Shades Of Green Landscape Architecture
Landscape Architects & Designers
Sunset Idea House asian landscape
 

Sunset Idea House

This Green Idea house is nestled in the sagebrush and pines of Gray's Crossing development in Truckee, California. The landscape design celebrates the history of the area with a custom water runnel resembling an old log flume laid out as a metal sculpture. This water feature and the irrigation are fed by collected snowmelt. Coal-colored recycled glass is added to the concrete patios and stairs, reminiscent of the coal originally mined in the area. Rammed earth walls make up the landscape perimeter as well as an outdoor sofa in the rear of the house.
URL
http://www.shadesofgreenla.com

What Houzzers are commenting on:

belindaabell added this to Next backyard
9 hours ago
very similar to Scott's original idea for a water feature ...mining equipment.
basiapoce added this to basiapoce's Ideas
Yesterday
Great water feature
Shannon Norris added this to shannon_norris9724675's ideas
Yesterday
Slide and stones
Saratoga Homes of Texas Austin added this to zephyr_phaser's Ideas
on Sunday
Uau waterfall
cavityhunter added this to cavityhunter's Ideas
last Saturday
Make it indoor??
carsten1959jack added this to Pergolas
last Friday
Waterfall
belindaabell added this to belindaabell's ideas
last Thursday
very similar to Scott's original idea for a water feature ...mining equipment.
michaellb added this to Landscaping
last Thursday
Better in wood
jillpeters added this to jillpeters's ideas
April 6, 2014
Rain gutter! Cool idea
solacdncs added this to solacdncs's Ideas
April 5, 2014
love the water feature...now can we make that fall into an endless pool/jacuzzi...?
maryp59 added this to maryp59's Ideas
April 1, 2014
Water feature
Brandon Schmiedeberg added this to Fountains
March 29, 2014
long path; steel plates
Ben Miller added this to Landscape Ideas
March 28, 2014
Fountain
Greg Wilhelm added this to greg_wilhelm's Ideas
March 28, 2014
Maybe make my waterfall out of granite blocks and steel welded together
stevejust added this to 2401 Douglas
March 27, 2014
Water fall feature
pbeaches added this to garden
March 25, 2014
like it
jroseberry added this to jroseberry's Ideas
March 25, 2014
waterfall
Kerrin Swanson added this to outside
March 23, 2014
Boys would love this
mrssnipes0525 added this to mrssnipes0525's Ideas
March 23, 2014
Neat water feature
Raven White added this to WATER FEATURES
March 23, 2014
I can see this used as a downspout addition.
hayleyp2 added this to hayleyp2's Ideas
March 23, 2014
Love water
baminarcik added this to baminarcik's ideas
March 21, 2014
kaskáda
kjhaveles added this to kjhaveles's Ideas
March 7, 2014
.
tacypoc added this to tacypoc's ideas
March 7, 2014
love
brandstb added this to Exterior Ideas
March 6, 2014
Stream protion by the deck.....
seachell added this to kelowna outside
March 6, 2014
Drainage away from house
mzwilliamspalmer69 added this to mzwilliamspalmer69's ideas
February 27, 2014
Water feature
svehla added this to Pam
February 25, 2014
Water
hilariomr added this to hilariomr's Ideas
February 23, 2014
Canal
hibernia5 added this to hibernia5's Ideas
February 21, 2014
water feature for courtyard
Claire Pun Bois added this to Landscape Ideas
February 20, 2014
Waterfall
tansyn added this to tansyn's Ideas
February 19, 2014
Nb
Inphase Audio added this to tugglek's Ideas
February 19, 2014
Pond
braingrimley added this to braingrimley's Ideas
February 17, 2014
Cool idea
Carlos Alejandro added this to carlos_alejandro3769113's Ideas
February 15, 2014
Sistema de cascada
curlygurl2304 added this to curlygurl2304's Ideas
February 15, 2014
Cool fountain
bolkcom added this to bolkcom's Ideas
February 15, 2014
Flowing water
maggieblagg added this to maggieblagg's Ideas
February 15, 2014
Water
Isabel Flores added this to isabel_flores1519508's Ideas
February 12, 2014
Waterfall
xlr8cj added this to xlr8cj's ideas
February 10, 2014
Another idea for the pond
britt_kirb added this to britt_kirb's Ideas
February 10, 2014
natahn123 added this to natahn123's Ideas
February 10, 2014
Vada
Lenny Delgado added this to lenny_delgado's ideas
February 9, 2014
water tray
grandmasTAN added this to Rohm
February 3, 2014
Rustic, and Timeless... Metal and Water, the angles and the cascading finale.
