Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
cumulus_nimbus

Starting Wild Peony (Paeonia mascula) seeds

9 years ago

I got Wild Peony seeds and would to know if someone has some experience with germinating those and give me some tips.

I know it should be planted in the ground some day but i'd like to keep it in a pot as long as possible.

temps are not going a lot below freezing here so freezing is not a problem.
should the seeds be scarified? and which kind of soil and pot size should I use?

Comments (6)

• 9 years ago

I've never tried any peony seeds before this fall and I put all of mine outside. You have enough seeds to try a variety of methods, though, if you want. I've seen pictures from other forum members who've had success with putting them in a bag with dampened perlite and putting them on top of a water heater for several weeks then refrigerating them. One note, you can't store apples in the fridge with peony seeds, supposedly the gasses will negatively impact germination.
    The method I wanted to suggest is winter sowing. There is a forum on winter sowing in GW if you're not familiar but it's a good step away from direct sowing, allows more intervention and control by the planter and keeps the seeds away from the birds and squirrels!
    The American Peony Society has articles about sowing peony seeds, both indoors and out, might want to use that as a resource.
    Hopefully someone with more experience than me will reply to you and give more solid advice, too!

• 9 years ago

Seed of herbaceous peonies first needs a warm period (temperature of about 15-20C/59-68F) of 3 to 5 months in which they form a root. Then they need a cold period (around 5 C/41F) of about 3 months for the seedling to appear above ground. When the seeds are exposed to higher temperatures after the cold period many will start germinating.