Search results for "Us based urban" in Home Design Ideas

We designed this writer's studio in tandem with an urban backyard and hardscaping renovation. Originally this building was to be a new garage, but the owner liked it so much that halfway through the process, he decided to forgo a garage in favor of an office.
Photo: Anna M Campbell: annamcampbell.com

Steven Long Photography
Inspiration for a transitional white two-story gable roof remodel in Nashville
Inspiration for a transitional white two-story gable roof remodel in Nashville

Builder/Designer/Owner – Masud Sarshar
Photos by – Simon Berlyn, BerlynPhotography
Our main focus in this beautiful beach-front Malibu home was the view. Keeping all interior furnishing at a low profile so that your eye stays focused on the crystal blue Pacific. Adding natural furs and playful colors to the homes neutral palate kept the space warm and cozy. Plants and trees helped complete the space and allowed “life” to flow inside and out. For the exterior furnishings we chose natural teak and neutral colors, but added pops of orange to contrast against the bright blue skyline.
This master bedroom in Malibu, CA is open and light. Wall to wall sliding doors gives the owner a perfect morning. A custom Poliform bed was made in dark chocolate leather paired with custom leather nightstands. The fire place is 2 sided which gives warmth to the bedroom and the bathroom. A low profile bed was requested by the client.
JL Interiors is a LA-based creative/diverse firm that specializes in residential interiors. JL Interiors empowers homeowners to design their dream home that they can be proud of! The design isn’t just about making things beautiful; it’s also about making things work beautifully. Contact us for a free consultation Hello@JLinteriors.design _ 310.390.6849_ www.JLinteriors.design
Find the right local pro for your project

Builder/Designer/Owner – Masud Sarshar
Photos by – Simon Berlyn, BerlynPhotography
Our main focus in this beautiful beach-front Malibu home was the view. Keeping all interior furnishing at a low profile so that your eye stays focused on the crystal blue Pacific. Adding natural furs and playful colors to the homes neutral palate kept the space warm and cozy. Plants and trees helped complete the space and allowed “life” to flow inside and out. For the exterior furnishings we chose natural teak and neutral colors, but added pops of orange to contrast against the bright blue skyline.
This open floor plan kitchen, living room, dining room, and staircase. Owner wanted a transitional flare with mid century, industrial, contemporary, modern, and masculinity. Perfect place to entertain and dine with friends.
JL Interiors is a LA-based creative/diverse firm that specializes in residential interiors. JL Interiors empowers homeowners to design their dream home that they can be proud of! The design isn’t just about making things beautiful; it’s also about making things work beautifully. Contact us for a free consultation Hello@JLinteriors.design _ 310.390.6849_ www.JLinteriors.design

This cozy sanctuary has been transformed from a drab sun-blasted deck into an inspirational home-above-home get away! Our clients work and relax out here on the daily, and when entertaining is cool again, they plan to host friends in their beautiful new space. The old deck was removed, the roof was repaired and new paver flooring, railings, a pergola and gorgeous garden furnishings & features were installed to create a one of a kind urban escape.