kwlabarre added this to kwlabarre's Ideas
February 3, 2014
Almost there
Jody Rogers added this to jody_rogers's ideas
February 2, 2014
creek ideas
ksky7 added this to outside
February 2, 2014
Lovely feature
bondo1103 added this to bondo1103's Ideas
January 29, 2014
Plants
slcvc added this to slcvc's Ideas
January 25, 2014
One of kind
ncory123 added this to ncory123's Ideas
January 25, 2014
Waterfall
smmawson added this to Backyard Ideas
January 25, 2014
water feature
mueller75201 added this to mueller75201's ideas
January 25, 2014
Stainless steel, modern waterfall
Rikke Borgmann added this to rikke_borgmann's Ideas
January 23, 2014
Nice ideas for running water
slojocelyn added this to slojocelyn's ideas
January 14, 2014
Running Water
Monica Valdivieso de Santamaria added this to Ideas Finca Y Barra
January 14, 2014
Fuente
Kiana Hunt added this to Patio Ideas
January 14, 2014
Great water feature
kathi613 added this to kathi613's Ideas
January 14, 2014
Water sound
giziavet added this to giziavet's Ideas
January 14, 2014
Possibile cascata sopra piscina
blistersister added this to blistersister's Ideas
January 13, 2014
Water feature
kamaladouceur added this to kamaladouceur's ideas
January 13, 2014
154
cdarnell added this to cdarnell's Ideas
January 11, 2014
Water
anhdao1969 added this to anhdao1969's Ideas
January 10, 2014
Cool
stephsouthern added this to stephsouthern's ideas
January 10, 2014
water feature
Autumn Gineen added this to autumn_gineen's ideas
January 10, 2014
Fountain
aegaither added this to Water Features
January 7, 2014
modern - raised - could solve issue of height above pipes in lower section
mercurykid added this to mercurykid's ideas
January 7, 2014
above grade
Robyn Baass added this to exterior
January 4, 2014
Waterfall steel
lindalewtoo added this to lindalewtoo's Ideas
January 3, 2014
Fountain
Joel Leaves added this to joel_leaves's ideas
January 3, 2014
Water feature channel
Nick Crump added this to Homes
January 1, 2014
Cool elevated river
reluse72 added this to reluse72's ideas
January 1, 2014
fountain that works for me
lornelktzach added this to lornelktzach's Ideas
December 27, 2013
Water trough
nan0belle added this to Landscape Ideas
December 25, 2013
waterfall
parvaty added this to parvaty's Ideas
December 19, 2013
garden
Doug Saylor added this to Landscape Ideas
December 17, 2013
Great water feature to pondless end
jyothidas added this to Landscape Ideabook
December 11, 2013
Nice water feature
Ilham Yumen added this to ilham_yumen's Ideas
December 10, 2013
That's a brilliant idea
maweiche added this to maweiche's Ideas
December 9, 2013
Water effect
Daniel Love added this to realtor_danluv's ideas
December 3, 2013
this is awesome.
memarirani added this to memarirani's Ideas
December 1, 2013
٣
Judy Blackburn added this to judy_blackburn's EXT Garden designs
November 29, 2013
waterfall
timcarrier added this to timcarrier's Ideas
November 26, 2013
waterfall
Shawn Blount added this to Patio Ideas
November 22, 2013
water feature
Nic Daniels added this to nic_daniels's Ideas
November 22, 2013
Ponds
mrsgg5 added this to Ormand Beach House
November 14, 2013
Fountain
Rita Gewirz added this to exterior
November 14, 2013
coool
Cry Kett added this to cry_kett's Ideas
November 12, 2013
Rain spout waterfallery
Linda Hine added this to linda_hine's Ideas
November 10, 2013
Water
depeelpikaluk added this to depeelpikaluk's Ideas
November 10, 2013
Yard pond
dimicollias added this to garden
November 10, 2013
Water feature
sandlefoot added this to sandlefoot's ideas
November 10, 2013
beautiful, I could sit, watch, & listen to this for hours
kerenlevy added this to Bathroom Ideas
November 10, 2013
מפל
tishmurray added this to Garden
November 7, 2013
Fountain
terakucera added this to terakucera's Ideas
November 6, 2013
T
buddasun1 added this to buddasun1's ideas
November 6, 2013
cool
anne_laqui added this to anne_laqui's Ideas
November 4, 2013
Falls
Joy Faunce added this to joy_faunce's Ideas
November 3, 2013
Water feature
kaleidoscope added this to kaleidoscope's Favorites
November 3, 2013
Water
Charlie Amperez added this to charlie_amperez's Ideas
November 2, 2013
Water
llander added this to water fountains
October 28, 2013
Can you miniaturize this ?
