Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
pamchesbay

What Are Your Favorites / Mainstays of Your Gardens?

Pamchesbay
14 years ago

As a newbie, I am making lists, and looking for sources of seeds. I'm overwhelmed with information and need advice.

Token talked about plans to create a meadow garden. He will plant the pound of yellow & orange cosmos seeds and the seeds he received in trade. I have a large open field behind my house (3-4 acres) where I'm making beds. I decided to get bulk orders of some seeds to bring color and interest to the field while I work on a plan for separate garden areas.

What are your favorite plants that you direct sow or wintersow? What plants are the mainstays of your garden? I found a site that offers an impressive selection of seeds (www.stockseed.com/) at good prices, but I don't know what to choose:

Dwarf Red Coreopsis!!

Black eyed Susan (Rudbeckia hirta)

False Sunflower (Heliopsis helianthoides)

Lanceleaf Coreopsis, Tickseed (Coreopsis Lanceolata)

New England Aster (Aster Novae Angliae)

Ohio Spiderwort (Tradescantia ohiensis)

Mexican Red Hat Coneflower (Ratibida Columnifera)

Also

Corn Poppy (Shirley Poppy)

Cornflower

Dame's Rocket

Drummond phlox

Evening primrose

Gloriosa daisy

Painted daisy

Scarlet flax

Cosmos, Sensation

Cosmos Sulfur

Shasta Daisy

Siberian Wallflower

The seeds are sold by the ounce and pound - a lot of variability due to weight of seeds. Example:

Dwarf Red Coreopsis: 1 lb @ $25.(1.4 million seeds); 1 oz @ $4. (88,000 seeds)

False Sunflower (Heliopsis helianthoides). 1 lb @ $30. (60,000 seeds); 1 oz @ $4. (3,800 seeds)

Stockseed also offers wildflower mixes for specific situations (habitat conservation, roadside, shady, backyard, by the water) or you can make your own.

Advice? Suggestions? Favorites?

Here is a link that might be useful: Stockseed

Comments (42)

• token28001
    14 years ago