Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
shopperaddictgirl

Refinishing golden/honey oak cabinets to a gray stain

7 years ago

Ok, I'm new at this. My entire kitchen is OAK -- golden/honey stain. I am updating my kitchen to an eclectic, industrial look on a budget. Please tell me the easiest and cheapest way to achieve a gray cabinet with some of the brown tones of the wood coming through, and wood grain. Not sure if 'weathered' is what I'm trying to achieve; as I don't want a country look and no blue undertone. I am toying with the idea of gel stain OR the ceruse (liming) technique. If I did the ceruse technique; thinking of tinting the wax to a gray instead of white. Any advice and/or expertise would be appreciated.

Comments (19)

• 7 years ago
    last modified: 7 years ago

"I am toying with the idea of gel stain ..."

One of the Kitchen FAQs discusses how to gel stain...

FAQ: How do I Gel Stain my cabinets?

me thanked Buehl
  • 7 years ago

I'm not sure gel stain will achieve the look of the photo

• 7 years ago

For $10 you can get a small amount of grey gel stain and try it. Wiping it on in thin layers - don't try to apply thick coats and wipe off the excess - will give you the best control over the tone.

https://www.woodcraft.com/products/general-finishes-gray-gel-stain-1-2-pint?gclid=CKapg-GQo9QCFQKoaQodBOwLPg

• 7 years ago

I agree with Me. What you are trying to do looks complicated. If your cabinets are in really good shape, and you expect to keep them for a long while, I would look into getting a professional estimate and have them do it if affordable.

I like the direction you are going in. Let us know what you decide.

• 7 years ago

Don't take this advice until you've thoroughly researched it and done some experimenting, but...