Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
elina_wakabayashi

No leaves, Stem turning black, has bark on bottom. Normal?

I’m new to this but was worried about my Avocado plant!

Hey guys. Hope you can help me out. I started this avocado pit 🥑 about a year ago. it was doing great, I brought it home in the summer and then put it outside, left it our. Probably the shock made it lose all its leaves. I brought to back to my office, leaves grew back and it was doing great when there was sun. Now it’s cold, the leaves all shriveled it’s bare. But checked it’s roots. It’s healthy.... does anyone else’s have a brown stem? Like bark stuff? I couldn’t find any results in google about this. Anyone help? 😆 pllllleasee. i just bought a indoor grow light on Amazon... hoping that 9 hours a day would promote leaves again... the top of the stem is black! 😔😢 a year I’m pretty happy but it would be nice it can revive.

Comments (5)

• JoJo (Nevada 9A)
    3 years ago
    last modified: 3 years ago

Your container looks too small for a tree, even a baby tree. The roots look girdled. It means they have been circling the base of the tree just below the surface, because they can't spread in this small container. Girdling roots are petty much a death sentence for a tree because they choke off the flow of water to the top of the tree. But I've heard that some folks have been successful in fixing this condition by cutting the roots. I'll let others weigh in on that.

In the long run, however, you will have to plant this tree outside. It's a fun project, but avocados are not houseplants. It may stay alive but will not thrive.

Elina Wakabayashi thanked JoJo (Nevada 9A)
  • Elina Wakabayashi
    Original Author
    3 years ago