Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
ziggi10

Should we paint original woodwork in Victorian home?

9 years ago

We own and rent out my childhood home. It's a Victorian with beautiful, original woodwork. Our new tenants have asked us to paint some or all of the woodwork in the dining room because the house feels dark. I'm torn about doing this but I also understand the request. That room does feel dark and a little dated. Also, while the fireplace woodwork is original, it's flanked by book shelves and a small desk which were added in the 1950s. The tenant suggested we could try leaving the original woodwork as is and painting the 1950 additions. What do you think? One previous tenant also asked us to paint the wood to brighten the room. I very much appreciate your advice!

Comments (169)

• 9 years ago

The fireplace could be painted or re bricked over original

ziggi10 thanked Michele C
  • 9 years ago

I am a professional
    land planner, a trained landscape architect, and an amateur historical home
    preservationist who is asking myself the same questions you are. My wife and I
    bought a wreck of an old home, and are working though similar choices.

I would like to suggest that the answer may
    lie in a different direction. Dark rooms are not always dark by default.
    Instead of removing dark trim to lighten a room consider that a dark room may
    be dark because the light cannot get in there in the first place. Are there large
    shrubs that cover part of the windows? Is there a huge shade tree in the yard that
    could be trimmed or limbed up so more light strikes the windows? Could the window
    treatments be changed from opaque curtains to sheers to let the light in? In
    your room, could a large light colored area rug on the medium tone floors
    brighten the space? I had one situation where the unanticipated solution for a
    client was to repaint the exterior of a garage located across a small yard a