Stuart Wade, Envision Virtual Tours
The second-largest and most developed of Georgia's barrier islands, St. Simons is approximately twelve miles long and nearly three miles wide at its widest stretch (roughly the size of Manhattan Island in New York). The island is located in Glynn County on Georgia's coast and lies east of Brunswick (the seat of Glynn County), south of Little St. Simons Island and the Hampton River, and north of Jekyll Island. The resort community of Sea Island is separated from St. Simons on the east by the Black Banks River. Known for its oak tree canopies and historic landmarks, St. Simons is both a tourist destination and, according to the 2010 U.S. census, home to 12,743 residents.
Early History
The earliest
St. Simons Island Village
record of human habitation on the island dates to the Late Archaic Period, about 5,000 to 3,000 years ago. Remnants of shell rings left behind by Native Americans from this era survive on many of the barrier islands, including St. Simons. Centuries later, during the period known by historians as the chiefdom era, the Guale Indians established a chiefdom centered on St. Catherines Island and used St. Simons as their hunting and fishing grounds. By 1500 the Guale had established a permanent village of about 200 people on St. Simons, which they called Guadalquini.
Beginning in 1568, the Spanish attempted to create missions along the Georgia coast. Catholic missions were the primary means by which Georgia's indigenous Native American chiefdoms were assimilated into the Spanish colonial system along the northern frontier of greater Spanish Florida. In the 1600s St. Simons became home to two Spanish missions: San Buenaventura de Guadalquini, on the southern tip of the island, and Santo Domingo de Asao (or Asajo), on the northern tip. Located on the inland side of the island were the pagan refugee villages of San Simón, the island's namesake, and Ocotonico. In 1684 pirate raids left the missions and villages largely abandoned.
Colonial History
As
Fort Frederica
early as 1670, with Great Britain's establishment of the colony of Carolina and its expansion into Georgia territory, Spanish rule was threatened by the English. The Georgia coast was considered "debatable land" by England and Spain, even though Spain had fully retreated from St. Simons by 1702. Thirty-one years later General James Edward Oglethorpe founded the English settlement of Savannah. In 1736 he established Fort Frederica, named after the heir to the British throne, Frederick Louis, prince of Wales, on the west side of St. Simons Island to protect Savannah and the Carolinas from the Spanish threat.
Between 1736 and 1749 Fort Frederica was the hub of British military operations along the Georgia frontier. A town of the same name grew up around the fort and was of great importance to the new colony. By 1740 Frederica's population was 1,000. In 1736 the congregation of what would become Christ Church was organized within Fort Frederica as a mission of the Church of England. Charles Wesley led the first services. In 1742 Britain's decisive victory over Spain in the Battle of Bloody Marsh, during the War of Jenkins' Ear, ended the Spanish threat to the Georgia coast. When the British regimen disbanded in 1749, most of the townspeople relocated to the mainland. Fort Frederica went into decline and, except for a short time of prosperity during the 1760s and 1770s under the leadership of merchant James Spalding, never fully recovered. Today the historic citadel's tabby ruins are maintained by the National Park Service.
Plantation Era
By the start of the American Revolution (1775-83), Fort Frederica was obsolete, and St. Simons was left largely uninhabited as most of its residents joined the patriot army. Besides hosting a small Georgia naval victory on the Fort Frederica River, providing guns from its famous fort for use at Fort Morris in Sunbury, and serving as an arena for pillaging by privateers and British soldiers, the island played almost no role in the war.
Following the war, many of the townspeople, their businesses destroyed, turned to agriculture. The island was transformed into fourteen cotton plantations after acres of live oak trees were cleared for farm land and used for building American warships, including the famous USS Constitution, or "Old Ironsides." Although rice was the predominant crop along the neighboring Altamaha River, St. Simons was known for its production of long-staple cotton, which soon came to be known as Sea Island cotton.
Between
Ebos Landing
the 1780s and the outbreak of the Civil War (1861-65), St. Simons's plantation culture flourished. The saline atmosphere and the availability of cheap slave labor proved an ideal combination for the cultivation of Sea Island cotton. In 1803 a group of Ebo slaves who survived the Middle Passage and arrived on the west side of St. Simons staged a rebellion and drowned themselves. The sacred site is known today as Ebos Landing.
One of the largest owners of land and slaves on St. Simons was Pierce Butler, master of Hampton Point Plantation, located on the northern end of the island. By 1793 Butler owned more than 500 slaves, who cultivated 800 acres of cotton on St. Simons and 300 acres of rice on Butler's Island in the Altamaha River delta. Butler's grandson, Pierce Mease Butler, who at the age of sixteen inherited a share of his grandfather's estate in 1826, was responsible for the largest sale of human beings in the history of the United States: in 1859, to restore his squandered fortune, he sold 429 slaves in Savannah for more than $300,000. The British actress and writer Fanny Kemble, whose tumultuous marriage to Pierce ended in divorce in 1849, published an eyewitness account of the evils of slavery on St. Simons in her book Journal of a Residence on a Georgian Plantation in 1838-1839 (1863).
Another
Retreat Plantation
large owner of land and slaves on St. Simons was Major William Page, a friend and employee of Pierce Butler Sr. Before purchasing Retreat Plantation on the southwestern tip of the island in 1804, Page managed the Hampton plantation and Butler's Island. Upon Page's death in 1827, Thomas Butler King inherited the land together with his wife, Page's daughter, Anna Matilda Page King. King expanded his father-in-law's planting empire on St. Simons as well as on the mainland, and by 1835 Retreat Plantation alone was home to as many as 355 slaves.
