Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
kristie_schwartz

Jupiter's Beard and Russian Sage spreading

I keep finding my Jupiter's Beard and Russian Sage sprouting up in different spots all over the garden. I like the blooming of both plants and I've even transplanted a sprout from Jupiter's Beard to another area, but now I'm regretting it. Because geez these things are getting kind of crazy. I cut the Russian Sage way back early this year but that hasn't helped those roots popping up. And same with Jupiter's Beard. I'm finding it all over?

The other plants around it are May Night Salvia, Feather Reed Grasses, Periwinkle, Yarrow, Beard Tongue, Penstemon.

Any tips? Do I just keep pulling these sprouts out?

Comments (10)

• 7 years ago

I have limited experience but looked back on RMG and see Skybird commenting on the ease of growing Jupiter's Beard. Here was my experience and in thinking back on the winter weather, it must have been in '95, several years before I showed up on GardenWeb.

I was happy that first year with the plants. There were quite a few and I must have given them a good start in my backyard greenhouse. They bloomed, weren't everything I'd hoped for, but I liked them.

The reason I think it was '95 was that it was -25°f by mid-December. Perhaps because of the age of the plants or because it was very cold or because of a fairly early onslaught of cold weather without much snow cover, the plants all died! They certainly had no chance to spread.

I may be overestimating the winter cold in Denver and Colorado Springs but I wonder if that loss to the cold isn't the common fate there for Jupiter's Beard.

You waited quite awhile for a response. This is not much of one but was my experience.

Steve

• 7 years ago
    last modified: 7 years ago