Search results for "Journalism" in Home Design Ideas

Outdoor Lighting Designer Michael Gotowala
Outdoor LED Lighting Designer Michael Gotowala Preferred Properties Connecticut.Outdoor Lighting Designer Michael Gotowala Preferred Properties Connecticut.
Outdoor Lighting Designer Michael Gotowala Preferred Properties Connecticut.
AOLP- Association of OUTDOOR LIGHTING PROFESSIONALS.
www.OutdoorLightingCt.com
Outdoor Lighting Designer and two time Landscape AOLP Lighting award recipient Michael Gotowala Preferred Properties Connecticut shows us here how living beyond the walls of your home outdoors at night can be NIGHT TIME FABULOUS.
GO TO WWW.OUTDOORLIGHTINGCT.COM TO FIND OUT MORE.
"LET ME show you JUST HOW GOOD YOUR HOUSE LOOKS AT NIGHT"
Steve P. offered the following endorsement about Gotowala's Outdoor Lighting talents.
Michael is clearly one of the best landscape lighting designers in the country. In my role as a photographer of outdoor lighting, I've visited and photographed many of Michael's projects - not only were the lighting designs creative and effective, they were also installed perfectly with a great attention to detail.
My photos of Michael's projects have been published in numerous trade journals and design magazines. Editors are thrilled with these outstanding examples of landscape lighting. Michael has embraced both the art and science of lighting design and applies it to create compelling nighttime environments for his very lucky clients. I wholeheartedly recommend Michael for any kind of outdoor lighting product. You willed be thrilled with the results.AOLP- Association of OUTDOOR LIGHTING PROFESSIONALS.
www.OutdoorLightingCt.com
Outdoor Lighting Designer and two time Landscape AOLP Lighting award recipient Michael Gotowala Preferred Properties Connecticut shows us here how living beyond the walls of your home outdoors at night can be NIGHT TIME FABULOUS.
GO TO WWW.OUTDOORLIGHTINGCT.COM TO FIND OUT MORE.
"LET ME show you JUST HOW GOOD YOUR HOUSE LOOKS AT NIGHT"
Steve P. offered the following endorsement about Gotowala's Outdoor Lighting talents.
Michael is clearly one of the best landscape lighting designers in the country. In my role as a photographer of outdoor lighting, I've visited and photographed many of Michael's projects - not only were the lighting designs creative and effective, they were also installed perfectly with a great attention to detail.
My photos of Michael's projects have been published in numerous trade journals and design magazines. Editors are thrilled with these outstanding examples of landscape lighting. Michael has embraced both the art and science of lighting design and applies it to create compelling nighttime environments for his very lucky clients. I wholeheartedly recommend Michael for any kind of outdoor lighting product. You willed be thrilled with the results. Preferred Properties Connecticut

Outdoor Lighting Designer Michael Gotowala Preferred Properties ConnecticutOutdoor LED Lighting Designer Michael Gotowala Preferred Properties Connecticut.Outdoor Lighting Designer Michael Gotowala Preferred Properties Connecticut.
Outdoor Lighting Designer Michael Gotowala Preferred Properties Connecticut.
AOLP- Association of OUTDOOR LIGHTING PROFESSIONALS.
www.OutdoorLightingCt.com
Outdoor Lighting Designer and two time Landscape AOLP Lighting award recipient Michael Gotowala Preferred Properties Connecticut shows us here how living beyond the walls of your home outdoors at night can be NIGHT TIME FABULOUS.
GO TO WWW.OUTDOORLIGHTINGCT.COM TO FIND OUT MORE.
"LET ME show you JUST HOW GOOD YOUR HOUSE LOOKS AT NIGHT"
Steve P. offered the following endorsement about Gotowala's Outdoor Lighting talents.
Michael is clearly one of the best landscape lighting designers in the country. In my role as a photographer of outdoor lighting, I've visited and photographed many of Michael's projects - not only were the lighting designs creative and effective, they were also installed perfectly with a great attention to detail.
My photos of Michael's projects have been published in numerous trade journals and design magazines. Editors are thrilled with these outstanding examples of landscape lighting. Michael has embraced both the art and science of lighting design and applies it to create compelling nighttime environments for his very lucky clients. I wholeheartedly recommend Michael for any kind of outdoor lighting product. You willed be thrilled with the results.AOLP- Association of OUTDOOR LIGHTING PROFESSIONALS.
www.OutdoorLightingCt.com
Outdoor Lighting Designer and two time Landscape AOLP Lighting award recipient Michael Gotowala Preferred Properties Connecticut shows us here how living beyond the walls of your home outdoors at night can be NIGHT TIME FABULOUS.
GO TO WWW.OUTDOORLIGHTINGCT.COM TO FIND OUT MORE.
"LET ME show you JUST HOW GOOD YOUR HOUSE LOOKS AT NIGHT"
Steve P. offered the following endorsement about Gotowala's Outdoor Lighting talents.
Michael is clearly one of the best landscape lighting designers in the country. In my role as a photographer of outdoor lighting, I've visited and photographed many of Michael's projects - not only were the lighting designs creative and effective, they were also installed perfectly with a great attention to detail.
My photos of Michael's projects have been published in numerous trade journals and design magazines. Editors are thrilled with these outstanding examples of landscape lighting. Michael has embraced both the art and science of lighting design and applies it to create compelling nighttime environments for his very lucky clients. I wholeheartedly recommend Michael for any kind of outdoor lighting product. You willed be thrilled with the results.

