Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
madam_butterfly

Tomato Hornworms

madam_butterfly
15 years ago

I have FIVE Hornworms - four of them HUGE!! I mean, I have them IN THE HOUSE!!! I've had them in the house for only 24 hours and, already, they've eaten most of the suckers on my tomato plants! I'm going to have to get some from the guy down the road who sells tomatoes. He's going to have a good laugh at my expense!

I've never done hornworms before. They dig into the ground to pupate, don't they? How do I arrange this for them? How do I know when they're ready to do it? Gosh! I hope they do it soon! I've brought in leaves for them already three times today - and there's a lot of day left! I think these fellows eat all night long!

Comments (8)

• rob1195
    15 years ago

you're lucky, the only one I could find had parasites on it

• MissSherry
    15 years ago

Their appetites and growth rates are enormous, Madam Butterfly! I usually find some clean, dry topsoil, without ants or other varmits, put it in my old terrarium, put some clean, dry leaves over that, and put the cats in the terrarium when they're ready to pupate, that is, when they've gotten huge, they've emptied their bowels big time and turned a slightly yellowy, peachy color.
    Did you bring your cats in from outside? I brought my cats into a cage from outside on the vines as soon as I found them - most of them were still very small, but a few were probably middle instar cats. My first emerger was a Carolina sphinx moth, but after that, there were several batches of tachinid flies that came out, and I do mean big batches! I had thought that since I couldn't see any of those white wasp cocoons, my cats were unparasatized - was I wrong! Apparently, you can't tell when cats have been parasatized by tachinid flies.
    Tomato/tobacco hornworm cats get the most parasites of any cat I know of. I won't raise any more except from eggs - hopefully, the eggs can't be parasitized!
    Sherry

• ann85
    15 years ago