Search results for "Structure" in Home Design Ideas

Klopf Architecture’s client, a family of four with young children, wanted to update their recently purchased home to meet their growing needs across generations. It was essential to maintain the mid-century modern style throughout the project but most importantly, they wanted more natural light brought into the dark kitchen and cramped bathrooms while creating a smoother connection between the kitchen, dining and family room.
The kitchen was expanded into the dining area, using part of the original kitchen area as a butler's pantry. With the main kitchen brought out into an open space with new larger windows and two skylights the space became light, open, and airy. Custom cabinetry from Henrybuilt throughout the kitchen and butler's pantry brought functionality to the space. Removing the wall between the kitchen and dining room, and widening the opening from the dining room to the living room created a more open and natural flow between the spaces.
New redwood siding was installed in the entry foyer to match the original siding in the family room so it felt original to the house and consistent between the spaces. Oak flooring was installed throughout the house enhancing the movement between the new kitchen and adjacent areas.
The two original bathrooms felt dark and cramped so they were expanded and also feature larger windows, modern fixtures and new Heath tile throughout. Custom vanities also from Henrybuilt bring a unified look and feel from the kitchen into the new bathrooms. Designs included plans for a future in-law unit to accommodate the needs of an older generation.
The house is much brighter, feels more unified with wider open site lines that provide the family with a better transition and seamless connection between spaces.
This mid-century modern remodel is a 2,743 sf, 4 bedroom/3 bath home located in Lafayette, CA.
Klopf Architecture Project Team: John Klopf and Angela Todorova
Contractor: Don Larwood
Structural Engineer: Sezen & Moon Structural Engineering, Inc.
Landscape Designer: n/a
Photography ©2018 Scott Maddern
Location: Lafayette, CA
Year completed: 2018
Link to photos: https://www.dropbox.com/sh/aqxfwk7wdot9jja/AADWuIcsHHE-AGPfq13u5htda?dl=0

Shade structure is all steel to render an industrial yet modern feel to the house.
The exposed I beam columns further strengthens this industrial design.
Frame structure was made out I beams and 2''x1'' steel tubes along the top of frame.
Fabricated in LA and installed in Beverly Hills, CA.

Luke Wayne Photography
Mid-century modern gray split-level wood gable roof idea in Bridgeport
Mid-century modern gray split-level wood gable roof idea in Bridgeport
Find the right local pro for your project

Andrew Bramasco
Example of a large country underground gray floor and dark wood floor basement design in Orange County with beige walls
Example of a large country underground gray floor and dark wood floor basement design in Orange County with beige walls

Patio - mid-sized french country gravel patio idea in San Francisco with a fire pit and a pergola

