Search results for "Start recording" in Home Design Ideas

Traditional kitchen remodel designed by Ron Fisher in Woodbridgde, Connecticut
To get more detailed information copy and paste this link into your browser. https://thekitchencompany.com/blog/featured-kitchen-elegant-addition,
Photographer, Dennis Carbo

This classic Spanish home in South Pasadena was decorated to reflect the homeowners bohemian style, vintage collections, and subtle art deco features in the architecture. Highlights include a hand-painted ceiling mural, custom cat covers on sofa, and a vintage record player.
Photos by Erika Bierman www.erikabiermanphotography.com
Photos by Erika Bierman www.erikabiermanphotography.com

Love is all around Dick "RJ" Valentine, especially when he enters his home garage.
A professional race car driver, entrepreneur, chairman of The MBA Group of Companies, and owner of F1 Boston and F1 Outdoors kart racing facility, Dick is surrounded by some of his most prized possessions: a radiant blue Hennessey Venom Viper 650, a twin turbo Porsche, a 500e Mercedes, and a BMW model 750il, an M5 and an M6.
And that's just the four-wheelers. Dick's garage is also home to four motorcycles: a BMW 1200LT, a BMW 1200RS, a Ducati 996F, and a Ducati ST4F. "I've basically driven everything short of the space shuttle," he jokes. His wife adds, "If it doesn't make noise, leak or have wheels, Dick doesn't want any part of it!"
Driving for gold.
RJ has been racing professionally for 30 years and has raced virtually every type of competitive race car at tracks all over the world, including IMSA Corvettes, Trans-Am Camaros, Riley & Scott MK3 World Sports Cars, BMW M3 V8's, Dodge Vipers, Porsche 911s, Pontiac GTO.Rs and Porsche GT3s. He has more than 325 professional road racing starts, and is one of only seven people to eclipse 120 starts in the Trans-Am Series. RJ's career Trans-Am record includes a 62% incidence of top ten finishes and in excess of 20 top-five finishes. In 2007, RJ and teammate Andy Lally claimed 5 victories, 2 seconds and placed 3rd for the 2007 GT Championship in the Grand-Am Rolex Sports Car Series aboard the #66 TRG CRG/Maxter Porsche GT3. He has driven in over 20 consecutive Rolex 24 Hours at Daytona, a significant achievement given the grueling nature of this 24-hour endurance race.
He uses his garage to house and service not only his personal vehicles, but his professional karts as well. That's where Lista comes in. Dick stores all his tools and parts using Lista garage workbenches with drawer cabinet pedestals, stationary riser shelves and overhead cabinets with retractable doors.
"We use only Lista equipment in our racing trailers and at F1 Boston. In the racing environment, precision and quality are the name of the game. Lista is the gold standard in the business. So I wouldn't have used anything but Lista in my own garage."
Find the right local pro for your project

First home, savvy art owners, decided to hire RBD to design their recently purchased two story, four bedroom, midcentury Diamond Heights home to merge their new parenthood and love for entertaining lifestyles. Hired two months prior to the arrival of their baby boy, RBD was successful in installing the nursery just in time. The home required little architectural spatial reconfiguration given the previous owner was an architect, allowing RBD to focus mainly on furniture, fixtures and accessories while updating only a few finishes. New paint grade paneling added a needed midcentury texture to the entry, while an existing site for sore eyes radiator, received a new walnut cover creating a built-in mid-century custom headboard for the guest room, perfect for large art and plant decoration. RBD successfully paired furniture and art selections to connect the existing material finishes by keeping fabrics neutral and complimentary to the existing finishes. The backyard, an SF rare oasis, showcases a hanging chair and custom outdoor floor cushions for easy lounging, while a stylish midcentury heated bench allows easy outdoor entertaining in the SF climate.
Photography Credit: Scott Hargis Photography

 
Free ebook, Creating the Ideal Kitchen. DOWNLOAD NOW
 
Our clients had been in their home since the early 1980’s and decided it was time for some updates. We took on the kitchen, two bathrooms and a powder room.
The layout in the kitchen was functional for them, so we kept that pretty much as is. Our client wanted a contemporary-leaning transitional look — nice clean lines with a gray and white palette. Light gray cabinets with a slightly darker gray subway tile keep the northern exposure light and airy. They also purchased some new furniture for their breakfast room and adjoining family room, so the whole space looks completely styled and new. The light fixtures are staggered and give a nice rhythm to the otherwise serene feel.
The homeowners were not 100% sold on the flooring choice for little powder room off the kitchen when I first showed it, but now they think it is one of the most interesting features of the design. I always try to “push” my clients a little bit because that’s when things can get really fun and this is what you are paying for after all, ideas that you may not come up with on your own.
We also worked on the two upstairs bathrooms. We started first on the hall bath which was basically just in need of a face lift. The floor is porcelain tile made to look like carrera marble. The vanity is white Shaker doors fitted with a white quartz top. We re-glazed the cast iron tub.
The master bath was a tub to shower conversion. We used a wood look porcelain plank on the main floor along with a Kohler Tailored vanity. The custom shower has a barn door shower door, and vinyl wallpaper in the sink area gives a rich textured look to the space. Overall, it’s a pretty sophisticated look for its smaller fooprint.
Designed by: Susan Klimala, CKD, CBD
Photography by: Michael Alan Kaskel
For more information on kitchen and bath design ideas go to: www.kitchenstudio-ge.com

