Search results for "Master prove" in Home Design Ideas

Here is an architecturally built house from the early 1970's which was brought into the new century during this complete home remodel by opening up the main living space with two small additions off the back of the house creating a seamless exterior wall, dropping the floor to one level throughout, exposing the post an beam supports, creating main level on-suite, den/office space, refurbishing the existing powder room, adding a butlers pantry, creating an over sized kitchen with 17' island, refurbishing the existing bedrooms and creating a new master bedroom floor plan with walk in closet, adding an upstairs bonus room off an existing porch, remodeling the existing guest bathroom, and creating an in-law suite out of the existing workshop and garden tool room.vanity
Find the right local pro for your project

Inspiration for a coastal master gray floor bathroom remodel in Nashville with shaker cabinets, black cabinets, white walls and an undermount sink

Walk-in shower - contemporary brown tile beige floor walk-in shower idea in Los Angeles with a vessel sink, flat-panel cabinets, dark wood cabinets and a wall-mount toilet

Designed to embrace an extensive and unique art collection including sculpture, paintings, tapestry, and cultural antiquities, this modernist home located in north Scottsdale’s Estancia is the quintessential gallery home for the spectacular collection within. The primary roof form, “the wing” as the owner enjoys referring to it, opens the home vertically to a view of adjacent Pinnacle peak and changes the aperture to horizontal for the opposing view to the golf course. Deep overhangs and fenestration recesses give the home protection from the elements and provide supporting shade and shadow for what proves to be a desert sculpture. The restrained palette allows the architecture to express itself while permitting each object in the home to make its own place. The home, while certainly modern, expresses both elegance and warmth in its material selections including canterra stone, chopped sandstone, copper, and stucco.
Project Details | Lot 245 Estancia, Scottsdale AZ
Architect: C.P. Drewett, Drewett Works, Scottsdale, AZ
Interiors: Luis Ortega, Luis Ortega Interiors, Hollywood, CA
Publications: luxe. interiors + design. November 2011.
Featured on the world wide web: luxe.daily
Photo by Grey Crawford.

Eric Hausman for TRENDS
Example of a transitional galley dark wood floor kitchen design in Chicago with recessed-panel cabinets, dark wood cabinets, white backsplash, stainless steel appliances, an island and marble backsplash
Example of a transitional galley dark wood floor kitchen design in Chicago with recessed-panel cabinets, dark wood cabinets, white backsplash, stainless steel appliances, an island and marble backsplash

David Livingston (Photography)
Bathroom - contemporary white tile white floor and single-sink bathroom idea in Other with flat-panel cabinets, white cabinets, a console sink, white countertops and a floating vanity
Bathroom - contemporary white tile white floor and single-sink bathroom idea in Other with flat-panel cabinets, white cabinets, a console sink, white countertops and a floating vanity

The homeowners of this Marblehead residence wished to remodel their master bathroom, which had been redone only a few years prior. The previous renovation, however, was not a pleasant experience and they were hesitant to dive-in again. After an initial conversation, the homeowners agreed to meet with me to discuss the project.
listened to their vision for the room, paid close attention to their concerns, and desire to create a tranquil environment, that would be functional and practical for their everyday lifestyle.
In my first walk-through of the existing bathroom, several major issues became apparent. First, the vanity, a wooden table with two vessel sinks, did not allow access to the medicine cabinets due to its depth. Second, an oversized window installed in the shower did not provide privacy and had visible signs of rot. Third, the wallpaper by the shower was peeling and contained mold due to moisture. Finally, the hardwood flooring selected was impractical for a master bathroom.
My suggestion was to incorporate timeless and classic materials that would provide longevity and create an elegant environment. I designed a standard depth custom vanity which contained plenty of storage. We chose lovely white and blue quartzite counter tops, white porcelain tile that mimic the look of Thasos marble, along with blue accents, polished chrome fixtures and coastal inspired lighting. Next, we replaced, relocated, and changed the window style and shape. We then fabricated a window frame out of the quartzite for protection which proved to give the shower a lovely focal point. Lastly, to keep with the coastal theme of the room, we installed shiplap for the walls.
The homeowners now look forward to starting and ending their day in their bright and relaxing master bath. It has become a sanctuary to escape the hustle and bustle of everyday life.