Stuart Wade, Envision Virtual Tours
The second-largest and most developed of Georgia's barrier islands, St. Simons is approximately twelve miles long and nearly three miles wide at its widest stretch (roughly the size of Manhattan Island in New York). The island is located in Glynn County on Georgia's coast and lies east of Brunswick (the seat of Glynn County), south of Little St. Simons Island and the Hampton River, and north of Jekyll Island. The resort community of Sea Island is separated from St. Simons on the east by the Black Banks River. Known for its oak tree canopies and historic landmarks, St. Simons is both a tourist destination and, according to the 2010 U.S. census, home to 12,743 residents.
Early History
The earliest
St. Simons Island Village
record of human habitation on the island dates to the Late Archaic Period, about 5,000 to 3,000 years ago. Remnants of shell rings left behind by Native Americans from this era survive on many of the barrier islands, including St. Simons. Centuries later, during the period known by historians as the chiefdom era, the Guale Indians established a chiefdom centered on St. Catherines Island and used St. Simons as their hunting and fishing grounds. By 1500 the Guale had established a permanent village of about 200 people on St. Simons, which they called Guadalquini.
Beginning in 1568, the Spanish attempted to create missions along the Georgia coast. Catholic missions were the primary means by which Georgia's indigenous Native American chiefdoms were assimilated into the Spanish colonial system along the northern frontier of greater Spanish Florida. In the 1600s St. Simons became home to two Spanish missions: San Buenaventura de Guadalquini, on the southern tip of the island, and Santo Domingo de Asao (or Asajo), on the northern tip. Located on the inland side of the island were the pagan refugee villages of San Simón, the island's namesake, and Ocotonico. In 1684 pirate raids left the missions and villages largely abandoned.
Colonial History
As
Fort Frederica
early as 1670, with Great Britain's establishment of the colony of Carolina and its expansion into Georgia territory, Spanish rule was threatened by the English. The Georgia coast was considered "debatable land" by England and Spain, even though Spain had fully retreated from St. Simons by 1702. Thirty-one years later General James Edward Oglethorpe founded the English settlement of Savannah. In 1736 he established Fort Frederica, named after the heir to the British throne, Frederick Louis, prince of Wales, on the west side of St. Simons Island to protect Savannah and the Carolinas from the Spanish threat.
Between 1736 and 1749 Fort Frederica was the hub of British military operations along the Georgia frontier. A town of the same name grew up around the fort and was of great importance to the new colony. By 1740 Frederica's population was 1,000. In 1736 the congregation of what would become Christ Church was organized within Fort Frederica as a mission of the Church of England. Charles Wesley led the first services. In 1742 Britain's decisive victory over Spain in the Battle of Bloody Marsh, during the War of Jenkins' Ear, ended the Spanish threat to the Georgia coast. When the British regimen disbanded in 1749, most of the townspeople relocated to the mainland. Fort Frederica went into decline and, except for a short time of prosperity during the 1760s and 1770s under the leadership of merchant James Spalding, never fully recovered. Today the historic citadel's tabby ruins are maintained by the National Park Service.
Plantation Era
By the start of the American Revolution (1775-83), Fort Frederica was obsolete, and St. Simons was left largely uninhabited as most of its residents joined the patriot army. Besides hosting a small Georgia naval victory on the Fort Frederica River, providing guns from its famous fort for use at Fort Morris in Sunbury, and serving as an arena for pillaging by privateers and British soldiers, the island played almost no role in the war.
Following the war, many of the townspeople, their businesses destroyed, turned to agriculture. The island was transformed into fourteen cotton plantations after acres of live oak trees were cleared for farm land and used for building American warships, including the famous USS Constitution, or "Old Ironsides." Although rice was the predominant crop along the neighboring Altamaha River, St. Simons was known for its production of long-staple cotton, which soon came to be known as Sea Island cotton.
Between
Ebos Landing
the 1780s and the outbreak of the Civil War (1861-65), St. Simons's plantation culture flourished. The saline atmosphere and the availability of cheap slave labor proved an ideal combination for the cultivation of Sea Island cotton. In 1803 a group of Ebo slaves who survived the Middle Passage and arrived on the west side of St. Simons staged a rebellion and drowned themselves. The sacred site is known today as Ebos Landing.
One of the largest owners of land and slaves on St. Simons was Pierce Butler, master of Hampton Point Plantation, located on the northern end of the island. By 1793 Butler owned more than 500 slaves, who cultivated 800 acres of cotton on St. Simons and 300 acres of rice on Butler's Island in the Altamaha River delta. Butler's grandson, Pierce Mease Butler, who at the age of sixteen inherited a share of his grandfather's estate in 1826, was responsible for the largest sale of human beings in the history of the United States: in 1859, to restore his squandered fortune, he sold 429 slaves in Savannah for more than $300,000. The British actress and writer Fanny Kemble, whose tumultuous marriage to Pierce ended in divorce in 1849, published an eyewitness account of the evils of slavery on St. Simons in her book Journal of a Residence on a Georgian Plantation in 1838-1839 (1863).
Another
Retreat Plantation
large owner of land and slaves on St. Simons was Major William Page, a friend and employee of Pierce Butler Sr. Before purchasing Retreat Plantation on the southwestern tip of the island in 1804, Page managed the Hampton plantation and Butler's Island. Upon Page's death in 1827, Thomas Butler King inherited the land together with his wife, Page's daughter, Anna Matilda Page King. King expanded his father-in-law's planting empire on St. Simons as well as on the mainland, and by 1835 Retreat Plantation alone was home to as many as 355 slaves.