Inspiration for a contemporary girl medium tone wood floor and brown floor kids' room remodel in Dallas with white walls
Find the right local pro for your project

Design: Vernich Interiors
Photographer: Alyssa Rosenheck
Published: Cottage Journal 2019
Nashville, Tennessee
Bedroom - transitional bedroom idea in Nashville
Bedroom - transitional bedroom idea in Nashville

Treve Johnson Photography
Mid-sized arts and crafts l-shaped dark wood floor enclosed kitchen photo in San Francisco with an undermount sink, shaker cabinets, medium tone wood cabinets, granite countertops, stone tile backsplash and stainless steel appliances
Mid-sized arts and crafts l-shaped dark wood floor enclosed kitchen photo in San Francisco with an undermount sink, shaker cabinets, medium tone wood cabinets, granite countertops, stone tile backsplash and stainless steel appliances

Whether it’s arthritis, joint or back pain, restless leg syndrome, muscle injuries or fibromyalgia, hot tubs are a proven form of chronic pain relief. The heat of the water increases blood flow and relaxes the body, while the massaging action of the jets and the water’s buoyancy loosen muscle tension and soothe sore joints.
The New England Journal of Medicine (08-16-1999) found that, after just 10 days, patients with Type 2 Diabetes who used hot tubs 30 minutes a day/6 days per week required reduced doses of insulin, lost weight, slept better and showed distinct decreases in plasma glucose and glycosylated hemoglobin.
Hot tubs can be a great fix for those suffering from insomnia, helping your body to wind down before bed and get the natural sleep you need. Even if you don’t suffer from chronic sleep problems, the Better Sleep Council recommends establishing a relaxing bedtime routine, such as soaking in hot water to help maintain a healthy sleep cycle. According to the Council’s findings, warm water releases muscle tension and increases blood flow, both of which contribute to a relaxed and deeper, more comfortable sleep.
Whether it’s a new exercise routine or an unusually active day on your feet, most of us know the “day after” feeling of sore, overworked muscles that make it hurt to move, period. The water pressure from hot tub jets relieves muscle tightness and soreness by removing lactic acid, opening up the blood vessels and promoting the flow of endorphins. LPGA Sports Medicine Director Caroline Nichols and former President of the American Orthopedic Society of Sports Medicine Dr. James Andrews recommend hydrotherapeutic activity for athletes at every level. Nichols says that hot tubs especially help with recovery since jets focus on overused muscle and joint regions, while Andrews supports hydrotherapy as a good tool for improved circulation, sensory impulses and stiff joints.
Whether you’re looking to alleviate stress, feel healthier or simply spend more time with your loved ones, you’d be amazed at how as little as 10 minutes in a hot tub can help you relax and put everything in perspective. There are hot tubs for every type of user, regardless of whether it’s just you or it’s the entire gang piling in, looking for some much-needed relief after a long day.

Example of a trendy medium tone wood floor and brown floor bedroom design in Other with white walls

We loved teaming up with Charlotte-based designer Hadley Quisenberry of West Trade Interiors to transform what was once a small, underused playroom into a space tweens and teens actually want to hang out in. The family wasn’t using the room much before, but now it’s packed with possibilities — a place to move, imagine, and create.
Even in a compact footprint, we made room for both gross motor elements and quiet-time zones. From climbing features to a cozy desk setup perfect for homework, drawing, or dream journaling, the design encourages kids to express themselves however they need to in the moment.
This was a room meant to grow with the family — and it absolutely will.

