Search results for "Close by hotel" in Home Design Ideas

Eric Piasecki
Example of a beach style gray tile bathroom design in New York with an undermount sink, a two-piece toilet and brown countertops
Example of a beach style gray tile bathroom design in New York with an undermount sink, a two-piece toilet and brown countertops

Stuart Wade, Envision Virtual Tours
The second-largest and most developed of Georgia's barrier islands, St. Simons is approximately twelve miles long and nearly three miles wide at its widest stretch (roughly the size of Manhattan Island in New York). The island is located in Glynn County on Georgia's coast and lies east of Brunswick (the seat of Glynn County), south of Little St. Simons Island and the Hampton River, and north of Jekyll Island. The resort community of Sea Island is separated from St. Simons on the east by the Black Banks River. Known for its oak tree canopies and historic landmarks, St. Simons is both a tourist destination and, according to the 2010 U.S. census, home to 12,743 residents.
Early History
The earliest
St. Simons Island Village
record of human habitation on the island dates to the Late Archaic Period, about 5,000 to 3,000 years ago. Remnants of shell rings left behind by Native Americans from this era survive on many of the barrier islands, including St. Simons. Centuries later, during the period known by historians as the chiefdom era, the Guale Indians established a chiefdom centered on St. Catherines Island and used St. Simons as their hunting and fishing grounds. By 1500 the Guale had established a permanent village of about 200 people on St. Simons, which they called Guadalquini.
Beginning in 1568, the Spanish attempted to create missions along the Georgia coast. Catholic missions were the primary means by which Georgia's indigenous Native American chiefdoms were assimilated into the Spanish colonial system along the northern frontier of greater Spanish Florida. In the 1600s St. Simons became home to two Spanish missions: San Buenaventura de Guadalquini, on the southern tip of the island, and Santo Domingo de Asao (or Asajo), on the northern tip. Located on the inland side of the island were the pagan refugee villages of San Simón, the island's namesake, and Ocotonico. In 1684 pirate raids left the missions and villages largely abandoned.
Colonial History
As
Fort Frederica
early as 1670, with Great Britain's establishment of the colony of Carolina and its expansion into Georgia territory, Spanish rule was threatened by the English. The Georgia coast was considered "debatable land" by England and Spain, even though Spain had fully retreated from St. Simons by 1702. Thirty-one years later General James Edward Oglethorpe founded the English settlement of Savannah. In 1736 he established Fort Frederica, named after the heir to the British throne, Frederick Louis, prince of Wales, on the west side of St. Simons Island to protect Savannah and the Carolinas from the Spanish threat.
Between 1736 and 1749 Fort Frederica was the hub of British military operations along the Georgia frontier. A town of the same name grew up around the fort and was of great importance to the new colony. By 1740 Frederica's population was 1,000. In 1736 the congregation of what would become Christ Church was organized within Fort Frederica as a mission of the Church of England. Charles Wesley led the first services. In 1742 Britain's decisive victory over Spain in the Battle of Bloody Marsh, during the War of Jenkins' Ear, ended the Spanish threat to the Georgia coast. When the British regimen disbanded in 1749, most of the townspeople relocated to the mainland. Fort Frederica went into decline and, except for a short time of prosperity during the 1760s and 1770s under the leadership of merchant James Spalding, never fully recovered. Today the historic citadel's tabby ruins are maintained by the National Park Service.
Plantation Era
By the start of the American Revolution (1775-83), Fort Frederica was obsolete, and St. Simons was left largely uninhabited as most of its residents joined the patriot army. Besides hosting a small Georgia naval victory on the Fort Frederica River, providing guns from its famous fort for use at Fort Morris in Sunbury, and serving as an arena for pillaging by privateers and British soldiers, the island played almost no role in the war.
