Search results for "Historical patterns" in Home Design Ideas

Photos are of one of our customers' finished project. We did over 90 beams for use throughout their home :)
When choosing beams for your project, there are many things to think about. One important consideration is the weight of the beam, especially if you want to affix it to your ceiling. Choosing a solid beam may not be the best choice since some of them can weigh upwards of 1000 lbs. Our craftsmen have several solutions for this common problem.
One such solution is to fabricate a ceiling beam using veneer that is "sliced" from the outside of an existing beam. Our craftsmen then carefully miter the edges and create a lighter weight, 3 sided solution.
Another common method is "hogging out" the beam. We hollow out the beam leaving the original outer character of three sides intact. (Hogging out is a good method to use when one side of the beam is less than attractive.)
Our 3-sided and Hogged out beams are available in Reclaimed or Old Growth woods.

Master Bedroom -- subtle patterned upholstered bed coordinates with solid and patterned pale blue fabrics in the space. Bring the delightful breeze into the room.

The cabinet's doors are adorned with distinctive leather handles that add a touch of organic texture and warmth against the sleek, green grey panels. The small diamond-shaped holes on the doors are both aesthetically pleasing and practical, serving as ventilation points that help maintain airflow. This is especially useful for storing items that require a bit of air circulation to prevent dampness and odors, such as shoes or linens
Find the right local pro for your project