The center of life during the island's plantation era was Christ Church, Frederica. Organized in 1807 by a group of island planters, the Episcopal church is the second oldest in the Diocese of Georgia. Embargoes imposed by the War of 1812 (1812-15) prevented the parishioners from building a church structure, so they worshiped in the home of John Beck, which stood on the site of Oglethorpe's only St. Simons residence, Orange Hall.
The first Christ Church building, finished on the present site in 1820, was ruined by occupying Union troops during the Civil War. In 1884 the Reverend Anson Dodge Jr. rebuilt the church as a memorial to his first wife, Ellen. The cruciform building with a trussed gothic roof and stained-glass windows remains active today as Christ Church.
Civil War and Beyond
The
St. Simons Island Lighthouse
outbreak of the Civil War in 1861 put a sudden end to St. Simons's lucrative plantation era. In January of that year, Confederate troops were stationed at the south end of the island to guard the entrance to Brunswick Harbor. Slaves from Retreat Plantation, owned by Thomas Butler King, built earthworks and batteries. Plantation residents were scattered—the men joined the Confederate army and their families moved to the mainland. Cannon fire was heard on the island in December 1861, and Confederate troops retreated in February 1862, after dynamiting the lighthouse to keep its beacon from aiding Union troops. Soon thereafter, Union troops occupied the island, which was used as a camp for freed slaves. By August 1862 more than 500 former slaves lived on St. Simons, including Susie King Taylor, who organized a school for freed slave children. But in November the ex-slaves were taken to Hilton Head, South Carolina, and Fernandina, Florida, leaving the island abandoned.
After the Civil War the island never returned to its status as an agricultural community. The plantations lay dormant because there were no slaves to work the fields. After Union general William T. Sherman's January 1865 Special Field Order No. 15 —a demand that former plantations be divided and distributed to former slaves—was overturned by U.S. president Andrew Johnson less than a year later, freedmen and women were forced to work as sharecroppers on the small farms that dotted the land previously occupied by the sprawling plantations.
By
St. Simons Lumber Mills
1870 real economic recovery began with the reestablishment of the timber industry. Norman Dodge and Titus G. Meigs of New York set up lumber mill operations at Gascoigne Bluff, formerly Hamilton Plantation. The lumber mills provided welcome employment for both blacks and whites and also provided mail and passenger boats to the mainland. Such water traffic, together with the construction of a new lighthouse in 1872, designed by architect Charles B. Cluskey, marked the beginning of St. Simons's tourism industry. The keeper of the lighthouse created a small amusement park, which drew many visitors, as did the seemingly miraculous light that traveled from the top of the lighthouse tower to the bottom. The island became a summer retreat for families from the mainland, particularly from Baxley, Brunswick, and Waycross.
The island's resort industry was thriving by the 1880s. Beachfront structures, such as a new pier and grand hotel, were built on the southeastern end of the island and could be accessed by ferry. Around this time wealthy northerners began vacationing on the island.
Twentieth Century
The
St. Simons Island Pier and Village
opening in 1924 of the Brunswick–St. Simons Highway, today known as the Torras Causeway, was a milestone in the development of resorts in the area. St. Simons's beaches were now easily accessible to locals and tourists alike. More than 5,000 automobiles took the short drive from Brunswick to St. Simons via the causeway on its opening day, paving the way for convenient residential and resort development.
In 1926 automotive pioneer Howard Coffin of Detroit, Michigan, bought large tracts of land on St. Simons, including the former Retreat Plantation, and constructed a golf course, yacht club, paved roads, and a residential subdivision. Although the causeway had brought large numbers of summer people to the island, St. Simons remained a small community with only a few hundred permanent residents until the 1940s.
The
St. Simons Island
outbreak of World War II (1941-45) brought more visitors and residents to St. Simons. Troops stationed at Jacksonville, Florida; Savannah; and nearby Camp Stewart took weekend vacations on the island, and a new naval air base and radar school became home to even more officers and soldiers. The increased wartime population brought the island its first public school. With a major shipyard for the production of Liberty ships in nearby Brunswick, the waters of St. Simons became active with German U-boats. In April 1942, just off the coast, the Texas Company oil tanker S. S. Oklahoma and the S. S. Esso Baton Rouge were torpedoed by the Germans, bringing the war very close to home for island residents.
Due in large part to the military's improvement of the island's infrastructure during the war, development on the island boomed in the 1950s and 1960s. More permanent homes and subdivisions were built, and the island was no longer just a summer resort but also a thriving community. In 1950 the Methodist conference and retreat center Epworth by the Sea opened on Gascoigne Bluff. In 1961 novelist Eugenia Price visited St. Simons and began work on her first works of fiction, known as the St. Simons Trilogy. Inspired by real events on the island, Price's trilogy renewed interest in the history of Georgia's coast, and the novelist herself relocated to the island in 1965 and lived there for thirty-one years. St. Simons is also home to contemporary Georgia writer Tina McElroy Ansa.
Since
Epworth by the Sea
1980 St. Simons's population has doubled. The island's continued status as a vacation destination and its ongoing development boom have put historic landmarks and natural areas at risk. While such landmarks as the Fort Frederica ruins and the Battle of Bloody Marsh site are preserved and maintained by the National Park Service, and while the historic lighthouse is maintained by the Coastal Georgia Historical Society, historic Ebos Landing has been taken over by a sewage treatment plant.
Several coastal organizations have formed in recent years to save natural areas on the island. The St. Simons Land Trust, for example, has received donations of large tracts of land and plans to protect property in the island's three traditional African American neighborhoods. Despite its rapid growth and development, St. Simons remains one of the most beautiful and important islands on the Georgia coast.