As featured in New York Magazine, The Wall Street Journal, and Brownstoner: The client, a young woman working in tech, grew up living abroad in various places as a State Department kid. She picked up items along the way which she wanted to incorporate into the design – the most prominent pieces were the wool rug and crewel embroidered wallhanging in the Guest Room, both of which she found when living in Pakistan. Her parents now live in France and her grandparents live in Germany, so her more recent finds have been from family visits (for example, German ceramics as seen in the kitchen).
When they began discussing a design scheme, the client sent Tara a Pinterest board that prominently featured Dawnridge, Tony Duquette’s home in Beverly Hills. Little did the client know that that happens to be one of Tara’s favorite sources of inspiration. Since Tony Duquette was a master at mixing and matching antiques from different places and periods, his work was a natural North Star for this project.
The Chinese Art Deco carpet was the perfect “something old” to ground the space and aesthetically, it reminded Tara of the Eastern influences seen throughout Dawnridge. Since the kitchen, dining area, and living room are all collected, Tara had the built-in shelving painted to match the cabinets. Then, the shelves were lined with Roger Arlington wallpaper inspired by Chinese 18th century tea paper, the pewter paper used to line tea chests sent from China.
There wasn’t quite the space for grand curtains like those Duquette found at the Paris Flea and hung in the Drawing Room, but something a bit smaller sourced at that same flea was included. From the Paris flea market, Tara texted the client a photo of the Louis XV gilt-metal sconces and got an immediate “Yes!”
The antique floor lamp is from a shop not far from the client’s apartment — Humble House in Boerum Hill. The vintage tole chandelier is from there, as well. The client’s directive to source only things “with a story behind them” was a dream come true. Take the pleated silk shade for example — it’s got a few holes in it, but that wasn’t disqualifying. It was a pleasure to work with a client who sees the beauty in something sourced locally and dripping with character, even if it’s got a few imperfections. Tara transformed the closet in the Guest Bedroom into a dramatic little work-from-home nook. The floor-to-ceiling curtains cover the entire wall and handily conceal an unattractive tiny window looking into an airshaft.
The client requested a “lush bedroom,” so a variety of textures were incorporated to make things feel layered and luxurious. She has an extensive collection of perfume bottles, and they won a 1950s Hollywood Regency style mirrored vanity at auction — the perfect place to display them. The green of the Living Room is carried to the bedroom with the silk taffeta curtains and block-printed bedding. The headboard is upholstered in a pleated silk Georgette. There was limited space on either side of the bed, so Tara suggested mounting swing-arm lamps to the wall and sourced sleek little metal and travertine nightstands, which add just the right touch of “today.” The Rococo wood mirror over the bed was also won at auction.

PETER MOLICK FOR THE WALL STREET JOURNAL
Inspiration for a huge eclectic galley ceramic tile and beige floor seated home bar remodel in Houston with an undermount sink, marble countertops and black countertops
Inspiration for a huge eclectic galley ceramic tile and beige floor seated home bar remodel in Houston with an undermount sink, marble countertops and black countertops

Looking at this home today, you would never know that the project began as a poorly maintained duplex. Luckily, the homeowners saw past the worn façade and engaged our team to uncover and update the Victorian gem that lay underneath. Taking special care to preserve the historical integrity of the 100-year-old floor plan, we returned the home back to its original glory as a grand, single family home.
The project included many renovations, both small and large, including the addition of a a wraparound porch to bring the façade closer to the street, a gable with custom scrollwork to accent the new front door, and a more substantial balustrade. Windows were added to bring in more light and some interior walls were removed to open up the public spaces to accommodate the family’s lifestyle.
You can read more about the transformation of this home in Old House Journal: http://www.cummingsarchitects.com/wp-content/uploads/2011/07/Old-House-Journal-Dec.-2009.pdf
Photo Credit: Eric Roth