Mid-sized ornate dark wood floor powder room photo in Atlanta with furniture-like cabinets, medium tone wood cabinets, a one-piece toilet, multicolored walls, a drop-in sink, wood countertops and brown countertops

Colin Price Photography
Example of a mid-sized eclectic formal and open concept medium tone wood floor living room design in San Francisco with blue walls, a corner fireplace, a tile fireplace and a wall-mounted tv
Example of a mid-sized eclectic formal and open concept medium tone wood floor living room design in San Francisco with blue walls, a corner fireplace, a tile fireplace and a wall-mounted tv

Love is all around Dick "RJ" Valentine, especially when he enters his home garage.
A professional race car driver, entrepreneur, chairman of The MBA Group of Companies, and owner of F1 Boston and F1 Outdoors kart racing facility, Dick is surrounded by some of his most prized possessions: a radiant blue Hennessey Venom Viper 650, a twin turbo Porsche, a 500e Mercedes, and a BMW model 750il, an M5 and an M6.
And that's just the four-wheelers. Dick's garage is also home to four motorcycles: a BMW 1200LT, a BMW 1200RS, a Ducati 996F, and a Ducati ST4F. "I've basically driven everything short of the space shuttle," he jokes. His wife adds, "If it doesn't make noise, leak or have wheels, Dick doesn't want any part of it!"
Driving for gold.
RJ has been racing professionally for 30 years and has raced virtually every type of competitive race car at tracks all over the world, including IMSA Corvettes, Trans-Am Camaros, Riley & Scott MK3 World Sports Cars, BMW M3 V8's, Dodge Vipers, Porsche 911s, Pontiac GTO.Rs and Porsche GT3s. He has more than 325 professional road racing starts, and is one of only seven people to eclipse 120 starts in the Trans-Am Series. RJ's career Trans-Am record includes a 62% incidence of top ten finishes and in excess of 20 top-five finishes. In 2007, RJ and teammate Andy Lally claimed 5 victories, 2 seconds and placed 3rd for the 2007 GT Championship in the Grand-Am Rolex Sports Car Series aboard the #66 TRG CRG/Maxter Porsche GT3. He has driven in over 20 consecutive Rolex 24 Hours at Daytona, a significant achievement given the grueling nature of this 24-hour endurance race.
He uses his garage to house and service not only his personal vehicles, but his professional karts as well. That's where Lista comes in. Dick stores all his tools and parts using Lista garage workbenches with drawer cabinet pedestals, stationary riser shelves and overhead cabinets with retractable doors.
"We use only Lista equipment in our racing trailers and at F1 Boston. In the racing environment, precision and quality are the name of the game. Lista is the gold standard in the business. So I wouldn't have used anything but Lista in my own garage."

