace the coffee station and media console, adding the perfect moment to pause and loose yourself in the story of her art.
The project extends beyond the kitchen into the living room, where the family's changing needs and growing children demanded a new design approach. Accommodating their new lifestyle, we incorporated a large sectional for family bonding moments while watching TV. The living room now boasts bolder colors, striking artwork a coffered accent wall, and cayenne velvet curtains that create an inviting atmosphere. Completing the room is a custom 22' x 15' rug, adding warmth and comfort to the space. A hidden coat closet door integrated into the feature wall adds an element of surprise and functionality.
This project is not just about aesthetics; it's about pushing the boundaries of design and showcasing the possibilities. By curating an out-of-the-box approach, we bring texture and depth to the space, employing different materials and original applications. The layered design achieved through repeated use of the same material in various forms, shapes, and locations demonstrates that unexpected elements can create breathtaking results.
The reason behind this redesign and remodel was the homeowners' desire to have a kitchen that not only provided functionality but also served as a beautiful backdrop to their cherished family moments. The previous kitchen lacked the "wow" factor they desired, prompting them to seek our expertise in creating a space that would be a source of joy and inspiration.
Inspired by well-curated European vignettes, sculptural elements, clean lines, and a natural color scheme with pops of color, this design reflects an elegant organic modern style. Mixing metals, contrasting textures, and utilizing clean lines were key elements in achieving the desired aesthetic. The living room introduces bolder moments and a carefully chosen color scheme that adds character and personality.
The client's must-haves were clear: they wanted a show stopping centerpiece for their home, enhanced natural light in the kitchen, and a design that reflected their family's dynamic. With the transformation of the range wall into a wall of windows, we fulfilled their desire for abundant natural light and breathtaking views of the surrounding landscape.
Our favorite rooms and design elements are numerous, but the kitchen remains a standout feature. The painstaking process of hand-cutting and crafting each reeded panel in the island to match the marble's veining resulted in a labor of love that emanates warmth and hospitality to all who enter.
In conclusion, this tastefully lux project in University Park, Dallas is an extraordinary example of a full gut remodel that has surpassed all expectations. The meticulous attention to detail, the masterful use of materials, and the seamless blend of functionality and aesthetics create an unforgettable space. It serves as a testament to the power of design and the transformative impact it can have on a home and its inhabitants.
Project by Texas' Urbanology Designs. Their North Richland Hills-based interior design studio serves Dallas, Highland Park, University Park, Fort Worth, and upscale clients nationwide.

Completed in 2011 this 4 BR, 3 1/2 bath custom home is situated on a very tight urban infill lot in Northern, Virginia. Our clients were relocating to the D.C. area from New England and wanted to retain some of the New England vernacular they were familiar with in their new home. Due to heavy zoning restrictions, stylistic CCR's and a large program of almost 7000 sf, our design response is a modern take on a traditional hipped 4-square.
We intentionally kept the skin and form of the building simple in order to contain cost and allow for a higher level of interior finish. The main level employs our favorite Great Room scheme that merges cooking, eating and entertaining into one seamless space that flows onto an expansive deck overlooking the rear yard. The entry elevation welcomes guests with a traditional front porch and stone path that passes by a small rain garden. The basement accommodates a guest room, media room, exercise area, and full shop while the upper level orients 2 kid's bedrooms, a Jack-n-Jill bath and the master suite toward a territorial view of the rear yard. All of this program is housed beneath a hipped roof that minimizes the scale of the house while presenting a thoughtful appearance toward the street and neighbors.
40