The center of life during the island's plantation era was Christ Church, Frederica. Organized in 1807 by a group of island planters, the Episcopal church is the second oldest in the Diocese of Georgia. Embargoes imposed by the War of 1812 (1812-15) prevented the parishioners from building a church structure, so they worshiped in the home of John Beck, which stood on the site of Oglethorpe's only St. Simons residence, Orange Hall.
The first Christ Church building, finished on the present site in 1820, was ruined by occupying Union troops during the Civil War. In 1884 the Reverend Anson Dodge Jr. rebuilt the church as a memorial to his first wife, Ellen. The cruciform building with a trussed gothic roof and stained-glass windows remains active today as Christ Church.
Civil War and Beyond
The
St. Simons Island Lighthouse
outbreak of the Civil War in 1861 put a sudden end to St. Simons's lucrative plantation era. In January of that year, Confederate troops were stationed at the south end of the island to guard the entrance to Brunswick Harbor. Slaves from Retreat Plantation, owned by Thomas Butler King, built earthworks and batteries. Plantation residents were scattered—the men joined the Confederate army and their families moved to the mainland. Cannon fire was heard on the island in December 1861, and Confederate troops retreated in February 1862, after dynamiting the lighthouse to keep its beacon from aiding Union troops. Soon thereafter, Union troops occupied the island, which was used as a camp for freed slaves. By August 1862 more than 500 former slaves lived on St. Simons, including Susie King Taylor, who organized a school for freed slave children. But in November the ex-slaves were taken to Hilton Head, South Carolina, and Fernandina, Florida, leaving the island abandoned.
After the Civil War the island never returned to its status as an agricultural community. The plantations lay dormant because there were no slaves to work the fields. After Union general William T. Sherman's January 1865 Special Field Order No. 15 —a demand that former plantations be divided and distributed to former slaves—was overturned by U.S. president Andrew Johnson less than a year later, freedmen and women were forced to work as sharecroppers on the small farms that dotted the land previously occupied by the sprawling plantations.
By
St. Simons Lumber Mills
1870 real economic recovery began with the reestablishment of the timber industry. Norman Dodge and Titus G. Meigs of New York set up lumber mill operations at Gascoigne Bluff, formerly Hamilton Plantation. The lumber mills provided welcome employment for both blacks and whites and also provided mail and passenger boats to the mainland. Such water traffic, together with the construction of a new lighthouse in 1872, designed by architect Charles B. Cluskey, marked the beginning of St. Simons's tourism industry. The keeper of the lighthouse created a small amusement park, which drew many visitors, as did the seemingly miraculous light that traveled from the top of the lighthouse tower to the bottom. The island became a summer retreat for families from the mainland, particularly from Baxley, Brunswick, and Waycross.
The island's resort industry was thriving by the 1880s. Beachfront structures, such as a new pier and grand hotel, were built on the southeastern end of the island and could be accessed by ferry. Around this time wealthy northerners began vacationing on the island.
Twentieth Century
The
St. Simons Island Pier and Village
opening in 1924 of the Brunswick–St. Simons Highway, today known as the Torras Causeway, was a milestone in the development of resorts in the area. St. Simons's beaches were now easily accessible to locals and tourists alike. More than 5,000 automobiles took the short drive from Brunswick to St. Simons via the causeway on its opening day, paving the way for convenient residential and resort development.
In 1926 automotive pioneer Howard Coffin of Detroit, Michigan, bought large tracts of land on St. Simons, including the former Retreat Plantation, and constructed a golf course, yacht club, paved roads, and a residential subdivision. Although the causeway had brought large numbers of summer people to the island, St. Simons remained a small community with only a few hundred permanent residents until the 1940s.
The
St. Simons Island
outbreak of World War II (1941-45) brought more visitors and residents to St. Simons. Troops stationed at Jacksonville, Florida; Savannah; and nearby Camp Stewart took weekend vacations on the island, and a new naval air base and radar school became home to even more officers and soldiers. The increased wartime population brought the island its first public school. With a major shipyard for the production of Liberty ships in nearby Brunswick, the waters of St. Simons became active with German U-boats. In April 1942, just off the coast, the Texas Company oil tanker S. S. Oklahoma and the S. S. Esso Baton Rouge were torpedoed by the Germans, bringing the war very close to home for island residents.
Due in large part to the military's improvement of the island's infrastructure during the war, development on the island boomed in the 1950s and 1960s. More permanent homes and subdivisions were built, and the island was no longer just a summer resort but also a thriving community. In 1950 the Methodist conference and retreat center Epworth by the Sea opened on Gascoigne Bluff. In 1961 novelist Eugenia Price visited St. Simons and began work on her first works of fiction, known as the St. Simons Trilogy. Inspired by real events on the island, Price's trilogy renewed interest in the history of Georgia's coast, and the novelist herself relocated to the island in 1965 and lived there for thirty-one years. St. Simons is also home to contemporary Georgia writer Tina McElroy Ansa.
Since
Epworth by the Sea
1980 St. Simons's population has doubled. The island's continued status as a vacation destination and its ongoing development boom have put historic landmarks and natural areas at risk. While such landmarks as the Fort Frederica ruins and the Battle of Bloody Marsh site are preserved and maintained by the National Park Service, and while the historic lighthouse is maintained by the Coastal Georgia Historical Society, historic Ebos Landing has been taken over by a sewage treatment plant.
Several coastal organizations have formed in recent years to save natural areas on the island. The St. Simons Land Trust, for example, has received donations of large tracts of land and plans to protect property in the island's three traditional African American neighborhoods. Despite its rapid growth and development, St. Simons remains one of the most beautiful and important islands on the Georgia coast.