When full-time Massachusetts residents contemplate building a second home in Telluride, Colorado the question immediately arises; does it make most sense to hire a regionally based Rocky Mountain architect or a sea level architect conveniently located for all of the rigorous collaboration required for successful bespoke home design. Determined to prove the latter true, Siemasko + Verbridge accompanied the potential client as they scoured the undulating Telluride landscape in search of the perfect house site.
The selected site’s harmonious balance of untouched meadow rising up to meet the edge of an aspen grove and the opposing 180 degree view of Wilson’s Range spoke to everyone. A plateau just beyond a fork in the meadow provided a natural flatland, requiring little excavation and yet the right amount of upland slope to capture the views. The intrinsic character of the site was only enriched by an elk trail and snake-rail fence.
Establishing the expanse of Wilson’s range would be best served by rejecting the notion of selected views, the central sweeping curve of the roof inverts a small saddle in the range with which it is perfectly aligned. The soaring wave of custom windows and the open floor plan make the relatively modest house feel sizable despite its footprint of just under 2,000 square feet. Officially a two bedroom home, the bunk room and loft allow the home to comfortably sleep ten, encouraging large gatherings of family and friends. The home is completely off the grid in response to the unique and fragile qualities of the landscape. Great care was taken to respect the regions vernacular through the use of mostly native materials and a palette derived from the terrain found at 9,820 feet above sea level.
Photographer: Gibeon Photography

The exterior of the dormer addition on the beautiful North Oaks home. The addition of a dormer above the garage allowed us to add an expansive bathroom and walk-in closet off the master bedroom.

Aquatica True Ofuro Black Freestanding Stone Japanese Soaking Bathtub
Since it was first introduced, Aquatica’s Ofuro series has proved very popular, due in large part to its inspiration – the ancient traditions of Japanese bathing.
Modern-day bathers love the ability to sit and soak in this superb, contemporary interpretation of olden-style Japanese wooden tub, which provides bathers with a perfectly designed, sculpted bath with internal seat and elevated rim for neck and head support, in which they can immerse themselves up to their neck.
Now, the True Ofuro offers bath lovers one more exciting option – the choice of Graphite Black using our award-winning and ground-breaking AquateX™ solid surface composite, around which to create your stunning new bathroom décor.
Ofuro is also available with an optional inline water heater and digital control panel with temperature display, which will reduce water consumption and provide for a prolonged soaking experience at very comfortable temperatures.
Thanks to the AquateX™ material, this Japanese soaking tub retains heat for much longer and has a silky and smooth surface. Besides being one of our most space conscious bathtubs, the freestanding and petite construction of this Japanese style bathtub means that it can be installed pretty much anywhere in your bathroom.

The master bedroom is original to the oldest part of the house, from the mid 1700s. The original wood mantel of the fireplace and trim is painted gray, while the walls are painted a robin-egg's blue. Wide plank pine flooring was refinished, continuing with the farmhouse style.
Eric Roth

Sponsored
Sunbury, OH
J.Holderby - Renovations
Franklin County's Leading General Contractors - 2X Best of Houzz!

This large bathroom remodel feature a clawfoot soaking tub, a large glass enclosed walk in shower, a private water closet, large floor to ceiling linen closet and a custom reclaimed wood vanity made by Limitless Woodworking. Light fixtures and door hardware were provided by Houzz. This modern bohemian bathroom also showcases a cement tile flooring, a feature wall and simple decor to tie everything together.