lesley4now added this to Our Home
October 27, 2013
Pond and stream idea
Josue Argueta added this to josue_argueta's ideas
October 25, 2013
para el jardín
579northriver added this to 579northriver's ideas
October 23, 2013
runnel
rmatson added this to rmatson's Ideas
October 23, 2013
Bed
Casey Lehner added this to yard
October 22, 2013
Ooh...waterfall is a cool concept to consider
Revamp Furniture added this to new house
October 20, 2013
fountain / water feature
desirani18 added this to desirani18's Ideas
October 19, 2013
Fountain
rmpepple added this to rmpepple's Ideas
October 13, 2013
Waterfall
Rwin Tirtosari added this to rwin_tirtosari's ideas
October 6, 2013
great well
alf5666 added this to alf5666's Ideas
October 6, 2013
cascadas
roxyaneto added this to roxyaneto's Ideas
October 1, 2013
Fuente
nomnomnemec added this to nomnomnemec's Ideas
September 29, 2013
Adds a beautiful scene to backyard
rathbuc18 added this to rathbuc18's ideas
September 28, 2013
Water fountain
Holly Kanawyer added this to holly_kanawyer's ideas
September 28, 2013
metal fountain
Faustina Shea added this to faustina_shea's ideas
September 28, 2013
OMG! Cool water feature idea
Denise Bilyeu added this to denise_bilyeu's ideas
September 28, 2013
water features
vishnup added this to vishnup's Ideas
September 28, 2013
Add to my pond
lisateelee added this to lisateelee's Ideas
September 25, 2013
Water
Andrew Taylor added this to Riverside
September 24, 2013
Interesting water feature
plmundy added this to plmundy's Ideas
September 22, 2013
Water
Devin Clark added this to devin_clark's Ideas
September 21, 2013
Cool water fall
Heidi Aviles added this to heidi_aviles's Ideas
September 21, 2013
Fountain
Virginia Hamm added this to virginia_hamm's Ideas
September 20, 2013
Chuck likes it
bryophyte added this to bryophyte's Ideas
September 19, 2013
Sluice
stefstar added this to stefstar's Ideas
September 19, 2013
water feature
Sam Richey added this to sam_richey's Ideas
September 18, 2013
Water feature
djmcdowell added this to djmcdowell's Ideas
September 18, 2013
Metal sculpture
tawanda82 added this to tawanda82's ideas
September 9, 2013
water system
astro662 added this to astro662's Ideas
September 8, 2013
Water
quintonsingh added this to quintonsingh's ideas
September 8, 2013
Waterfall
49meshew added this to Exterior Ideas
September 8, 2013
material
Lindner Family Construction added this to Home Office Ideas
September 7, 2013
water feature
Jaime Oh added this to webuser_261567's ideas
September 5, 2013
What is there not to love about this photo? :-)
darylfillmore added this to darylfillmore's Ideas
September 2, 2013
Koi
Linda Sowards added this to linda_sowards's Ideas
September 2, 2013
Water feature
eepinannap added this to Exterior Ideas
August 29, 2013
Fountain!
pandasshi added this to pandasshi's ideas
August 27, 2013
wow
Corinna Hiebert added this to Outdoors
August 26, 2013
Waterfall
danialh added this to Patio Ideas
August 25, 2013
water pond, not so much the fountain, and the rocks within
Gabriela Gabi added this to gabriela_gabi's ideas
August 23, 2013
aww kaip idomu.. ^.^
barbara19 added this to barbara19 ideas
August 21, 2013
butt to bogpond
iztheliz added this to Backyard
August 18, 2013
Fountain
Rodd added this to Rodd's Garden Ideas
August 18, 2013
Water feature fountain idea
ovinia added this to ovinia's ideas
August 18, 2013
tiles
donschramm added this to donschramm's ideas
August 17, 2013
Water feature
Kurt added this to Fountains
August 14, 2013
Snk Grd; could start above on swail and end up down in the grdn
Christina added this to My Own Home Style
August 14, 2013
waterfall for pool
Sara B added this to Exterior
August 14, 2013
Gold panning style water feature
Yaude Studio Designs added this to kathy_yaude's ideas
August 14, 2013
Asian style waterfeature and landscape. Unique.