Stuart Wade, Envision Virtual Tours
The second-largest and most developed of Georgia's barrier islands, St. Simons is approximately twelve miles long and nearly three miles wide at its widest stretch (roughly the size of Manhattan Island in New York). The island is located in Glynn County on Georgia's coast and lies east of Brunswick (the seat of Glynn County), south of Little St. Simons Island and the Hampton River, and north of Jekyll Island. The resort community of Sea Island is separated from St. Simons on the east by the Black Banks River. Known for its oak tree canopies and historic landmarks, St. Simons is both a tourist destination and, according to the 2010 U.S. census, home to 12,743 residents.
Early History
The earliest
St. Simons Island Village
record of human habitation on the island dates to the Late Archaic Period, about 5,000 to 3,000 years ago. Remnants of shell rings left behind by Native Americans from this era survive on many of the barrier islands, including St. Simons. Centuries later, during the period known by historians as the chiefdom era, the Guale Indians established a chiefdom centered on St. Catherines Island and used St. Simons as their hunting and fishing grounds. By 1500 the Guale had established a permanent village of about 200 people on St. Simons, which they called Guadalquini.
Beginning in 1568, the Spanish attempted to create missions along the Georgia coast. Catholic missions were the primary means by which Georgia's indigenous Native American chiefdoms were assimilated into the Spanish colonial system along the northern frontier of greater Spanish Florida. In the 1600s St. Simons became home to two Spanish missions: San Buenaventura de Guadalquini, on the southern tip of the island, and Santo Domingo de Asao (or Asajo), on the northern tip. Located on the inland side of the island were the pagan refugee villages of San Simón, the island's namesake, and Ocotonico. In 1684 pirate raids left the missions and villages largely abandoned.
Colonial History
As
Fort Frederica
early as 1670, with Great Britain's establishment of the colony of Carolina and its expansion into Georgia territory, Spanish rule was threatened by the English. The Georgia coast was considered "debatable land" by England and Spain, even though Spain had fully retreated from St. Simons by 1702. Thirty-one years later General James Edward Oglethorpe founded the English settlement of Savannah. In 1736 he established Fort Frederica, named after the heir to the British throne, Frederick Louis, prince of Wales, on the west side of St. Simons Island to protect Savannah and the Carolinas from the Spanish threat.
Between 1736 and 1749 Fort Frederica was the hub of British military operations along the Georgia frontier. A town of the same name grew up around the fort and was of great importance to the new colony. By 1740 Frederica's population was 1,000. In 1736 the congregation of what would become Christ Church was organized within Fort Frederica as a mission of the Church of England. Charles Wesley led the first services. In 1742 Britain's decisive victory over Spain in the Battle of Bloody Marsh, during the War of Jenkins' Ear, ended the Spanish threat to the Georgia coast. When the British regimen disbanded in 1749, most of the townspeople relocated to the mainland. Fort Frederica went into decline and, except for a short time of prosperity during the 1760s and 1770s under the leadership of merchant James Spalding, never fully recovered. Today the historic citadel's tabby ruins are maintained by the National Park Service.
Plantation Era
By the start of the American Revolution (1775-83), Fort Frederica was obsolete, and St. Simons was left largely uninhabited as most of its residents joined the patriot army. Besides hosting a small Georgia naval victory on the Fort Frederica River, providing guns from its famous fort for use at Fort Morris in Sunbury, and serving as an arena for pillaging by privateers and British soldiers, the island played almost no role in the war.
Following the war, many of the townspeople, their businesses destroyed, turned to agriculture. The island was transformed into fourteen cotton plantations after acres of live oak trees were cleared for farm land and used for building American warships, including the famous USS Constitution, or "Old Ironsides." Although rice was the predominant crop along the neighboring Altamaha River, St. Simons was known for its production of long-staple cotton, which soon came to be known as Sea Island cotton.
Between
Ebos Landing
the 1780s and the outbreak of the Civil War (1861-65), St. Simons's plantation culture flourished. The saline atmosphere and the availability of cheap slave labor proved an ideal combination for the cultivation of Sea Island cotton. In 1803 a group of Ebo slaves who survived the Middle Passage and arrived on the west side of St. Simons staged a rebellion and drowned themselves. The sacred site is known today as Ebos Landing.
One of the largest owners of land and slaves on St. Simons was Pierce Butler, master of Hampton Point Plantation, located on the northern end of the island. By 1793 Butler owned more than 500 slaves, who cultivated 800 acres of cotton on St. Simons and 300 acres of rice on Butler's Island in the Altamaha River delta. Butler's grandson, Pierce Mease Butler, who at the age of sixteen inherited a share of his grandfather's estate in 1826, was responsible for the largest sale of human beings in the history of the United States: in 1859, to restore his squandered fortune, he sold 429 slaves in Savannah for more than $300,000. The British actress and writer Fanny Kemble, whose tumultuous marriage to Pierce ended in divorce in 1849, published an eyewitness account of the evils of slavery on St. Simons in her book Journal of a Residence on a Georgian Plantation in 1838-1839 (1863).
Another
Retreat Plantation
large owner of land and slaves on St. Simons was Major William Page, a friend and employee of Pierce Butler Sr. Before purchasing Retreat Plantation on the southwestern tip of the island in 1804, Page managed the Hampton plantation and Butler's Island. Upon Page's death in 1827, Thomas Butler King inherited the land together with his wife, Page's daughter, Anna Matilda Page King. King expanded his father-in-law's planting empire on St. Simons as well as on the mainland, and by 1835 Retreat Plantation alone was home to as many as 355 slaves.
The center of life during the island's plantation era was Christ Church, Frederica. Organized in 1807 by a group of island planters, the Episcopal church is the second oldest in the Diocese of Georgia. Embargoes imposed by the War of 1812 (1812-15) prevented the parishioners from building a church structure, so they worshiped in the home of John Beck, which stood on the site of Oglethorpe's only St. Simons residence, Orange Hall.
The first Christ Church building, finished on the present site in 1820, was ruined by occupying Union troops during the Civil War. In 1884 the Reverend Anson Dodge Jr. rebuilt the church as a memorial to his first wife, Ellen. The cruciform building with a trussed gothic roof and stained-glass windows remains active today as Christ Church.
Civil War and Beyond
The
St. Simons Island Lighthouse
outbreak of the Civil War in 1861 put a sudden end to St. Simons's lucrative plantation era. In January of that year, Confederate troops were stationed at the south end of the island to guard the entrance to Brunswick Harbor. Slaves from Retreat Plantation, owned by Thomas Butler King, built earthworks and batteries. Plantation residents were scattered—the men joined the Confederate army and their families moved to the mainland. Cannon fire was heard on the island in December 1861, and Confederate troops retreated in February 1862, after dynamiting the lighthouse to keep its beacon from aiding Union troops. Soon thereafter, Union troops occupied the island, which was used as a camp for freed slaves. By August 1862 more than 500 former slaves lived on St. Simons, including Susie King Taylor, who organized a school for freed slave children. But in November the ex-slaves were taken to Hilton Head, South Carolina, and Fernandina, Florida, leaving the island abandoned.
After the Civil War the island never returned to its status as an agricultural community. The plantations lay dormant because there were no slaves to work the fields. After Union general William T. Sherman's January 1865 Special Field Order No. 15 —a demand that former plantations be divided and distributed to former slaves—was overturned by U.S. president Andrew Johnson less than a year later, freedmen and women were forced to work as sharecroppers on the small farms that dotted the land previously occupied by the sprawling plantations.
By
St. Simons Lumber Mills
1870 real economic recovery began with the reestablishment of the timber industry. Norman Dodge and Titus G. Meigs of New York set up lumber mill operations at Gascoigne Bluff, formerly Hamilton Plantation. The lumber mills provided welcome employment for both blacks and whites and also provided mail and passenger boats to the mainland. Such water traffic, together with the construction of a new lighthouse in 1872, designed by architect Charles B. Cluskey, marked the beginning of St. Simons's tourism industry. The keeper of the lighthouse created a small amusement park, which drew many visitors, as did the seemingly miraculous light that traveled from the top of the lighthouse tower to the bottom. The island became a summer retreat for families from the mainland, particularly from Baxley, Brunswick, and Waycross.
The island's resort industry was thriving by the 1880s. Beachfront structures, such as a new pier and grand hotel, were built on the southeastern end of the island and could be accessed by ferry. Around this time wealthy northerners began vacationing on the island.
Twentieth Century
The
St. Simons Island Pier and Village
opening in 1924 of the Brunswick–St. Simons Highway, today known as the Torras Causeway, was a milestone in the development of resorts in the area. St. Simons's beaches were now easily accessible to locals and tourists alike. More than 5,000 automobiles took the short drive from Brunswick to St. Simons via the causeway on its opening day, paving the way for convenient residential and resort development.
In 1926 automotive pioneer Howard Coffin of Detroit, Michigan, bought large tracts of land on St. Simons, including the former Retreat Plantation, and constructed a golf course, yacht club, paved roads, and a residential subdivision. Although the causeway had brought large numbers of summer people to the island, St. Simons remained a small community with only a few hundred permanent residents until the 1940s.
The
St. Simons Island
outbreak of World War II (1941-45) brought more visitors and residents to St. Simons. Troops stationed at Jacksonville, Florida; Savannah; and nearby Camp Stewart took weekend vacations on the island, and a new naval air base and radar school became home to even more officers and soldiers. The increased wartime population brought the island its first public school. With a major shipyard for the production of Liberty ships in nearby Brunswick, the waters of St. Simons became active with German U-boats. In April 1942, just off the coast, the Texas Company oil tanker S. S. Oklahoma and the S. S. Esso Baton Rouge were torpedoed by the Germans, bringing the war very close to home for island residents.
Due in large part to the military's improvement of the island's infrastructure during the war, development on the island boomed in the 1950s and 1960s. More permanent homes and subdivisions were built, and the island was no longer just a summer resort but also a thriving community. In 1950 the Methodist conference and retreat center Epworth by the Sea opened on Gascoigne Bluff. In 1961 novelist Eugenia Price visited St. Simons and began work on her first works of fiction, known as the St. Simons Trilogy. Inspired by real events on the island, Price's trilogy renewed interest in the history of Georgia's coast, and the novelist herself relocated to the island in 1965 and lived there for thirty-one years. St. Simons is also home to contemporary Georgia writer Tina McElroy Ansa.
Since
Epworth by the Sea
1980 St. Simons's population has doubled. The island's continued status as a vacation destination and its ongoing development boom have put historic landmarks and natural areas at risk. While such landmarks as the Fort Frederica ruins and the Battle of Bloody Marsh site are preserved and maintained by the National Park Service, and while the historic lighthouse is maintained by the Coastal Georgia Historical Society, historic Ebos Landing has been taken over by a sewage treatment plant.
Several coastal organizations have formed in recent years to save natural areas on the island. The St. Simons Land Trust, for example, has received donations of large tracts of land and plans to protect property in the island's three traditional African American neighborhoods. Despite its rapid growth and development, St. Simons remains one of the most beautiful and important islands on the Georgia coast.

