Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
steelshepherd

faq section for herb newbies

15 years ago

I'm an herb NOOB. I used to be a rose noob, veggy gardener noob, Linux noob, White Shepherd noob... Until the internet cured me of my noobyness in each area of interest.

Most forums here have reasonable FAQ sections for noobs to get started, but this one doesn't. Sigh. But rather than complain, I figured I could help get one started. I don't know who moderates/adminsters this forum, but I'm sure whomever he/she is, would be happy to have it happen.

So I'll start by asking, what questions do "herb noobs" frequently ask? If you want to help, post questions and or answers, or links to excellant previous Q&As that should be included in FAQs, & we can compile them.

I can think of some questions to start with that I'd like to find in a FAQ section...

Why do you grow herbs?

What varieties should every herb garden have and why?

What herbs should a beginner start with to decide whether herb gardening is for me?

What herbs are best left to experts to grow?

Which medicinal herbs are really worth using?

How do you include herbs in the vegetable garden?

How do you use herbs in the landscape?

Which herbs are better grown indoors and why?

What are your favorite herb seed/plant online vendors?

What are your favorite online growing supply vendors?

Should I have separate beds with different conditions, such as shade/sun, dry/moist, alkaline/acid?

Comments (12)

• 15 years ago