Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
dschwarzberg

Gut Renovation Layout Help

David
12 years ago
Hi,

I just purchased a condo in NYC and am about to finalize my plans with my architect. Being that this is my first project, I was hoping to get people's feedback. Please look through the photos and let me know if anything could be done in a more effective way.

I appreciate any and all help.

Thanks,
David

Comments (7)

• bepsf
    12 years ago
    Personally, I would hate to walk in and be forced to walk through that narrow gap between the island and the cabinets - the zig-zag orientation around the closets may even make moving decent sized furniture into the apartment near-impossible.

I would push the island to the wall and make it a peninsula, leaving 6' for you and your guests to enter the apartment - if you have to have custom cabinets made a bit shallow so that it will fit, you'd still be better off.

As far as everything else - I would consider pocket doors for the entrance to the bedroom and the bathroom...
    ...and rather than closets for the bedroom - I would specify a space for a builtin wardrobe system with drawers below and hanging above and shelves for shoes, sweaters, etc...
    ,,,and custom cabinets in the kitchen rather than the closet and pantry - Similar, with drawers below, some hanging above and adjustable shelves, etc for your pantry & other storage needs. It might also be nice to have a curved end to that cabinetry wall rather than a flat wall - it could have curved cabinet doors & drawers top and bottom where you could store your umbrellas, bills, checkbook, etc - and an open shelf or two where you could stash cellphones, keys, wallets, sunglasses, mail, etc.
  • David
    Original Author
    12 years ago
    These are very helpful comments -

I like the idea of having an island where I can entertain and have it be an extension of the living room as I would want people to enter from both sides. I considered the peninsula concept.