Example of a mid-sized transitional u-shaped dark wood floor eat-in kitchen design in New York with a farmhouse sink, shaker cabinets, white cabinets, granite countertops, beige backsplash, stainless steel appliances and no island

Inspiration for a large transitional u-shaped dark wood floor and brown floor enclosed kitchen remodel in San Francisco with an undermount sink, recessed-panel cabinets, white cabinets, granite countertops, white backsplash, stone tile backsplash, stainless steel appliances and an island

For a family who believes fitness is not only an essential part of life but also a fun opportunity for the whole family to connect, build and achieve greatness together there is nothing better than a custom designed obstacle course right in your back yard.
THEME
The theme of this half mile trail through the woods is evident in the fun, creative and all-inclusive obstacles hidden in the natural flow of the land around this amazing family home. The course was created with adults and children, advanced and beginner athletes, competitive and entertaining events all accounted for. Each of the 13 obstacles was designed to be challenging no matter the size, skill or ability of the athlete lucky enough to run the course.
FOCUS
The focus for this family was to create an outdoor adventure that could be an athletic, social and personal outlet for their entire family while maintaining the natural beauty of the landscape and without altering the sweeping views from the home. The large scale of the challenging obstacles is camouflaged within the landscape using the rolling hills and mature trees as a natural curtain in every season. The beauty of the course does not diminish the functional and demanding nature of the obstacles which are designed to focus on multiple strength, agility, and cardio fitness abilities and intensities.
STORAGE
The start of the trail includes a raised training area offering a dedicated space clear from the ground to place bags, mats and other equipment used during the run. A small all-terrain storage cart was provided for use with 6 yoga mats, 3 medicine balls of various weights, rings, sprinting cones, and a large digital timer to record laps.
GROWTH
The course was designed to provide an athletic and fun challenge for children, teens and adults no matter their experience or athletic prowess. This course offers competitive athletes a challenge and budding athletes an opportunity to experience and ignite their passion for physical activity. Initially the concept for the course was focused on the youngest of the family however as the design grew so did the obstacles and now it is a true family experience that will meet their adapting needs for years. Each obstacle is paired with an instructional sign directing the runners in proper use of the obstacle, adaptations for skill levels and tips on form. These signs are all customized for this course and are printed on metal to ensure they last for many years.
SAFETY
Safety is crucial for all physical activity and an obstacle course of this scale presents unique safety concerns. Children should always be supervised when participating in an adventure on the course however additional care was paid to details on the course to ensure everyone has a great time. All of the course obstacles have been created with pressure treated lumber that will withstand the seasonal poundings. All footer pilings that support obstacles have been placed into the ground between 3 to 4 feet (.9 to 1.2 meters) and each piling has 2 to 3 bags of concrete (totaling over 90 bags used throughout the course) ensuring stability of the structure and safety of the participants. Additionally, all obstacle lumber has been given rounded corners and sanded down offering less splintering and more time for everyone to enjoy the course.
This athletic and charismatic family strives to incorporate a healthy active lifestyle into their daily life and this obstacle course offers their family an opportunity to strengthen themselves and host some memorable and active events at their amazing home.