Stuart Wade, Envision Virtual Tours
The second-largest and most developed of Georgia's barrier islands, St. Simons is approximately twelve miles long and nearly three miles wide at its widest stretch (roughly the size of Manhattan Island in New York). The island is located in Glynn County on Georgia's coast and lies east of Brunswick (the seat of Glynn County), south of Little St. Simons Island and the Hampton River, and north of Jekyll Island. The resort community of Sea Island is separated from St. Simons on the east by the Black Banks River. Known for its oak tree canopies and historic landmarks, St. Simons is both a tourist destination and, according to the 2010 U.S. census, home to 12,743 residents.
Early History
The earliest
St. Simons Island Village
record of human habitation on the island dates to the Late Archaic Period, about 5,000 to 3,000 years ago. Remnants of shell rings left behind by Native Americans from this era survive on many of the barrier islands, including St. Simons. Centuries later, during the period known by historians as the chiefdom era, the Guale Indians established a chiefdom centered on St. Catherines Island and used St. Simons as their hunting and fishing grounds. By 1500 the Guale had established a permanent village of about 200 people on St. Simons, which they called Guadalquini.
Beginning in 1568, the Spanish attempted to create missions along the Georgia coast. Catholic missions were the primary means by which Georgia's indigenous Native American chiefdoms were assimilated into the Spanish colonial system along the northern frontier of greater Spanish Florida. In the 1600s St. Simons became home to two Spanish missions: San Buenaventura de Guadalquini, on the southern tip of the island, and Santo Domingo de Asao (or Asajo), on the northern tip. Located on the inland side of the island were the pagan refugee villages of San Simón, the island's namesake, and Ocotonico. In 1684 pirate raids left the missions and villages largely abandoned.
Colonial History
As
Fort Frederica
early as 1670, with Great Britain's establishment of the colony of Carolina and its expansion into Georgia territory, Spanish rule was threatened by the English. The Georgia coast was considered "debatable land" by England and Spain, even though Spain had fully retreated from St. Simons by 1702. Thirty-one years later General James Edward Oglethorpe founded the English settlement of Savannah. In 1736 he established Fort Frederica, named after the heir to the British throne, Frederick Louis, prince of Wales, on the west side of St. Simons Island to protect Savannah and the Carolinas from the Spanish threat.
Between 1736 and 1749 Fort Frederica was the hub of British military operations along the Georgia frontier. A town of the same name grew up around the fort and was of great importance to the new colony. By 1740 Frederica's population was 1,000. In 1736 the congregation of what would become Christ Church was organized within Fort Frederica as a mission of the Church of England. Charles Wesley led the first services. In 1742 Britain's decisive victory over Spain in the Battle of Bloody Marsh, during the War of Jenkins' Ear, ended the Spanish threat to the Georgia coast. When the British regimen disbanded in 1749, most of the townspeople relocated to the mainland. Fort Frederica went into decline and, except for a short time of prosperity during the 1760s and 1770s under the leadership of merchant James Spalding, never fully recovered. Today the historic citadel's tabby ruins are maintained by the National Park Service.
Plantation Era
By the start of the American Revolution (1775-83), Fort Frederica was obsolete, and St. Simons was left largely uninhabited as most of its residents joined the patriot army. Besides hosting a small Georgia naval victory on the Fort Frederica River, providing guns from its famous fort for use at Fort Morris in Sunbury, and serving as an arena for pillaging by privateers and British soldiers, the island played almost no role in the war.
Following the war, many of the townspeople, their businesses destroyed, turned to agriculture. The island was transformed into fourteen cotton plantations after acres of live oak trees were cleared for farm land and used for building American warships, including the famous USS Constitution, or "Old Ironsides." Although rice was the predominant crop along the neighboring Altamaha River, St. Simons was known for its production of long-staple cotton, which soon came to be known as Sea Island cotton.
Between
Ebos Landing
the 1780s and the outbreak of the Civil War (1861-65), St. Simons's plantation culture flourished. The saline atmosphere and the availability of cheap slave labor proved an ideal combination for the cultivation of Sea Island cotton. In 1803 a group of Ebo slaves who survived the Middle Passage and arrived on the west side of St. Simons staged a rebellion and drowned themselves. The sacred site is known today as Ebos Landing.
One of the largest owners of land and slaves on St. Simons was Pierce Butler, master of Hampton Point Plantation, located on the northern end of the island. By 1793 Butler owned more than 500 slaves, who cultivated 800 acres of cotton on St. Simons and 300 acres of rice on Butler's Island in the Altamaha River delta. Butler's grandson, Pierce Mease Butler, who at the age of sixteen inherited a share of his grandfather's estate in 1826, was responsible for the largest sale of human beings in the history of the United States: in 1859, to restore his squandered fortune, he sold 429 slaves in Savannah for more than $300,000. The British actress and writer Fanny Kemble, whose tumultuous marriage to Pierce ended in divorce in 1849, published an eyewitness account of the evils of slavery on St. Simons in her book Journal of a Residence on a Georgian Plantation in 1838-1839 (1863).
Another
Retreat Plantation
large owner of land and slaves on St. Simons was Major William Page, a friend and employee of Pierce Butler Sr. Before purchasing Retreat Plantation on the southwestern tip of the island in 1804, Page managed the Hampton plantation and Butler's Island. Upon Page's death in 1827, Thomas Butler King inherited the land together with his wife, Page's daughter, Anna Matilda Page King. King expanded his father-in-law's planting empire on St. Simons as well as on the mainland, and by 1835 Retreat Plantation alone was home to as many as 355 slaves.
