Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
alwaysundecided7b

How to fix badly pruned climbing roses?

2 years ago
last modified: 2 years ago

When I plan to prune my two climbing roses today, which were planted last March, to my surprise, my yard guy has already pruned them along with my other shrub roses using shrub rose pruning style. The climbing roses are 'Teasing Georgia' and 'Pretty in Pink Eden'. Here is how one of the climbing roses look like right now. I am very new to roses. I know this is not how climbing rose should be pruned, but not sure how to fix it.

1) Since all the main canes have been pruned, will this cause long-term damage to the roses other than no flowers this year? Both climbing roses have only produced very few flowers since planting last March.

2) Many branches have grown away from the fence, which, according to instruction videos posted on YouTube, should be completely cut off during pruning. Since they were not cut off by the yard guy, should I go ahead cutting them off? Or just leave it the way it is and make it right next year.

Thanks for your help.

Comments (15)

• 2 years ago

I wouldn't prune off anything else right now. And if your rose is a repeat-blooming variety, you'll probably still get blooms this year.

Edit, duh I see the rose names now. You'll still get flowers.

alwaysundecided7b thanked Mischievous Magpie (CO 5b)
  • 2 years ago

Ok, your Teasing Georgia will be fine. I pruned my more like a shrub and by mid summer it had long canes winding all through my trellis. At least that one should revive

alwaysundecided7b thanked Kristine LeGault 8a pnw
  • 2 years ago