Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
brighteyes_gw

Can you use ceramic molds?

19 years ago

Hi, I am new to this but have done ok with freeform planters. I have an opportunity to get some free ceramic molds. Does anyone know if these can be used?

Thanks

Comments (15)

• 19 years ago

Thank you, I was wondering what the molds were made of exactly.

I never thought about doing it in 2 pieces and then using morter to put them together, i was going to put the concrete in the detailed part and then put it together and use a dowel to pack more in but your idea will probly work better....

as for ruining them for ceremics, i have no investment in them so im sot to worried about that. i am looking forward to seeing how they come out, was going to shellac them last night but had horrible storms come through.

I will post pics as soon as i get them done.

Thanks for the advice

carey

• 19 years ago

ok i did it. ruined a few right off the bat but did get one that worked really good with just a sand and concrete mix. i made the mistake of using spray shellac at first. couldnt get it thick enough to work.

i have now shellaced a few with the brush on stuff and am trying them out. will unmold tomorrow.

also did my first leaf casting and even though i put the kittens in the house the kids let them out. so the backs now have pretty little paw prints all over them....lol ill keep them for character.

once they are unmolded and i borrow a camera i will post pics,

thanks for the help couldnt of even got started without it

carey

• 14 years ago

I know this thread is 5 years old, but does anyone have new news to report? I too have ceramics molds I am considering using with concrete.

• 13 years ago

It worked good with the thicker molds with less detail using a portland/sand mix. the more decorative molds (plates/hangers) were not as durable.....the trick is to use ALOT of shellac.... What kind of molds are you wanting to try?

btw the molds only lasted through a couple of uses