The center of life during the island's plantation era was Christ Church, Frederica. Organized in 1807 by a group of island planters, the Episcopal church is the second oldest in the Diocese of Georgia. Embargoes imposed by the War of 1812 (1812-15) prevented the parishioners from building a church structure, so they worshiped in the home of John Beck, which stood on the site of Oglethorpe's only St. Simons residence, Orange Hall.
The first Christ Church building, finished on the present site in 1820, was ruined by occupying Union troops during the Civil War. In 1884 the Reverend Anson Dodge Jr. rebuilt the church as a memorial to his first wife, Ellen. The cruciform building with a trussed gothic roof and stained-glass windows remains active today as Christ Church.
Civil War and Beyond
The
St. Simons Island Lighthouse
outbreak of the Civil War in 1861 put a sudden end to St. Simons's lucrative plantation era. In January of that year, Confederate troops were stationed at the south end of the island to guard the entrance to Brunswick Harbor. Slaves from Retreat Plantation, owned by Thomas Butler King, built earthworks and batteries. Plantation residents were scattered—the men joined the Confederate army and their families moved to the mainland. Cannon fire was heard on the island in December 1861, and Confederate troops retreated in February 1862, after dynamiting the lighthouse to keep its beacon from aiding Union troops. Soon thereafter, Union troops occupied the island, which was used as a camp for freed slaves. By August 1862 more than 500 former slaves lived on St. Simons, including Susie King Taylor, who organized a school for freed slave children. But in November the ex-slaves were taken to Hilton Head, South Carolina, and Fernandina, Florida, leaving the island abandoned.
After the Civil War the island never returned to its status as an agricultural community. The plantations lay dormant because there were no slaves to work the fields. After Union general William T. Sherman's January 1865 Special Field Order No. 15 —a demand that former plantations be divided and distributed to former slaves—was overturned by U.S. president Andrew Johnson less than a year later, freedmen and women were forced to work as sharecroppers on the small farms that dotted the land previously occupied by the sprawling plantations.
By
St. Simons Lumber Mills
1870 real economic recovery began with the reestablishment of the timber industry. Norman Dodge and Titus G. Meigs of New York set up lumber mill operations at Gascoigne Bluff, formerly Hamilton Plantation. The lumber mills provided welcome employment for both blacks and whites and also provided mail and passenger boats to the mainland. Such water traffic, together with the construction of a new lighthouse in 1872, designed by architect Charles B. Cluskey, marked the beginning of St. Simons's tourism industry. The keeper of the lighthouse created a small amusement park, which drew many visitors, as did the seemingly miraculous light that traveled from the top of the lighthouse tower to the bottom. The island became a summer retreat for families from the mainland, particularly from Baxley, Brunswick, and Waycross.
The island's resort industry was thriving by the 1880s. Beachfront structures, such as a new pier and grand hotel, were built on the southeastern end of the island and could be accessed by ferry. Around this time wealthy northerners began vacationing on the island.
Twentieth Century
The
St. Simons Island Pier and Village
opening in 1924 of the Brunswick–St. Simons Highway, today known as the Torras Causeway, was a milestone in the development of resorts in the area. St. Simons's beaches were now easily accessible to locals and tourists alike. More than 5,000 automobiles took the short drive from Brunswick to St. Simons via the causeway on its opening day, paving the way for convenient residential and resort development.
In 1926 automotive pioneer Howard Coffin of Detroit, Michigan, bought large tracts of land on St. Simons, including the former Retreat Plantation, and constructed a golf course, yacht club, paved roads, and a residential subdivision. Although the causeway had brought large numbers of summer people to the island, St. Simons remained a small community with only a few hundred permanent residents until the 1940s.
The
St. Simons Island
outbreak of World War II (1941-45) brought more visitors and residents to St. Simons. Troops stationed at Jacksonville, Florida; Savannah; and nearby Camp Stewart took weekend vacations on the island, and a new naval air base and radar school became home to even more officers and soldiers. The increased wartime population brought the island its first public school. With a major shipyard for the production of Liberty ships in nearby Brunswick, the waters of St. Simons became active with German U-boats. In April 1942, just off the coast, the Texas Company oil tanker S. S. Oklahoma and the S. S. Esso Baton Rouge were torpedoed by the Germans, bringing the war very close to home for island residents.
Due in large part to the military's improvement of the island's infrastructure during the war, development on the island boomed in the 1950s and 1960s. More permanent homes and subdivisions were built, and the island was no longer just a summer resort but also a thriving community. In 1950 the Methodist conference and retreat center Epworth by the Sea opened on Gascoigne Bluff. In 1961 novelist Eugenia Price visited St. Simons and began work on her first works of fiction, known as the St. Simons Trilogy. Inspired by real events on the island, Price's trilogy renewed interest in the history of Georgia's coast, and the novelist herself relocated to the island in 1965 and lived there for thirty-one years. St. Simons is also home to contemporary Georgia writer Tina McElroy Ansa.
Since
Epworth by the Sea
1980 St. Simons's population has doubled. The island's continued status as a vacation destination and its ongoing development boom have put historic landmarks and natural areas at risk. While such landmarks as the Fort Frederica ruins and the Battle of Bloody Marsh site are preserved and maintained by the National Park Service, and while the historic lighthouse is maintained by the Coastal Georgia Historical Society, historic Ebos Landing has been taken over by a sewage treatment plant.
Several coastal organizations have formed in recent years to save natural areas on the island. The St. Simons Land Trust, for example, has received donations of large tracts of land and plans to protect property in the island's three traditional African American neighborhoods. Despite its rapid growth and development, St. Simons remains one of the most beautiful and important islands on the Georgia coast.