Stuart Wade, Envision Virtual Tours
The second-largest and most developed of Georgia's barrier islands, St. Simons is approximately twelve miles long and nearly three miles wide at its widest stretch (roughly the size of Manhattan Island in New York). The island is located in Glynn County on Georgia's coast and lies east of Brunswick (the seat of Glynn County), south of Little St. Simons Island and the Hampton River, and north of Jekyll Island. The resort community of Sea Island is separated from St. Simons on the east by the Black Banks River. Known for its oak tree canopies and historic landmarks, St. Simons is both a tourist destination and, according to the 2010 U.S. census, home to 12,743 residents.
Early History
The earliest
St. Simons Island Village
record of human habitation on the island dates to the Late Archaic Period, about 5,000 to 3,000 years ago. Remnants of shell rings left behind by Native Americans from this era survive on many of the barrier islands, including St. Simons. Centuries later, during the period known by historians as the chiefdom era, the Guale Indians established a chiefdom centered on St. Catherines Island and used St. Simons as their hunting and fishing grounds. By 1500 the Guale had established a permanent village of about 200 people on St. Simons, which they called Guadalquini.
Beginning in 1568, the Spanish attempted to create missions along the Georgia coast. Catholic missions were the primary means by which Georgia's indigenous Native American chiefdoms were assimilated into the Spanish colonial system along the northern frontier of greater Spanish Florida. In the 1600s St. Simons became home to two Spanish missions: San Buenaventura de Guadalquini, on the southern tip of the island, and Santo Domingo de Asao (or Asajo), on the northern tip. Located on the inland side of the island were the pagan refugee villages of San Simón, the island's namesake, and Ocotonico. In 1684 pirate raids left the missions and villages largely abandoned.
Colonial History
As
Fort Frederica
early as 1670, with Great Britain's establishment of the colony of Carolina and its expansion into Georgia territory, Spanish rule was threatened by the English. The Georgia coast was considered "debatable land" by England and Spain, even though Spain had fully retreated from St. Simons by 1702. Thirty-one years later General James Edward Oglethorpe founded the English settlement of Savannah. In 1736 he established Fort Frederica, named after the heir to the British throne, Frederick Louis, prince of Wales, on the west side of St. Simons Island to protect Savannah and the Carolinas from the Spanish threat.
Between 1736 and 1749 Fort Frederica was the hub of British military operations along the Georgia frontier. A town of the same name grew up around the fort and was of great importance to the new colony. By 1740 Frederica's population was 1,000. In 1736 the congregation of what would become Christ Church was organized within Fort Frederica as a mission of the Church of England. Charles Wesley led the first services. In 1742 Britain's decisive victory over Spain in the Battle of Bloody Marsh, during the War of Jenkins' Ear, ended the Spanish threat to the Georgia coast. When the British regimen disbanded in 1749, most of the townspeople relocated to the mainland. Fort Frederica went into decline and, except for a short time of prosperity during the 1760s and 1770s under the leadership of merchant James Spalding, never fully recovered. Today the historic citadel's tabby ruins are maintained by the National Park Service.
Plantation Era
By the start of the American Revolution (1775-83), Fort Frederica was obsolete, and St. Simons was left largely uninhabited as most of its residents joined the patriot army. Besides hosting a small Georgia naval victory on the Fort Frederica River, providing guns from its famous fort for use at Fort Morris in Sunbury, and serving as an arena for pillaging by privateers and British soldiers, the island played almost no role in the war.
Following the war, many of the townspeople, their businesses destroyed, turned to agriculture. The island was transformed into fourteen cotton plantations after acres of live oak trees were cleared for farm land and used for building American warships, including the famous USS Constitution, or "Old Ironsides." Although rice was the predominant crop along the neighboring Altamaha River, St. Simons was known for its production of long-staple cotton, which soon came to be known as Sea Island cotton.
Between
Ebos Landing
the 1780s and the outbreak of the Civil War (1861-65), St. Simons's plantation culture flourished. The saline atmosphere and the availability of cheap slave labor proved an ideal combination for the cultivation of Sea Island cotton. In 1803 a group of Ebo slaves who survived the Middle Passage and arrived on the west side of St. Simons staged a rebellion and drowned themselves. The sacred site is known today as Ebos Landing.
One of the largest owners of land and slaves on St. Simons was Pierce Butler, master of Hampton Point Plantation, located on the northern end of the island. By 1793 Butler owned more than 500 slaves, who cultivated 800 acres of cotton on St. Simons and 300 acres of rice on Butler's Island in the Altamaha River delta. Butler's grandson, Pierce Mease Butler, who at the age of sixteen inherited a share of his grandfather's estate in 1826, was responsible for the largest sale of human beings in the history of the United States: in 1859, to restore his squandered fortune, he sold 429 slaves in Savannah for more than $300,000. The British actress and writer Fanny Kemble, whose tumultuous marriage to Pierce ended in divorce in 1849, published an eyewitness account of the evils of slavery on St. Simons in her book Journal of a Residence on a Georgian Plantation in 1838-1839 (1863).
Another
Retreat Plantation
large owner of land and slaves on St. Simons was Major William Page, a friend and employee of Pierce Butler Sr. Before purchasing Retreat Plantation on the southwestern tip of the island in 1804, Page managed the Hampton plantation and Butler's Island. Upon Page's death in 1827, Thomas Butler King inherited the land together with his wife, Page's daughter, Anna Matilda Page King. King expanded his father-in-law's planting empire on St. Simons as well as on the mainland, and by 1835 Retreat Plantation alone was home to as many as 355 slaves.
The center of life during the island's plantation era was Christ Church, Frederica. Organized in 1807 by a group of island planters, the Episcopal church is the second oldest in the Diocese of Georgia. Embargoes imposed by the War of 1812 (1812-15) prevented the parishioners from building a church structure, so they worshiped in the home of John Beck, which stood on the site of Oglethorpe's only St. Simons residence, Orange Hall.
The first Christ Church building, finished on the present site in 1820, was ruined by occupying Union troops during the Civil War. In 1884 the Reverend Anson Dodge Jr. rebuilt the church as a memorial to his first wife, Ellen. The cruciform building with a trussed gothic roof and stained-glass windows remains active today as Christ Church.
Civil War and Beyond
The
St. Simons Island Lighthouse
outbreak of the Civil War in 1861 put a sudden end to St. Simons's lucrative plantation era. In January of that year, Confederate troops were stationed at the south end of the island to guard the entrance to Brunswick Harbor. Slaves from Retreat Plantation, owned by Thomas Butler King, built earthworks and batteries. Plantation residents were scattered—the men joined the Confederate army and their families moved to the mainland. Cannon fire was heard on the island in December 1861, and Confederate troops retreated in February 1862, after dynamiting the lighthouse to keep its beacon from aiding Union troops. Soon thereafter, Union troops occupied the island, which was used as a camp for freed slaves. By August 1862 more than 500 former slaves lived on St. Simons, including Susie King Taylor, who organized a school for freed slave children. But in November the ex-slaves were taken to Hilton Head, South Carolina, and Fernandina, Florida, leaving the island abandoned.
After the Civil War the island never returned to its status as an agricultural community. The plantations lay dormant because there were no slaves to work the fields. After Union general William T. Sherman's January 1865 Special Field Order No. 15 —a demand that former plantations be divided and distributed to former slaves—was overturned by U.S. president Andrew Johnson less than a year later, freedmen and women were forced to work as sharecroppers on the small farms that dotted the land previously occupied by the sprawling plantations.
By
St. Simons Lumber Mills
1870 real economic recovery began with the reestablishment of the timber industry. Norman Dodge and Titus G. Meigs of New York set up lumber mill operations at Gascoigne Bluff, formerly Hamilton Plantation. The lumber mills provided welcome employment for both blacks and whites and also provided mail and passenger boats to the mainland. Such water traffic, together with the construction of a new lighthouse in 1872, designed by architect Charles B. Cluskey, marked the beginning of St. Simons's tourism industry. The keeper of the lighthouse created a small amusement park, which drew many visitors, as did the seemingly miraculous light that traveled from the top of the lighthouse tower to the bottom. The island became a summer retreat for families from the mainland, particularly from Baxley, Brunswick, and Waycross.
The island's resort industry was thriving by the 1880s. Beachfront structures, such as a new pier and grand hotel, were built on the southeastern end of the island and could be accessed by ferry. Around this time wealthy northerners began vacationing on the island.
Twentieth Century
The
St. Simons Island Pier and Village
opening in 1924 of the Brunswick–St. Simons Highway, today known as the Torras Causeway, was a milestone in the development of resorts in the area. St. Simons's beaches were now easily accessible to locals and tourists alike. More than 5,000 automobiles took the short drive from Brunswick to St. Simons via the causeway on its opening day, paving the way for convenient residential and resort development.
In 1926 automotive pioneer Howard Coffin of Detroit, Michigan, bought large tracts of land on St. Simons, including the former Retreat Plantation, and constructed a golf course, yacht club, paved roads, and a residential subdivision. Although the causeway had brought large numbers of summer people to the island, St. Simons remained a small community with only a few hundred permanent residents until the 1940s.
The
St. Simons Island
outbreak of World War II (1941-45) brought more visitors and residents to St. Simons. Troops stationed at Jacksonville, Florida; Savannah; and nearby Camp Stewart took weekend vacations on the island, and a new naval air base and radar school became home to even more officers and soldiers. The increased wartime population brought the island its first public school. With a major shipyard for the production of Liberty ships in nearby Brunswick, the waters of St. Simons became active with German U-boats. In April 1942, just off the coast, the Texas Company oil tanker S. S. Oklahoma and the S. S. Esso Baton Rouge were torpedoed by the Germans, bringing the war very close to home for island residents.
Due in large part to the military's improvement of the island's infrastructure during the war, development on the island boomed in the 1950s and 1960s. More permanent homes and subdivisions were built, and the island was no longer just a summer resort but also a thriving community. In 1950 the Methodist conference and retreat center Epworth by the Sea opened on Gascoigne Bluff. In 1961 novelist Eugenia Price visited St. Simons and began work on her first works of fiction, known as the St. Simons Trilogy. Inspired by real events on the island, Price's trilogy renewed interest in the history of Georgia's coast, and the novelist herself relocated to the island in 1965 and lived there for thirty-one years. St. Simons is also home to contemporary Georgia writer Tina McElroy Ansa.
Since
Epworth by the Sea
1980 St. Simons's population has doubled. The island's continued status as a vacation destination and its ongoing development boom have put historic landmarks and natural areas at risk. While such landmarks as the Fort Frederica ruins and the Battle of Bloody Marsh site are preserved and maintained by the National Park Service, and while the historic lighthouse is maintained by the Coastal Georgia Historical Society, historic Ebos Landing has been taken over by a sewage treatment plant.
Several coastal organizations have formed in recent years to save natural areas on the island. The St. Simons Land Trust, for example, has received donations of large tracts of land and plans to protect property in the island's three traditional African American neighborhoods. Despite its rapid growth and development, St. Simons remains one of the most beautiful and important islands on the Georgia coast.

