Search results for "Private based" in Home Design Ideas

Stuart Wade, Envision Virtual Tours
The second-largest and most developed of Georgia's barrier islands, St. Simons is approximately twelve miles long and nearly three miles wide at its widest stretch (roughly the size of Manhattan Island in New York). The island is located in Glynn County on Georgia's coast and lies east of Brunswick (the seat of Glynn County), south of Little St. Simons Island and the Hampton River, and north of Jekyll Island. The resort community of Sea Island is separated from St. Simons on the east by the Black Banks River. Known for its oak tree canopies and historic landmarks, St. Simons is both a tourist destination and, according to the 2010 U.S. census, home to 12,743 residents.
Early History
The earliest
St. Simons Island Village
record of human habitation on the island dates to the Late Archaic Period, about 5,000 to 3,000 years ago. Remnants of shell rings left behind by Native Americans from this era survive on many of the barrier islands, including St. Simons. Centuries later, during the period known by historians as the chiefdom era, the Guale Indians established a chiefdom centered on St. Catherines Island and used St. Simons as their hunting and fishing grounds. By 1500 the Guale had established a permanent village of about 200 people on St. Simons, which they called Guadalquini.
Beginning in 1568, the Spanish attempted to create missions along the Georgia coast. Catholic missions were the primary means by which Georgia's indigenous Native American chiefdoms were assimilated into the Spanish colonial system along the northern frontier of greater Spanish Florida. In the 1600s St. Simons became home to two Spanish missions: San Buenaventura de Guadalquini, on the southern tip of the island, and Santo Domingo de Asao (or Asajo), on the northern tip. Located on the inland side of the island were the pagan refugee villages of San Simón, the island's namesake, and Ocotonico. In 1684 pirate raids left the missions and villages largely abandoned.
Colonial History
As
Fort Frederica
early as 1670, with Great Britain's establishment of the colony of Carolina and its expansion into Georgia territory, Spanish rule was threatened by the English. The Georgia coast was considered "debatable land" by England and Spain, even though Spain had fully retreated from St. Simons by 1702. Thirty-one years later General James Edward Oglethorpe founded the English settlement of Savannah. In 1736 he established Fort Frederica, named after the heir to the British throne, Frederick Louis, prince of Wales, on the west side of St. Simons Island to protect Savannah and the Carolinas from the Spanish threat.
Between 1736 and 1749 Fort Frederica was the hub of British military operations along the Georgia frontier. A town of the same name grew up around the fort and was of great importance to the new colony. By 1740 Frederica's population was 1,000. In 1736 the congregation of what would become Christ Church was organized within Fort Frederica as a mission of the Church of England. Charles Wesley led the first services. In 1742 Britain's decisive victory over Spain in the Battle of Bloody Marsh, during the War of Jenkins' Ear, ended the Spanish threat to the Georgia coast. When the British regimen disbanded in 1749, most of the townspeople relocated to the mainland. Fort Frederica went into decline and, except for a short time of prosperity during the 1760s and 1770s under the leadership of merchant James Spalding, never fully recovered. Today the historic citadel's tabby ruins are maintained by the National Park Service.
Plantation Era
By the start of the American Revolution (1775-83), Fort Frederica was obsolete, and St. Simons was left largely uninhabited as most of its residents joined the patriot army. Besides hosting a small Georgia naval victory on the Fort Frederica River, providing guns from its famous fort for use at Fort Morris in Sunbury, and serving as an arena for pillaging by privateers and British soldiers, the island played almost no role in the war.
Following the war, many of the townspeople, their businesses destroyed, turned to agriculture. The island was transformed into fourteen cotton plantations after acres of live oak trees were cleared for farm land and used for building American warships, including the famous USS Constitution, or "Old Ironsides." Although rice was the predominant crop along the neighboring Altamaha River, St. Simons was known for its production of long-staple cotton, which soon came to be known as Sea Island cotton.
Between
Ebos Landing
the 1780s and the outbreak of the Civil War (1861-65), St. Simons's plantation culture flourished. The saline atmosphere and the availability of cheap slave labor proved an ideal combination for the cultivation of Sea Island cotton. In 1803 a group of Ebo slaves who survived the Middle Passage and arrived on the west side of St. Simons staged a rebellion and drowned themselves. The sacred site is known today as Ebos Landing.
One of the largest owners of land and slaves on St. Simons was Pierce Butler, master of Hampton Point Plantation, located on the northern end of the island. By 1793 Butler owned more than 500 slaves, who cultivated 800 acres of cotton on St. Simons and 300 acres of rice on Butler's Island in the Altamaha River delta. Butler's grandson, Pierce Mease Butler, who at the age of sixteen inherited a share of his grandfather's estate in 1826, was responsible for the largest sale of human beings in the history of the United States: in 1859, to restore his squandered fortune, he sold 429 slaves in Savannah for more than $300,000. The British actress and writer Fanny Kemble, whose tumultuous marriage to Pierce ended in divorce in 1849, published an eyewitness account of the evils of slavery on St. Simons in her book Journal of a Residence on a Georgian Plantation in 1838-1839 (1863).
Another
Retreat Plantation
large owner of land and slaves on St. Simons was Major William Page, a friend and employee of Pierce Butler Sr. Before purchasing Retreat Plantation on the southwestern tip of the island in 1804, Page managed the Hampton plantation and Butler's Island. Upon Page's death in 1827, Thomas Butler King inherited the land together with his wife, Page's daughter, Anna Matilda Page King. King expanded his father-in-law's planting empire on St. Simons as well as on the mainland, and by 1835 Retreat Plantation alone was home to as many as 355 slaves.
The center of life during the island's plantation era was Christ Church, Frederica. Organized in 1807 by a group of island planters, the Episcopal church is the second oldest in the Diocese of Georgia. Embargoes imposed by the War of 1812 (1812-15) prevented the parishioners from building a church structure, so they worshiped in the home of John Beck, which stood on the site of Oglethorpe's only St. Simons residence, Orange Hall.
The first Christ Church building, finished on the present site in 1820, was ruined by occupying Union troops during the Civil War. In 1884 the Reverend Anson Dodge Jr. rebuilt the church as a memorial to his first wife, Ellen. The cruciform building with a trussed gothic roof and stained-glass windows remains active today as Christ Church.
Civil War and Beyond
The
St. Simons Island Lighthouse
outbreak of the Civil War in 1861 put a sudden end to St. Simons's lucrative plantation era. In January of that year, Confederate troops were stationed at the south end of the island to guard the entrance to Brunswick Harbor. Slaves from Retreat Plantation, owned by Thomas Butler King, built earthworks and batteries. Plantation residents were scattered—the men joined the Confederate army and their families moved to the mainland. Cannon fire was heard on the island in December 1861, and Confederate troops retreated in February 1862, after dynamiting the lighthouse to keep its beacon from aiding Union troops. Soon thereafter, Union troops occupied the island, which was used as a camp for freed slaves. By August 1862 more than 500 former slaves lived on St. Simons, including Susie King Taylor, who organized a school for freed slave children. But in November the ex-slaves were taken to Hilton Head, South Carolina, and Fernandina, Florida, leaving the island abandoned.
After the Civil War the island never returned to its status as an agricultural community. The plantations lay dormant because there were no slaves to work the fields. After Union general William T. Sherman's January 1865 Special Field Order No. 15 —a demand that former plantations be divided and distributed to former slaves—was overturned by U.S. president Andrew Johnson less than a year later, freedmen and women were forced to work as sharecroppers on the small farms that dotted the land previously occupied by the sprawling plantations.
By
St. Simons Lumber Mills
1870 real economic recovery began with the reestablishment of the timber industry. Norman Dodge and Titus G. Meigs of New York set up lumber mill operations at Gascoigne Bluff, formerly Hamilton Plantation. The lumber mills provided welcome employment for both blacks and whites and also provided mail and passenger boats to the mainland. Such water traffic, together with the construction of a new lighthouse in 1872, designed by architect Charles B. Cluskey, marked the beginning of St. Simons's tourism industry. The keeper of the lighthouse created a small amusement park, which drew many visitors, as did the seemingly miraculous light that traveled from the top of the lighthouse tower to the bottom. The island became a summer retreat for families from the mainland, particularly from Baxley, Brunswick, and Waycross.
The island's resort industry was thriving by the 1880s. Beachfront structures, such as a new pier and grand hotel, were built on the southeastern end of the island and could be accessed by ferry. Around this time wealthy northerners began vacationing on the island.
Twentieth Century
The
St. Simons Island Pier and Village
opening in 1924 of the Brunswick–St. Simons Highway, today known as the Torras Causeway, was a milestone in the development of resorts in the area. St. Simons's beaches were now easily accessible to locals and tourists alike. More than 5,000 automobiles took the short drive from Brunswick to St. Simons via the causeway on its opening day, paving the way for convenient residential and resort development.
In 1926 automotive pioneer Howard Coffin of Detroit, Michigan, bought large tracts of land on St. Simons, including the former Retreat Plantation, and constructed a golf course, yacht club, paved roads, and a residential subdivision. Although the causeway had brought large numbers of summer people to the island, St. Simons remained a small community with only a few hundred permanent residents until the 1940s.
The
St. Simons Island
outbreak of World War II (1941-45) brought more visitors and residents to St. Simons. Troops stationed at Jacksonville, Florida; Savannah; and nearby Camp Stewart took weekend vacations on the island, and a new naval air base and radar school became home to even more officers and soldiers. The increased wartime population brought the island its first public school. With a major shipyard for the production of Liberty ships in nearby Brunswick, the waters of St. Simons became active with German U-boats. In April 1942, just off the coast, the Texas Company oil tanker S. S. Oklahoma and the S. S. Esso Baton Rouge were torpedoed by the Germans, bringing the war very close to home for island residents.
Due in large part to the military's improvement of the island's infrastructure during the war, development on the island boomed in the 1950s and 1960s. More permanent homes and subdivisions were built, and the island was no longer just a summer resort but also a thriving community. In 1950 the Methodist conference and retreat center Epworth by the Sea opened on Gascoigne Bluff. In 1961 novelist Eugenia Price visited St. Simons and began work on her first works of fiction, known as the St. Simons Trilogy. Inspired by real events on the island, Price's trilogy renewed interest in the history of Georgia's coast, and the novelist herself relocated to the island in 1965 and lived there for thirty-one years. St. Simons is also home to contemporary Georgia writer Tina McElroy Ansa.
Since
Epworth by the Sea
1980 St. Simons's population has doubled. The island's continued status as a vacation destination and its ongoing development boom have put historic landmarks and natural areas at risk. While such landmarks as the Fort Frederica ruins and the Battle of Bloody Marsh site are preserved and maintained by the National Park Service, and while the historic lighthouse is maintained by the Coastal Georgia Historical Society, historic Ebos Landing has been taken over by a sewage treatment plant.
Several coastal organizations have formed in recent years to save natural areas on the island. The St. Simons Land Trust, for example, has received donations of large tracts of land and plans to protect property in the island's three traditional African American neighborhoods. Despite its rapid growth and development, St. Simons remains one of the most beautiful and important islands on the Georgia coast.

