Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
love_the_yard

Need Bromeliad ID Please (photo)

I am sure this is a common bromeliad, and I am an old gardener, but since I am brand new to broms, I don't know the name. I did try countless Google searches and the FCBS site, but there are just too many.

I was given this plant on May 28. A friend allowed me to snap it off myself from her large collection - she must have 20+ - it was a pup. It rolled around in my trunk for a couple of days and I planted it on June 1st. Here it is, only 17 days later, and it is blooming?!? Is that usual? I did notice that it greened right up to a brighter light lime green than it was when I got it. It did that in just a week or so after I planted it in the ground.

Sorry about all the sand on it - we had huge rains in Florida a week or so ago - got 9 inches in one day - and it got quite splashed. I haven't had time to clean it up ... or maybe I shouldn't?

Greatly appreciate help with the ID.

Thanks!

Carol

{{gwi:469587}}

{{gwi:469588}}

Comments (11)

• Carol love_the_yard (Zone 9A Jacksonville, FL)
    Original Author
    11 years ago

I may have found the answer myself - imagine that! Could this be Billbergia pyramidalis?

Thanks!
    Carol

• gregsytch
    11 years ago

most assuredly. Easy to grow, can bloom 2xyear not cold hardy (meaning below 28F)

Original Author
    11 years ago

Thank you so much, Greg. The bloom is even bigger today, but not fully open. How long will the bloom last?

Thanks!
    Carol

• danarc
    11 years ago

Pyramidalis bloom may last anywhere from 3 to 10 days depending on temperatures. If you live in a hot clime it will be quick. Fortuantely they often bloom in cooler weather.

Original Author
    11 years ago

Yup, you were right. The bloom was beautiful but it came and went in a hurry. But in those few short days, it got lots of ooohs and aaaahs. Should I do anything to remove the spent bloom? Or just leave it alone on the plant? It is now dry and brown.