Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
pdpirate

What to do now with new Bermuda sod

pdpirate
11 years ago

I moved into our new home a month ago. Our sod was put down about 2 weeks before we closed so it has been down now for about 6 weeks. I do not want to pay someone to take care of it but I am totally new to this.

Does anyone have any advise you can share on what I should be doing at this point. I have been watering it twice a day for at least 30 minutes each time. Overall I think it looks good but I have a few brown patches and a few spots that are not filling in well. I have now cut it twice and both times have cut it on the highest setting. I am not sure exactly which type of Bermuda I have as it was put down by the builders landscaper.

I live in Raleigh,NC and we have been dealing with a lot of heat with most days being 95-100.

Thanks in advance for any help you can provide.

Comments (8)

• dchall_san_antonio
    11 years ago

Agree. I'm 99.9999999999% sure you have Tif 419. It is the most affordable turf in the industry and is used by contractors and landscapers all over the South.

I'd change the watering to 10 minutes. About all you have to do is keep the top inch cool - not saturated by any means. Once the sod has knit into the soil below, you're off to the races. Don't judge anything until you have that accomplished, you start backing way off on water, and get some fertilizer down. Eventually you'll be watering about an inch all at one time. Measure that with cat food or tuna cans to find out how long it takes your sprinkler system to put out that much water. Some do it in 20 minutes and some take 8 hours. You need to know that. In the cool months you'll only need to water once a month. In the warm months you'll be watering weekly.