Builder: AVB Inc.
Interior Design: Vision Interiors by Visbeen
Photographer: Ashley Avila Photography
The Holloway blends the recent revival of mid-century aesthetics with the timelessness of a country farmhouse. Each façade features playfully arranged windows tucked under steeply pitched gables. Natural wood lapped siding emphasizes this homes more modern elements, while classic white board & batten covers the core of this house. A rustic stone water table wraps around the base and contours down into the rear view-out terrace.
Inside, a wide hallway connects the foyer to the den and living spaces through smooth case-less openings. Featuring a grey stone fireplace, tall windows, and vaulted wood ceiling, the living room bridges between the kitchen and den. The kitchen picks up some mid-century through the use of flat-faced upper and lower cabinets with chrome pulls. Richly toned wood chairs and table cap off the dining room, which is surrounded by windows on three sides. The grand staircase, to the left, is viewable from the outside through a set of giant casement windows on the upper landing. A spacious master suite is situated off of this upper landing. Featuring separate closets, a tiled bath with tub and shower, this suite has a perfect view out to the rear yard through the bedrooms rear windows. All the way upstairs, and to the right of the staircase, is four separate bedrooms. Downstairs, under the master suite, is a gymnasium. This gymnasium is connected to the outdoors through an overhead door and is perfect for athletic activities or storing a boat during cold months. The lower level also features a living room with view out windows and a private guest suite.