Following the war, many of the townspeople, their businesses destroyed, turned to agriculture. The island was transformed into fourteen cotton plantations after acres of live oak trees were cleared for farm land and used for building American warships, including the famous USS Constitution, or "Old Ironsides." Although rice was the predominant crop along the neighboring Altamaha River, St. Simons was known for its production of long-staple cotton, which soon came to be known as Sea Island cotton.
Between
Ebos Landing
the 1780s and the outbreak of the Civil War (1861-65), St. Simons's plantation culture flourished. The saline atmosphere and the availability of cheap slave labor proved an ideal combination for the cultivation of Sea Island cotton. In 1803 a group of Ebo slaves who survived the Middle Passage and arrived on the west side of St. Simons staged a rebellion and drowned themselves. The sacred site is known today as Ebos Landing.
One of the largest owners of land and slaves on St. Simons was Pierce Butler, master of Hampton Point Plantation, located on the northern end of the island. By 1793 Butler owned more than 500 slaves, who cultivated 800 acres of cotton on St. Simons and 300 acres of rice on Butler's Island in the Altamaha River delta. Butler's grandson, Pierce Mease Butler, who at the age of sixteen inherited a share of his grandfather's estate in 1826, was responsible for the largest sale of human beings in the history of the United States: in 1859, to restore his squandered fortune, he sold 429 slaves in Savannah for more than $300,000. The British actress and writer Fanny Kemble, whose tumultuous marriage to Pierce ended in divorce in 1849, published an eyewitness account of the evils of slavery on St. Simons in her book Journal of a Residence on a Georgian Plantation in 1838-1839 (1863).
Another
Retreat Plantation
large owner of land and slaves on St. Simons was Major William Page, a friend and employee of Pierce Butler Sr. Before purchasing Retreat Plantation on the southwestern tip of the island in 1804, Page managed the Hampton plantation and Butler's Island. Upon Page's death in 1827, Thomas Butler King inherited the land together with his wife, Page's daughter, Anna Matilda Page King. King expanded his father-in-law's planting empire on St. Simons as well as on the mainland, and by 1835 Retreat Plantation alone was home to as many as 355 slaves.
The center of life during the island's plantation era was Christ Church, Frederica. Organized in 1807 by a group of island planters, the Episcopal church is the second oldest in the Diocese of Georgia. Embargoes imposed by the War of 1812 (1812-15) prevented the parishioners from building a church structure, so they worshiped in the home of John Beck, which stood on the site of Oglethorpe's only St. Simons residence, Orange Hall.
The first Christ Church building, finished on the present site in 1820, was ruined by occupying Union troops during the Civil War. In 1884 the Reverend Anson Dodge Jr. rebuilt the church as a memorial to his first wife, Ellen. The cruciform building with a trussed gothic roof and stained-glass windows remains active today as Christ Church.
Civil War and Beyond
The
St. Simons Island Lighthouse
outbreak of the Civil War in 1861 put a sudden end to St. Simons's lucrative plantation era. In January of that year, Confederate troops were stationed at the south end of the island to guard the entrance to Brunswick Harbor. Slaves from Retreat Plantation, owned by Thomas Butler King, built earthworks and batteries. Plantation residents were scattered—the men joined the Confederate army and their families moved to the mainland. Cannon fire was heard on the island in December 1861, and Confederate troops retreated in February 1862, after dynamiting the lighthouse to keep its beacon from aiding Union troops. Soon thereafter, Union troops occupied the island, which was used as a camp for freed slaves. By August 1862 more than 500 former slaves lived on St. Simons, including Susie King Taylor, who organized a school for freed slave children. But in November the ex-slaves were taken to Hilton Head, South Carolina, and Fernandina, Florida, leaving the island abandoned.
After the Civil War the island never returned to its status as an agricultural community. The plantations lay dormant because there were no slaves to work the fields. After Union general William T. Sherman's January 1865 Special Field Order No. 15 —a demand that former plantations be divided and distributed to former slaves—was overturned by U.S. president Andrew Johnson less than a year later, freedmen and women were forced to work as sharecroppers on the small farms that dotted the land previously occupied by the sprawling plantations.
