Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
xopher_gw

Quaking Aspen bonsai?

xopher
17 years ago

I'm new to bonsai and want to start one. I want to use a native specimen growing on my property. Not a store bought juniper or such. That way I won't be upset if I kill it while I learn. I have many varieties to choose from but my Quaking Aspens caught my eye. I love their chalky white trunks and golden autumn foliage. There are a many suckers that would make good candidates.

My question is, Would Quaking Aspen be a good bonsai candidate of any style? Has anyone even seen a QA bonsai? I've searched the internet for an example of one for inspiration but couldn't find any. Appearently their not a very popular bonsai specimen. Which is why I'm asking.

Comments (9)

• brendan_of_bonsai
    17 years ago

Aspen and Birch are fairly similar, perhaps you should look up Birch Bonsai and just emulate them.

• xopher
    Original Author
    17 years ago

Thanks for the input. I will do that.

• ryan820
    17 years ago

Aspens, I'm told, do not make good bonsai. Why this is so I do not know. My guess is that they have, in their nature, the ability to multiply very fast through suckers-- but likewise, they are short lived. So I guess it depends on how long you plant to have yours. What is the max age of an aspen?

• tapla (mid-Michigan, USDA z5b-6a)
    17 years ago

Possibly due to the fact that: in addition to being prone to disease and insect pests, they also shed (even large) branches for no apparent reason.

Al

• brendan_of_bonsai
    17 years ago

An aspen grove, which can be one single oragain, can live for thousands of years I'm told, however I'm not sure about one tree. People say the same things about Birch that they do about Aspen,Desease Prone, Short lived, Garbage tree, but next time I go for a long Bike Ride I'l take some pictures of The Old Birch we have out on the trail, there are some that must be 80 years old.

• xopher
    Original Author
    17 years ago