Let’s be honest. Chimney cleaning probably isn’t the first thing on your spring to-do list. But if you used your fireplace this past winter, scheduling a chimney sweep before warm weather arrives is one of the best home maintenance decisions you can make. Here’s why Spring is the best time to schedule your chimney cleaning.
Your Chimney Just Worked Hard All Winter
It’s tired, simply burnt out! Every time you burned wood this season, creosote, also known as soot, was clinging to the inner walls of your chimney. It’s a natural byproduct of burning wood, but it’s also highly flammable and the leading cause of chimney fires. The longer it sits, the more it builds up. A professional chimney sweep, such as Superior Chimney, takes a look at your chimney flue liner, damper, and firebox — clearing it all out before that creosote becomes a serious issue.
Spring is the Best Time to Take Care of the Chimney
Fall is when everyone panics. The temperature drops, and the fireplace suddenly seems appealing. By scheduling now, in spring, you get to clean your chimney now so your house doesn’t smell from the creosote left in your fireplace and chimney Superior Chimney includes a FREE 14-Point Certified Written Inspection with photo documentation sent straight to your email with every chimney sweep we do. That’s the kind of full-service you want, and you’re more likely to get it when things aren’t hectic.
Catch Problems Before They Get Expensive
Here’s something homeowners don’t regularly remember: a chimney sweep isn’t just about cleaning. It’s about integrity. When a CSIA Certified Chimney Sweep technician pushes rods and brushes through your chimney system, if pieces of fire clay tile, tile joints, or brick start falling, that tells you exactly where a structural issue exists. That’s critical information for fireworthy, continued use of your fireplace.
Avoid Any Obstructions
Obstruction-free chimney systems is another key reason for a spring chimney sweep. Birds, squirrels, and raccoons love a quiet chimney during the warmer (and definitely the cold) months. Nesting, debris, and feces can create blockages, and a simple cleaning alone won’t remove most of them. Knowing what’s going on inside your chimney before critters move in is a whole lot easier than dealing with it in October.
It’s the National Safety Standard — Not Just a Suggestion
The NFPA 211, CSIA, NCSG, and IRC all recommend annual chimney inspections and cleanings for both wood burning and gas fireplaces. It’s not optional; it’s a safety standard. As the CSIA puts it simply: clean chimneys don’t catch fire. Well put CSIA.
Did You Know?
All of Superior Chimney’s technicians are certified by the CSIA, so you know you’re getting expertise you can trust. Then we take the extra step of taking pictures so you can ‘see’ exactly what’s going on with the chimney. Everything looks good from the ground. We’ll email the pictures to you so you can keep your own records of what we all saw during the last visit. Now you know why spring is the best time to schedule your chimney cleaning.
Contact us or give us a call today at 877-244-6349 to get started.

For a family who believes fitness is not only an essential part of life but also a fun opportunity for the whole family to connect, build and achieve greatness together there is nothing better than a custom designed obstacle course right in your back yard.
THEME
The theme of this half mile trail through the woods is evident in the fun, creative and all-inclusive obstacles hidden in the natural flow of the land around this amazing family home. The course was created with adults and children, advanced and beginner athletes, competitive and entertaining events all accounted for. Each of the 13 obstacles was designed to be challenging no matter the size, skill or ability of the athlete lucky enough to run the course.
FOCUS
The focus for this family was to create an outdoor adventure that could be an athletic, social and personal outlet for their entire family while maintaining the natural beauty of the landscape and without altering the sweeping views from the home. The large scale of the challenging obstacles is camouflaged within the landscape using the rolling hills and mature trees as a natural curtain in every season. The beauty of the course does not diminish the functional and demanding nature of the obstacles which are designed to focus on multiple strength, agility, and cardio fitness abilities and intensities.
STORAGE
The start of the trail includes a raised training area offering a dedicated space clear from the ground to place bags, mats and other equipment used during the run. A small all-terrain storage cart was provided for use with 6 yoga mats, 3 medicine balls of various weights, rings, sprinting cones, and a large digital timer to record laps.
GROWTH
The course was designed to provide an athletic and fun challenge for children, teens and adults no matter their experience or athletic prowess. This course offers competitive athletes a challenge and budding athletes an opportunity to experience and ignite their passion for physical activity. Initially the concept for the course was focused on the youngest of the family however as the design grew so did the obstacles and now it is a true family experience that will meet their adapting needs for years. Each obstacle is paired with an instructional sign directing the runners in proper use of the obstacle, adaptations for skill levels and tips on form. These signs are all customized for this course and are printed on metal to ensure they last for many years.
SAFETY
Safety is crucial for all physical activity and an obstacle course of this scale presents unique safety concerns. Children should always be supervised when participating in an adventure on the course however additional care was paid to details on the course to ensure everyone has a great time. All of the course obstacles have been created with pressure treated lumber that will withstand the seasonal poundings. All footer pilings that support obstacles have been placed into the ground between 3 to 4 feet (.9 to 1.2 meters) and each piling has 2 to 3 bags of concrete (totaling over 90 bags used throughout the course) ensuring stability of the structure and safety of the participants. Additionally, all obstacle lumber has been given rounded corners and sanded down offering less splintering and more time for everyone to enjoy the course.
This athletic and charismatic family strives to incorporate a healthy active lifestyle into their daily life and this obstacle course offers their family an opportunity to strengthen themselves and host some memorable and active events at their amazing home.

