Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
akmom1

Front yard HELP!

akmom1
13 years ago

I'm a total rookie. Everything I plant dies. I've lived in my house 6 years and haven't done much outside. I'm at a loss. My front yard is almost completely shade. I have hostas, but would love some color too. Ideally, we want to knock down the wall and I'd love some seating, but no clue how to incorporate that. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Here is a link that might be useful:

Comments (4)

• queerbychoice
    13 years ago

Hi akmom1!

I can completely relate. Everything I planted used to die too. Honestly, some of it still does, but I have definitely improved.

For me, the most important thing was to research plants' needs thoroughly and make detailed lists of which plants I thought would work in my yard's conditions. I make spreadsheets listing plants' heights and widths at maturity, light and water and drainage needs, and general appearance (evegreen/deciduous, foliage color and texture, flower color and bloom season, etc.) Instead of working harder to keep any old plant alive, work harder to choose plants that won't require a lot of work to keep alive.

Some here will disagree with me, but I recommend looking first at your local native plants for two reasons: (1) they're obviously among the most likely to stay alive with no effort on your part, and (2) you can usually find more detail about exactly where they should be planted in your area than you can find for exotic plants. When you develop a better sense of how to guess at what conditions each of your plants need, then you can move on to the increased guesswork necessary for selecting non-native plants.