Stuart Wade, Envision Virtual Tours
The second-largest and most developed of Georgia's barrier islands, St. Simons is approximately twelve miles long and nearly three miles wide at its widest stretch (roughly the size of Manhattan Island in New York). The island is located in Glynn County on Georgia's coast and lies east of Brunswick (the seat of Glynn County), south of Little St. Simons Island and the Hampton River, and north of Jekyll Island. The resort community of Sea Island is separated from St. Simons on the east by the Black Banks River. Known for its oak tree canopies and historic landmarks, St. Simons is both a tourist destination and, according to the 2010 U.S. census, home to 12,743 residents.
Early History
The earliest
St. Simons Island Village
record of human habitation on the island dates to the Late Archaic Period, about 5,000 to 3,000 years ago. Remnants of shell rings left behind by Native Americans from this era survive on many of the barrier islands, including St. Simons. Centuries later, during the period known by historians as the chiefdom era, the Guale Indians established a chiefdom centered on St. Catherines Island and used St. Simons as their hunting and fishing grounds. By 1500 the Guale had established a permanent village of about 200 people on St. Simons, which they called Guadalquini.
Beginning in 1568, the Spanish attempted to create missions along the Georgia coast. Catholic missions were the primary means by which Georgia's indigenous Native American chiefdoms were assimilated into the Spanish colonial system along the northern frontier of greater Spanish Florida. In the 1600s St. Simons became home to two Spanish missions: San Buenaventura de Guadalquini, on the southern tip of the island, and Santo Domingo de Asao (or Asajo), on the northern tip. Located on the inland side of the island were the pagan refugee villages of San Simón, the island's namesake, and Ocotonico. In 1684 pirate raids left the missions and villages largely abandoned.
Colonial History
As
Fort Frederica
early as 1670, with Great Britain's establishment of the colony of Carolina and its expansion into Georgia territory, Spanish rule was threatened by the English. The Georgia coast was considered "debatable land" by England and Spain, even though Spain had fully retreated from St. Simons by 1702. Thirty-one years later General James Edward Oglethorpe founded the English settlement of Savannah. In 1736 he established Fort Frederica, named after the heir to the British throne, Frederick Louis, prince of Wales, on the west side of St. Simons Island to protect Savannah and the Carolinas from the Spanish threat.
Between 1736 and 1749 Fort Frederica was the hub of British military operations along the Georgia frontier. A town of the same name grew up around the fort and was of great importance to the new colony. By 1740 Frederica's population was 1,000. In 1736 the congregation of what would become Christ Church was organized within Fort Frederica as a mission of the Church of England. Charles Wesley led the first services. In 1742 Britain's decisive victory over Spain in the Battle of Bloody Marsh, during the War of Jenkins' Ear, ended the Spanish threat to the Georgia coast. When the British regimen disbanded in 1749, most of the townspeople relocated to the mainland. Fort Frederica went into decline and, except for a short time of prosperity during the 1760s and 1770s under the leadership of merchant James Spalding, never fully recovered. Today the historic citadel's tabby ruins are maintained by the National Park Service.
Plantation Era
By the start of the American Revolution (1775-83), Fort Frederica was obsolete, and St. Simons was left largely uninhabited as most of its residents joined the patriot army. Besides hosting a small Georgia naval victory on the Fort Frederica River, providing guns from its famous fort for use at Fort Morris in Sunbury, and serving as an arena for pillaging by privateers and British soldiers, the island played almost no role in the war.
Following the war, many of the townspeople, their businesses destroyed, turned to agriculture. The island was transformed into fourteen cotton plantations after acres of live oak trees were cleared for farm land and used for building American warships, including the famous USS Constitution, or "Old Ironsides." Although rice was the predominant crop along the neighboring Altamaha River, St. Simons was known for its production of long-staple cotton, which soon came to be known as Sea Island cotton.
Between
Ebos Landing
the 1780s and the outbreak of the Civil War (1861-65), St. Simons's plantation culture flourished. The saline atmosphere and the availability of cheap slave labor proved an ideal combination for the cultivation of Sea Island cotton. In 1803 a group of Ebo slaves who survived the Middle Passage and arrived on the west side of St. Simons staged a rebellion and drowned themselves. The sacred site is known today as Ebos Landing.
