Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
kingsrose

black spot question

11 years ago

what to do with a rose bush that's completely infected with black spot?

prune off all the leaves? or just leave it what other options do i have and which is best?

Comments (20)

• 11 years ago

I don't spray or do anything special even if the plant is completely defoliated. For me, the choice is either to live with blackspot if I like that particularly rose enough to keep it in my garden or just to shovel prune it. Left alone, your rose bush will be fine.

I do know that some prune off and dispose all the infected leaves, but I don't do that. Since the spores supposedly are everywhere, my gut instinct is that removing the leaves will be marginally helpful at best.

But I am fairly new to roses, and you will have more informed advice from experts on this forum.

A rosarian on this forum uses the term Madame De La Shovel, which makes me smile. I used to dread parting with any of my roses even if they are sickly and unsuitable for my climate, but after finally picked up my shovel, I have to say De La Shoveling blackspot magnets feels really good.

• 11 years ago

Your options are:
    1. Dig it up and replace it with something that doesn't get blackspot, say like a Knockout rose, or similar.
    2. Spray it every 2 weeks for blackspot with a combination of Mancozeb and Bayer Advanced Disease control.
    3. Do nothing.

If you do nothing, the plant is going to decline over time until eventually it will be so worthless you might as well dig it up anyway. There is no physical activity you can do to improve the situation. Perhaps more water and fertilizer might help it "outgrow" the blackspot. Don't waste your time pruning it away or picking up leaves.

Option 1 is the "best", find plants (roses) that grow well according to the way you want to garden.

Option 2 is very effective as long as one doesn't have a religious objection to using chemicals in the yard.

• 11 years ago