Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
molly_and_me_gw

Where are my enablers? I need help.

14 years ago

I thought I knew a lot about flowers until I started reading the posts and FAQs on Garden Web. Now I have soooo many questions.

I have known for years that dahlias form tubers. I recently learned that 4 oÂclocks and some varieties of salvia will form tubers. Maybe I didnÂt know this because I have never grown them.

Are there other plants that produce tubers or fibrous roots that can be dug up and replanted in the spring?

I have also read that some people pull up geraniums and store the bare roots through the winter then replant them. Does this really work? If so exactly how do you store them?

Comments (5)

• 14 years ago

I have been gardening for over 40 years and only learned about the salvia and mirabilis tubers a few years ago on this forum. My Mom grew long rows of 4 o'clocks (mirabilis) every year in our big farm garden. She always started them from seed. I asked her if she knew that they formed tubers but I asked too late as her memory is going and all she said was "I don't remember."

I would think in Z:9 you would not have to dig up the tubers for winter storage so might think they grow like most other perennials. Chocolate cosmos, sweet potato vines, canna and calla lilies also form tubers. When I lived in St. Louis, MO I did not dig up the calla lilies as they survived in the ground and grew as perennials.

I know that some over winter geraniums with bare roots but that did not work for me. Mine go dormant in a pot in a dark cold basement room with a little water once a month until spring when they start growing again. I have also kept them growing and blooming throughout the winter by an east window or under lights.

• 14 years ago