The kitchen is anchored by a large center island featuring an over-sized stainless steel farmhouse apron sink by Kerr, contrasted by a slender, single-lever faucet by Dornbracht. Accenting the cabinets are a custom combination of brass and steel pulls by Buster+Punch, pairing well with staple brushed steel appliances from Sub-Zero and Wolf. Lighting is from the Waldorf Collection by Lambert & Fils and showcases photography from the homeowner’s own private collection. The kitchen is framed by black steel windows and doors by Euroline, and a fully motorized solar shade from The Shade Store which materializes from the ceiling for privacy (and mornings).
Find the right local pro for your project

Resting upon a 120-acre rural hillside, this 17,500 square-foot residence has unencumbered mountain views to the east, south and west. The exterior design palette for the public side is a more formal Tudor style of architecture, including intricate brick detailing; while the materials for the private side tend toward a more casual mountain-home style of architecture with a natural stone base and hand-cut wood siding.
Primary living spaces and the master bedroom suite, are located on the main level, with guest accommodations on the upper floor of the main house and upper floor of the garage. The interior material palette was carefully chosen to match the stunning collection of antique furniture and artifacts, gathered from around the country. From the elegant kitchen to the cozy screened porch, this residence captures the beauty of the White Mountains and embodies classic New Hampshire living.
Photographer: Joseph St. Pierre

With family members spread across the globe, the patriarch of the family wanted to establish a home base that would give them all a chance to recreate, reconnect, and relax over what sometimes could be trips of a month or more. Their large parcel of land is not far from Yellowstone Park, and a trout stream and several ponds are just a few of the prevalent water features. The property encompasses the top of a mountain with a lookout tower, and down below, this approximately 7000 square foot home delivers a sense of intimacy. Each bedroom is a master suite, with fireplace, private balcony, and adjoining children’s room, to ensure all generations have the space they need. Our shared approach was to celebrate the romantic lodges of the past, leading us to choose small round logs like those used in Old Faithful Lodge, as one example. With plenty of space inside and out to decompress—but cozy, welcoming living areas as well—this lodge becomes the perfect family gathering place.

Cecile Bruner roses climb a 6' fence, screening the road and wrapping a private, sheltered garden under this pergola. Kelly Greenwood
Photo of a large farmhouse shade front yard gravel landscaping in San Francisco for summer.
Photo of a large farmhouse shade front yard gravel landscaping in San Francisco for summer.

Shots of our iconic shed "Hanssel or Gretel". A play on words from the famous story, due to the families last name and this being a his or hers (#heshed #sheshed or #theyshed), but not a play on function. This dynamic homeowner crew uses the shed for their private offices, alongside e-learning, meeting, relaxing and to unwind. This 10'x10' are requires no permit and can be completed in less that 3 days (interior excluded). The exterior space is approximately 40'x40', still required no permitting and was done in conjunction with a landscape designer. Bringing the indoor to the outdoor for all to enjoy, or close the french doors and escape to zen! To see the video, go to: https://youtu.be/zMo01-SpaTs

Scottsdale-based architectural firm Chen + Suchart Studio created this modern home in Arizona with a private courtyard and pool on the lower level and rooms that take advantage of views of the McDowell Mountains upstairs. Sliding glass panels that disappear into walls, courtesy of Western Window Systems’ Series 600 Multi-Slide Doors, transform rooms into uninterrupted spaces that open to other living areas and allow for panoramic outlooks of the surroundings.

