liasch

Displaying objects in small home

liasch
6 years ago
last modified: 3 years ago

Small house...and I am a collector! By small...1400 square feet, cottage style pitched roof, in which I am putting arts and crafts style windows. My sons tell me I have too much stuff. To be clear, this stuff is not dollar store; it is antiques, family heirlooms, Japanese ceramics my dad bought in 1948, lovely gifts from friends, etc. I have been downsizing and still have a lot of nice things, which I currently seasonally rotate through my house. I am also an artist, as well as other members of my family, and friend, so I have boatloads of original art...I am not a minimalist, but how can I make my house look less full of things, and still enjoy what I have? Houzz peeps...I will post some pics and maybe get some advice... :) btw the furniture arrangement pics are not current; will post more pics; this just gives a sense of the space and problem...

Comments (20K)

• PRO
    Flo Mangan
    yesterday

Flowers are so pretty. My notifications are all mixed up!

• Lisa SW
    yesterday

Printesa, it’s from the NYT Cooking section and I’m not sure that I can link it. Maybe you can search for baked apples by Dorie Greenspan at NYT? It’s your basic baked apple recipe but she puts a bit of dried apple, crystallized ginger, 1/2 tsp honey and a pat of butter in the cored out section. She bakes the apples in a pie plate with I cup apple cider and 1-2 tsp honey, basting occasionally. She said to serve with heavy cream, whipped cream, or ice cream but I think I might like crème fraîche to cut down the sweetness just a bit. If you really want the recipe, follow me and send a message through Houzz. We can then exchange email addresses and I can forward the recipe.

• Related Discussions

Need recommendation for wall color and how to maximize display in a small space

Q

Comments (9)