Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
amanda_eggers415

Finalizing fall plan, input appreciated and a couple final questions

6 years ago
last modified: 6 years ago

This is my first year putting effort into my lawn and I have came up with a game plan that I would like some input on..

1. My lawn has some rocks, big and small, so I'm clearing out those the best I can.

2. Mow short.

3. Dethatch and rake/bag up everything

4. Core Aerate

5. Apply Lime immediately after aerating (soil test indicated I need this)

6. Bring in top soil to fill in the holes left from removing rocks and to fill in some shallow ruts.

7. A couple weeks after aerating and applying the lime, Put down seed and starter fertilizer (have read lime and fertilizer do not go good together)

8. Possibly roll the seed for good soil contact.

9. Light layer of peat moss as top dressing.

10. Water, Water, Water!

Questions:

-Am I doing the right thing by waiting 2 weeks after applying the lime before I put the seed and starter fertilizer down? I have read you should aerate and then put down seed immediately, but with the lime application, I am not sure.

-Should my step 6 go before aerating? I was thinking that the fresh soil wouldn't really need aerating so I put it after so that I could work on that during the couple weeks that I am waiting to put the seed down.

Thanks for the help!!

Comments (8)

• 6 years ago

What are you doing about weeds? Have you used a selective weed killer? Are you planning to use glyphosate? Are you doing an overseed or a renovation? What is your seed down date?

Move the "mow short and bag everything up" to right before seeding. If this is an overseed, you should gradually reduce your mowing height. You may or may not need to dethatch. The aeration earlier may be enough. You want the aeration holes to fill in before seeding so the seeds don't fall down too deep.