Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
kev843

Would this simple mix work for blueberry plants in a container?

16 years ago

Hi everyone,

Just wanted to know if a 50/50 of peat moss and miracle grow organic potting soil would work well.

I am new to gardening in general,so the easier the better for me right now.

Also I am growing Powder blue and tifblue,are these good varieties?I know they are good for my area just wondering as far as taste and such.

Both of them are rated as mid season I know this will mean that I wont be able to harvest through out the season but will there be any other bad effects?

Comments (11)

• 16 years ago

I use 100% peat moss. Fertilize with acid loving plant stuff. Seems to work great. Make sure you wet the moss down very good...I only use rainwater. Mine are still dormant (in containers), but hope to have them break soon.

• 16 years ago

Thanx Frank,

Do you or anyone else have any more info on these varieties
    or other potting mixes?

• 16 years ago

You definitely should read the blueberry page on Dave Wilson's site:

http://www.davewilson.com/homegrown/promotion/blueberries.html

• 16 years ago

I would not recommend using any commercial potting mix, unless it is specifically for acid loving plants, as they will very likely have added lime to help neutralize the peat. I have used just pure peat mixed with coarse sand, topped with pine bark nuggets, and the plants loved it. 100% peat probably holds too much water, at least in areas that receive frequent rainfall.

• 16 years ago

Well I couldnt wait any longer and went to the store before some of the other posts were made:(
    I looked around at all the different potting soils and still went with the MG organic potting soil.
    I have a ph soil tester and from past expirence know that the MG organic has a ph on the low side.
    I did mix in a good amount of peat with it.
    I have tested the soil now and its about 4.9ph.
    So that should be ok right?