One of the largest owners of land and slaves on St. Simons was Pierce Butler, master of Hampton Point Plantation, located on the northern end of the island. By 1793 Butler owned more than 500 slaves, who cultivated 800 acres of cotton on St. Simons and 300 acres of rice on Butler's Island in the Altamaha River delta. Butler's grandson, Pierce Mease Butler, who at the age of sixteen inherited a share of his grandfather's estate in 1826, was responsible for the largest sale of human beings in the history of the United States: in 1859, to restore his squandered fortune, he sold 429 slaves in Savannah for more than $300,000. The British actress and writer Fanny Kemble, whose tumultuous marriage to Pierce ended in divorce in 1849, published an eyewitness account of the evils of slavery on St. Simons in her book Journal of a Residence on a Georgian Plantation in 1838-1839 (1863).
Another
Retreat Plantation
large owner of land and slaves on St. Simons was Major William Page, a friend and employee of Pierce Butler Sr. Before purchasing Retreat Plantation on the southwestern tip of the island in 1804, Page managed the Hampton plantation and Butler's Island. Upon Page's death in 1827, Thomas Butler King inherited the land together with his wife, Page's daughter, Anna Matilda Page King. King expanded his father-in-law's planting empire on St. Simons as well as on the mainland, and by 1835 Retreat Plantation alone was home to as many as 355 slaves.
The center of life during the island's plantation era was Christ Church, Frederica. Organized in 1807 by a group of island planters, the Episcopal church is the second oldest in the Diocese of Georgia. Embargoes imposed by the War of 1812 (1812-15) prevented the parishioners from building a church structure, so they worshiped in the home of John Beck, which stood on the site of Oglethorpe's only St. Simons residence, Orange Hall.
The first Christ Church building, finished on the present site in 1820, was ruined by occupying Union troops during the Civil War. In 1884 the Reverend Anson Dodge Jr. rebuilt the church as a memorial to his first wife, Ellen. The cruciform building with a trussed gothic roof and stained-glass windows remains active today as Christ Church.
Civil War and Beyond
The
St. Simons Island Lighthouse
outbreak of the Civil War in 1861 put a sudden end to St. Simons's lucrative plantation era. In January of that year, Confederate troops were stationed at the south end of the island to guard the entrance to Brunswick Harbor. Slaves from Retreat Plantation, owned by Thomas Butler King, built earthworks and batteries. Plantation residents were scattered—the men joined the Confederate army and their families moved to the mainland. Cannon fire was heard on the island in December 1861, and Confederate troops retreated in February 1862, after dynamiting the lighthouse to keep its beacon from aiding Union troops. Soon thereafter, Union troops occupied the island, which was used as a camp for freed slaves. By August 1862 more than 500 former slaves lived on St. Simons, including Susie King Taylor, who organized a school for freed slave children. But in November the ex-slaves were taken to Hilton Head, South Carolina, and Fernandina, Florida, leaving the island abandoned.
After the Civil War the island never returned to its status as an agricultural community. The plantations lay dormant because there were no slaves to work the fields. After Union general William T. Sherman's January 1865 Special Field Order No. 15 —a demand that former plantations be divided and distributed to former slaves—was overturned by U.S. president Andrew Johnson less than a year later, freedmen and women were forced to work as sharecroppers on the small farms that dotted the land previously occupied by the sprawling plantations.
By
St. Simons Lumber Mills
1870 real economic recovery began with the reestablishment of the timber industry. Norman Dodge and Titus G. Meigs of New York set up lumber mill operations at Gascoigne Bluff, formerly Hamilton Plantation. The lumber mills provided welcome employment for both blacks and whites and also provided mail and passenger boats to the mainland. Such water traffic, together with the construction of a new lighthouse in 1872, designed by architect Charles B. Cluskey, marked the beginning of St. Simons's tourism industry. The keeper of the lighthouse created a small amusement park, which drew many visitors, as did the seemingly miraculous light that traveled from the top of the lighthouse tower to the bottom. The island became a summer retreat for families from the mainland, particularly from Baxley, Brunswick, and Waycross.