David Duncan Livingston
Small transitional black tile, white tile and black and white tile mosaic tile floor powder room photo in San Francisco with marble countertops, gray walls and an undermount sink
Small transitional black tile, white tile and black and white tile mosaic tile floor powder room photo in San Francisco with marble countertops, gray walls and an undermount sink

My client came to us with a request to make a contemporary meets warm and inviting 17 foot dining table using only 15 foot long, extra wide "Kingswood" boards from their 1700's attic floor. The bases are vintage cast iron circa 1900 Adam's Brothers - Providence, RI.

Pancho Via TV lift furniture cabinet is by "Best of Houzz 2014" for service, Cabinet Tronix. This Designer grade made to order TV lift cabinet's dimensions will be based on your TV size and other technology component needs. This retractable TV lift furniture shows a component section bottom door open so you can see where your components go. You can select from over 120 of our TV lift cabinet designs and let us know if you would like them set up for the foot of the bed, against a wall/window or center of the room configurations. You can also opt to include our optional 360 TV lift swivel system.
With 12 years-experience specializing TV lift cabinet furniture, Cabinet Tronix US made designer grade furniture is perfectly married with premium US made TV lift system.
This custom Pancho Via TV lift cabinet furniture comes in 16 amazing designer finishes. Custom finishing, configuration and sizing available.
All designs are finished on all 4 sides with the exact same wood type and finish. All Cabinet Tronix TV lift cabinet models come with HDMI cables, Digital display universal remote, built in Infrared repeater system, TV mount, wire web wrap, component section and power bar.
All our Furniture systems come with a 5 year warranty. http://www.cabinet-tronix.com/other.html
Phone: 619-422-2784
California, New York, Texas, Florida, North Carolina, Maryland, Manhattan, Michigan, Virginia, Chicago, Boston, San Diego, Orange County

Elevate Wine Storage Systems are one-of-a-kind wine storage systems that incorporate clear acrylic wine cradles held by solid stainless steel rods. These secure rods are supported by a base and soffit unit, illuminated with LED display lighting. This proprietary product is designed and manufactured by Kessick Wine Cellars. Kessick sells wholesale to the trades and ships to the entire US and international.
Photo by Drew Kelly

This is a hot new item! An acrylic base which fits into the space where a tub used to be - very cool and an efficient use of space as well.
Mid-sized transitional master alcove shower photo in Cleveland
Mid-sized transitional master alcove shower photo in Cleveland

