Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
linda1270

Which Ones in Which Pot???

19 years ago

This is my first year container gardening but I am determined that I will have a garden on my porch deck. I have lots of seedlings up in my kitchen but now I am so undecided on which seedlings I should plant together in which pots. Can anyone help me out? These are the seedlings I have up so far and ones that should be up very soon:

Bachelor's Buttons

Cosmos - Cosmic Orange and Bright Lights

Moonflowers

Morning Glory's - Heavenly Blue and Grandpa Otts

Scarlet Cardinal Climber

Nasturiums - Scarlet, Rose and another kind, name escapes me

Four O'Clocks - Custard & Cream and Mixed Colors

Nicotania

Candytuft

Cleome

Johnny Jump Ups

Hyacinth Bean

I also have tomatoes but I plan on planting them alone or with my basil.

The thing is, my balcony really isn't that big but if I can combine at least 3 per large pot, with the exception of a couple, I will be able to do it! I believe that the Cosmos "Bright Lights" will most likely be too tall to plant in a container and also the Cleome, so I'm really not sure what I will do with those. The Cosmis Orange Cosmos are a shorter version, so they shouldn't be a problem.

Any suggestions will be greatly appreciated!

Many thanks!

Linda

Comments (3)

• 19 years ago

I usually don't mix plants in containers, except for window boxes, but I don't use many large pots, either. The starting point for combining plants in containers has to be the same as for planting them together in the garden: compatibility of their needs for light, water, and feeding. To the extent that the basic horticultural requirements are compatible, you might go about grouping them as if you were arranging flowers.