Looking at this home today, you would never know that the project began as a poorly maintained duplex. Luckily, the homeowners saw past the worn façade and engaged our team to uncover and update the Victorian gem that lay underneath. Taking special care to preserve the historical integrity of the 100-year-old floor plan, we returned the home back to its original glory as a grand, single family home.
The project included many renovations, both small and large, including the addition of a a wraparound porch to bring the façade closer to the street, a gable with custom scrollwork to accent the new front door, and a more substantial balustrade. Windows were added to bring in more light and some interior walls were removed to open up the public spaces to accommodate the family’s lifestyle.
You can read more about the transformation of this home in Old House Journal: http://www.cummingsarchitects.com/wp-content/uploads/2011/07/Old-House-Journal-Dec.-2009.pdf
Photo Credit: Eric Roth

Home yoga studio - mid-sized transitional light wood floor home yoga studio idea in Portland with white walls

Stuart Wade, Envision Virtual Tours
The second-largest and most developed of Georgia's barrier islands, St. Simons is approximately twelve miles long and nearly three miles wide at its widest stretch (roughly the size of Manhattan Island in New York). The island is located in Glynn County on Georgia's coast and lies east of Brunswick (the seat of Glynn County), south of Little St. Simons Island and the Hampton River, and north of Jekyll Island. The resort community of Sea Island is separated from St. Simons on the east by the Black Banks River. Known for its oak tree canopies and historic landmarks, St. Simons is both a tourist destination and, according to the 2010 U.S. census, home to 12,743 residents.
Early History
The earliest
St. Simons Island Village
record of human habitation on the island dates to the Late Archaic Period, about 5,000 to 3,000 years ago. Remnants of shell rings left behind by Native Americans from this era survive on many of the barrier islands, including St. Simons. Centuries later, during the period known by historians as the chiefdom era, the Guale Indians established a chiefdom centered on St. Catherines Island and used St. Simons as their hunting and fishing grounds. By 1500 the Guale had established a permanent village of about 200 people on St. Simons, which they called Guadalquini.
Beginning in 1568, the Spanish attempted to create missions along the Georgia coast. Catholic missions were the primary means by which Georgia's indigenous Native American chiefdoms were assimilated into the Spanish colonial system along the northern frontier of greater Spanish Florida. In the 1600s St. Simons became home to two Spanish missions: San Buenaventura de Guadalquini, on the southern tip of the island, and Santo Domingo de Asao (or Asajo), on the northern tip. Located on the inland side of the island were the pagan refugee villages of San Simón, the island's namesake, and Ocotonico. In 1684 pirate raids left the missions and villages largely abandoned.
Colonial History
As
Fort Frederica
early as 1670, with Great Britain's establishment of the colony of Carolina and its expansion into Georgia territory, Spanish rule was threatened by the English. The Georgia coast was considered "debatable land" by England and Spain, even though Spain had fully retreated from St. Simons by 1702. Thirty-one years later General James Edward Oglethorpe founded the English settlement of Savannah. In 1736 he established Fort Frederica, named after the heir to the British throne, Frederick Louis, prince of Wales, on the west side of St. Simons Island to protect Savannah and the Carolinas from the Spanish threat.
Between 1736 and 1749 Fort Frederica was the hub of British military operations along the Georgia frontier. A town of the same name grew up around the fort and was of great importance to the new colony. By 1740 Frederica's population was 1,000. In 1736 the congregation of what would become Christ Church was organized within Fort Frederica as a mission of the Church of England. Charles Wesley led the first services. In 1742 Britain's decisive victory over Spain in the Battle of Bloody Marsh, during the War of Jenkins' Ear, ended the Spanish threat to the Georgia coast. When the British regimen disbanded in 1749, most of the townspeople relocated to the mainland. Fort Frederica went into decline and, except for a short time of prosperity during the 1760s and 1770s under the leadership of merchant James Spalding, never fully recovered. Today the historic citadel's tabby ruins are maintained by the National Park Service.
Plantation Era