Sponsored
Columbus, OH
Hope Restoration & General Contracting
Columbus Design-Build, Kitchen & Bath Remodeling, Historic Renovations

Photography by John Gibbons
This project is designed as a family retreat for a client that has been visiting the southern Colorado area for decades. The cabin consists of two bedrooms and two bathrooms – with guest quarters accessed from exterior deck.
Project by Studio H:T principal in charge Brad Tomecek (now with Tomecek Studio Architecture). The project is assembled with the structural and weather tight use of shipping containers. The cabin uses one 40’ container and six 20′ containers. The ends will be structurally reinforced and enclosed with additional site built walls and custom fitted high-performance glazing assemblies.

Example of a farmhouse u-shaped medium tone wood floor and brown floor kitchen design in Portland with a farmhouse sink, shaker cabinets, black cabinets, white backsplash, stainless steel appliances, a peninsula and white countertops

Modern/Contemporary "Crestwood Oasis" cabinets in "Belmont" slab door style, made of Teak wood with natural finish. Lynx appliances and grill.
Patio - mid-sized traditional backyard concrete paver patio idea in Dallas with a gazebo and a bbq area
Patio - mid-sized traditional backyard concrete paver patio idea in Dallas with a gazebo and a bbq area

The original concept for this space came from the idea that this modern glass greenhouse would be built around an old wooden shed still standing beneath the trees. The "shed" turned Powder Room would of course be new construction, but clever materiality - white washed reclaimed vertical panelling - would make it appear as though it was a treasure from many years before.

Montgomery Place Townhouse
The unique and exclusive property on Montgomery Place, located between Eighth Avenue and Prospect Park West, was designed in 1898 by the architecture firm Babb, Cook & Willard. It contains an expansive seven bedrooms, five bathrooms, and two powder rooms. The firm was simultaneously working on the East 91st Street Andrew Carnegie Mansion during the period, and ensured the 30.5’ wide limestone at Montgomery Place would boast landmark historic details, including six fireplaces, an original Otis elevator, and a grand spiral staircase running across the four floors. After a two and half year renovation, which had modernized the home – adding five skylights, a wood burning fireplace, an outfitted butler’s kitchen and Waterworks fixtures throughout – the landmark mansion was sold in 2014. DHD Architecture and Interior Design were hired by the buyers, a young family who had moved from their Tribeca Loft, to further renovate and create a fresh, modern home, without compromising the structure’s historic features. The interiors were designed with a chic, bold, yet warm aesthetic in mind, mixing vibrant palettes into livable spaces.
Photography: Annie Schlechter
www.annieschlechter.com
© DHD / ALL RIGHTS RESERVED.

Sponsored
Columbus, OH
Hope Restoration & General Contracting
Columbus Design-Build, Kitchen & Bath Remodeling, Historic Renovations

Full kitchen remodel in Bellevue, Washington.
Example of a mid-sized trendy medium tone wood floor eat-in kitchen design in Seattle with an undermount sink, flat-panel cabinets, light wood cabinets, quartz countertops, white backsplash, ceramic backsplash, stainless steel appliances, an island and white countertops
Example of a mid-sized trendy medium tone wood floor eat-in kitchen design in Seattle with an undermount sink, flat-panel cabinets, light wood cabinets, quartz countertops, white backsplash, ceramic backsplash, stainless steel appliances, an island and white countertops

