Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
dreamplanter

Plastic Berry Containers

blueheron
13 years ago

I use these to start seeds indoors. Would they also be suitable for winter sowing? They have slits in the side which is great for drainage. Would I still have to punch holes in the lid?

Comments (4)

• kqcrna
    13 years ago

They have disadvantages- too small, too shallow, dry out too fast, blow away easily, no headroom for seedlings. I recommend milk jugs or 2 liters.

Karen

• littleonefb
    13 years ago

Blueheron,

I've been using them for 8 years now without any problems. They work fine for me. have never had weather issues with them blowing over, drying out to quickly or being to shallow or not enough room.

I used a few gallon jugs my first year WS and found them to awkward for me to use and they had very low germination results for me.

Don't use 2 liter bottles either. don't buy any tonic, and no one would have any for me as we have a bottle deposit return law, and you don't find much in bottles tossed into recycle bins, they get returned for the deposit money.

Check out the link below that I started a couple of years ago, you will see lots of the berry containers with seedlings in them in my yard. It looks like that every year in my back yard.

Fran

Here is a link that might be useful: WS seedling pics in berry containers

• northerner_on
    13 years ago