By the start of the American Revolution (1775-83), Fort Frederica was obsolete, and St. Simons was left largely uninhabited as most of its residents joined the patriot army. Besides hosting a small Georgia naval victory on the Fort Frederica River, providing guns from its famous fort for use at Fort Morris in Sunbury, and serving as an arena for pillaging by privateers and British soldiers, the island played almost no role in the war.
Following the war, many of the townspeople, their businesses destroyed, turned to agriculture. The island was transformed into fourteen cotton plantations after acres of live oak trees were cleared for farm land and used for building American warships, including the famous USS Constitution, or "Old Ironsides." Although rice was the predominant crop along the neighboring Altamaha River, St. Simons was known for its production of long-staple cotton, which soon came to be known as Sea Island cotton.
Between
Ebos Landing
the 1780s and the outbreak of the Civil War (1861-65), St. Simons's plantation culture flourished. The saline atmosphere and the availability of cheap slave labor proved an ideal combination for the cultivation of Sea Island cotton. In 1803 a group of Ebo slaves who survived the Middle Passage and arrived on the west side of St. Simons staged a rebellion and drowned themselves. The sacred site is known today as Ebos Landing.
One of the largest owners of land and slaves on St. Simons was Pierce Butler, master of Hampton Point Plantation, located on the northern end of the island. By 1793 Butler owned more than 500 slaves, who cultivated 800 acres of cotton on St. Simons and 300 acres of rice on Butler's Island in the Altamaha River delta. Butler's grandson, Pierce Mease Butler, who at the age of sixteen inherited a share of his grandfather's estate in 1826, was responsible for the largest sale of human beings in the history of the United States: in 1859, to restore his squandered fortune, he sold 429 slaves in Savannah for more than $300,000. The British actress and writer Fanny Kemble, whose tumultuous marriage to Pierce ended in divorce in 1849, published an eyewitness account of the evils of slavery on St. Simons in her book Journal of a Residence on a Georgian Plantation in 1838-1839 (1863).
Another
Retreat Plantation
large owner of land and slaves on St. Simons was Major William Page, a friend and employee of Pierce Butler Sr. Before purchasing Retreat Plantation on the southwestern tip of the island in 1804, Page managed the Hampton plantation and Butler's Island. Upon Page's death in 1827, Thomas Butler King inherited the land together with his wife, Page's daughter, Anna Matilda Page King. King expanded his father-in-law's planting empire on St. Simons as well as on the mainland, and by 1835 Retreat Plantation alone was home to as many as 355 slaves.
The center of life during the island's plantation era was Christ Church, Frederica. Organized in 1807 by a group of island planters, the Episcopal church is the second oldest in the Diocese of Georgia. Embargoes imposed by the War of 1812 (1812-15) prevented the parishioners from building a church structure, so they worshiped in the home of John Beck, which stood on the site of Oglethorpe's only St. Simons residence, Orange Hall.
The first Christ Church building, finished on the present site in 1820, was ruined by occupying Union troops during the Civil War. In 1884 the Reverend Anson Dodge Jr. rebuilt the church as a memorial to his first wife, Ellen. The cruciform building with a trussed gothic roof and stained-glass windows remains active today as Christ Church.
Civil War and Beyond
The
St. Simons Island Lighthouse
outbreak of the Civil War in 1861 put a sudden end to St. Simons's lucrative plantation era. In January of that year, Confederate troops were stationed at the south end of the island to guard the entrance to Brunswick Harbor. Slaves from Retreat Plantation, owned by Thomas Butler King, built earthworks and batteries. Plantation residents were scattered—the men joined the Confederate army and their families moved to the mainland. Cannon fire was heard on the island in December 1861, and Confederate troops retreated in February 1862, after dynamiting the lighthouse to keep its beacon from aiding Union troops. Soon thereafter, Union troops occupied the island, which was used as a camp for freed slaves. By August 1862 more than 500 former slaves lived on St. Simons, including Susie King Taylor, who organized a school for freed slave children. But in November the ex-slaves were taken to Hilton Head, South Carolina, and Fernandina, Florida, leaving the island abandoned.
