Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
mcbdz_gw

Amaranthus

mcbdz
15 years ago

Ok, I'm new to this wsing but, am starting to get obsessed with seeds and sowing. So, can anyone give me their experience with any of the Amaranthus . I have been ordering these seeds like crazy and hope they look as great as the pics I can find on searches. Would love to see your pics of them in the garden if you have any.

Pattie

Comments (13)

• nikkineel
    15 years ago

I'd also like to see pics. I received several different types in the santa swap. Did anyone wintersow these? What month?
    As I've been going through my seeds, I think I have finally sorted all of my annuals separately. I'd love to hear from a Georgia wintersower about when you sow the annuals. Thanks! Nikki

• diggerdee zone 6 CT
    15 years ago

Well, sorry, no pics, but I wintersow amaranthus every year. They will also reseed for you if you let them. I usually sow about 4 or 5 different kinds. Last year I sowed most of mine in mid-March. Don't know about timing down south there!

There are some good photos on the thread linked below.

:)
    Dee

Here is a link that might be useful: amaranthus thread on Annuals forum

• bakemom_gw
    15 years ago

They re-seed like crazy for me. Winter sow and enjoy. If I was doing them now, I would put them near the end of my list, but anytime would be OK.

• mcbdz
    Original Author
    15 years ago

Thanks diggerdee and bakemom, I was just not sure when to sow for our zone and would love to see different ways people grow them.
    Anyone else have experience or pics?
    These are the ones I have seeds of so far:Love Lies Bleeding, Molten Fire, Illumination, and plan on Perfecta, and Aurora.
    Pattie

• northforker
    15 years ago

Here are some amaranthus LLB and pigmy torch. Hope this works...have not tried to post pics in awhile

{{gwi:345844}}{{gwi:345846}}If they don't show up here, you should be able to follow the link below to my 2008 garden pics and find them.