Your shopping cart is empty.

Displaying objects in small home

licksch
March 10, 2014
last modified: January 3, 2017

Small house...and I am a collector! By small...1400 square feet, cottage style pitched roof, in which I am putting arts and crafts style windows. My sons tell me I have too much stuff. To be clear, this stuff is not dollar store; it is antiques, family heirlooms, Japanese ceramics my dad bought in 1948, lovely gifts from friends, etc. I have been downsizing and still have a lot of nice things, which I currently seasonally rotate through my house. I am also an artist, as well as other members of my family, and friend, so I have boatloads of original art...I am not a minimalist, but how can I make my house look less full of things, and still enjoy what I have? Houzz peeps...I will post some pics and maybe get some advice... :) btw the furniture arrangement pics are not current; will post more pics; this just gives a sense of the space and problem...

Comments (11K)

• ladma
    I have an old pair of llbean boiled wool clogs that I wear as inside shoes. They keep me warm, and slip on and off easily.
  • Depo
    We take our shoes off too. Having lived in Hawaii and Japan it is just habit where ever I go. I do have a two pair rule though. No more than two pair per person by the door. We have a bench with drawers for flip flops, so those get stuffed away when more than one pair appears. My hubs has flip flops at all the exterior doors. Argh!
  • licksch