Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
vickima

Neighbor burning plastic

12 years ago

I just found out that the plume of smoke that drifted over my organic vegetable garden for more than a day from my neighbor's backyard fire was from his burning plastic! I don't know what kind; he said it was a big piece. He did this during the constant drizzle we've had the last few days. Does anyone on this forum have any idea how bad this could be? I was diagnosed with cancer last year, so I figure I am particularly vulnerable to toxins and I wonder how concerned I should be.

Comments (8)

• 12 years ago

I am not a expert here but I would be very concerned.

• 12 years ago

There are many toxins in plastice and burning plastice releaseses them in bad ways, but it is amazing how many people do not grasp the harm they are doing by burning many products. This article from a Time magazine will not help ease your concerns but may answer some questions you have.

Here is a link that might be useful: Toxins in plastic

• 12 years ago

"...neighbor's backyard fire..... burning plastic!
    Does anyone on this forum have any idea how bad this could be?"

This forum being Organic Gardening leads me to think you'll get highly biased viewpoints with difficulty sorting wheat from chaff.

I've been cancer free three years now. The residents of this rural area have, and continue, to burn plastic despite prohibiting ordinance. My oncologist was far more concerned with my making compost; in fact forbade it throughout treatments/surgeries.

We are surrounded by items inimical to health. Correlation to personal illness isn't clearcut.

• 12 years ago

alponse, congratulations on remaining cancer free! I posted in this forum because I figured the people here are the most interested in reducing toxins. It's fascinating to me that your oncologist told you not to compost, but why?

kimmsr, thanks for that link. I used to microwave food in plastic containers and I don't do that anymore.