Room by room, we’re taking on this 1970’s home and bringing it into 2021’s aesthetic and functional desires. The homeowner’s started with the bar, lounge area, and dining room. Bright white paint sets the backdrop for these spaces and really brightens up what used to be light gold walls.
We leveraged their beautiful backyard landscape by incorporating organic patterns and earthy botanical colors to play off the nature just beyond the huge sliding doors.
Since the rooms are in one long galley orientation, the design flow was extremely important. Colors pop in the dining room chandelier (the showstopper that just makes this room “wow”) as well as in the artwork and pillows. The dining table, woven wood shades, and grasscloth offer multiple textures throughout the zones by adding depth, while the marble tops’ and tiles’ linear and geometric patterns give a balanced contrast to the other solids in the areas. The result? A beautiful and comfortable entertaining space!

Love is all around Dick "RJ" Valentine, especially when he enters his home garage.
A professional race car driver, entrepreneur, chairman of The MBA Group of Companies, and owner of F1 Boston and F1 Outdoors kart racing facility, Dick is surrounded by some of his most prized possessions: a radiant blue Hennessey Venom Viper 650, a twin turbo Porsche, a 500e Mercedes, and a BMW model 750il, an M5 and an M6.
And that's just the four-wheelers. Dick's garage is also home to four motorcycles: a BMW 1200LT, a BMW 1200RS, a Ducati 996F, and a Ducati ST4F. "I've basically driven everything short of the space shuttle," he jokes. His wife adds, "If it doesn't make noise, leak or have wheels, Dick doesn't want any part of it!"
Driving for gold.
RJ has been racing professionally for 30 years and has raced virtually every type of competitive race car at tracks all over the world, including IMSA Corvettes, Trans-Am Camaros, Riley & Scott MK3 World Sports Cars, BMW M3 V8's, Dodge Vipers, Porsche 911s, Pontiac GTO.Rs and Porsche GT3s. He has more than 325 professional road racing starts, and is one of only seven people to eclipse 120 starts in the Trans-Am Series. RJ's career Trans-Am record includes a 62% incidence of top ten finishes and in excess of 20 top-five finishes. In 2007, RJ and teammate Andy Lally claimed 5 victories, 2 seconds and placed 3rd for the 2007 GT Championship in the Grand-Am Rolex Sports Car Series aboard the #66 TRG CRG/Maxter Porsche GT3. He has driven in over 20 consecutive Rolex 24 Hours at Daytona, a significant achievement given the grueling nature of this 24-hour endurance race.
He uses his garage to house and service not only his personal vehicles, but his professional karts as well. That's where Lista comes in. Dick stores all his tools and parts using Lista garage workbenches with drawer cabinet pedestals, stationary riser shelves and overhead cabinets with retractable doors.
"We use only Lista equipment in our racing trailers and at F1 Boston. In the racing environment, precision and quality are the name of the game. Lista is the gold standard in the business. So I wouldn't have used anything but Lista in my own garage."

Lake Homes | Living area: 4,519 . . . The William & Mary II began with a tear down of the original cottage to start fresh with this highly custom 'Perfect Place to Call Home' for repeat clients. ...