This brownstone, located in Harlem, consists of five stories which had been duplexed to create a two story rental unit and a 3 story home for the owners. The owner hired us to do a modern renovation of their home and rear garden. The garden was under utilized, barely visible from the interior and could only be accessed via a small steel stair at the rear of the second floor. We enlarged the owner’s home to include the rear third of the floor below which had walk out access to the garden. The additional square footage became a new family room connected to the living room and kitchen on the floor above via a double height space and a new sculptural stair. The rear facade was completely restructured to allow us to install a wall to wall two story window and door system within the new double height space creating a connection not only between the two floors but with the outside. The garden itself was terraced into two levels, the bottom level of which is directly accessed from the new family room space, the upper level accessed via a few stone clad steps. The upper level of the garden features a playful interplay of stone pavers with wood decking adjacent to a large seating area and a new planting bed. Wet bar cabinetry at the family room level is mirrored by an outside cabinetry/grill configuration as another way to visually tie inside to out. The second floor features the dining room, kitchen and living room in a large open space. Wall to wall builtins from the front to the rear transition from storage to dining display to kitchen; ending at an open shelf display with a fireplace feature in the base. The third floor serves as the children’s floor with two bedrooms and two ensuite baths. The fourth floor is a master suite with a large bedroom and a large bathroom bridged by a walnut clad hall that conceals a closet system and features a built in desk. The master bath consists of a tiled partition wall dividing the space to create a large walkthrough shower for two on one side and showcasing a free standing tub on the other. The house is full of custom modern details such as the recessed, lit handrail at the house’s main stair, floor to ceiling glass partitions separating the halls from the stairs and a whimsical builtin bench in the entry.

San Marino based clients were interested in developing a property that had been in their family for generations. This was an exciting proposition as it was one of the last surviving bayside double lots on the scenic Coronado peninsula in San Diego. They desired a holiday home that would be a gathering place for their large, close- knit family.
San Marino based clients were interested in developing a property that had been in their family for generations. This was an exciting proposition as it was one of the last surviving bayside double lots on the scenic Coronado peninsula in San Diego. They desired a holiday home that would be a gathering place for their large, close-knit family. Facing the Back Bay, overlooking downtown and the Bay Bridge, this property presented us with a unique opportunity to design a vacation home with a dual personality. One side faces a bustling harbor with a constant parade of yachts, cargo vessels and military ships while the other opens onto a deep, quiet contemplative garden. The home’s shingle-style influence carries on the historical Coronado tradition of clapboard and Craftsman bungalows built in the shadow of the great Hotel Del Coronado which was erected at the turn of the last century. In order to create an informal feel to the residence, we devised a concept that eliminated the need for a “front door”. Instead, one walks through the garden and enters the “Great Hall” through either one of two French doors flanking a walk-in stone fireplace. Both two-story bedroom wings bookend this central wood beam vaulted room which serves as the “heart of the home”, and opens to both views. Three sets of stairs are discretely tucked away inside the bedroom wings.
In lieu of a formal dining room, the family convenes and dines around a beautiful table and banquette set into a circular window bay off the kitchen which overlooks the lights of the city beyond the harbor. Working with noted interior designer Betty Ann Marshall, we designed a unique kitchen that was inspired by the colors and textures of a fossil the couple found on a honeymoon trip to the quarries of Montana. We set that ancient fossil into a matte glass backsplash behind the professional cook’s stove. A warm library with walnut paneling and a bayed window seat affords a refuge for the family to read or play board games. The couple’s fine craft and folk art collection is on prominent display throughout the house and helps to set an intimate and whimsical tone.
Another architectural feature devoted to family is the play room lit by a dramatic cupola which beacons the older grandchildren and their friends. Below the play room is a four car garage that allows the patriarch space to refurbish an antique fire truck, a mahogany launch boat and several vintage cars. Their jet skis and kayaks are housed in another garage designed for that purpose. Lattice covered skylights that allow dappled sunlight to bathe the loggia affords a comfortable refuge to watch the kids swim and gaze out upon the rushing water, the Coronado Bay Bridge and the romantic downtown San Diego skyline.
Architect: Ward Jewell Architect, AIA
Interior Design: Betty Ann Marshall
Construction: Bill Lyons
Photographer: Laura Hull
Styling: Zale Design Studio