Becky Hulsey, Envision Virtual Tours
The Lodge at Gold Mine Falls
A Once in a Lifetime Opportunity Awaits….
Have you dreamed of owning your own spectacular waterfall, a serene trout pond, or a one of a kind mountain lodge filled with high end touches, all near Lake Burton? If the answer is yes…..then “The Lodge at Gold Mine Falls” is for you!
Located just off HW 76 .3 miles to Anchorage Marina, this unique 2.8 acre property borders the National Forest, boasts a fully remodeled 3 bedroom, 3 bath, 2000+ square foot rock lodge that is adjacent to its own private, spectacular 60 foot waterfall all surrounded by native landscape such as rhododendron and mountain laurel. Tumbling under the 40 foot suspension bridge, the pristine, crystal clear water continues to ramble on its way to large pond ready to be stocked with trout. Picture yourself fly fishing for a trout dinner right at your front door, or delight your friends or family while entertaining on your new porch or extensive, multi-level deck that connects your new home to your own waterfall. The kids or grandkids will be entertained for hours wading in the pool at the base of the waterfall, exploring the crooks and crannies among the stream’s boulders while looking for salamanders, or panning for “fool’s gold” in the stream. Just imagine….The Lodge at Gold Mine Falls has all this and more!
As you walk up the front steps to The Lodge at Gold Mine Falls, you will notice the craftsmanship of this uniquely one of a kind home made from local stone and granite from a period gone by. If you look closely at some of the stones, you will find raw garnets, some the size of a nail head. Upon opening the front door constructed of solid oak and a tasteful piece of leaded glass, you will be amazed at the spaciousness of the lodge room. Once upon a time, the 20 x 30 foot room with 10 foot ceilings was the entire home. The focal piece of the room is the new floor to ceiling field stone fireplace, hand honed solid maple mantel, rounded hearth, accentuated by a hand-cut keystone, and flanked by raw cedar columns. The new gas logs can be remotely controlled with programmable heat. A built-in floor to ceiling cherry wood wall unit, with granite serving surface, highlights a side wall and is topped off with a large piece of stained glass from an English pub. The mood lighting behind the stained glass and the antique library ladder really highlights this unique bookcase. Distinctive lighting fixtures and fans provide dining area lighting and circulation from the cool breezes off of Lake Burton. On the bottom, the solid oak 1.5 inch flooring is a remnant of the past on the top, the height of the ceilings is enhanced by double crown moldings throughout and a touch of the outdoors is brought indoors by the three new skylights. Surrounded by rustic cedar window boxes, additional ambient light streams through the four windows facing south, and the new French doors.
As you open the French doors to the new porch, you are immediately struck by the sights and sound produced by the rushing water as it cascades over the spectacular multilevel waterfall. You will also notice that the mountain has literally been carved away as you view the layers and striations in the granite that surround the back of the porch. The peaked cathedral ceiling sports a glass apex and the bead board on the ceiling accentuated by the raw cedar plank framing and the five cedar trees used as cornerstones all bring the outdoors within your reach. The addition of “E-Z Breeze” vinyl windows along with the cast iron gas stove will allow you and your family to enjoy the beauty and continually changing scenery at The Lodge at Gold Mine Fall during all four seasons.
Opening the Adirondack style door on the other side of the lodge room allows you to step into the Lodge’s addition built at a later date. The four foot wide hallway boasts stained glass light fixtures and an architectural feature from the new stairwell that divides the living and the bedroom spaces. Knowing that the east wall in the kitchen and study were once on the home’s exterior allowed us to investigate and reveal the true character of these walls by removing the two layers of drywall and 4 inches of plaster exposing a striking addition to both rooms…… beautiful granite rock walls. The hallway flows into the granite breakfast bar which fully complements the newly exposed granite wall. From the Viking SS refrigerator to gas Jenn Air ceramic cooktop and microwave the appliances are a chef’s delight. Lighting is a critical component in a gourmet kitchen and the light from the double window is enhanced by two spotlights over the cooking area, LED task lighting under the cabinets, mood lighting over the top cabinets, and four “Murano” hand blown glass pendant lights over the sink and bar area. Scoring points in the design category, the full wood “Thomasville” two tone glazed cabinets that are country white and palomino scream style and sophistication, and are accentuated by the cool copper glass backsplash and refined stainless steel hardware. The porcelain, two bowl farmhouse sink is large enough for your biggest pots while the stainless steel sink guards will protect it from scratches. The SS faucet is professional quality and the Insinkerator will help the chef in the house save time with instant 190 degree water. An eight foot long exposed cedar tree trunk hangs over the cooking area allowing the chef to hang his/her favorite utensils and pots or pans in full lodge style. And who wouldn’t crave a large walk in pantry with commercial grade slides that will up to 120 pounds. With all these features, the cook/cooks in the family will love spending time in this room.
Across from the kitchen is a study/office area which can be closed off from the hallway by a double barn door. Except for the remarkable exposed granite rock wall mentioned earlier, the entire room has been paneled with raw cedar boards treated with Australian Tree Oil for true lodge feel. The triple crank out window provides a superb view of the pond and blazing Japanese maple trees in the fall. Outside, the hallway leads to the utility room which has been fully upgraded with all the modern amenities. The oak cabinetry with granite tops also has an extra deep sink with commercial kitchen sprayer. The sink area is surrounded by white subway tile while slate and green glass mini tile accents bring the outdoor colors inside. The doggy door, new exterior door and crank out window provide access to the back yard and additional light. From the new “Rinnai” point of use, gas hot water heater to the new “LG” full size, stackable washer and dryer, this utility room delivers.
The master bedroom has four windows which provide outstanding light and air circulation. To take the chill off of nippy evenings, this bedroom also has its own romantic fireplace with travertine marble surround, remote controlled gas logs, and a beautiful antique oak and mirror mantle. To top it off, the en-suite bath contains high end fixtures, a spacious vanity, and floor to ceiling rain shower with independent valves allowing you to turn on the shower and not get wet. Multiple safety handrails and a fold down shower seat give bathers assurance and provide an additional measure of safety. The earthy color tiles, glass tile accents and hand blown light fixtures continue the lodge theme in this end of the house. Located across the hall, the guest bedroom is light and airy with its white window boxes and double crown molding, and also has an attached bathroom. This bathroom also has an entrance door leading to the hallway and doubles as the guest bathroom for the house. Its antique oak vanity and mirror, stained glass lights and wrought iron accents remind me of a past era while the vessel sink, modern fixtures, and floor to ceiling travertine and glass tile rain shower all bring the bathroom up to modern standards.
Located at the end of the hallway, and next to the guest bathroom, is the handcrafted stairwell leading to the sleeping loft. The distinctive maple stair treads with their grain and raw edge being displayed, were milled locally in Clayton and then installed from underneath so that no screw or nail heads are visible. The staircase was completed with wrought iron spindles, raw cedar handrail and floor to ceiling end post. Upon your entry into the sleeping loft, you will notice the amount of light that enters through the two skylights and large window facing the pond. The sound of water rushing over the pond’s spillway is a delightful addition to this large sleeping loft. Finished with engineered hardwood flooring and two built in double beds with tree trunks for legs, the room can accommodate four additional twin beds. The sleeping loft is also equipped with a kitchenette and a distinctive cedar and rock walled bathroom. The bath features an antique dresser vanity with marble vessel sink, distinctive fixtures and a floor to ceiling polished travertine marble shower with rain head. This bathroom also has an exterior door leading to a secondary upstairs staircase in the back yard. Just envision the great sleepovers the kids or grandkids will have here or how your out of town friends or family will just love this special area designed with their comfort and needs in mind.
Originally constructed in 1925 by “off Broadway” star Rose Grant, this property is rich in history. In the early years, this home was one of the first in Rabun County to generate its own electric from the waterfall. Several small cabins were also built on the property and rented out to guests who came for the waterfall, swim in the pond and connect with nature. Other notable residents were Mrs. and Doctor Fowler who was a local pediatrician. According to an aged newspaper article, Mrs. Fowler was very interested in the indigenous flora and fauna and grew a variety of native plants on the property including some that were rare or endangered. Many metal name tags still remain along the various paths on the property thus reminding you of times gone by and the true beauty of property.
Lastly, this solidly built home has just been structurally solidified, become more energy efficient, and reconfigured to further usable space all while retaining the Lodge’s original charm. After removing the flooring in the kitchen, hall and both bathrooms, the home’s structure and roof were fortified with numerous concrete footers to support both bathrooms, kitchen, and stairwell walls that extend from floor to roof. To make this home more comfortable, energy efficient, and bring it up to modern standards, the electrical system was upgraded to 220 service with the wiring, outlets, electrical panels and fixtures replaced throughout the entire home. A whole house surge protector was also installed to protect against damage that may occur with lightning strikes. Speaking of electric…..the pond’s newly poured formed concrete wall contains a pipe enabling you to install your own hydro-electric system. And whether you might decide to tie into the grid or store you energy in a battery system, you could generate your own electric 24/7. The homes plumbing was also replaced with new pipes, energy/water efficient fixtures in each bathroom (including three Toto toilets), and a new cistern was installed behind the garage with a laboratory grade water filtration system. The task of water heating was completed by a gas Rinnai point of use hot water heater in the utility room and all windows were replaced with Anderson thermal pane and 6 Velux skylights were mounted to bring the outdoors inside. The home’s HVAC system was top of the line several years ago and both sets of new gas logs are controlled with remotes. Formerly a summer home, all exterior walls were studded out with insulation added, and whole house fans were installed in the attic and upstairs bathroom. Although many of these upgrades may not be visible, they allow the home to be more energy efficient and more comfortable……allowing The Lodge at Gold Mine Falls to become your four season retreat.