Stuart Wade, Envision Virtual Tours
The second-largest and most developed of Georgia's barrier islands, St. Simons is approximately twelve miles long and nearly three miles wide at its widest stretch (roughly the size of Manhattan Island in New York). The island is located in Glynn County on Georgia's coast and lies east of Brunswick (the seat of Glynn County), south of Little St. Simons Island and the Hampton River, and north of Jekyll Island. The resort community of Sea Island is separated from St. Simons on the east by the Black Banks River. Known for its oak tree canopies and historic landmarks, St. Simons is both a tourist destination and, according to the 2010 U.S. census, home to 12,743 residents.
Early History
The earliest
St. Simons Island Village
record of human habitation on the island dates to the Late Archaic Period, about 5,000 to 3,000 years ago. Remnants of shell rings left behind by Native Americans from this era survive on many of the barrier islands, including St. Simons. Centuries later, during the period known by historians as the chiefdom era, the Guale Indians established a chiefdom centered on St. Catherines Island and used St. Simons as their hunting and fishing grounds. By 1500 the Guale had established a permanent village of about 200 people on St. Simons, which they called Guadalquini.
Beginning in 1568, the Spanish attempted to create missions along the Georgia coast. Catholic missions were the primary means by which Georgia's indigenous Native American chiefdoms were assimilated into the Spanish colonial system along the northern frontier of greater Spanish Florida. In the 1600s St. Simons became home to two Spanish missions: San Buenaventura de Guadalquini, on the southern tip of the island, and Santo Domingo de Asao (or Asajo), on the northern tip. Located on the inland side of the island were the pagan refugee villages of San Simón, the island's namesake, and Ocotonico. In 1684 pirate raids left the missions and villages largely abandoned.
Colonial History
As
Fort Frederica
early as 1670, with Great Britain's establishment of the colony of Carolina and its expansion into Georgia territory, Spanish rule was threatened by the English. The Georgia coast was considered "debatable land" by England and Spain, even though Spain had fully retreated from St. Simons by 1702. Thirty-one years later General James Edward Oglethorpe founded the English settlement of Savannah. In 1736 he established Fort Frederica, named after the heir to the British throne, Frederick Louis, prince of Wales, on the west side of St. Simons Island to protect Savannah and the Carolinas from the Spanish threat.
Between 1736 and 1749 Fort Frederica was the hub of British military operations along the Georgia frontier. A town of the same name grew up around the fort and was of great importance to the new colony. By 1740 Frederica's population was 1,000. In 1736 the congregation of what would become Christ Church was organized within Fort Frederica as a mission of the Church of England. Charles Wesley led the first services. In 1742 Britain's decisive victory over Spain in the Battle of Bloody Marsh, during the War of Jenkins' Ear, ended the Spanish threat to the Georgia coast. When the British regimen disbanded in 1749, most of the townspeople relocated to the mainland. Fort Frederica went into decline and, except for a short time of prosperity during the 1760s and 1770s under the leadership of merchant James Spalding, never fully recovered. Today the historic citadel's tabby ruins are maintained by the National Park Service.
Plantation Era
By the start of the American Revolution (1775-83), Fort Frederica was obsolete, and St. Simons was left largely uninhabited as most of its residents joined the patriot army. Besides hosting a small Georgia naval victory on the Fort Frederica River, providing guns from its famous fort for use at Fort Morris in Sunbury, and serving as an arena for pillaging by privateers and British soldiers, the island played almost no role in the war.
Following the war, many of the townspeople, their businesses destroyed, turned to agriculture. The island was transformed into fourteen cotton plantations after acres of live oak trees were cleared for farm land and used for building American warships, including the famous USS Constitution, or "Old Ironsides." Although rice was the predominant crop along the neighboring Altamaha River, St. Simons was known for its production of long-staple cotton, which soon came to be known as Sea Island cotton.
Between
Ebos Landing
the 1780s and the outbreak of the Civil War (1861-65), St. Simons's plantation culture flourished. The saline atmosphere and the availability of cheap slave labor proved an ideal combination for the cultivation of Sea Island cotton. In 1803 a group of Ebo slaves who survived the Middle Passage and arrived on the west side of St. Simons staged a rebellion and drowned themselves. The sacred site is known today as Ebos Landing.
One of the largest owners of land and slaves on St. Simons was Pierce Butler, master of Hampton Point Plantation, located on the northern end of the island. By 1793 Butler owned more than 500 slaves, who cultivated 800 acres of cotton on St. Simons and 300 acres of rice on Butler's Island in the Altamaha River delta. Butler's grandson, Pierce Mease Butler, who at the age of sixteen inherited a share of his grandfather's estate in 1826, was responsible for the largest sale of human beings in the history of the United States: in 1859, to restore his squandered fortune, he sold 429 slaves in Savannah for more than $300,000. The British actress and writer Fanny Kemble, whose tumultuous marriage to Pierce ended in divorce in 1849, published an eyewitness account of the evils of slavery on St. Simons in her book Journal of a Residence on a Georgian Plantation in 1838-1839 (1863).
Another
Retreat Plantation
large owner of land and slaves on St. Simons was Major William Page, a friend and employee of Pierce Butler Sr. Before purchasing Retreat Plantation on the southwestern tip of the island in 1804, Page managed the Hampton plantation and Butler's Island. Upon Page's death in 1827, Thomas Butler King inherited the land together with his wife, Page's daughter, Anna Matilda Page King. King expanded his father-in-law's planting empire on St. Simons as well as on the mainland, and by 1835 Retreat Plantation alone was home to as many as 355 slaves.
The center of life during the island's plantation era was Christ Church, Frederica. Organized in 1807 by a group of island planters, the Episcopal church is the second oldest in the Diocese of Georgia. Embargoes imposed by the War of 1812 (1812-15) prevented the parishioners from building a church structure, so they worshiped in the home of John Beck, which stood on the site of Oglethorpe's only St. Simons residence, Orange Hall.