Mission Bay TV lift furniture cabinet is by "Best of Houzz 2014" for service, Cabinet Tronix. Providence TV lift cabinet furniture. This Designer grade made to order TV lift cabinet's dimensions will be based on your TV size and other technology component needs. This piece has a Benjamin Moore finish.
You can select from over 120 of our TV lift cabinet designs and let us know if you would like them set up for the foot of the bed, against a wall/window or center of the room configurations. You can also opt to include our optional 360 TV lift swivel system.
With 12 years-experience specializing TV lift cabinet furniture, Cabinet Tronix US made designer grade furniture is perfectly married with premium US made TV lift system.
This Misson Bay TV lift cabinet furniture comes in 16 amazing designer finishes. Custom finishing, configurations and sizing available.
All designs are finished on all 4 sides with the exact same wood type and finish. All Cabinet Tronix TV lift cabinet models come with HDMI cables, Digital display universal remote, built in Infrared repeater system, TV mount, wire web wrap, component section and power bar. http://www.cabinet-tronix.com/
Phone: 619-422-2784
California, New York, Texas, Florida, North Carolina, Maryland, Manhattan, Michigan, Virginia, Chicago, Boston, San Diego, Orange County, Providence TV lift cabinet furniture, Philadelphia

This is a new item to the Fleurco line - nice use of space/storage inside the base and a high end frameless door system to make an alcove space really shine!

A black walnut dining table, suspended on a steel cantilever base, which is mounted directly into the cement floor. We'd like to thank Yumi Kagamihara, interior designer, who invited us to collaborate on this stunning home project. Slab Art Studios designed the walnut table top; the homeowner designed the base. We're delighted to see the final piece in its beautiful home setting.
This black walnut slab holds a more organic statement than most. Unlike most dining-table slabs, we did not flatten it completely to accommodate traditional dining. Rather, we left some of the subtle curves and undulations garnered from three years of air- and kiln-drying. Then we smoothed it out just enough to provide an inviting, usable surface.
9' x 44" x 3"
Photo: Yum Kagamihara

Reclaimed wood box beams run across the ceiling of this transitional home bar, anchoring the space with warm antique character while reclaimed wood floating shelves and reclaimed wood paneling on the bar island base carry that same warmth through every layer of the design. From ceiling to wall to bar front, the naturally aged tones and honest grain of these antique timbers create a cohesive reclaimed wood story that gives this home bar a depth and authenticity no modern material can match. Every piece is sourced from 19th and early 20th century structures and prepared through our process of denailing, kiln drying, and precision milling.
Whether you are a homebuilder, a home remodeling contractor, or a homeowner looking to bring reclaimed wood box beams, shelving, and paneling together in a home bar, Manomin Resawn Timbers has been helping people discover the antique charm of reclaimed wood since 2002. We ship nationwide and are happy to help you find the right pieces from anywhere in the country. Visit our showroom in Hugo, MN or reach out to us with a call or a message to get started.

A very rare opportunity presents itself in the offering of this Mill Valley estate covering 1.86 acres in the Redwoods. The property, formerly known as the Swiss Hiking Club lodge, has now been transformed. It has been exquisitely remodeled throughout, down to the very last detail. The property consists of five buildings: The Main House; the Cottage/Office; a Studio/Office; a Chalet Guest House; and an Accessory, two-room building for food and glassware storage. There are also two double-car garages. Nestled amongst the redwoods this elevated property offers privacy and serves as a sanctuary for friends and family. The old world charm of the entire estate combines with luxurious modern comforts to create a peaceful and relaxed atmosphere. The property contains the perfect combination of inside and outside spaces with gardens, sunny lawns, a fire pit, and wraparound decks on the Main House complete with a redwood hot tub. After you ride up the state of the art tram from the street and enter the front door you are struck by the voluminous ceilings and spacious floor plans which offer relaxing and impressive entertaining spaces. The impeccably renovated estate has elegance and charm which creates a quality of life that stands apart in this lovely Mill Valley community. The Dipsea Stairs are easily accessed from the house affording a romantic walk to downtown Mill Valley. You can enjoy the myriad hiking and biking trails of Mt. Tamalpais literally from your doorstep.

Martha O'Hara Interiors, Interior Design | L. Cramer Builders + Remodelers, Builder | Troy Thies, Photography | Shannon Gale, Photo Styling
Please Note: All “related,” “similar,” and “sponsored” products tagged or listed by Houzz are not actual products pictured. They have not been approved by Martha O’Hara Interiors nor any of the professionals credited. For information about our work, please contact design@oharainteriors.com.
6