Restoration and redesigning the plan of the 1929 Copenhagen based private Villa. Interior is a mixture of our own furniture designs, Karina Mencke´s paintings and a selection of old and modern furniture. Photo by E-Soft

The 7,500 SF master bedroom downstairs, open floor plan showcases the universal accessibility of this custom residential design by the OMNIA Group Architects. It highlights many of the needs of today's homeowner. Upon entry, the more traditional grand foyer is experienced providing access to second floor bedrooms. After transitioning through the foyer to the gallery, this unique design reveals itself. The gallery is a central organizing element to first floor living, allowing for private access to the first floor master suite, gathering room and kitchen.
This open first floor plan allows for visual connection throughout. From the central kitchen to dining and breakfast, this first floor layout allows for infinite flexibility no matter what type of gathering. Topped off by a fabulous outdoor covered patio with masonry fireplace. A custom Geothermal heating and air conditioning system helps keep the carbon footprint small and the bills in control. Surely this sustainable design will be valued for generations to come.
Joseph M. Kitchen Photography

Originally built in 1990 the Heady Lakehouse began as a 2,800SF family retreat and now encompasses over 5,635SF. It is located on a steep yet welcoming lot overlooking a cove on Lake Hartwell that pulls you in through retaining walls wrapped with White Brick into a courtyard laid with concrete pavers in an Ashlar Pattern. This whole home renovation allowed us the opportunity to completely enhance the exterior of the home with all new LP Smartside painted with Amherst Gray with trim to match the Quaker new bone white windows for a subtle contrast. You enter the home under a vaulted tongue and groove white washed ceiling facing an entry door surrounded by White brick.
Once inside you’re encompassed by an abundance of natural light flooding in from across the living area from the 9’ triple door with transom windows above. As you make your way into the living area the ceiling opens up to a coffered ceiling which plays off of the 42” fireplace that is situated perpendicular to the dining area. The open layout provides a view into the kitchen as well as the sunroom with floor to ceiling windows boasting panoramic views of the lake. Looking back you see the elegant touches to the kitchen with Quartzite tops, all brass hardware to match the lighting throughout, and a large 4’x8’ Santorini Blue painted island with turned legs to provide a note of color.
The owner’s suite is situated separate to one side of the home allowing a quiet retreat for the homeowners. Details such as the nickel gap accented bed wall, brass wall mounted bed-side lamps, and a large triple window complete the bedroom. Access to the study through the master bedroom further enhances the idea of a private space for the owners to work. It’s bathroom features clean white vanities with Quartz counter tops, brass hardware and fixtures, an obscure glass enclosed shower with natural light, and a separate toilet room.
The left side of the home received the largest addition which included a new over-sized 3 bay garage with a dog washing shower, a new side entry with stair to the upper and a new laundry room. Over these areas, the stair will lead you to two new guest suites featuring a Jack & Jill Bathroom and their own Lounging and Play Area.
The focal point for entertainment is the lower level which features a bar and seating area. Opposite the bar you walk out on the concrete pavers to a covered outdoor kitchen feature a 48” grill, Large Big Green Egg smoker, 30” Diameter Evo Flat-top Grill, and a sink all surrounded by granite countertops that sit atop a white brick base with stainless steel access doors. The kitchen overlooks a 60” gas fire pit that sits adjacent to a custom gunite eight sided hot tub with travertine coping that looks out to the lake. This elegant and timeless approach to this 5,000SF three level addition and renovation allowed the owner to add multiple sleeping and entertainment areas while rejuvenating a beautiful lake front lot with subtle contrasting colors.