By
St. Simons Lumber Mills
1870 real economic recovery began with the reestablishment of the timber industry. Norman Dodge and Titus G. Meigs of New York set up lumber mill operations at Gascoigne Bluff, formerly Hamilton Plantation. The lumber mills provided welcome employment for both blacks and whites and also provided mail and passenger boats to the mainland. Such water traffic, together with the construction of a new lighthouse in 1872, designed by architect Charles B. Cluskey, marked the beginning of St. Simons's tourism industry. The keeper of the lighthouse created a small amusement park, which drew many visitors, as did the seemingly miraculous light that traveled from the top of the lighthouse tower to the bottom. The island became a summer retreat for families from the mainland, particularly from Baxley, Brunswick, and Waycross.
The island's resort industry was thriving by the 1880s. Beachfront structures, such as a new pier and grand hotel, were built on the southeastern end of the island and could be accessed by ferry. Around this time wealthy northerners began vacationing on the island.
Twentieth Century
The
St. Simons Island Pier and Village
opening in 1924 of the Brunswick–St. Simons Highway, today known as the Torras Causeway, was a milestone in the development of resorts in the area. St. Simons's beaches were now easily accessible to locals and tourists alike. More than 5,000 automobiles took the short drive from Brunswick to St. Simons via the causeway on its opening day, paving the way for convenient residential and resort development.
In 1926 automotive pioneer Howard Coffin of Detroit, Michigan, bought large tracts of land on St. Simons, including the former Retreat Plantation, and constructed a golf course, yacht club, paved roads, and a residential subdivision. Although the causeway had brought large numbers of summer people to the island, St. Simons remained a small community with only a few hundred permanent residents until the 1940s.
The
St. Simons Island
outbreak of World War II (1941-45) brought more visitors and residents to St. Simons. Troops stationed at Jacksonville, Florida; Savannah; and nearby Camp Stewart took weekend vacations on the island, and a new naval air base and radar school became home to even more officers and soldiers. The increased wartime population brought the island its first public school. With a major shipyard for the production of Liberty ships in nearby Brunswick, the waters of St. Simons became active with German U-boats. In April 1942, just off the coast, the Texas Company oil tanker S. S. Oklahoma and the S. S. Esso Baton Rouge were torpedoed by the Germans, bringing the war very close to home for island residents.
Due in large part to the military's improvement of the island's infrastructure during the war, development on the island boomed in the 1950s and 1960s. More permanent homes and subdivisions were built, and the island was no longer just a summer resort but also a thriving community. In 1950 the Methodist conference and retreat center Epworth by the Sea opened on Gascoigne Bluff. In 1961 novelist Eugenia Price visited St. Simons and began work on her first works of fiction, known as the St. Simons Trilogy. Inspired by real events on the island, Price's trilogy renewed interest in the history of Georgia's coast, and the novelist herself relocated to the island in 1965 and lived there for thirty-one years. St. Simons is also home to contemporary Georgia writer Tina McElroy Ansa.
Since
Epworth by the Sea
1980 St. Simons's population has doubled. The island's continued status as a vacation destination and its ongoing development boom have put historic landmarks and natural areas at risk. While such landmarks as the Fort Frederica ruins and the Battle of Bloody Marsh site are preserved and maintained by the National Park Service, and while the historic lighthouse is maintained by the Coastal Georgia Historical Society, historic Ebos Landing has been taken over by a sewage treatment plant.
Several coastal organizations have formed in recent years to save natural areas on the island. The St. Simons Land Trust, for example, has received donations of large tracts of land and plans to protect property in the island's three traditional African American neighborhoods. Despite its rapid growth and development, St. Simons remains one of the most beautiful and important islands on the Georgia coast.