The homeowners of a 1930s Tudor in East Atlanta Village envisioned a colorful renovation that blended original charm with modern updates. The creative couple, who cherish antiques and quirky collectibles, aimed to preserve the home's historic layout and architectural elements. The overall color palette and aesthetic was inspired by their grandmother's fine China collection.
The renovation encompassed the kitchen, mudroom, breakfast nook, living room, bar, powder room, and primary bathroom. Copper Sky Design + Remodel placed emphasis on integrating color, patterns, and specialty details to honor the home's history while reflecting the homeowners' unique style.
Key design choices included retaining the functional galley kitchen, featuring a dishrack over the sink to display the clients' depression-era glass and antique China. Floral cutouts on cabinet doors and refrigerator panels, reminiscent of the 1930s, were incorporated. A scalloped built-in cabinet in the butler’s pantry, designed to fit a niche previously housing an original piece, ties into the brass scalloped hood in the kitchen. The mudroom and butler’s pantry cabinets also feature a scallop motif.
Custom mosaic floor tiles, typical of the 1930s, required meticulous planning and execution. The 2” hexagon mosaic tile pattern in the kitchen, mudroom, and butler’s pantry was digitally designed and hand-laid on site. The primary bathroom's wall tile pattern demanded precision, resulting in a symmetrical and stunning design.
The primary bathroom was expanded to include a Japanese-style soaking tub and a bidet within its modest 10’ x 9’ size. The powder room, though small, is vibrant with “Dinosauria” wallpaper, Tiffany-style lighting, and a square mosaic tile floor.
This thoughtful renovation preserved the Tudor's historical integrity while infusing it with the homeowners' vibrant aesthetic, creating a harmonious blend of past and present.

