Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
defender808

What would you do with this amazing room?

defender808
10 years ago
This is an 1923 Craftsman home. It has ALL wood walls. Pine with beveled trim and lots of accents. What would you do to lighten it up?

Comments (11)

• rnonwheels
    10 years ago
    Paint some of them!! Don't be afraid to just because "it's wood", better is better!
    defender808 thanked rnonwheels
  • shakerjaebs
    10 years ago
    I'm not a designer but I'd rip out the carpet first. The wood is gorgeous! I wouldn't paint it!
    defender808 thanked shakerjaebs
  • defender808
    Original Author
    10 years ago
    This is the hallway leading to 4 bedrooms. One of which (the master) which is the picture with the arch windows.
  • defender808
    Original Author
    10 years ago
    The master bedroom.
  • rosecottagehome
    10 years ago
    last modified: 10 years ago
    Love the fireplace, love, love those arched windows. The wood on the walls, is it oak, I am thinking it may be. This suggestion may be too out there but, just a thought.....could you use that beautiful oak from the walls for the flooring in your entire house that needs new flooring, and then have the walls dry walled? If I haven't made you scream, this lady is a nut......I would leave the wood ceilings, stairs and trim work as is. They would look stunning and contrast nicely with the dry wall. The wood is beautiful, but may be too much of a good thing and does make it dark.
    defender808 thanked rosecottagehome
  • PRO
    Someone's in the Kitchen, Inc.
    10 years ago
    Hi Defender! This looks like a house BUILT by a craftsman - full of wood, but with - to my eye - variously styled details. I agree with Pyramid on carpet (obviously well used, and just too light as a reasonable companion to all the wood), and sconce light (some craftsman-styled fixtures would bring some immediate design punch to these areas.