potato420 added this to Landscape Ideas
August 14, 2013
Connect to Koi Pond
stratmister added this to stratmister's ideas
August 12, 2013
water
wimsteyn added this to wimsteyn's ideas
August 12, 2013
Garden between garages
franvh added this to franvh's Ideas
August 10, 2013
Water feature
mandyrbusby added this to Landscape
August 8, 2013
Water Runnel
Sean Hooi added this to sean_hooi's ideas
August 7, 2013
Unique fountain
gymnastbug added this to gymnastbug's Ideas
August 7, 2013
My mom omg would love
Saliha Benmessaoud added this to saliha_benmessaoud's ideas
August 7, 2013
tahabort
barbannsmith added this to barbannsmith's ideas
August 4, 2013
Water feature -- gorgeous clean lines!
melanynola added this to Landscape Ideas
August 3, 2013
waterfall to the bayou
mharg35 added this to outside of house
August 1, 2013
landscaping
kandranovich added this to Zen rock garden
July 31, 2013
planter box
manarahyoga added this to manarahyoga's ideas
July 30, 2013
falling water feature
Stacey Paul added this to 2013 Fall
July 30, 2013
water f
Trevor Lythgoe added this to trevor_lythgoe's Ideas
July 30, 2013
So cool!
drdaconway added this to Outdoor
July 29, 2013
Water feature
kaboswell added this to kaboswell's Ideas
July 28, 2013
Just interesting.
mij1 added this to garden
July 28, 2013
Water feature
rachelschabell1 added this to rachelschabell1's Ideas
July 27, 2013
Dad could make this!
jordanb4prez1 added this to front of house
July 27, 2013
Cool
jefrains design added this to Water features
July 27, 2013
Water sleuth
baberooblack added this to baberooblack's ideas
July 26, 2013
very intrigue
jiola added this to landscape
July 25, 2013
Asian water feature
Carlos Cortes added this to carlos_cortes's Ideas
July 20, 2013
the look
melola added this to Landscape Ideas
July 20, 2013
water features don't need to include ghastly fake rock
stephanierene added this to stephanierene's ideas
July 20, 2013
Love
Melissa Sierra added this to melissa_sierra's Ideas
July 18, 2013
Fountain
jgascon added this to backyard
July 16, 2013
Whimsy
linzrob75 added this to linzrob75's Ideas
July 16, 2013
Water feature
ashley_graby added this to ashley_graby's ideas
July 15, 2013
steel waterfall :)
pacomendez76 added this to pacomendez76's ideas
July 13, 2013
fuente
ashtonw added this to general Ideas
July 13, 2013
Water feature
Bill Napoleon added this to Bill Likes
July 12, 2013
cre as tive for outback
karenbarnard added this to karenbarnard's ideas
July 12, 2013
Amazing Water Feature
lhgober added this to landscaping
July 9, 2013
HOME, DOWN THE HILL
adrienne29 added this to adrienne29's ideas
July 8, 2013
waterfall
kenbieler added this to kenbieler's Ideas
July 7, 2013
Cascades
spanky1325 added this to spanky1325's Ideas
July 6, 2013
This
Debbie Arnott added this to debbie_arnott's Ideas
July 6, 2013
Water feature
ljohnson63 added this to ljohnson63's ideas
July 6, 2013
so pretty with the sound of a babbling brook
deejayc89 added this to deejayc89's Ideas
July 6, 2013
Water fall
bkortie added this to Exterior Ideas
July 6, 2013
could do a steampunk theme on asian fountain
anteau1 added this to anteau1's ideas
July 5, 2013
love the idea to go jnto a pool or pond
rajtanvi added this to backyard
July 3, 2013
water feature
transcendinghouse added this to Landscape Ideas
July 3, 2013
Water Feature
jkirr added this to jkirr's Ideas
July 2, 2013
Fun idea.
auppals added this to Amby
July 2, 2013
Entrance element
Bjorn Hinrichs added this to bjorn_hinrichs's Ideas
June 30, 2013
Asian style
© 2014 Houzz Inc.
Houzz® The new way to design your home™