Chandler Photography
Example of a mountain style two-car garage design in Other
Example of a mountain style two-car garage design in Other

Eric Piasecki
Inspiration for a contemporary medium tone wood floor dining room remodel in New York with white walls
Inspiration for a contemporary medium tone wood floor dining room remodel in New York with white walls

Sponsored
Columbus, OH
Hope Restoration & General Contracting
Columbus Design-Build, Kitchen & Bath Remodeling, Historic Renovations

Nursery - mid-sized contemporary boy medium tone wood floor, brown floor, wallpaper ceiling and wallpaper nursery idea in Houston with blue walls

Emily Followill
Example of a mid-sized country medium tone wood floor and brown floor kitchen design in Atlanta with white cabinets, stainless steel appliances, a peninsula, an undermount sink, marble countertops, white backsplash, white countertops and beaded inset cabinets
Example of a mid-sized country medium tone wood floor and brown floor kitchen design in Atlanta with white cabinets, stainless steel appliances, a peninsula, an undermount sink, marble countertops, white backsplash, white countertops and beaded inset cabinets

The chandelier is a Antoinette crystal chandelier in brass by Visual Comfort.
The wallpaper is "The Brook" by Morris & Co.
Example of a large transitional medium tone wood floor and brown floor enclosed dining room design in Denver with multicolored walls
Example of a large transitional medium tone wood floor and brown floor enclosed dining room design in Denver with multicolored walls

