Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
dizadncr_gw

cracks in hypertufa pots

14 years ago

Hi - I've been doing hypertufa for about 3 years. Lately some of my pots have been cracking. I'm not sure what's going on. (They are not all from the same batch and I don't live where it freezes hard in the winter). Any ideas why pots would crack after a year or two? I sure would like to figure this out! Thanks!

Comments (11)

• 14 years ago

I've also had this happen but I've never had a problem with freezing temps. It only happens with the stuff I've made in the desert. I have a winter home in Yuma, Arizona and there's very little humidity in the air. But, it usually only happens with the bigger stuff. My small stuff rarely cracks.

• 14 years ago

Is it pots that you recently made and what recipe are you using? Are you doing anything different when you make them? Different ingredients?

• 14 years ago

Yes, they're pots and they were probably 6 months to a year old when I planted them. Two of my big pots are cracked and one of my smaller square pots. I usually use 3 peat to 3 perlite to 2 Portland cement. I don't think the recipe was any different when I made these, but you know, they're always a little different.

• 14 years ago

Could you give us all the details? It helps to try to diagnose the porblem if you tell us more details? Did it freeze in your area last Winter? What USDA zone are you? Is there soil in the pots in the Winter? Anything growing in the pots in the Winter? How thick are the walls? You use no sand or reinforcement? Is the peat moss clumpy or sifted? If it freezes just one night and all the planets collide (soil in pots, nothing planted, pots in contact with the ground) you can get cracks.
    These aren't your two part urn pots that you made a while back that you joined together are they? They were a different recipe.
    Any kids or animals or significant other that knock them over? LOL!