Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
tussiemussies

Newbie has question about food...

18 years ago

Hi, I'm new to trying to attract hummingbirds to the garden, I planted flowers in my this year to attract them and nothing happened, I came across this forum and read up on what to do, so I went out and got two feeders 2 weeks ago, and food made up by perky pet that is concentrated and you dilute it, it all worked great -- until -- I made up my second batch of food and realized I made a mistake and the first batch of food had one cup less of water in it than it should have had (it was more concentrated). I put out the second batch with the right proportions and have had no hummingbirds feeding (2 days now), which they had been feeding all day long. My question is if I make another batch of food at the more concentrated level like the first one, will it harm them in any way? Thanks for your help! : ) Tussiemussies

Comments (7)

• 18 years ago

Mix a batch of sugar water: 1 part sugar to 4 parts water. They really like it. Alot of people say that the red store bought mix is not good for the hummers

• 18 years ago

Supra has It.Good luck

• 18 years ago

Hi again,

Thanks for your replies, when I bought the mix, I was very careful in looking at the ingredients and this one seems to be very good (it is completely natural, no red food coloring etc., amde from insests and flowers for the red) and I had picked up quite a lot of it to finish off the season, so I would really like to use it up, does anyone know if it would be harmful to them to make it more concentrated as I had mistakenly originally done? Thanks. : )

• 18 years ago