This entryway bench is wrapped in walnut with built-in cubbies below an upholstered bench, serving as a place to stop and take off shoes and drop your bag. The vertical channel upholstered back in olive green leather makes a statement.
Find the right local pro for your project

San Marino based clients were interested in developing a property that had been in their family for generations. This was an exciting proposition as it was one of the last surviving bayside double lots on the scenic Coronado peninsula in San Diego. They desired a holiday home that would be a gathering place for their large, close- knit family.
San Marino based clients were interested in developing a property that had been in their family for generations. This was an exciting proposition as it was one of the last surviving bayside double lots on the scenic Coronado peninsula in San Diego. They desired a holiday home that would be a gathering place for their large, close-knit family. Facing the Back Bay, overlooking downtown and the Bay Bridge, this property presented us with a unique opportunity to design a vacation home with a dual personality. One side faces a bustling harbor with a constant parade of yachts, cargo vessels and military ships while the other opens onto a deep, quiet contemplative garden. The home’s shingle-style influence carries on the historical Coronado tradition of clapboard and Craftsman bungalows built in the shadow of the great Hotel Del Coronado which was erected at the turn of the last century. In order to create an informal feel to the residence, we devised a concept that eliminated the need for a “front door”. Instead, one walks through the garden and enters the “Great Hall” through either one of two French doors flanking a walk-in stone fireplace. Both two-story bedroom wings bookend this central wood beam vaulted room which serves as the “heart of the home”, and opens to both views. Three sets of stairs are discretely tucked away inside the bedroom wings.
In lieu of a formal dining room, the family convenes and dines around a beautiful table and banquette set into a circular window bay off the kitchen which overlooks the lights of the city beyond the harbor. Working with noted interior designer Betty Ann Marshall, we designed a unique kitchen that was inspired by the colors and textures of a fossil the couple found on a honeymoon trip to the quarries of Montana. We set that ancient fossil into a matte glass backsplash behind the professional cook’s stove. A warm library with walnut paneling and a bayed window seat affords a refuge for the family to read or play board games. The couple’s fine craft and folk art collection is on prominent display throughout the house and helps to set an intimate and whimsical tone.
Another architectural feature devoted to family is the play room lit by a dramatic cupola which beacons the older grandchildren and their friends. Below the play room is a four car garage that allows the patriarch space to refurbish an antique fire truck, a mahogany launch boat and several vintage cars. Their jet skis and kayaks are housed in another garage designed for that purpose. Lattice covered skylights that allow dappled sunlight to bathe the loggia affords a comfortable refuge to watch the kids swim and gaze out upon the rushing water, the Coronado Bay Bridge and the romantic downtown San Diego skyline.
Architect: Ward Jewell Architect, AIA
Interior Design: Betty Ann Marshall
Construction: Bill Lyons
Photographer: Laura Hull
Styling: Zale Design Studio

San Marino based clients were interested in developing a property that had been in their family for generations. This was an exciting proposition as it was one of the last surviving bayside double lots on the scenic Coronado peninsula in San Diego. They desired a holiday home that would be a gathering place for their large, close- knit family.
San Marino based clients were interested in developing a property that had been in their family for generations. This was an exciting proposition as it was one of the last surviving bayside double lots on the scenic Coronado peninsula in San Diego. They desired a holiday home that would be a gathering place for their large, close-knit family. Facing the Back Bay, overlooking downtown and the Bay Bridge, this property presented us with a unique opportunity to design a vacation home with a dual personality. One side faces a bustling harbor with a constant parade of yachts, cargo vessels and military ships while the other opens onto a deep, quiet contemplative garden. The home’s shingle-style influence carries on the historical Coronado tradition of clapboard and Craftsman bungalows built in the shadow of the great Hotel Del Coronado which was erected at the turn of the last century. In order to create an informal feel to the residence, we devised a concept that eliminated the need for a “front door”. Instead, one walks through the garden and enters the “Great Hall” through either one of two French doors flanking a walk-in stone fireplace. Both two-story bedroom wings bookend this central wood beam vaulted room which serves as the “heart of the home”, and opens to both views. Three sets of stairs are discretely tucked away inside the bedroom wings.
In lieu of a formal dining room, the family convenes and dines around a beautiful table and banquette set into a circular window bay off the kitchen which overlooks the lights of the city beyond the harbor. Working with noted interior designer Betty Ann Marshall, we designed a unique kitchen that was inspired by the colors and textures of a fossil the couple found on a honeymoon trip to the quarries of Montana. We set that ancient fossil into a matte glass backsplash behind the professional cook’s stove. A warm library with walnut paneling and a bayed window seat affords a refuge for the family to read or play board games. The couple’s fine craft and folk art collection is on prominent display throughout the house and helps to set an intimate and whimsical tone.
Another architectural feature devoted to family is the play room lit by a dramatic cupola which beacons the older grandchildren and their friends. Below the play room is a four car garage that allows the patriarch space to refurbish an antique fire truck, a mahogany launch boat and several vintage cars. Their jet skis and kayaks are housed in another garage designed for that purpose. Lattice covered skylights that allow dappled sunlight to bathe the loggia affords a comfortable refuge to watch the kids swim and gaze out upon the rushing water, the Coronado Bay Bridge and the romantic downtown San Diego skyline.
Architect: Ward Jewell Architect, AIA
Interior Design: Betty Ann Marshall
Construction: Bill Lyons
Photographer: Laura Hull
Styling: Zale Design Studio