This Seattle waterfront home received a design overhaul. The revamped home earns its minimalist design with Nordic profiles and Japanese allure, nestled on the banks of the Lake Washington shoreline. The Laurelhurst neighborhood is charming as well as highly desired for the region. The home is conveniently situated just north of downtown Seattle, filled with commerce, arts and culture. However, its discreet location begs for a slower pace of life with water recreation at the ready. The quiet refuge boasts a private dock and boat house for days full of lakeside enjoyment.
The remodel kept the existing building perimeter intact, observing the tight bounds of the neighborhood. To optimize the location, a minimalist design with awe-inspiring materials was selected. Keeping the exterior simple, the thin white brick base of the home contrasts the Sho Sugi Ban second-story exterior. Furthermore, the gable roof mimics the traditional Scandinavian home profile that is notorious for simplicity.

This lakeside A-Frame cottage required creative space planning. The main level leads to the master bedroom with a private deck. The master bathroom features a space-saving pocket door and a contemporary compact shower and vanity.
Making use of all available space, built-in storage behind the entry door, along the base of the walls, and under the stairway leading to the loft (which serves as both a closet and future sleeping area for guests). All furniture was selected for multi-purpose and maximum storage.
The floors look like a greyed rustic wood, but are actually luxury vinyl tiles...perfect for the in-and-out traffic from water related activities.

This new mountain-contemporary home was designed and built in the private club of Balsam Mountain Preserve, just outside of Asheville, NC. The homeowners wanted a contemporary styled residence that felt at home in the NC mountains.
Rising above the stone base that connects the house to the earth is cedar board and batten siding, Timber corners and entrance porch add a sturdy mountain posture to the overall aesthetic. The top is finished with mono pitched roofs to create dramatic lines and reinforce the contemporary feel.

