Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
elizabetheva

New rose aphids?

6 years ago
A friend came across Earth Angel roses at a local nursery and she picked up two of them for me. I picked them up and they were in my car for part of the day and when I unloaded everything else from my errands I found two aphids. I can’t see anything visible on the plants but I was planning on giving one of the roses to my mom tomorrow and I’m wondering if I should treat it? They could have transferred to me from my friend’s other roses but I don’t want my mom to have a sudden infestation a week from now. I also have new roses plants arriving this week and I’d hate to be fighting aphids the first week I have them.

Comments (21)

• 6 years ago
    Thank you! That’s what I was hoping. I’m new to roses in this climate and DS is always catching and releasing lady bugs so it all sounds logical. I have read that a lot of people don’t spray roses anymore, but I didn’t think I would have to make a decision about it so soon.
  • 6 years ago
    last modified: 6 years ago

Or you could use Safer Soap, Lowe's has it for $5.97, it's more like a organic bug spray. https://www.lowes.com/pd/Garden-Safe-24-fl-oz-Insecticidal-Soap-Insect-Killer/4382973?cm_mmc=SCE_PLA-

• 6 years ago