Sponsored
Columbus, OH
Hope Restoration & General Contracting
Columbus Design-Build, Kitchen & Bath Remodeling, Historic Renovations

Photo Credit: Whitney Kidder
Inspiration for a mid-sized modern white tile and marble tile mosaic tile floor and gray floor tub/shower combo remodel in New York with flat-panel cabinets, blue cabinets, an undermount tub, a wall-mount toilet, white walls, an undermount sink, marble countertops, a hinged shower door and white countertops
Inspiration for a mid-sized modern white tile and marble tile mosaic tile floor and gray floor tub/shower combo remodel in New York with flat-panel cabinets, blue cabinets, an undermount tub, a wall-mount toilet, white walls, an undermount sink, marble countertops, a hinged shower door and white countertops

Three identical guest suites are outfitted with the modern amenities of a boutique hotel. Each has a built-in desk and wardrobe, a fully-appointed bath, a cozy seating area and custom-made beds and nightstands designed by Amy Carman. Materials inside the suites, including white oak, leather, stone, reeds, and fur, all reflect a close connection to the wild space outdoors.

When asked by a client for a home that would stand up against the best of hotel suites, Dawson and Clinton created this Noe Valley residence. To fulfill the request, significant square footage was added to the home, and an open floor plan was used to maximize the space in the bedroom while replicating the feel of a luxury suite.
The master bedroom is designed to flow between the home’s terraces, connecting the space in a way that breaks down the relationship between exterior and interior
In renovating the bathrooms, designers worked to modernize the aesthetic, while finding space to complement residence with improved amenities, such as a luxurious double shower.
The use of glass was prevalent throughout, as a way to bring light down into the lower levels, resulting in what is the home's most striking feature- the staircase.

Brio Photography
Inspiration for a small timeless 3/4 white tile and glass tile ceramic tile doorless shower remodel in Austin with shaker cabinets, white cabinets, marble countertops, an undermount sink, a two-piece toilet and green walls
Inspiration for a small timeless 3/4 white tile and glass tile ceramic tile doorless shower remodel in Austin with shaker cabinets, white cabinets, marble countertops, an undermount sink, a two-piece toilet and green walls

THE SETUP
Located in a luxury high rise in Chicago’s Gold Coast Neighborhood, the condo’s existing primary bath was “fine,” but a bit underwhelming. It was a sea of beige, with very little personality or drama. The client is very well traveled, and wanted the space to feel luxe and glamorous, like a bath in a fine European hotel.
Design objectives:
- Add loads of beautiful high end finishes
- Create drama and contrast
- Create luxe showering and bathing experiences
- Improve storage for toiletries and essentials
THE REMODEL
Design challenges:
- Unable to reconfigure layout due to location in the high rise
- Seek out unique, dramatic tile materials
- Introduce “BLING”
- Find glamorous lighting
Design solutions:
- Keep existing layout, with change from built in to free-standing tub
- Gorgeous Calacatta gold marble was our inspiration
- Ornate Art deco marble mosaic to be the focal point, with satin gold accents to create shimmer
- Glass and crystal light fixtures add the needed sparkle
THE RENEWED SPACE
After the remodel began, our client’s vision for her bath took a turn that was inspired by a trip to Paris. Initially, the plan was a modest design to allocate resources for her kitchen’s marble slabs… but then she had a vision while admiring the marble bathroom of her Parisian hotel.
She was determined to infuse her bathroom with the same sense of luxury. They went back to the drawing board and started over with all-marble.
Her new stunning bath space radiates glamour and sophistication. The “bling” flows to her bedroom where we matched the gorgeous custom wall treatment that mimics grasscloth on an accent wall. With its marble landscape, shimmering tile and walls, the primary bath’s ambiance creates a swanky hotel feel that our client adores and considers her sanctuary.