The island's resort industry was thriving by the 1880s. Beachfront structures, such as a new pier and grand hotel, were built on the southeastern end of the island and could be accessed by ferry. Around this time wealthy northerners began vacationing on the island.
Twentieth Century
The
St. Simons Island Pier and Village
opening in 1924 of the Brunswick–St. Simons Highway, today known as the Torras Causeway, was a milestone in the development of resorts in the area. St. Simons's beaches were now easily accessible to locals and tourists alike. More than 5,000 automobiles took the short drive from Brunswick to St. Simons via the causeway on its opening day, paving the way for convenient residential and resort development.
In 1926 automotive pioneer Howard Coffin of Detroit, Michigan, bought large tracts of land on St. Simons, including the former Retreat Plantation, and constructed a golf course, yacht club, paved roads, and a residential subdivision. Although the causeway had brought large numbers of summer people to the island, St. Simons remained a small community with only a few hundred permanent residents until the 1940s.
The
St. Simons Island
outbreak of World War II (1941-45) brought more visitors and residents to St. Simons. Troops stationed at Jacksonville, Florida; Savannah; and nearby Camp Stewart took weekend vacations on the island, and a new naval air base and radar school became home to even more officers and soldiers. The increased wartime population brought the island its first public school. With a major shipyard for the production of Liberty ships in nearby Brunswick, the waters of St. Simons became active with German U-boats. In April 1942, just off the coast, the Texas Company oil tanker S. S. Oklahoma and the S. S. Esso Baton Rouge were torpedoed by the Germans, bringing the war very close to home for island residents.
Due in large part to the military's improvement of the island's infrastructure during the war, development on the island boomed in the 1950s and 1960s. More permanent homes and subdivisions were built, and the island was no longer just a summer resort but also a thriving community. In 1950 the Methodist conference and retreat center Epworth by the Sea opened on Gascoigne Bluff. In 1961 novelist Eugenia Price visited St. Simons and began work on her first works of fiction, known as the St. Simons Trilogy. Inspired by real events on the island, Price's trilogy renewed interest in the history of Georgia's coast, and the novelist herself relocated to the island in 1965 and lived there for thirty-one years. St. Simons is also home to contemporary Georgia writer Tina McElroy Ansa.
Since
Epworth by the Sea
1980 St. Simons's population has doubled. The island's continued status as a vacation destination and its ongoing development boom have put historic landmarks and natural areas at risk. While such landmarks as the Fort Frederica ruins and the Battle of Bloody Marsh site are preserved and maintained by the National Park Service, and while the historic lighthouse is maintained by the Coastal Georgia Historical Society, historic Ebos Landing has been taken over by a sewage treatment plant.
Several coastal organizations have formed in recent years to save natural areas on the island. The St. Simons Land Trust, for example, has received donations of large tracts of land and plans to protect property in the island's three traditional African American neighborhoods. Despite its rapid growth and development, St. Simons remains one of the most beautiful and important islands on the Georgia coast.

The Lounge:
A Ligne Roset Smalla day bed sofa sets the space off as multi functional with its simple adjustments it converts the space into a lounge or guest quarters.
Photo by: Jonn Coolidge

Sponsored
Sunbury, OH
J.Holderby - Renovations
Franklin County's Leading General Contractors - 2X Best of Houzz!

Inspiration for a contemporary carpeted bedroom remodel in Other with white walls

Rustic, modern and fresh. This open floor plan home is understated and warm. Layers and textures are well placed throughout the home. The kitchen is the natural heart of this home, where soft whites are mixed with natural wood beams and sparkling tile - proving that the best design is subtle yet full of details.
Scott Amundson Photography
Learn more about our showroom and kitchen and bath design: http://www.mingleteam.com

This show stopper, Houston Heights, impressive master bath proves just how much you can do when your space is limited. Universal Gray Sherwin Williams was used throughout the house. White shaker cabinetry with 10" chrome cabinet handles. Venatino Quartz was used to give a bit of warmth. Vintage and chrome 3 piece faucets with square undermount sinks and crystal lighting to give this place a bit of shimmer.
2