Jim Bartsch
Inspiration for a transitional single-wall dark wood floor kitchen remodel in Santa Barbara with a farmhouse sink, shaker cabinets, white cabinets, white backsplash, subway tile backsplash, stainless steel appliances and no island
Inspiration for a transitional single-wall dark wood floor kitchen remodel in Santa Barbara with a farmhouse sink, shaker cabinets, white cabinets, white backsplash, subway tile backsplash, stainless steel appliances and no island

CAST architecture
Small trendy brown one-story mixed siding exterior home photo in Seattle with a shed roof
Small trendy brown one-story mixed siding exterior home photo in Seattle with a shed roof

Meghan Bob Photography
Patio - mid-sized transitional stone patio idea in Los Angeles with a roof extension
Patio - mid-sized transitional stone patio idea in Los Angeles with a roof extension

Sponsored
Columbus, OH
Free consultation for landscape design!
Peabody Landscape Group
Franklin County's Reliable Landscape Design & Contracting

Our clients wanted to replace an existing suburban home with a modern house at the same Lexington address where they had lived for years. The structure the clients envisioned would complement their lives and integrate the interior of the home with the natural environment of their generous property. The sleek, angular home is still a respectful neighbor, especially in the evening, when warm light emanates from the expansive transparencies used to open the house to its surroundings. The home re-envisions the suburban neighborhood in which it stands, balancing relationship to the neighborhood with an updated aesthetic.
The floor plan is arranged in a “T” shape which includes a two-story wing consisting of individual studies and bedrooms and a single-story common area. The two-story section is arranged with great fluidity between interior and exterior spaces and features generous exterior balconies. A staircase beautifully encased in glass stands as the linchpin between the two areas. The spacious, single-story common area extends from the stairwell and includes a living room and kitchen. A recessed wooden ceiling defines the living room area within the open plan space.
Separating common from private spaces has served our clients well. As luck would have it, construction on the house was just finishing up as we entered the Covid lockdown of 2020. Since the studies in the two-story wing were physically and acoustically separate, zoom calls for work could carry on uninterrupted while life happened in the kitchen and living room spaces. The expansive panes of glass, outdoor balconies, and a broad deck along the living room provided our clients with a structured sense of continuity in their lives without compromising their commitment to aesthetically smart and beautiful design.

The owners of this property had been away from the Bay Area for many years, and looked forward to returning to an elegant mid-century modern house. The one they bought was anything but that. Faced with a “remuddled” kitchen from one decade, a haphazard bedroom / family room addition from another, and an otherwise disjointed and generally run-down mid-century modern house, the owners asked Klopf Architecture and Envision Landscape Studio to re-imagine this house and property as a unified, flowing, sophisticated, warm, modern indoor / outdoor living space for a family of five.
Opening up the spaces internally and from inside to out was the first order of business. The formerly disjointed eat-in kitchen with 7 foot high ceilings were opened up to the living room, re-oriented, and replaced with a spacious cook's kitchen complete with a row of skylights bringing light into the space. Adjacent the living room wall was completely opened up with La Cantina folding door system, connecting the interior living space to a new wood deck that acts as a continuation of the wood floor. People can flow from kitchen to the living / dining room and the deck seamlessly, making the main entertainment space feel at once unified and complete, and at the same time open and limitless.
Klopf opened up the bedroom with a large sliding panel, and turned what was once a large walk-in closet into an office area, again with a large sliding panel. The master bathroom has high windows all along one wall to bring in light, and a large wet room area for the shower and tub. The dark, solid roof structure over the patio was replaced with an open trellis that allows plenty of light, brightening the new deck area as well as the interior of the house.
All the materials of the house were replaced, apart from the framing and the ceiling boards. This allowed Klopf to unify the materials from space to space, running the same wood flooring throughout, using the same paint colors, and generally creating a consistent look from room to room. Located in Lafayette, CA this remodeled single-family house is 3,363 square foot, 4 bedroom, and 3.5 bathroom.
Klopf Architecture Project Team: John Klopf, AIA, Jackie Detamore, and Jeffrey Prose
Landscape Design: Envision Landscape Studio
Structural Engineer: Brian Dotson Consulting Engineers
Contractor: Kasten Builders
Photography ©2015 Mariko Reed
Staging: The Design Shop
Location: Lafayette, CA
Year completed: 2014
59