The first Christ Church building, finished on the present site in 1820, was ruined by occupying Union troops during the Civil War. In 1884 the Reverend Anson Dodge Jr. rebuilt the church as a memorial to his first wife, Ellen. The cruciform building with a trussed gothic roof and stained-glass windows remains active today as Christ Church.
Civil War and Beyond
The
St. Simons Island Lighthouse
outbreak of the Civil War in 1861 put a sudden end to St. Simons's lucrative plantation era. In January of that year, Confederate troops were stationed at the south end of the island to guard the entrance to Brunswick Harbor. Slaves from Retreat Plantation, owned by Thomas Butler King, built earthworks and batteries. Plantation residents were scattered—the men joined the Confederate army and their families moved to the mainland. Cannon fire was heard on the island in December 1861, and Confederate troops retreated in February 1862, after dynamiting the lighthouse to keep its beacon from aiding Union troops. Soon thereafter, Union troops occupied the island, which was used as a camp for freed slaves. By August 1862 more than 500 former slaves lived on St. Simons, including Susie King Taylor, who organized a school for freed slave children. But in November the ex-slaves were taken to Hilton Head, South Carolina, and Fernandina, Florida, leaving the island abandoned.
After the Civil War the island never returned to its status as an agricultural community. The plantations lay dormant because there were no slaves to work the fields. After Union general William T. Sherman's January 1865 Special Field Order No. 15 —a demand that former plantations be divided and distributed to former slaves—was overturned by U.S. president Andrew Johnson less than a year later, freedmen and women were forced to work as sharecroppers on the small farms that dotted the land previously occupied by the sprawling plantations.
By
St. Simons Lumber Mills
1870 real economic recovery began with the reestablishment of the timber industry. Norman Dodge and Titus G. Meigs of New York set up lumber mill operations at Gascoigne Bluff, formerly Hamilton Plantation. The lumber mills provided welcome employment for both blacks and whites and also provided mail and passenger boats to the mainland. Such water traffic, together with the construction of a new lighthouse in 1872, designed by architect Charles B. Cluskey, marked the beginning of St. Simons's tourism industry. The keeper of the lighthouse created a small amusement park, which drew many visitors, as did the seemingly miraculous light that traveled from the top of the lighthouse tower to the bottom. The island became a summer retreat for families from the mainland, particularly from Baxley, Brunswick, and Waycross.
The island's resort industry was thriving by the 1880s. Beachfront structures, such as a new pier and grand hotel, were built on the southeastern end of the island and could be accessed by ferry. Around this time wealthy northerners began vacationing on the island.
Twentieth Century
The
St. Simons Island Pier and Village
opening in 1924 of the Brunswick–St. Simons Highway, today known as the Torras Causeway, was a milestone in the development of resorts in the area. St. Simons's beaches were now easily accessible to locals and tourists alike. More than 5,000 automobiles took the short drive from Brunswick to St. Simons via the causeway on its opening day, paving the way for convenient residential and resort development.
In 1926 automotive pioneer Howard Coffin of Detroit, Michigan, bought large tracts of land on St. Simons, including the former Retreat Plantation, and constructed a golf course, yacht club, paved roads, and a residential subdivision. Although the causeway had brought large numbers of summer people to the island, St. Simons remained a small community with only a few hundred permanent residents until the 1940s.
The
St. Simons Island
outbreak of World War II (1941-45) brought more visitors and residents to St. Simons. Troops stationed at Jacksonville, Florida; Savannah; and nearby Camp Stewart took weekend vacations on the island, and a new naval air base and radar school became home to even more officers and soldiers. The increased wartime population brought the island its first public school. With a major shipyard for the production of Liberty ships in nearby Brunswick, the waters of St. Simons became active with German U-boats. In April 1942, just off the coast, the Texas Company oil tanker S. S. Oklahoma and the S. S. Esso Baton Rouge were torpedoed by the Germans, bringing the war very close to home for island residents.
Due in large part to the military's improvement of the island's infrastructure during the war, development on the island boomed in the 1950s and 1960s. More permanent homes and subdivisions were built, and the island was no longer just a summer resort but also a thriving community. In 1950 the Methodist conference and retreat center Epworth by the Sea opened on Gascoigne Bluff. In 1961 novelist Eugenia Price visited St. Simons and began work on her first works of fiction, known as the St. Simons Trilogy. Inspired by real events on the island, Price's trilogy renewed interest in the history of Georgia's coast, and the novelist herself relocated to the island in 1965 and lived there for thirty-one years. St. Simons is also home to contemporary Georgia writer Tina McElroy Ansa.
Since
Epworth by the Sea
1980 St. Simons's population has doubled. The island's continued status as a vacation destination and its ongoing development boom have put historic landmarks and natural areas at risk. While such landmarks as the Fort Frederica ruins and the Battle of Bloody Marsh site are preserved and maintained by the National Park Service, and while the historic lighthouse is maintained by the Coastal Georgia Historical Society, historic Ebos Landing has been taken over by a sewage treatment plant.
Several coastal organizations have formed in recent years to save natural areas on the island. The St. Simons Land Trust, for example, has received donations of large tracts of land and plans to protect property in the island's three traditional African American neighborhoods. Despite its rapid growth and development, St. Simons remains one of the most beautiful and important islands on the Georgia coast.

Photo: Carolyn Reyes © 2015 Houzz
Example of an eclectic living room design in Los Angeles
Example of an eclectic living room design in Los Angeles

Jeff Roberts Imaging
Inspiration for a mid-sized timeless l-shaped light wood floor and brown floor eat-in kitchen remodel in Portland Maine with a farmhouse sink, glass-front cabinets, white cabinets, stainless steel appliances, an island, granite countertops and window backsplash
Inspiration for a mid-sized timeless l-shaped light wood floor and brown floor eat-in kitchen remodel in Portland Maine with a farmhouse sink, glass-front cabinets, white cabinets, stainless steel appliances, an island, granite countertops and window backsplash
7