Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
hzdeleted_1516

Technical question about wallpaper over wallpaper

User
9 years ago
I just rented an apartment with an issue we had agreed would be repaired. The plaster behind this wallpaper has failed and is crumbling. The problem is an old one and was solved by wallpapering the plaster into place. However, some had been peeled away revealing the problem. It turns out the owner only repaired the obvious damage and won't do more.

How can I fix this so the wall doesn't fail on my dime? I'm a designer, but have never met with this problem before. I've consulted some pros and have been given different answers.

My thought is to paint the repair a similar red as the wallpaper and then apply new wallpaper over it. If I paint over everything, I fear the wallpaper will fail and I'll be responsible for the wall. I'll need special prep work to apply the paper, but I think it will stay in place. And I'll need to choose a dark shade to cover this mess.

Thoughts?

Comments (9)

• User
    9 years ago
    Would it be possible to put up board and batten or bead board?
    User thanked User
  • apple_pie_order
    9 years ago
    The new wallpaper is likely to fail on your dime. This is a red flag on future maintenance issues for your rental.
    User thanked apple_pie_order
  • User
    9 years ago
    Groveraxle makes a good point. Communicate with the landlord.
    User thanked User
  • PRO
    User
    Original Author
    9 years ago
    I am completely aware that this is a landlord issue. He's working with a management company, and the two together have a "policy" of doing as little as possible. Who knew? They were great until I moved in.

I had the city inspect the property, but they only wrote up the obvious damage. The landlord agreed that the wall would be completely repaired, but then saw his loophole and only did the small repair.