Kitchen - coastal kitchen idea in Jacksonville with blue cabinets, mosaic tile backsplash and gray backsplash

Inspiration for a timeless white tile and subway tile alcove shower remodel in San Francisco with an undermount sink, gray cabinets, gray walls and recessed-panel cabinets

The goal of this project was to upgrade the builder grade finishes and create an ergonomic space that had a contemporary feel. This bathroom transformed from a standard, builder grade bathroom to a contemporary urban oasis. This was one of my favorite projects, I know I say that about most of my projects but this one really took an amazing transformation. By removing the walls surrounding the shower and relocating the toilet it visually opened up the space. Creating a deeper shower allowed for the tub to be incorporated into the wet area. Adding a LED panel in the back of the shower gave the illusion of a depth and created a unique storage ledge. A custom vanity keeps a clean front with different storage options and linear limestone draws the eye towards the stacked stone accent wall.
Houzz Write Up: https://www.houzz.com/magazine/inside-houzz-a-chopped-up-bathroom-goes-streamlined-and-swank-stsetivw-vs~27263720
The layout of this bathroom was opened up to get rid of the hallway effect, being only 7 foot wide, this bathroom needed all the width it could muster. Using light flooring in the form of natural lime stone 12x24 tiles with a linear pattern, it really draws the eye down the length of the room which is what we needed. Then, breaking up the space a little with the stone pebble flooring in the shower, this client enjoyed his time living in Japan and wanted to incorporate some of the elements that he appreciated while living there. The dark stacked stone feature wall behind the tub is the perfect backdrop for the LED panel, giving the illusion of a window and also creates a cool storage shelf for the tub. A narrow, but tasteful, oval freestanding tub fit effortlessly in the back of the shower. With a sloped floor, ensuring no standing water either in the shower floor or behind the tub, every thought went into engineering this Atlanta bathroom to last the test of time. With now adequate space in the shower, there was space for adjacent shower heads controlled by Kohler digital valves. A hand wand was added for use and convenience of cleaning as well. On the vanity are semi-vessel sinks which give the appearance of vessel sinks, but with the added benefit of a deeper, rounded basin to avoid splashing. Wall mounted faucets add sophistication as well as less cleaning maintenance over time. The custom vanity is streamlined with drawers, doors and a pull out for a can or hamper.
A wonderful project and equally wonderful client. I really enjoyed working with this client and the creative direction of this project.
Brushed nickel shower head with digital shower valve, freestanding bathtub, curbless shower with hidden shower drain, flat pebble shower floor, shelf over tub with LED lighting, gray vanity with drawer fronts, white square ceramic sinks, wall mount faucets and lighting under vanity. Hidden Drain shower system. Atlanta Bathroom.

Sponsored
Sunbury, OH
J.Holderby - Renovations
Franklin County's Leading General Contractors - 2X Best of Houzz!

Trendy master light wood floor, beige floor and wallpaper bedroom photo in New York with black walls

Photo by Amy Bartlam
Inspiration for a mid-sized coastal multicolored tile bathroom remodel in Los Angeles with black cabinets, marble countertops, white walls, a console sink and shaker cabinets
Inspiration for a mid-sized coastal multicolored tile bathroom remodel in Los Angeles with black cabinets, marble countertops, white walls, a console sink and shaker cabinets

Example of a large farmhouse medium tone wood floor dining room design in Phoenix with a corner fireplace
1




