Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
sheilasgarden

Do I not want my herbs to flower at all.....

16 years ago

if I don't care about the seeds?

Neighbor told me as soon as I see buds, cut them off. Any truth to this?

Can you tell I'm a beginner?

I have two year old plants of oregano, tarragon, parsley, lavender, sage, chives, then the new one's of mint, choc mint, basil, cilantro.

Thanks for your help,

sheila

Comments (7)

• 16 years ago

Cilantro will eventually die out even if you pick off the flowers. Same is true with chives. There are several recent posts here about all of the herbs you mentioned.

• 16 years ago

Oh, heck, why remove the flowers when they are so beautiful - and so many of them are edible too! Flowers don't kill plants. Mind you, some annuals will flower soon before dying - but it's not the same thing, is it?

Most of my herbs (the popular culinary, so-called Mediterranean ones especially) flower almost all year round. It's wonderful! I just let it happen, and enjoy them. (I live in the subtropics where the climate suits these herbs perfectly.)

oregano - just doing what it does best! Leave them.

tarragon - not the real French tarragon, maybe? Leave them.

parsley - it's 2 years old and about to die. Remove the entire plant and start again. But if you leave it to its own devices, it may very well self-seed. Just what you want!

Lavender - it's the flowers you want for culinary, medicinal, cosmetic, perfume (etc) uses. USE THEM. And let the plant produce more!

sage - so pretty, so edible. Leave them.

chives - leave them, or eat them. They won't kill the plant. The plant will die down in cold weather, but it'll pop back up again in spring.

mint - the spearmint could well set seed and spread even further if you don't remove the flowers. Remove them and eat them. Ditto the chocolate mint with regard to the eating thereof.