Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
duster12_gw

craftsman 46' with B&S 25 hp twin engine down

13 years ago

7 year old tractor. Suddenly starts backfiring and blowing blue smoke out of muffler. Changed fuel lines, filter, and spark plugs. Still have problem . . . will idle but when there is load . . . starts backfiring.

Maybe gasket? Anything else ? Will not cut grass. Help

Comments (11)

• 13 years ago

Could be, did you remove the valve covers and see if all was well there? Push rods in place?

Walt Conner

• 13 years ago

walt connor
    This is my first attempt at working on an engine. I saw a prior post of yours that pointed person listing to Briggs
    twin cylinder shop manual via K&T and I downloaded that. It is a bit complicated to say the least. Section 5 is
    on valve/cylinder properties . . . so I know where the covers are . . . . and once I take them off, what do I look for relative to push rods, etc.
    From your post, I assume that my problem is most likely going to be in the valve/piston/gasket area?

• 13 years ago

The new spark plugs that were installed got fouled very quickly. Would a blown cylinder gasket do this
    Could this somehow route oil into the carb?

• 13 years ago

A blown head gasket could cause these type symptoms.

FIRST though, smell the oil for the presence of gasoline. IF the oil is extremely diluted by gasoline, it'll smoke profusely while causing damage. (It might really be a carburetor problem)

• 13 years ago

" It is a bit complicated to say the least. Section 5 is
    on valve/cylinder properties . . . so I know where the covers are . . . . and once I take them off, what do I look for relative to push rods, etc.
    From your post, I assume that my problem is most likely going to be in the valve/piston/gasket area?"