Stuart Wade, Envision Virtual Tours
The second-largest and most developed of Georgia's barrier islands, St. Simons is approximately twelve miles long and nearly three miles wide at its widest stretch (roughly the size of Manhattan Island in New York). The island is located in Glynn County on Georgia's coast and lies east of Brunswick (the seat of Glynn County), south of Little St. Simons Island and the Hampton River, and north of Jekyll Island. The resort community of Sea Island is separated from St. Simons on the east by the Black Banks River. Known for its oak tree canopies and historic landmarks, St. Simons is both a tourist destination and, according to the 2010 U.S. census, home to 12,743 residents.
Early History
The earliest
St. Simons Island Village
record of human habitation on the island dates to the Late Archaic Period, about 5,000 to 3,000 years ago. Remnants of shell rings left behind by Native Americans from this era survive on many of the barrier islands, including St. Simons. Centuries later, during the period known by historians as the chiefdom era, the Guale Indians established a chiefdom centered on St. Catherines Island and used St. Simons as their hunting and fishing grounds. By 1500 the Guale had established a permanent village of about 200 people on St. Simons, which they called Guadalquini.
Beginning in 1568, the Spanish attempted to create missions along the Georgia coast. Catholic missions were the primary means by which Georgia's indigenous Native American chiefdoms were assimilated into the Spanish colonial system along the northern frontier of greater Spanish Florida. In the 1600s St. Simons became home to two Spanish missions: San Buenaventura de Guadalquini, on the southern tip of the island, and Santo Domingo de Asao (or Asajo), on the northern tip. Located on the inland side of the island were the pagan refugee villages of San Simón, the island's namesake, and Ocotonico. In 1684 pirate raids left the missions and villages largely abandoned.
Colonial History
As
Fort Frederica
early as 1670, with Great Britain's establishment of the colony of Carolina and its expansion into Georgia territory, Spanish rule was threatened by the English. The Georgia coast was considered "debatable land" by England and Spain, even though Spain had fully retreated from St. Simons by 1702. Thirty-one years later General James Edward Oglethorpe founded the English settlement of Savannah. In 1736 he established Fort Frederica, named after the heir to the British throne, Frederick Louis, prince of Wales, on the west side of St. Simons Island to protect Savannah and the Carolinas from the Spanish threat.
Between 1736 and 1749 Fort Frederica was the hub of British military operations along the Georgia frontier. A town of the same name grew up around the fort and was of great importance to the new colony. By 1740 Frederica's population was 1,000. In 1736 the congregation of what would become Christ Church was organized within Fort Frederica as a mission of the Church of England. Charles Wesley led the first services. In 1742 Britain's decisive victory over Spain in the Battle of Bloody Marsh, during the War of Jenkins' Ear, ended the Spanish threat to the Georgia coast. When the British regimen disbanded in 1749, most of the townspeople relocated to the mainland. Fort Frederica went into decline and, except for a short time of prosperity during the 1760s and 1770s under the leadership of merchant James Spalding, never fully recovered. Today the historic citadel's tabby ruins are maintained by the National Park Service.
Plantation Era
By the start of the American Revolution (1775-83), Fort Frederica was obsolete, and St. Simons was left largely uninhabited as most of its residents joined the patriot army. Besides hosting a small Georgia naval victory on the Fort Frederica River, providing guns from its famous fort for use at Fort Morris in Sunbury, and serving as an arena for pillaging by privateers and British soldiers, the island played almost no role in the war.
Following the war, many of the townspeople, their businesses destroyed, turned to agriculture. The island was transformed into fourteen cotton plantations after acres of live oak trees were cleared for farm land and used for building American warships, including the famous USS Constitution, or "Old Ironsides." Although rice was the predominant crop along the neighboring Altamaha River, St. Simons was known for its production of long-staple cotton, which soon came to be known as Sea Island cotton.
Between
Ebos Landing
the 1780s and the outbreak of the Civil War (1861-65), St. Simons's plantation culture flourished. The saline atmosphere and the availability of cheap slave labor proved an ideal combination for the cultivation of Sea Island cotton. In 1803 a group of Ebo slaves who survived the Middle Passage and arrived on the west side of St. Simons staged a rebellion and drowned themselves. The sacred site is known today as Ebos Landing.
One of the largest owners of land and slaves on St. Simons was Pierce Butler, master of Hampton Point Plantation, located on the northern end of the island. By 1793 Butler owned more than 500 slaves, who cultivated 800 acres of cotton on St. Simons and 300 acres of rice on Butler's Island in the Altamaha River delta. Butler's grandson, Pierce Mease Butler, who at the age of sixteen inherited a share of his grandfather's estate in 1826, was responsible for the largest sale of human beings in the history of the United States: in 1859, to restore his squandered fortune, he sold 429 slaves in Savannah for more than $300,000. The British actress and writer Fanny Kemble, whose tumultuous marriage to Pierce ended in divorce in 1849, published an eyewitness account of the evils of slavery on St. Simons in her book Journal of a Residence on a Georgian Plantation in 1838-1839 (1863).
Another
Retreat Plantation
large owner of land and slaves on St. Simons was Major William Page, a friend and employee of Pierce Butler Sr. Before purchasing Retreat Plantation on the southwestern tip of the island in 1804, Page managed the Hampton plantation and Butler's Island. Upon Page's death in 1827, Thomas Butler King inherited the land together with his wife, Page's daughter, Anna Matilda Page King. King expanded his father-in-law's planting empire on St. Simons as well as on the mainland, and by 1835 Retreat Plantation alone was home to as many as 355 slaves.
The center of life during the island's plantation era was Christ Church, Frederica. Organized in 1807 by a group of island planters, the Episcopal church is the second oldest in the Diocese of Georgia. Embargoes imposed by the War of 1812 (1812-15) prevented the parishioners from building a church structure, so they worshiped in the home of John Beck, which stood on the site of Oglethorpe's only St. Simons residence, Orange Hall.
The first Christ Church building, finished on the present site in 1820, was ruined by occupying Union troops during the Civil War. In 1884 the Reverend Anson Dodge Jr. rebuilt the church as a memorial to his first wife, Ellen. The cruciform building with a trussed gothic roof and stained-glass windows remains active today as Christ Church.
Civil War and Beyond
The
St. Simons Island Lighthouse
outbreak of the Civil War in 1861 put a sudden end to St. Simons's lucrative plantation era. In January of that year, Confederate troops were stationed at the south end of the island to guard the entrance to Brunswick Harbor. Slaves from Retreat Plantation, owned by Thomas Butler King, built earthworks and batteries. Plantation residents were scattered—the men joined the Confederate army and their families moved to the mainland. Cannon fire was heard on the island in December 1861, and Confederate troops retreated in February 1862, after dynamiting the lighthouse to keep its beacon from aiding Union troops. Soon thereafter, Union troops occupied the island, which was used as a camp for freed slaves. By August 1862 more than 500 former slaves lived on St. Simons, including Susie King Taylor, who organized a school for freed slave children. But in November the ex-slaves were taken to Hilton Head, South Carolina, and Fernandina, Florida, leaving the island abandoned.
After the Civil War the island never returned to its status as an agricultural community. The plantations lay dormant because there were no slaves to work the fields. After Union general William T. Sherman's January 1865 Special Field Order No. 15 —a demand that former plantations be divided and distributed to former slaves—was overturned by U.S. president Andrew Johnson less than a year later, freedmen and women were forced to work as sharecroppers on the small farms that dotted the land previously occupied by the sprawling plantations.
By
St. Simons Lumber Mills
1870 real economic recovery began with the reestablishment of the timber industry. Norman Dodge and Titus G. Meigs of New York set up lumber mill operations at Gascoigne Bluff, formerly Hamilton Plantation. The lumber mills provided welcome employment for both blacks and whites and also provided mail and passenger boats to the mainland. Such water traffic, together with the construction of a new lighthouse in 1872, designed by architect Charles B. Cluskey, marked the beginning of St. Simons's tourism industry. The keeper of the lighthouse created a small amusement park, which drew many visitors, as did the seemingly miraculous light that traveled from the top of the lighthouse tower to the bottom. The island became a summer retreat for families from the mainland, particularly from Baxley, Brunswick, and Waycross.
The island's resort industry was thriving by the 1880s. Beachfront structures, such as a new pier and grand hotel, were built on the southeastern end of the island and could be accessed by ferry. Around this time wealthy northerners began vacationing on the island.
Twentieth Century
The
St. Simons Island Pier and Village
opening in 1924 of the Brunswick–St. Simons Highway, today known as the Torras Causeway, was a milestone in the development of resorts in the area. St. Simons's beaches were now easily accessible to locals and tourists alike. More than 5,000 automobiles took the short drive from Brunswick to St. Simons via the causeway on its opening day, paving the way for convenient residential and resort development.
In 1926 automotive pioneer Howard Coffin of Detroit, Michigan, bought large tracts of land on St. Simons, including the former Retreat Plantation, and constructed a golf course, yacht club, paved roads, and a residential subdivision. Although the causeway had brought large numbers of summer people to the island, St. Simons remained a small community with only a few hundred permanent residents until the 1940s.
The
St. Simons Island
outbreak of World War II (1941-45) brought more visitors and residents to St. Simons. Troops stationed at Jacksonville, Florida; Savannah; and nearby Camp Stewart took weekend vacations on the island, and a new naval air base and radar school became home to even more officers and soldiers. The increased wartime population brought the island its first public school. With a major shipyard for the production of Liberty ships in nearby Brunswick, the waters of St. Simons became active with German U-boats. In April 1942, just off the coast, the Texas Company oil tanker S. S. Oklahoma and the S. S. Esso Baton Rouge were torpedoed by the Germans, bringing the war very close to home for island residents.
Due in large part to the military's improvement of the island's infrastructure during the war, development on the island boomed in the 1950s and 1960s. More permanent homes and subdivisions were built, and the island was no longer just a summer resort but also a thriving community. In 1950 the Methodist conference and retreat center Epworth by the Sea opened on Gascoigne Bluff. In 1961 novelist Eugenia Price visited St. Simons and began work on her first works of fiction, known as the St. Simons Trilogy. Inspired by real events on the island, Price's trilogy renewed interest in the history of Georgia's coast, and the novelist herself relocated to the island in 1965 and lived there for thirty-one years. St. Simons is also home to contemporary Georgia writer Tina McElroy Ansa.
Since
Epworth by the Sea
1980 St. Simons's population has doubled. The island's continued status as a vacation destination and its ongoing development boom have put historic landmarks and natural areas at risk. While such landmarks as the Fort Frederica ruins and the Battle of Bloody Marsh site are preserved and maintained by the National Park Service, and while the historic lighthouse is maintained by the Coastal Georgia Historical Society, historic Ebos Landing has been taken over by a sewage treatment plant.
Several coastal organizations have formed in recent years to save natural areas on the island. The St. Simons Land Trust, for example, has received donations of large tracts of land and plans to protect property in the island's three traditional African American neighborhoods. Despite its rapid growth and development, St. Simons remains one of the most beautiful and important islands on the Georgia coast.

