Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
funkyart_gw

Baking in glass loaf pans

11 years ago

I have been on a banana bread kick lately. I know I need to eat in the morning but I really don't like to eat (or cook) in the morning.. so I've been making a whole wheat banana bread to have with my coffee. It cooks for an hour at 325..and it really needs the full hour. Problem is, it gets very brown and just a touch bitter. The bread itself is great. It's moist and cooked perfectly inside but I want to prevent it from getting so dark on the outside.

I have been baking a lot this last year but I am a much more experienced cook than a baker. Could the problem be that I am using glass loaf pans? Would wrapping the pans in foil help?

Comments (16)

• 11 years ago

Hey funky..the rule is to lower the temp 25 degrees when baking with glass. The glass conducts the heat and holds it better than the metal therefore the bread can get to brown. You can try that first and you may need to bake it longer at the lower temp. Also what are you using to grease/flour your pans ? I use PAM these days but for many many years used real butter and floured it lightly then tapping out the extra flour. I do still flour the pan after I spray in the PAM ..tap out all the extra very well.

I have never wrapped a pan and I think if you try the above it will solve your problems. Oh also sometimes whole wheat can be bitter...you might try 1/2 and 1/2 with AP flour. c

• 11 years ago

Trail's right about the glass pan. Hey C., I never flour my pan and all breads come out great. Why is flour used? lol.

• 11 years ago

Real butter and flour - yum!!

I have found with most of my chocolate cakes, I MUST grease and flour.

Funky, now I want banana bread. LOL

tina

• 11 years ago

Great info! I never knew .. but I've only recently switched to the glass pans. I used butter..but no flour. I butter and flour cakes though.