Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
obes99

Potential business

17 years ago

I am fairly new to this but am just facinated and have done a lot of research....thanks to all of you. I have a little experience in hardscaping and I have just completed my first boulder...so far it looks good. I would love to do this as a business. Can anybody give me any info about what I could sell these boulders for or do custom water features for? I understand it will depend on my skill but that won't be a problem with the passion I have for it so far.

Thanks,

Paul

Comments (8)

• 17 years ago

Obes,

I've done a tad of research myself. I am currently making my own waterfall and what prompted me was the huge expense of buying the boulders (and of course the fact that when I want something I am obsessed until I get it LOL).

Here is what I've found:

- The price of boulders, natural or fabricated, will vary depending on your area. This is because some areas, particularly mountain areas, have an abundance of natural boulders and this drives down demand.
    - Locally, the price of a 3x2x1 boulder is about $300. The ones I saw were painted over fiberglass and looked just like that.

Here are some links that can give you an idea:
    List 1

List 2

If I were the one going into business, I'd give it more of a landscaping approach with waterfalls as an option rather than just waterfalls.

Also, make one for yourself first. It'll give you the experience you need, and will spark a lot of interest. I have had people approach me and ask me to let them know when I was finished to see if we discuss business later.

Hope this helps :-)

• 17 years ago

If you are serious about making a business, make sure it's worth it. In my picture framing business we used "full-cost" pricing that works like this:

Costs:
    materials
    waste or scrap (there is more than you expect -- in picture framing we could not get it below 20-30%!)
    time (yours, others)