Builder: AVB Inc.
Interior Design: Vision Interiors by Visbeen
Photographer: Ashley Avila Photography
The Holloway blends the recent revival of mid-century aesthetics with the timelessness of a country farmhouse. Each façade features playfully arranged windows tucked under steeply pitched gables. Natural wood lapped siding emphasizes this homes more modern elements, while classic white board & batten covers the core of this house. A rustic stone water table wraps around the base and contours down into the rear view-out terrace.
Inside, a wide hallway connects the foyer to the den and living spaces through smooth case-less openings. Featuring a grey stone fireplace, tall windows, and vaulted wood ceiling, the living room bridges between the kitchen and den. The kitchen picks up some mid-century through the use of flat-faced upper and lower cabinets with chrome pulls. Richly toned wood chairs and table cap off the dining room, which is surrounded by windows on three sides. The grand staircase, to the left, is viewable from the outside through a set of giant casement windows on the upper landing. A spacious master suite is situated off of this upper landing. Featuring separate closets, a tiled bath with tub and shower, this suite has a perfect view out to the rear yard through the bedrooms rear windows. All the way upstairs, and to the right of the staircase, is four separate bedrooms. Downstairs, under the master suite, is a gymnasium. This gymnasium is connected to the outdoors through an overhead door and is perfect for athletic activities or storing a boat during cold months. The lower level also features a living room with view out windows and a private guest suite.

Sponsored
Columbus, OH
Hope Restoration & General Contracting
Columbus Design-Build, Kitchen & Bath Remodeling, Historic Renovations

This garden is a perfect example of contemporary city design for a small space. Two custom built hardwood planters provide some height and depth to the narrow front yard. While the tile walkway is set on a stable concrete base ensuring safe passage in and out of the home in both summer and winter. The private back yard maximizes space by using a custom built hardwood table as both an architectural piece that defines the firepit area, and an optional servery for larger dining parties.

HAR listing 9676247
Stately old-world European-inspired custom estate on 1.10 park-like acres just completed in Hunters Creek. Private & gated 125 foot driveway leads to architectural masterpiece. Master suites on 1st and 2nd floor, game room, home theater, full quarters, 1,000+ bottle climate controlled wine room, elevator, generator ready, pool, spa, hot tub, large covered porches & arbor, outdoor kitchen w/ pizza oven, stone circular driveway, custom carved stone fireplace mantels, planters and fountain.
Call 281-252-6100 for more information about this home.

Designed by Bilotta’s Fabrice Garson, this expansive traditional kitchen features our private Bilotta Collection Cabinetry in white paint with double stacked wall cabinets leading up to the coffered ceiling. The massive island houses multiple appliances, including a warming drawer, microwave and dishwasher next to the main sink, as well as large drawers for ample storage. Island seating allows for less formal dining or a place for the children to do their homework while mom prepares dinner. Two wall ovens flanking the 48” Wolf range top create a perfect cooking “nook” and the side-by-side fully integrated 36” Sub-Zero refrigerator and freezer allow for plenty of food storage. On either side of the refrigeration are two tall pull-out pantries concealing snacks, spices, baking supplies and more. Every drawer in the space has its individual purpose, whether it be to house cutlery or fine china. The coffered ceiling, a trademark of many of Fabrice’s designs, really open up the space and intertwine it with the adjacent rooms for an overall open feeling – very bright and inviting. The wall on the other side of the island from the cooking wall features a secondary prep sink with a second dishwasher and a under counter beverage center, again, with plenty of storage in both the base and wall cabinets. The backsplash is mostly wood paneling except for the wall behind the range top where there is a custom designed marble mosaic pattern. The countertops are Vermont Super White quartzite with a double ogee edge.
Photographer – Peter Krupenye
67

