Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
jjonas_gw

Help! New sod overrun with annual bluegrass

jjonas
14 years ago

I layed new turf last year spring (2008), it rooted nicely and greened up in the spring of this year (2009). There's some areas that look a little thin but otherwise it looks nice.

About a week ago I started noticing something that didn't look like grass and was growing much taller than usual. Based on my research online it looks like it's "annual bluegrass". My lawn is infested with this weed now. All it took was one mowing and it spread the seed everywhere.

What can I do to get rid of this weed? Has anyone used anything that has worked well?

Will it eventually choke the roots of the grass and have long term effects on my lawn?

Can I use a pre-emergent next year to prevent this stuff from coming in? (I didn't use a pre-emergent this year...my first lawn, i'm a rookie).

Any info is greatly appreciated.

-Jay

Comments (17)

• formicburn
    14 years ago

We need pictures. I highly doubt that you have poa annua taking over freshly laid sod. To be certain you need to look at the seedheads. White seedheads indicate poa annua. Purple/Blue indicate KBG.

• garycinchicago
    14 years ago

Jay, I truly don't mean to be surly towards you - but if you seriously suspect that a dealer sold you poa annua invested sod - why are asking your questions here, rather than your that seller?

I mean, what can we do to rectify the situation monetarily wise - as opposed to that dealer/sod farm?

• jjonas
    Original Author
    14 years ago

The sod is not freshly laid. It was put down in the spring of 2008. I didn't see one single weed in the sod until about a week ago (may 2009) and almost overnight my lawn was infested with these things. It's not a problem with the sod dealer.

The seedheads are definitely a white, pale green color. Based on the pictures i've looked at online it appears to be annual bluegrass or poa annua as the first poster called it.