Margot Hartford Photography
Eclectic medium tone wood floor and brown floor kitchen photo in San Francisco with shaker cabinets, gray cabinets, multicolored backsplash and stainless steel appliances
Eclectic medium tone wood floor and brown floor kitchen photo in San Francisco with shaker cabinets, gray cabinets, multicolored backsplash and stainless steel appliances

Benjamin Hill Photography
Huge transitional formal and enclosed medium tone wood floor and brown floor living room photo in Houston with a standard fireplace, a stone fireplace, gray walls and no tv
Huge transitional formal and enclosed medium tone wood floor and brown floor living room photo in Houston with a standard fireplace, a stone fireplace, gray walls and no tv

Inspiration for a large farmhouse full sun courtyard brick landscaping in New York.

Sponsored
Columbus, OH
Hope Restoration & General Contracting
Columbus Design-Build, Kitchen & Bath Remodeling, Historic Renovations

Inspiration for a huge mediterranean terra-cotta metal railing staircase remodel in Dallas with tile risers

Living room - traditional medium tone wood floor and brown floor living room idea with gray walls and a stone fireplace

Inspiration for a farmhouse l-shaped gray floor kitchen remodel in Other with recessed-panel cabinets, white cabinets, gray backsplash, an island and white countertops

Historic 1880s farmhouse renovation in Spring City, Utah by certified kitchen & bath designer Cindy McCarley. Traditional meets farmhouse chic with sage green cabinetry, marble backsplash, floral wallpaper & copper details. Award-winning interior design preserving vintage charm with modern luxury.

Sponsored
Sunbury, OH
J.Holderby - Renovations
Franklin County's Leading General Contractors - 2X Best of Houzz!

Montgomery Place Townhouse
The unique and exclusive property on Montgomery Place, located between Eighth Avenue and Prospect Park West, was designed in 1898 by the architecture firm Babb, Cook & Willard. It contains an expansive seven bedrooms, five bathrooms, and two powder rooms. The firm was simultaneously working on the East 91st Street Andrew Carnegie Mansion during the period, and ensured the 30.5’ wide limestone at Montgomery Place would boast landmark historic details, including six fireplaces, an original Otis elevator, and a grand spiral staircase running across the four floors. After a two and half year renovation, which had modernized the home – adding five skylights, a wood burning fireplace, an outfitted butler’s kitchen and Waterworks fixtures throughout – the landmark mansion was sold in 2014. DHD Architecture and Interior Design were hired by the buyers, a young family who had moved from their Tribeca Loft, to further renovate and create a fresh, modern home, without compromising the structure’s historic features. The interiors were designed with a chic, bold, yet warm aesthetic in mind, mixing vibrant palettes into livable spaces.
Photography: Annie Schlechter
www.annieschlechter.com
© DHD / ALL RIGHTS RESERVED.

A full plastered archway was introduced in this new Master Bath Room set inside the old attic space of the home. The arch conceals ductwork and plumbing, and softens the rigid ceiling collar ties of the roof structure.-Martie Hart Photography.

The historic restoration of this First Period Ipswich, Massachusetts home (c. 1686) was an eighteen-month project that combined exterior and interior architectural work to preserve and revitalize this beautiful home. Structurally, work included restoring the summer beam, straightening the timber frame, and adding a lean-to section. The living space was expanded with the addition of a spacious gourmet kitchen featuring countertops made of reclaimed barn wood. As is always the case with our historic renovations, we took special care to maintain the beauty and integrity of the historic elements while bringing in the comfort and convenience of modern amenities. We were even able to uncover and restore much of the original fabric of the house (the chimney, fireplaces, paneling, trim, doors, hinges, etc.), which had been hidden for years under a renovation dating back to 1746.
Winner, 2012 Mary P. Conley Award for historic home restoration and preservation
You can read more about this restoration in the Boston Globe article by Regina Cole, “A First Period home gets a second life.” http://www.bostonglobe.com/magazine/2013/10/26/couple-rebuild-their-century-home-ipswich/r2yXE5yiKWYcamoFGmKVyL/story.html
Photo Credit: Eric Roth
1