Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
liasch

Displaying objects in small home

10 years ago
last modified: 7 years ago

Small house...and I am a collector! By small...1400 square feet, cottage style pitched roof, in which I am putting arts and crafts style windows. My sons tell me I have too much stuff. To be clear, this stuff is not dollar store; it is antiques, family heirlooms, Japanese ceramics my dad bought in 1948, lovely gifts from friends, etc. I have been downsizing and still have a lot of nice things, which I currently seasonally rotate through my house. I am also an artist, as well as other members of my family, and friend, so I have boatloads of original art...I am not a minimalist, but how can I make my house look less full of things, and still enjoy what I have? Houzz peeps...I will post some pics and maybe get some advice... :) btw the furniture arrangement pics are not current; will post more pics; this just gives a sense of the space and problem...

Comments (45K)

• 4 days ago

Could you sew the placemats together to make a runner? I have many vintage handkerchiefs - I love them & use them regularly when going “out.” Dining, visiting & attending - they are so beautiful. I have them, I use them. (And they have a backstory that makes me smile every time I use one.)

• 4 days ago

Such beautiful things. Like the curtain idea a lot. I am so in Awe of your energy and productivity. Love the cat pics and the drawing. Your property looks amazing. I am pretty much incommunicato but thinking of you. ❤️

• 4 days ago

Table runner is on the table for solutions (Ohhh bad pun...)...Fiss, I am researching attaching the tablecloth centrepiece to backing. Glue? Iron on? Then I would use just the Center on my table, at Christmas.

As always, many minds make light work.

And...thinking of you all, in USA, after yesterday's news. On the edge of my seat here. Along with the rest of the world.

• 3 days ago