After the Civil War the island never returned to its status as an agricultural community. The plantations lay dormant because there were no slaves to work the fields. After Union general William T. Sherman's January 1865 Special Field Order No. 15 —a demand that former plantations be divided and distributed to former slaves—was overturned by U.S. president Andrew Johnson less than a year later, freedmen and women were forced to work as sharecroppers on the small farms that dotted the land previously occupied by the sprawling plantations.
By
St. Simons Lumber Mills
1870 real economic recovery began with the reestablishment of the timber industry. Norman Dodge and Titus G. Meigs of New York set up lumber mill operations at Gascoigne Bluff, formerly Hamilton Plantation. The lumber mills provided welcome employment for both blacks and whites and also provided mail and passenger boats to the mainland. Such water traffic, together with the construction of a new lighthouse in 1872, designed by architect Charles B. Cluskey, marked the beginning of St. Simons's tourism industry. The keeper of the lighthouse created a small amusement park, which drew many visitors, as did the seemingly miraculous light that traveled from the top of the lighthouse tower to the bottom. The island became a summer retreat for families from the mainland, particularly from Baxley, Brunswick, and Waycross.
The island's resort industry was thriving by the 1880s. Beachfront structures, such as a new pier and grand hotel, were built on the southeastern end of the island and could be accessed by ferry. Around this time wealthy northerners began vacationing on the island.
Twentieth Century
The
St. Simons Island Pier and Village
opening in 1924 of the Brunswick–St. Simons Highway, today known as the Torras Causeway, was a milestone in the development of resorts in the area. St. Simons's beaches were now easily accessible to locals and tourists alike. More than 5,000 automobiles took the short drive from Brunswick to St. Simons via the causeway on its opening day, paving the way for convenient residential and resort development.
In 1926 automotive pioneer Howard Coffin of Detroit, Michigan, bought large tracts of land on St. Simons, including the former Retreat Plantation, and constructed a golf course, yacht club, paved roads, and a residential subdivision. Although the causeway had brought large numbers of summer people to the island, St. Simons remained a small community with only a few hundred permanent residents until the 1940s.
The
St. Simons Island
outbreak of World War II (1941-45) brought more visitors and residents to St. Simons. Troops stationed at Jacksonville, Florida; Savannah; and nearby Camp Stewart took weekend vacations on the island, and a new naval air base and radar school became home to even more officers and soldiers. The increased wartime population brought the island its first public school. With a major shipyard for the production of Liberty ships in nearby Brunswick, the waters of St. Simons became active with German U-boats. In April 1942, just off the coast, the Texas Company oil tanker S. S. Oklahoma and the S. S. Esso Baton Rouge were torpedoed by the Germans, bringing the war very close to home for island residents.
Due in large part to the military's improvement of the island's infrastructure during the war, development on the island boomed in the 1950s and 1960s. More permanent homes and subdivisions were built, and the island was no longer just a summer resort but also a thriving community. In 1950 the Methodist conference and retreat center Epworth by the Sea opened on Gascoigne Bluff. In 1961 novelist Eugenia Price visited St. Simons and began work on her first works of fiction, known as the St. Simons Trilogy. Inspired by real events on the island, Price's trilogy renewed interest in the history of Georgia's coast, and the novelist herself relocated to the island in 1965 and lived there for thirty-one years. St. Simons is also home to contemporary Georgia writer Tina McElroy Ansa.
Since
Epworth by the Sea
1980 St. Simons's population has doubled. The island's continued status as a vacation destination and its ongoing development boom have put historic landmarks and natural areas at risk. While such landmarks as the Fort Frederica ruins and the Battle of Bloody Marsh site are preserved and maintained by the National Park Service, and while the historic lighthouse is maintained by the Coastal Georgia Historical Society, historic Ebos Landing has been taken over by a sewage treatment plant.
Several coastal organizations have formed in recent years to save natural areas on the island. The St. Simons Land Trust, for example, has received donations of large tracts of land and plans to protect property in the island's three traditional African American neighborhoods. Despite its rapid growth and development, St. Simons remains one of the most beautiful and important islands on the Georgia coast.
23




